Dublin untouchable ?

for the first and probably last time I agree with royaldunne. I think only dublin themselves can beat dublin. Mayo are the closest, im sure theyll improve their defence

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 20/07/2015 21:08:08    1756703

Its a cliche to say only Dublin can beat themselves. What exactly do you mean? Basically covering yourself in case you're prediction is wrong. No such thing as a team beating themselves.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 20/07/2015 21:30:07    1756715

Lads with the resources currently at Dublins disposal they must be the biggest certainty for the All Ireland in recent history. No stopping them, they will trounce any team left in the AI by 8+ points. Surely they are a good bet for 5 in a row.

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 21/07/2015 14:29:26    1756995

Why have the dominant Dubs been unable to make back-to-back All-Ireland finals? It's all well and good dominating a Division 3 standard provincial championship.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7871 - 21/07/2015 15:46:55    1757049

Dublin are untouchable. Best team ever. They would beat the best of the rest together even if the rest of Ireland team played with 20 men.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1126 - 21/07/2015 16:23:20    1757075

Jesus RD would you ever change the record!!!

You were at this oul guff last year as well & we all know how that turned out.

Yes, Dublin are a great side but Mayo, my choice at the start of the year, have freshened things up to no end & the Yerra boys look good as well.

Where I would agree with you is that Donegal look out of the reckoning after last Sunday but you never know.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 21/07/2015 17:01:03    1757102

No Team is untouchable!! Dubs were unbeatable last year!! Maybe this is a thread from last year?

Spiderman (Donegal) - Posts: 248 - 21/07/2015 17:23:31    1757112

Muck you and i know that Donegal win was more a fluke than anything, not saying i didn't enjoy it.
But all things equal Dublin are unstoppable, if they play to potential, now to answer poppin, its not a cliché to say only they can beat themselves, as i said they have the best players and every advantage under the sun, but above all they have the beat players and if they perform anywhere near their best they wont be beat.
How is stating the facts always a bad thing in football?
Frankel was the greatest flat horse ever, plenty said the only one that could beat him was himself, i believe we are seeing the frankel of football now, and if i and any if dub is honest if they turned around and said that team only won 2 all Irelands in 15 years time thought it was a good return theyd be lying. I always said and i will say again the Meath team of 96-04 way underachieved by only winning 2 all Irelands, it was a terrible return for what I would now rate the 3rd best squad of all time ,current dubs and kerry 80s been the other greats.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/07/2015 17:26:34    1757118

May aswell hand them Sam Maguire now then so save everyone the bother

Spiderman (Donegal) - Posts: 248 - 21/07/2015 17:50:54    1757141

@RD - How can you say the Donegal win was a fluke? I just dont understand this. Dublin threw all they had at us last year. Their best player Diarmuid C had the game of his life against the toughest defence. The Dubs didnt have a bad game they just left it too open at the back which we exploited. I like a lot of the Dublin Players and Id love to have them on our team but there is only 5 or 6 that I would bring into the Donegal line-up. Same could be said for Kerry, Mayo and some of the other top teams. So far this year I think Kerry have a more solid defence than the Dubs and potentially a more effective forward unit.

SamT2012 (Donegal) - Posts: 66 - 21/07/2015 18:24:41    1757163

@sam look i know every county looks for the positives, but apart from that take off the green and gold glasses (i often wear them myself) and there is no doubting dubs class, if we are all been honest majority of dubs b team would make it onto any other county including Donegal mayo and kerry.
Barring them having a off day or imploding they wont be beat.
I think we all can return to this thread in sep and see who was right, trust me very few will be happier if i am wrong than i.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/07/2015 19:14:39    1757197

Muck he's only trying to make himself feel better cause this Meath team are no where near as good as the Dubs, Monaghan or Donegal.

RoyalDunne everyone knows that last year was no fluke. The Dubs left there full back line exposed and stuck to their game plan of attack attack attack which wasn't good enough.
As for Meath underachieving not a chance. The two finals ye won ye deserved but no more and I would rate then the same as the current dublin team with Kerry of 70s/80s/00s ahead of them along with Tyrone of the 00s.

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 21/07/2015 19:30:38    1757206

Oh we underachieved by some distance, now been a Kerry man and been gifted a all ire by the fluke of the best team in country been beat in semis i can see why you would like to think you are as good, but Dublin b team would take that very average Kerry team to cleaners. Be happy that you won one without having to play them, actually its a Meath man you can thank for been in the final in first place ahead of the better team. But that's football.
I am well aware where Meath are standing at the moment it would be good if the likes of Kerry Donegal Monaghan (who dubs beat by 19 points last year) and cork would cop on and admit where they are too .

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/07/2015 20:33:29    1757248

Yeah have to agree it's a mere formality at this stage. The Dubs will cruise past a dispirited Cork in the quarters, crush a tired Donegal in the semis and, although Kerry will stick with them for the first ten minutes, they too will be dispatched with ease. We'll look back at the end of September and say "Westmeath came the closest to them all year".

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 21/07/2015 20:45:32    1757255

Llaw while you say that with tongue firmly in cheek , it wouldn't surprise me if it turned out to be very accurate.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/07/2015 20:54:02    1757263

After Mayos win, they would have to be second faves behind the current champions. Dublin making up the numbers.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 21/07/2015 20:54:22    1757264

Thought id come back to this thread.
Unfortunately, it looks very much like i was correct those few months ago. Not a ulster team in sight , mayo did what mayo do best, cork got beat by Kildare, Donegal easily dismissed, i am afraid dubs wont be caught this year, Kerry will give them a game but i just can't see them been beat.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/09/2015 17:27:45    1783386

I hope you're right :)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 06/09/2015 17:35:08    1783401

Cant beat an oul told you so thread, royaldunne give yourself a pat on the back mate, you're tops!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 06/09/2015 18:09:16    1783424

I said i would revisit it in September and i have, the writing was on the wall, waynol glad to see the cuteness and coyness has subsided

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/09/2015 19:18:46    1783473