Pat Gilroy vs Jim McGuinness

What went wrong lads, how did the greatest team ever in the history of GAA, a financial juggernaut with every advantage in population, finances, resources, facilities and playing on their home ground, get well and truly outsmarted and beaten by a team of hard working country lads from the hills of Donegal?

On the day in Croker, the Dublin team and supporters were like shell shocked, blue clad zombies from a post apocalyptical world. The unbeatables were beaten, How did it happen?

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 12/09/2014 14:21:25    1651335

Out of interest Master, who would you like to see get the Mayo job?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 12/09/2014 14:31:02    1651340

Their defeat of Tyrone in 2010 was something special, Tyrone finished with a mare 10 points that day I think. 11 in 2011.

What? Not that it's at all important but for the sake of accuracy Tyrone scored 0-13 in 2010 and 0-15 in 2012.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 12/09/2014 16:27:22    1651397

In 2011 not '12

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 12/09/2014 16:50:42    1651408

If that is what you are interested in realdub then what are you on this thread for? Start one about the mayo job...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 12/09/2014 16:56:18    1651411

Lockjaw

Re:

ok joxer, can you tell me how many defenders were ahead of the ball when Flynn kicked his points? It wasn't anywhere near what you seem to think it was.

SamOnErrigal, that question was directed to the Dublin fans who seemed to want to attribute any failing in their own team and manager onto the genius of jim mcguinness. There is a bit of 'our team was beaten by true genius, (therefore our lads are not to blame)' going on. But the truth is that while Donegal done a lot of very good things (their foul count was unbelievably low in the first half) the reality is Dublin very much played a part in their own downfall.

I would agree to an extent. Do you think the Dub's were slightly egotistical also? I think they might have underestimated our much vaunted system and trusted in their own all-out gung-ho attack too much.[/i]

Unlikely they underestimated us. They would have planned as carefully for our match the same way they did for all their other games, a la jim McGuinness style planning. They would hardly be blamed for believing in themselves by the way they blew their opposition out of the water all through the later part of the league and right up to the semi final stage. I would say that they were just succeeder on the break, and that can happen anyone chasing a game.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 12/09/2014 17:14:23    1651424

Braynadams you have over 500 posts here and almost everyone of them your havivg a go at dublin what is your problem? are you actually a gaa supporter at all? i just find it ironic as your from kildare pound for pound the worst gaa county in the land and possibly the worst sporting county in the land also ,you gotta let go life is way too short and all that .

millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 12/09/2014 17:28:06    1651430

Did the capital see Donegal as a similar-ish challenge to Monaghan? Donegal came through a closely and hard fought battle in the Ulster final. Having blown away Monaghan, were the capital possibly guilty of underestimating the Donegal challenge as a result?

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7884 - 12/09/2014 18:19:36    1651445

Sorry, if it is a stupid post, then why are you going on to agree with what was said in it? How does that make sense.

It appears that it is yourself that is looking for angles; ranting at me, yet agreeing with the point I made afterwards. Im just talking about the game, a Donegal poster actually agreed with me. It wasn't all down to Donegal being the better team. Dublin made them look very good for much of it. Whether you like it or not, that is a genuine talking point, and people are entitled to talk about it.

Let me get this right, you are saying the Dubs are giving way too much credit to JMG and Donegal for Victory and in truth it was Dublins poor play that made Donegal look good .
So does this mean are you saying if we gave very little credit to JMG and Donegal and highlighted our missed opportunities and what could have been if certain players played better and how really our poor performance made Donegal look good. You would be on here agreeing with us.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 12/09/2014 18:48:06    1651458

Rarely I agree with TheMaster.....

But Gavin was tactically naive. After the goal went in for Donegal.....Johnny Cooper went AWOL. O'Sullivan and McCarthy could have easily played centre half back. He didn't see the problem quickly enough and changed Cooper when the Donegal Ship was sailing away into the sunset.

I actually don't think Donegal were that good, the second and third goals are shocking goals to concede at any level, Dublin got caught with the goals. The manager couldn't have done much about the flukey nature of the first goal (it wasn't even a Donegal free). But sometimes these decisions go against you, you don't crumble! But after the second goal Gavin should have whipped Cooper off and shored up the middle.

Note: If Connolly had drilled the ball instead of trying to look fancy, we wouldn't even be talking about Gavin!!!!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 12/09/2014 20:38:12    1651486

made look tactically naive more like..donegal knew the dubs would push up on them so used that to their advantage..outwitted and outplayed..quite simple

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 12/09/2014 21:43:00    1651504

During the second half of the recent semi final, the Dubs resembled the "startled earwigs" of 2009. Gilroy learned the hard way, and Id say if he was in charge again, the Dubs would have won another dour contest.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 13/09/2014 15:13:25    1651600

millhouse

Braynadams you have over 500 posts here and almost everyone of them your havivg a go at dublin what is your problem? are you actually a gaa supporter at all? i just find it ironic as your from kildare pound for pound the worst gaa county in the land and possibly the worst sporting county in the land also ,you gotta let go life is way too short and all that .

You noticed Millhouse,fair play. There are a few eejits on here alright which would make you wonder what their issue is with the world.Most of them probably don't even go to games but use the anonymity to snipe or play silly buggers. However I did say ( a few ) and most are decent unbiased GAA supporters with fair views and have a life.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 13/09/2014 19:16:44    1651679

thats still based on the 2011 version of donegal though joncarter...donegal improved massively after that..sure kildare possibly should have beaten them that year and we all know that kildare side was nothing special

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 13/09/2014 19:59:10    1651698

Donegal have improved massively since 2011, but so have Dublin. If Kildare could have beaten Donegal in 2011, then armagh could have beaten Donegal this year. Armaghs performance in the quarter final suggests that Donegal dont play as well against defensively orientated sides, and if Gilroy were in charge, theres no way would Donegal have been able to pounce on those chasmic gaps in the Dub defence. The Dubs defence the last day resembled the startled earwigs of 2009. Would never have happened over Gilroy post 2010.
Anyway, the title of this thread is Gilroy v mcGuinness, they came up against each other just once in the championship, and Gilroy won.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 13/09/2014 20:12:54    1651710