Galway boycott Leinster

Hopefully Galway pull out of the Leinster Senior Championship after last night's vote.

We may as well join Munster if they will have us.

Leinster certainly don't- they are happy to keep KK strong instead of challenging them.

lowballplease (Galway) - Posts: 935 - 06/11/2014 14:18:24    1670148

ye are more than welcome lads!its a ridiculous decision out of them!

treaty300 (Limerick) - Posts: 48 - 06/11/2014 14:46:36    1670164

Yeah hopefully they do pull out and leave Leinster , I think they should join Ulster and Connacht together and put Kerry in there to and then Galway would get a lot more games.

ke40 (Kildare) - Posts: 209 - 06/11/2014 14:46:54    1670166

Leinster for the Leinster counties!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 06/11/2014 14:49:57    1670169

haha your hardly gonna send kerry all the way up there are you!!??

dizzydub (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 06/11/2014 15:01:37    1670175

Would make the Munster Championship a serious affair. It is in danger of loosing some of its edge. Overall, I think I'd be in favour.

But I'd rather they jjust scrapped the provincial championships and do a champions league style event. Scrap League, 2 Groups of six (Antrim and Carlow to play to decide who's in and who goes to Ring), 10 games playing each other side home and away, Top of each group through to semi, 2nd and third play Qtrs against teams from other group. If the bigger (less predicatable) games were kept for summer, it could work well.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 06/11/2014 15:14:10    1670180

Strange decision that is, why have them in senior and not minor and under21, if its a geographical thing you would understand but tullamore is perfectly situated to host galway against all the main hurling counties in leinster

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/11/2014 15:28:46    1670185

Agree Leinster Council should hang their heads in shame after this ludicrous decision. Croke park should intervene here. Oddly enough if one were to know the voting pattern from last night you might bet that KK probably voted in favour of their inclusion. How in God's name is ok to have Galway seniors in Leinster and not their minors? It can only help raise the standard in the minor grade in Leinster.

Greenwood (Meath) - Posts: 210 - 06/11/2014 15:45:38    1670197

Disgraceful decision, Hurling development - you must be joking, lets make sure that nobody else comes along to threaten us! I guess the likes of Wexford and Offaly still regret the day they allowed Hurling to be developed in Dublin. I would love to know the voting from the counties.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1804 - 06/11/2014 15:47:54    1670199

Zinny, I can assure you that Wexford and Offaly have had nothing to do with Dublin hurling. Other than providing us with a few handy matches in last few years :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 06/11/2014 16:03:36    1670205

ah but they did, they stood back and allowed the GAA to invest heavily in Hurling in Dublin content in the knowledge it would never work!

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1804 - 06/11/2014 16:11:26    1670207

Looks like a very small-minded and petty move - basically it just looks like it's denying young lads decent games.

More evidence that the provincial councils hold too much power imo.

As others have said it would be serve the Leinster Council right if Galway pulled out of Leinster and applied to join the Munster Championship.

besidetheditch (Dublin) - Posts: 81 - 06/11/2014 16:28:47    1670211

Galway in Munster would be excellent!!!

2 QFs then instead of 1!!!

We will treat ye more fairly down here!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 06/11/2014 16:48:12    1670221

Or maybe we ask to go back to being straight into a semi final? As connaught champions. I'm sure Mayo would play us in a connacht final for a few bob.

Madness and stinks of happy to take the senior games for reveue but nothing else.

We filled tullamore twice this summer and this is the thanks...

lowballplease (Galway) - Posts: 935 - 06/11/2014 16:53:00    1670223

Makes no sense for Galway seniors to be in and minor & 21 not.
Culchie, I agree with that format. Been saying it for years. Would give all teams a decent amount of quality championship games. Use cup competitions for blooding players.
The major thing holding back progressive formats is the power of the provincial councils, a prehistoric concept in my opinion.
If the entire season, club and county, could be centralised fixture wise, wouldn't the whole thing run a hell of a lot smoother?
Alas though, that is but a fantasy. Makes too much sense for the GAA to implement it.

Plasticman (Dublin) - Posts: 26 - 06/11/2014 16:56:50    1670224

Look at it another way: if Galway entered Munster would it help Kerry hurling??? Teams like Carlow & Laois have reached Leinster minor finals in recent years & Westmeath, Meath & Kildare have also benefitted from the system that's in place. Dublin, Kilkenny & Wexford are the big three there at the moment & bringing Galway in would squeeze the others out & probably push some of them down to 'B' level in a short space of time. Also it certainly wouldn't help to revive Offaly's chances.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 06/11/2014 17:56:56    1670253

Ya we could play in Connacht and play our home games in limerick , ooops didn't mean that :-0

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/11/2014 19:47:48    1670290

Absolute nonsense but why does it surprise anyone when these half wits come up with these decisions.The provincial championships are long outdated also in hurling and football but are they likely to change anytime soon.Don't hold your breath.These clowns will take the easy option every time and carry on making a bags of things.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 06/11/2014 19:48:09    1670291

"I am actually very disappointed because I feel that for Galway to progress and develop players from minor and U21 and onto senior, we need to be in a competitive structure and the current structure is not in the best interests of Galway hurling.

Replace Galway with Kildare, Wickow, Longford or Meath in the above statement and it rings just as true yet doesn't seem to get any headlines or generate any debate.

God help us if Galway ever find themselves in a relegation playoff...

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 06/11/2014 19:59:36    1670295

Galway were in Munster years ago and pulled out because they felt they couldn't compete. Now do they want to pull out of Leinster and go back to playing meaningless Connacht finals against Roscommon?

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2989 - 06/11/2014 20:02:59    1670299