Dublin untouchable ?

Unusual to see a Meath man waving a white flag and bowing the knee in deference to another county, normally only reserved for Down supporters, but I guess its a sign of the times.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 06/09/2015 19:42:39    1783496

royaldunne

Thought id come back to this thread.
Unfortunately, it looks very much like i was correct those few months ago. Not a ulster team in sight , mayo did what mayo do best, cork got beat by Kildare, Donegal easily dismissed, i am afraid dubs wont be caught this year, Kerry will give them a game but i just can't see them been beat.

Jesus, it's going to be a long couple of weeks if this is the sort of tripe we are going to have to put up with.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 06/09/2015 19:46:48    1783501

Strange to see it all right. But he could be right about the dubs this year. They do look very classy.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 06/09/2015 20:08:56    1783514

Wouldn't mind getting to a final after winning one game ☺

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 153 - 06/09/2015 20:15:18    1783520

Dublin are a good side but no side is invincible. Kerry are a very strong opponent so its going to take a solid performance from Dublin. Looking forward to a great game in hope rather than expectation. Dublin have been leaking goals this year and if you Let Kerry in they will destroy you.

spmccann (Dublin) - Posts: 209 - 06/09/2015 20:26:55    1783531

Its not bowing down at all. I see it more as stating realism's.
Look above all teams it hurts to see dubs so dominant, however as a football man i can only admire them, they are the besti have seen in quiet some time.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/09/2015 20:31:22    1783536

Was this site not full of nonsense like this last year before Donegal made ye all eat humble pie. To be honest Dublin could and should have been out last Sunday.
Plus only for a referee making a blunder in the drawn Munster final by awarding Kerry a penalty ( never was a penalty) either one of Dublin or Kerry would have been gone at the quarter final stage.
We would now have a different pairing in this year's Final( one of Dublin or Kerry would probably still be in the Final) so in my book some team have been robbed of the chance to play in this year's final due to a referring mistake.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 06/09/2015 20:31:25    1783537

Ahh Sam we all know that apart from a once off serious of events Donegal wouldn't have beat dubs last year, it was a fluke , now i enjoyed it . But all things been equal Dublin should have won it last year too, they beat themselves. That wont happen this year.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/09/2015 21:14:58    1783584

royaldunne

Ahh Sam we all know that apart from a once off serious of events Donegal wouldn't have beat dubs last year, it was a fluke , now i enjoyed it . But all things been equal Dublin should have won it last year too, they beat themselves. That wont happen this year.

Ah royal would you ever give over.

Yes, Dublin had chances to put last year's game to bed, they didn't take them & paid the price. The same happened yesterday when Keegan had a chance of an easy score when Dublin were there to be taken. He shot timidly into Cluxton's arms & the chance was gone.

Yes Dublin are a great side but they do have question marks against them, like every other team.

1. Cluxtons form is shaky.

2 Their defence looks vulnerable if teams run at them.

3 Their temperament is questionable, As O'Se put it "Pull their tails & they might bite".

4 Free kicking from distance is not great.

5 Connolly has been poor by his sky high standards in the last two games.

As I said, they are a great side but there are areas of weakness & no better team than Kerry to take advantage. The bookies have it as a slight nod to Dublin, which is fair enough. But to suggest that there is only one team in it is ridiculous.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 07/09/2015 08:18:31    1783640

I never liked i told you sos but.
This was as plain to see as what the dog did in the manger.
And who can stop them next year? I cant see anyone in Leinster troubling them unles Meath get their act together, which is about as likely as mw winning lotto. Not one ulster team can come near them, Kerry are slipping back, that only leaves the forever the bridesmaid mayo as the only real challenger. Congrats to dubs they won the most one sided 3 point game ever. And lets be honest apart from mayo not one team gave them a game , they could win another 3/4 before they are caught upto

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/09/2015 18:57:45    1789678

Think back to last year's semi Dublin v Donegal Royal Dunn and you get your answer whether Dublin are untouchable or not. Also think back to 1991 and at the beginning of the championship that year did the Meath team / fans see Down coming hurtling down the road. I DONT THINK SO.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 20/09/2015 21:48:00    1789833

Sam Donegal got a system that worked and a great manager that did wonder with a bunch of players beaten by the likes of Longford, fair play to him. Last year was a fluke just like Meath in 10 v dubs. Play that game a 100 times dubs win it 99/100.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/09/2015 21:58:38    1791633

HughHunt24

1755933 Dubs have no midfield and suspect full back line

Prize for the best post of the thread!! - congrats HughHunt24

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 24/09/2015 08:23:41    1791638

This again?!

Dublin man v man are better than any other county IMO.
But every team has an off day, very hard to do back to back as well.

Jim McG came up with a game plan to beat the Dubs, just up to another manager to do the same.
Could be E Fitz using what he learnt this year, could be Harte or could be the Mayo lads.
Might even be from another county, no team is unstoppable/unbeatable/invincible.

GAAHattrick (Dublin) - Posts: 278 - 24/09/2015 08:55:11    1791643

A lot of the big players for Dublin, Cluxton, Bastick, Alan & Bernard are in their 30's now, Flynn will be 30 next year I believe, so over the next couple of years you're gonna be seeing big changes in the Dublin panel. The likes of Cluxton, Flynn and Bernard will be irreplaceable. Even though there's been some success underage, a lot of those lads haven't really pushed on as of yet barring one or two exceptions. Winning back to backs has proven to be very hard, so certainly can't say they're untouchables. But hey, enjoy the good days while they're here ~PHS

Pope_has_spoken (Dublin) - Posts: 138 - 24/09/2015 09:35:45    1791658