Is it a huge incentive for Cork or Kerry to win

The result of a Cork V Kerry clash in Munster has become completely irrelevant since the qualifiers were introduced. The losers almost always come safely through the qualifiers to reach the quarter-finals and that is when the real fun begins. I still think that both teams always go all out for the win in Munster - but they know its not the end of the world if they lose. I don't think that the potential quarter-final scenarios will make any difference to their approach or motivation levels for the Munster final.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 23/06/2015 15:55:48    1741649

SeppBlatter

Lockjaw

I would love it if Kerry ended up having to play Dublin in the quarters!
Corcaigh abú!

Well it would probably mean a Dublin/Kerry v Donegal Final then and considering Kerry beat youse at your own game last year and Dublin won't be caught cold this year I doubt you actually want that! :)

Beating either of you in the final would be sweet! There is a sense of unfinished business with Kerry after last year and beating Dublin at any time is good for the soul!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9158 - 23/06/2015 16:06:57    1741655

But lookit, there's a lot of football to be played yet before August!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9158 - 23/06/2015 16:08:18    1741656

haha ! Kingdomboy, I knew it would only be a matter of time before I got another one on the line. Hermit is easy pickings and can't resist but I thought you might be a bit harder to coax out.There's probably a few more on the line by now too. No sport anymore , it's like fish in a barrel.

UP THE DUBS !

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 23/06/2015 16:10:18    1741657

Its the greatest rivalry in the GAA

Not too sure if i'd agree with that now to be honest. There only is the two of you in Munster, I've seen better Ulster rivalries such as Tyrone v Armagh in the the naughties, could throw in Tyrone v Donegal even though they've beat us 4/5 or something like that, Mayo and Galway, and Dublin v ...Forget Dublin they own Leinster.

I think Pot B will be the difficult section to get out of there is Armagh, Tyrone and Down all from Ulster who are all decent teams with a chance to cause an upset. For Sligo and Dublin's Victims to go into that pot may be the end of the road for them.

Find_the_space (Tyrone) - Posts: 313 - 23/06/2015 16:15:08    1741664

We havent beaten Kerry in knockout championship game since 99

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 23/06/2015 16:25:47    1741675

23/06/2015 15:27:48
KingdomBoy1

1741627 I'd rather meet the dubs in the quaterfinal as it is well known down this side of the country that if the dubs get to the allireland final they won't be aloud to be beat. So bring it on. Hopefully cork will get there act together for Sunday week

Momoo if kerry didnt bottle game in last 10 minutes they would have won that game handy

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 23/06/2015 16:27:21    1741676

SLLY
sorry chief wasn't responding to your post at all I was only throwing a bit of a line out my self to see if I'd catch anything ;-)
Hughhunt
I'm not moomoo but I do miss him, he was great craic around these parts, but ya we should have put Dublin away in the last 10 mins of that game only for joe mac :-) anyway it's done and dusted now. and I didn't realise it's that long since ye beat us in a knock out game, I remember the day well :-( can I ask you are you more of a football supporter than hurling supporter?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/06/2015 17:55:11    1741738

Seroiusly Hermit - so by your logic, if Kerry beat Cork but don't win an All-Ireland, it will still be seen as a successful year for Kerry? Obviously not, All-Irelands are the only currency in Kerry and how you get there is irrelevant.

It use to be a huge occassion until the back door came in, but the falling crowds at the games (with 1 or 2 exceptions) since then reflect that it is not the be all and end all now.

No one likes losing to their neighbours but it is not the end of the World if you're not out of the Championship at the end of it.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 23/06/2015 18:04:39    1741743

Of course you weren't kingdomboy , of course you weren't. ;-)
Seriously ,ye must be looking forward to this one though as its in Killarney and ye will be strong favourites.
With the Gooch back as well sure ye must fancy the back to back.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 23/06/2015 18:15:16    1741749

county man is dead right.if kerry win munster and cork win all ireland will the "celebration" dinner to present the munster medals be a good night!?!? i doubt it....the munster final is effectively a play off with the winners having to play one less game to get to the quarters.the losers will play a qualifier game extra.and the reason why the munster final in killarney is so good is the cork crowd on the razz for the weekend!!

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 23/06/2015 18:20:00    1741752

You would have to say this rivalry is not what it used to be anymore. Its watered down no doubt with the second bite at the cherry that is the back door and Kerry are likely to win this one too handily enough I'd say but even if they don't sure it's not a disaster and will just mean a different approach to the latter stages.
Would like to see Cork give it a good old lash though and ask a few questions of them.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 23/06/2015 18:24:30    1741755

Kingdom boy I'm in the minority.football first.If we had Aidan Walsh for Munster final I give us some hope.Were struggling there with Ian Maguire not match fit

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 23/06/2015 18:25:28    1741758

Well spotted athclisth. I agree this is massive motivation. Who ever wins this will be in poll position to make the all Ireland final. Would I be right in saying mayo would be better off losing to sligo?

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 23/06/2015 19:20:08    1741794

SLLY
Any day we get to see the gooch in full flow is a good day and Killarney is some spot on munster final weekend, also you have the ring of Kerry cycle on the Saturday , my younger friend all hire out a house and we all crash there the night before some laugh, ye dubs don't know what ye'r missing ;-).

Hughhunt
Fair play to you it can't be easy being a football fan in a predominantly hurling county. And Aidan Walsh is a big loss for sure he was really growing in to the midfield roll and could play in the fullforward roll as well if needed and can I say with out being shot but I think he's a better footballer than hurler IMO. Also Ian McGuire is some talent what's up with him? I seen him a few times and would rate him highly.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/06/2015 21:39:28    1741870

Yerra of course SLLY, once you're put back in your box its all a wind up.

Enjoy the borefest that will be the Leinster final, sure there's nothing like a half empty stadium and a game being over after 10 minutes to get the pulse going....

I'll be thinking of you supping a few pints in the Killarney sun ;)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 23/06/2015 21:40:04    1741872

Seroiusly Hermit - so by your logic, if Kerry beat Cork but don't win an All-Ireland, it will still be seen as a successful year for Kerry? Obviously not, All-Irelands are the only currency in Kerry and how you get there is irrelevant.

Where are you getting that argument from County Man?

Yes All Ireland's are the only currency in the Kingdom.

But when it comes to a big championship match between Kerry and Cork with silverware on offer, they will go at each other hell for leather.

Why? Oh I don't know maybe because of little things like tradition, prestige and bragging rights. You know those little things that are as integral to the GAA as how many All Ireland's anyone racks up.

Yourself and a couple of others commentating on here are saying that Kerry or Cork go out into a final like this not be too bothered about losing since the back door came about and only the prospect of meeting Dublin early this year is going to maybe make them take the game seriously.

I'm simply saying if you honestly believe that you don't really understand the whole Cork/Kerry thing at all.

I'd rather us lose to Dublin ten years in a row before I'd see Cork knock us out of the Championship.

A Cork v Kerry Munster final is one of the great days in our sporting calendar and long may it continue. An Riocht Abu!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 23/06/2015 21:51:51    1741886

Now now Hermit,don't be getting tetchy there, you're always a sure thing when looking for a wind up.Easy pickings as I say.
You might have a fuller ground but you're not kidding anyone with the uptalking of the Munster championchip and all that oul waffle. You'd be better off going to a small ball game between a few of you're neighbours down that way.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 24/06/2015 09:10:09    1741909

Well I tell you what SLLY if another Leinster team outside Dublin ever again becomes a serious contender for an All Ireland, you can take your little potshots at Munster football, until then be happy you have a procession to the Q-finals every year.

If Dublin were in Munster with Kerry and Cork down the years you would be waiting a hell of a long time for even a provincial title never mind an All Ireland....

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 24/06/2015 10:17:23    1741939

Hermit, Munster football is grand,it's your over egging it that's silly. Nobody suggesting Dublin aren't having it easy at the moment but that doesn't do us any favours either.We still have a couple of AI over the last few years so we're doing alright.As for putting counties in other provinces thats all ifs and buts and you could say the same for yourselves too. Go easy on those pints now and don't get yourself sunstroke.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 24/06/2015 10:32:43    1741954