Pat Spillane

I like Spillane and his smugness last night was just Pat being Pat. Spillane is like Dunphy and Hook.....you can't take them too serious.

He had a barney with Carney on Jamie Clarke and Armagh not playing him up front where he can do damage. Why was JOD not played closer to goal...reason he dropped back a bit and it was part of Fitzmaurices "system" or "plan" was it not Pat?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11241 - 22/09/2014 12:10:29    1655187

Gabriel , we have had McHugh calling an injured player a one trick pony so he is far from perfect himself.

As for Brolly his opinion changes each year.

What did you expect Kerry to do exactly ?

Play like the Dublin under 14s?

Or have a tactical plan and beat Donegal at there own game?

ahh sure it makes a change from listening to another soft all Ireland..

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 22/09/2014 12:14:02    1655194

You're missing the point Westkerry. Most posters are saying fair play to kerry for out donegaling donegal. This thread is about pat Spillanes total reluctance to talk aboutthe style of play kerry have used all year and still believing they are the purists of the game. The man is quite deluded!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/09/2014 12:20:12    1655198

West Kerry no one is complaining about how Kerry played , our point is with Spillane making out that they played champagne football in beating Donegal which is clearly not the case, Kerry played puke football simple as but Pat seems to see it different to the rest of Ireland.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/09/2014 12:24:00    1655204

Ah come on lads lets be honest kerry are the kings when it comes to football,sometimes you have to adapt to the style thats throwin at you, kerry do that better than most thats why they have won more than anybody else,as for purist football its a thing of the past the tyrones and donegals have seen to that,in the 70s kerry were pure football thats why they are known as the purists but thats gone now,as for pat lets be honest he is sick of joe brolly and this tyrone tyrone tyrone,kerry cant beat ulster he had enough and by god did he crow and rub it in as is his right laugh when you win cry when you lose pats day well done kerry

blackrockeddie (Cork) - Posts: 160 - 22/09/2014 12:25:39    1655208

Spillane cant be taken seriously as pundit I have lost all respect for the man as a pundit.

I used to like listening to him and reading his column but for the last 2 year have refused to read his column or listen to his so called analysis.

I have been listening to him all year talking Dublin up and when they lose he has the nerve to tell us I told you so.

That match was a pile of sxxt and not one mention from spillane if that was tyrone you would never hear the end of it.

His take on Jamie Clarke was laughable after what had just gone before with james o donaghue

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 22/09/2014 12:30:50    1655216

I don't see why anyone is surprised about Spillane's "punditry" at this stage ; he says the same thing after every final- you can have all the tactics and innovations you want but great footballers always win out, yerra yerra.

Spillane has a visceral dislike for modern tactics; it seems that he wants us all to return to the days of catch and kick. But he conveniently ignores the fact that the Kerry team of his era were lambasted for supposedly overdoing the handpassing. He is also embarassingly pro-Kerry and anti-Ulster sides.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 22/09/2014 12:46:59    1655239

thykingdomcome1

1655034 The cream does seem to rise to the top fairly regularly though....;-)

Our shooting was atrocious yesterday.....appallingly bad throughout the game. But then, there was so little space and every kick was presuured. Fitzy said after the game they were aware this might happen and not to be disheartened - to have patience. I don't like this brand of football but if you play this defensive strategy and you know for a fact that the opposition will also play this way then you are guaranteed that scoring opportunities on both sides will be limited. In this environment if you feel you have the better footballers then you are almost guaranteed a win. Therefore it's not a bad way of preparing for an All ireland final. Jim's "system" got found out.

100% agree

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 22/09/2014 13:08:06    1655276

from what I can remember from Kerry in the 80s they were in fact hand pass masters!
I cannot listen to him anymore. when the analysis is on and he is there, I switch the channell.
Kerry played Donegal at their own game yesterday and got the breaks. If Donegal played anybit decent they'd have beaten Kerry. This is not a great Kerry team but their system and ability to stay focused won out. It was terrible viewing. I was even checking for the scores in the soccer on the phone such was the lack of interest...

GerMan (Limerick) - Posts: 38 - 22/09/2014 13:13:18    1655283

Spillane is one man .... Not the spokesman for the county.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 22/09/2014 13:22:00    1655295

This thread is about Spillane westkerry!!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/09/2014 14:15:52    1655348

What about Donaghys go at Brolly after the match - what's peoples take on that? I for one thought it was a bit moronic and he came across as a bit of an eejit. Like or loathe Brolly or agree or disagree with what he says his job is as an analyst on the programme and Donaghy seems to have missed that part when he let fly at him. And why just pick Brolly - there have been plenty of journalists and commentators saying the same. Donaghy should stick to the football.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 22/09/2014 14:44:06    1655372

Or the basketball. Poor wee lad.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 22/09/2014 14:47:28    1655375

we all have known in tyrone for a long time that the guy is a joke...he exists on tv because he is a sideshow..he has nothing to offer in terms of knowledge or understanding of the game....the guy has no grace in victory and certainly as we all know...no grace in defeat

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 22/09/2014 19:42:49    1655593

Pat spillane is a living legend of the gaa, 8 All Ireland medal s, think he know s what he is talking about, i like Pat, Martin, Brolly, and Colm, ok they dont alway s say what we want them to say, but hi dont we always rush home to see them, on tv, read them in the paper s. who could, would replace them???????

mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 22/09/2014 19:56:09    1655603

I didnt hear pat say how poor of a game it was and his puke football prob the worst game of the year but he wouldnt because it was kerry if it was any other team he would rave about it for the year

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 22/09/2014 20:36:46    1655621

8 All Ireland medals and he has to be the worst analyst of the game that's ever been let near a microphone. Just shows you that just because someone won a load of medals they don't necessarily know everything about the game. Ciaran Whelan with 0 All Ireland medals is a vastly superior analyst to Spillane.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 22/09/2014 20:53:48    1655632

do you remember that ulster championship fird round in 2012 between Donegal and Antrim where pat let rip and was very unsporting when choosing Ryan Bradley as "man of the match". he was saying that no-one deserved the award as it was all rubbish and he had to pick someone. well no offence to Paul Murphy he seems like a grand lad but ...

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 22/09/2014 21:15:30    1655644

Most people I think would take anything Spillane says with a pinch of salt.No he isn't a great analyst and I think he probably done himself more harm than anything else. People see through the bias stuff and know that he will never be professional enough to be able to give a proper analysis.He'll be back again though if we know good old RTE.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 22/09/2014 21:30:27    1655654

Offside-rule. I thought it was great to hear Donaghy pointing out Joe's mistake about the Kerry team. And I'm sure no one enjoyed it more than Mr Brolly. All a bit of craic and added to the coverage of the game.

There's nothing worse than hearing a player coming out with boring clichés in an interview. "G'wan the Star"

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 22/09/2014 21:37:05    1655664