The cream of Munster GAA honoured at annual awards night

December 10, 2017

Kerry's James O'Donoghue and Mark Coleman of Cork.

The 2017 Munster GAA Awards were presented at a gala dinner in the Fota Island Resort Hotel in Cork last night.

Kerry's James O'Donoghue and Waterford's Michelle Ryan secured the Senior Footballer and Ladies' Footballer accolades respectively.

The Manager of the Year award went to former Cork senior hurling manager, Kieran Kingston, the Rebel County's Mark Coleman was chosen as Senior Hurler of the Year and Limerick's Aaron Gillane took the under 21 Hurling accolade.

Speaking on the announcement of these awards, Munster GAA chairman Jerry O'Sullivan said: "James O'Donoghue and Michelle Ryan contributed hugely to their teams' performances this year and are deserving winners of the top playing awards in Gaelic Football and Ladies Gaelic Football respectively.

"Aaron Gillane was the star of the under 21 hurling. It was marvellous to see the Munster Hurling champions, Cork defy expectations to win three games and a deserved Munster Championship.

"Their Manager, Kieran Kingston, deserves great credit for bringing Munster honours back to the Rebel County. Congratulations to all the 2017 Award winners."

The full list of Munster GAA Award winners for 2017:

  • Austin Flynn (Waterford) - Hurling Hall of Fame
  • Seamus Clancy (Clare) - Football Hall of Fame
  • John Costigan (Tipperary) - Distinguished Service Award
  • Killian Spillane (Kerry) - Under 21 Football
  • Aaron Gillane (Limerick) - Under 21 Hurling
  • Brian Turnbull (Cork) - Minor Hurling
  • David Clifford (Kerry) - Minor Football
  • Patrice Diggin (Kerry) - Camogie
  • Michelle Ryan (Waterford) - Ladies Football
  • JP O'Connor (Limerick) - Handball
  • Kanturk (Cork) - Club
  • Mark Coleman (Cork) - Senior Hurling
  • James O'Donoghue (Kerry) - Senior Football
  • Kieran Kingston (Cork) - Manager

Most Read Stories