What is the mood in your county at the moment?

oso,

To pin the blame on Belfast fellas for Antrim's problems is nonsense of the highest order. The rural football teams can be as insular and childish as anyone and the North Antrim hurling fellas all hate each other as well as the Belfast teams so the problem is endemic throughout the county. As I have previously stated Gaelic Games in Belfast, especially North Belfast, are dying on their feet and soccer is the number 1 sport by a long distance. Yes there are a minority trying their best but it's a losing battle. Antrim, and Belfast, are in the fourth tier of Gaelic Games and will stay there until such times as the Ulster Council and Croke Park put the same effort into the county as the GAA and Leinster Council did with Dublin.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 06/07/2014 14:12:17    1614509

hurling not good after yesterday. for football lots of optimism as we are young but showing signs of progress. nobody gives us a chance. even muckross in his opening salvo on this thread listed a load of teams some who have not made a provincial final. this is what we like. hoping for last 8 at a minimum and build further from there.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 06/07/2014 15:42:42    1614584

Much better after yesterday when our minors hammered Laois to reach their second successive Leinster Final.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2991 - 06/07/2014 15:51:53    1614597

Super!

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 767 - 06/07/2014 16:09:18    1614614

I think the mood in Meath is fairly positive at the moment. Deep down, I don't think most Meath supporters expect us to beat Dublin in the Leinster final. But at least we can see some light at the end of a fairly long dark tunnel over the past few years. We went from being lucky to escape Division 3 last year to being unlucky not to get out of Division 2 this year. Some of the older under-performing players have been cut. A lot of young lads coming through who are showing some promise. We seem to have a manager who has a bit of a plan for the future, even if he is learning on the job a bit. So at least we can see some positives about the team. A bad defeat to Dublin could knock that back of course, but I don't think that will happen. We seem to have a little of the fighting spirit back.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 06/07/2014 16:19:48    1614623

Small elements of rejection, areas of insignificance, generous helpings of generosity, feelings of failure, indirect indecisiveness-not 100% sure about that, darkest depression, an air of empathy, bouts of anger, scantly vented scarcasm, but mostly sincerity.

insider2nd (Donegal) - Posts: 97 - 06/07/2014 16:45:01    1614636

Anger.. Witnessed an awful referee at work in wexford park today. Huge impact on the game.

fecksakeref (Wexford) - Posts: 111 - 06/07/2014 16:58:38    1614648

Zip-a-dee-doo-dah, zip-a-dee-ay.

Osraige (Kilkenny) - Posts: 8 - 06/07/2014 19:48:40    1614771

What just happened in the Pairc?

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 06/07/2014 19:55:48    1614776

06/07/2014 09:55:38
MuckrossHead

No disrespect intended patk but Monaghan just aren't motoring in the way they were when they slaughtered us last year. I see similarities with what we experienced, not performing well & thinking/hoping that it will come right in the next game. Maybe in Monaghan's case it will & you are right, today will tell a lot.

I agree Muckross, we haven't hit the heights of that performance against ye so far this year. But the key thing is that was an Ulster final, a game which would make any player raise their game. Our championship campaign up to that point was extremely uninspiring. We'll be playing Division 1 football next season, we won a tight game against Tyrone that we probably would've lost last year, and after today we've reached back to back Ulster finals for the first time since 1944. That's progress any way you look at it. We will of course have to raise our game for the Donegal juggernaut who look determined to take back the Anglo-Celt, but today wasn't a bad warm-up. Two weeks now to up the performance and hopefully we'll see that in the final. Still concerns over a few players like Kieran Hughes and Eoin Lennon, we'll need the likes of them fit and ready to go against Donegal who have no such problems this year. If they get the same doctors as McManus did they should be fighting fit!

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 06/07/2014 21:39:43    1614849

Angry, confused, jealous, humbled, bored, annoyed, hopeful, optomistic.......its been a strange old summer. on the up side I have got to a few hurling matches! Keep the faith Mickey!

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 12/08/2014 20:48:38    1635986

tiobraidArann
County: Tipperary

Mood is good
Very busy preparing the dome in simple for the homecoming
---
Where ? Is that the Brother's place ?

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 12/08/2014 21:00:50    1635997

And extremely candid answer redhanddefender, fair play :)

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 12/08/2014 21:01:32    1635998

Mood not good. Sheedy staying on as football manager & word is that a lot of more senior players won't be remaining to suffer another Division 4 campaign.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 12/08/2014 21:29:44    1636020

Not bad lads. We got fracking put on the backburner in our county for a bit so the mood is good enough.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 13/08/2014 10:53:39    1636124

Happy with the performance put in by the team against Monaghan, especially the young players. Not so happy with Jason Ryan's team selections this season and definitely happy in retrospect that we didn't have to face Dublin, and for the colective confidence to be drained out of the players as quickly as a thirsty bogcutter downing a pint of Guiness after a long day's toil.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2991 - 13/08/2014 11:39:35    1636161

Happiness & relief at having regained Ulster.
Nervousness & anticipation about meeting Dublin.
All this coupled with a huge amount of gratitude & sadness that this will be the last year for this team no matter what happens.

In other words a normal GAA range of emotions!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 13/08/2014 11:52:14    1636176

bemused!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 13/08/2014 12:15:43    1636196

The three wins of the year were against London, Sligo and Tipperary. The two games we played top level opposition Kerry and Mayo, we just were nowhere near good enough. Yes it is a young team but the management have to take most of the flak. They were well beaten in the Connacht Final by playing in such an open way verses Mayo and to play the same way again verses Kerry beggars belief. I hope Kevin Walsh is interested in taking over as he might add some needed steel. Alan Mulholland cant take this team any further in my own opinion.

mon (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 13/08/2014 12:21:52    1636204

Unsettled at the moment a lot of supporters want to see younger players tried out but are unsure which players should be given a chance. Calls for the manager to go but again who takes over.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 13/08/2014 13:29:31    1636293