Pat Spillane

Reminds me of the time when Laois were doing well in Leinster and Brolly said before a game against Meath I think it was "Laois are just an outstanding"!.....They were hammered badly and after the game he said "Laois are just a bad team"!

I will never ever forget that!......It showed me that some of these pundits will change with the wind and say anything! Spillane is one of those!
Disappointing really that lads do that as their credibility is shot and you cant get that back!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 22/09/2014 21:42:20    1655667

All these 80's footballers and RTE pundits for the last 20 years ( pat S, Joe B, COR) are gone stale. Get rid of them and get the young guns in - Oisin, Dessie D, P Joyce.

Redslayer (Westmeath) - Posts: 100 - 22/09/2014 21:59:42    1655685

mayotyroneman

1655593 we all have known in tyrone for a long time that the guy is a joke...he exists on tv because he is a sideshow..he has nothing to offer in terms of knowledge or understanding of the game....the guy has no grace in victory and certainly as we all know...no grace in defeat

Perfectly summed up. Its not just Tyrone that have that opinion.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1140 - 23/09/2014 08:17:17    1655690

Offside-rule. I thought it was great to hear Donaghy pointing out Joe's mistake about the Kerry team. And I'm sure no one enjoyed it more than Mr Brolly. All a bit of craic and added to the coverage of the game.

Fair enough pdempsey - I agree that Brolly probably found it amusing and he is the sort of guy that although gives it can take it as well. Just though myself that it came across a bit silly Donaghy picking on one of many analysts/commentators who were of the same opinion and gowled down the camera at him personally. He had just won an All-Ireland and was part of the team who proved Brolly wrong on the field - most people would have had the dignity to leave it at that having got the last laugh but not Mssr Donaghy.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 23/09/2014 08:44:30    1655697

I don't think it was silly at all to see donaghy question him. Pundits never usually have to stand over their convictions. About time someone pointed out where they were 100% wrong. It doesn't happen enough.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 23/09/2014 09:58:16    1655734

ye i agree thought it was petty enough by donaghy to roar down the camera at him.

sam1996 (Meath) - Posts: 436 - 23/09/2014 10:00:06    1655735

Was a bit of a father ted golden cleric speech moment

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1140 - 23/09/2014 10:06:01    1655737

Aye but TheMaster - I tune in to watch Donaghy do what he does well - play football. I tune in to hear Brolly make his sometimes right, sometimes wrong analysis. Donaghy could have been the bigger man and said nothing as already mentioned, he and Kerry had done their talking on the pitch. I suppose its maybe the fact that he is a Tyrone man and Brolly is a Derry man he felt the need to be the one who raised it.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 23/09/2014 10:07:53    1655741

sam1996- like Brolly and co roar down the cameras week in week out is it?

I'd imagine part of Donaghy's reason for calling out Brolly was because of Brolly's totally inaccurate comments about Colm Cooper.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 23/09/2014 10:09:59    1655744

ye thats there job to express opinions and be controversial..I can see how some people found it amusing i just thought it was cringey.

sam1996 (Meath) - Posts: 436 - 23/09/2014 10:26:49    1655756

pats great ....hes dead right kerry played great football against cork played football against galway played football against mayo twice donegal were cynical from day 1 the exception been when the dublin flood gates opened up ....so what if kerry had to play a more defensive system to beat donegal pats right the team that played pure football throughout the year won sam ......well done pat say it as it is

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 23/09/2014 10:36:47    1655763

1655734 I don't think it was silly at all to see donaghy question him. Pundits never usually have to stand over their convictions. About time someone pointed out where they were 100% wrong. It doesn't happen enough.
I agree totally with this, its been long overdue for a footballer to call out Brolly, or any pundit for that matter, live on prime time TV, Donaghy should be applauded. Personally I think Sean Cavanagh was too damned nice last year.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 23/09/2014 10:38:11    1655765

We would be lost without Pat. The GAA is all about passion and pride and people like Spillane have a love for their county which they can't hide. He is wearing green and gold glasses but his county have just finally beaten an Ulster county in an All Ireland final, a province which has broken his heart many times over the past 10 years. This is also true of Donaghy hence his outburst on TV, but we all know Ulster football has changed the Kerry values but sss dont expect them to admit it. Let Spillane and Co enjoy a brilliant All Ireland.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 23/09/2014 11:06:41    1655784

Brend - not surprised though that Donaghy, a Tyrone man, has issues with Brolly, a Derry man. We know ye boys have no love for each other. :-)

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 23/09/2014 11:24:05    1655795

Don't worry Offside, in Tyrone Brolly is persona non grata, we have bigger fish to fry.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 23/09/2014 11:46:40    1655834