What is the mood in your county at the moment?

There is a lot of good banter on HS at the moment with posters, myself included, making strong cases for their own county while at the same time questioning the credentials of rivals.

The difficulty with all of this is that all the leading teams have big question marks against them at the moment.

Dublin. Great going forward, poor at the back. Haven't met a really well organised defensive team yet.
Cork. Second half against Dublin was brutal & the performance against Tipp didn't inspire confidence.
Kerry. No Gooch & performance against Clare was sluggish.
Mayo. Not firing yet, one point win against Roscommon not awe inspiring
Donegal Poor in 2013, poor in Div 2 final & some key players not playing well.
Monaghan Don't look like the team of 2013. Draw at home to Armagh was a setback
Meath Didn't get promotion from Div 2 & have injuries.
Tyrone Look well past their best as regards winning Sam.

For some of these teams it is a case of building momentum & they will improve, for others I can't hep but feel their goose is cooked.

In Donegal it is very much a case of building momentum & they are happy where they are. Monaghan are a bogey team but JMcG will have had a good look at them & Armagh & the introduction of new players has really freshened things up.

How do other posters feel their teams are going at the moment? What is the feeling in your county, building momentum or goose cooked?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 05/07/2014 14:56:01    1614075

The mood here in Dublin is that whilst there are a few optimistic souls about the place the vast majority of us are prepared by now for the inevitable downfall!
The realists among Dublin fans are wondering whether this will be in the form of another 5 goalfest drubbing at the hands of a superior meath team or will we be alble to hold our own against them for maybe 60 mins or so! Either way, we are content since Sept of last year that we will have to wait until at least 2015 to try and win another SAM as we all know that the old saying "It's virtually impossible to put All Ireland back to back" is absolutely true year after year!

As for who will win SAM, well they are doing a good job at playing the poor mouth down in Kerry this year and that basically means they have SAM in the bag!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 05/07/2014 20:11:12    1614208

Not sure to be honest Muckrosshead, but Mrs. realdub isn't in a great mood at the moment so no early night for me :(

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 05/07/2014 20:44:31    1614229

Its like a mogue in the Wee County at the moment. This years record in all competitions is Played 13 Won 2 Draws 2 Lost 9. Them two wins coming against Westmeath. Relegated from division two without winning a match and out of the Championship with two heavy defeats to Kildare and Tyrone. They are also without a manager with O Rouke departing yesterday. At least the Louth Championship is starting next week and the great Paddy Keenan will be out to get his 6th senior title.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 05/07/2014 20:47:36    1614234

The mood down here is one of hope more than expectation, as fans we haven't a clue what's happening in training ,before you'd go in to Fitzgeralds stadium and you'd have a fair idea of who was going well, I think our forwards will get us plenty of scores if they get the ball but I'm just worried they won't get enough ball from our midfield which is our weakest sector of the field, we'd be doing well to get to a semi I'd say.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/07/2014 20:48:07    1614236

Mostly agree Muckross but what do you mean Monaghan aren't the team of 2013? We've won a division higher than what we competed in last year, the squad has been built up more with younger lads introduced and in the first round of Ulster got a huge monkey off our back in beating Tyrone, the performance was irrelevant here and the win was all that mattered. Yes, we were poor last week and that was indeed a setback, but that can all be rectified tomorrow. The game tomorrow will also determine the mood in the county! I think most people are confident we can finish the job tomorrow as there's so many players that can improve on last week, and hopefully we'll see that but it'll be another tight one.

You may be proved right this time tomorrow, and of course there's alot to work on but as of now I would say we've progressed from last year rather than the opposite. Win against Armagh and alls looking rosy again with another Ulster final to look forward to. Lose and we've a qualifier 6 days later against Tyrone who will be looking to reverse our earlier result. Huge game tomorrow which shapes our season, and will completely change the answer to your question!

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 05/07/2014 21:17:07    1614275

Excitement!! There is a real feeling of optimism that we have turned a corner and are on a upward curve. This is the first time in 6 years we have gone two games in a row in Ulster without losing.

Armagh ladies and minors already in an Ulster final, if the seniors can make it tomorrow it makes for an excellent year.

JP91 (Armagh) - Posts: 316 - 05/07/2014 21:21:53    1614278

D'ont ask.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 05/07/2014 21:31:05    1614290

Very good, still in both championships

pj_mcmanus (Limerick) - Posts: 431 - 05/07/2014 21:39:19    1614294

Is it okay to wish you were from another county sometimes. We were appalling today... but we've been that since the Leinster Final of 1897.

Wicklowman (Wicklow) - Posts: 1138 - 05/07/2014 21:53:27    1614301

There's a fair buzz around the hurlers which went a bit flat after the Dublin game but everyone going nuts after yesterday's game.

No reason the footballers should fear laois today either

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2660 - 06/07/2014 08:56:49    1614315

patk
County: Monaghan

Mostly agree Muckross but what do you mean Monaghan aren't the team of 2013? We've won a division higher than what we competed in last year, the squad has been built up more with younger lads introduced and in the first round of Ulster got a huge monkey off our back in beating Tyrone, the performance was irrelevant here and the win was all that mattered.

No disrespect intended patk but Monaghan just aren't motoring in the way they were when they slaughtered us last year. I see similarities with what we experienced, not performing well & thinking/hoping that it will come right in the next game. Maybe in Monaghan's case it will & you are right, today will tell a lot.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 06/07/2014 09:55:38    1614332

Optimistic. We are where we wanted to be. We playing who we wanted. We have momentum, unlucky not to reach div one, especially after getting robbed in ballybofey . but we won't care if we win Leinster. We know we won't win sam, one step at a time. Leinster and last 8 is what we want. Get that and it will have been a excellent year. Momentum.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/07/2014 09:59:22    1614336

Royaldunne will never get over that league game in Ballybofey, robbed is the wrong word here, your team had the opportunity to win this game on more than one occasion but as the old saying goes you didn't have the balls to..........,, you would need to be finding them before yous play dublin

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 06/07/2014 10:21:25    1614359

Disappointment I would say. After a league where we won 7 out of 7 (lost the league final though) we had big hopes of making an impact on the Ulster championship, but the performance against Armagh was dire. I think there's a sense that a halt has been put to our progress. Add in a raft of injuries and players going abroad etc. Yes, we bounced back with a win over Westmeath but it was unconvincing to say the least and we have a tough game against Roscommon next week.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 06/07/2014 10:21:47    1614360

Pretty good following yesterday;) Hon the dual county!!

tipp11 (Tipperary) - Posts: 353 - 06/07/2014 10:45:03    1614368

Calm.

Composed.

Relaxed.

Confident.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 06/07/2014 11:01:06    1614371

Puke

Hurling1Guru1 (Galway) - Posts: 244 - 06/07/2014 11:01:45    1614372

Disappointment verging on anger. All the way down to Limerick for the qualifiers with the family to watch the drivel we served up! Some of our players can't even be bothered going, feigning injury to go on a pre planned holiday, and other poor reasons given. These guys should NEVER wear the shirt again or have any money, time or effort invested in them!!!!! All they care about is saying they play for Antrim and having the track suits and kit bags to prove it as they stroll down the Falls road, and yes, as usual they're Belfast guys and no one kicks up or turns more when they are overlooked for selection! Fair play to the Johnston brothers who made themselves available after what they've been through over the last few weeks!

oso (Antrim) - Posts: 168 - 06/07/2014 11:05:22    1614374

Optomistic group of death 2b is to be relished and not feared

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 06/07/2014 11:19:30    1614387