If Donegal beat Dublin..

of course it would be a massive huge shock..look at the odds...sure isnt this dublin team being made out to be one of the best ever?

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 28/08/2014 14:28:35    1643514

TheGateKeeper

1643467 If Donegal beat Dublin...

there won't be as much noise from the mouthy dubs!

there was none mouthier than the once mighty tyrone!

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 28/08/2014 14:37:13    1643523

28/08/2014 11:26:19
Mollymalone

1643360 It would be a catastrophe for Gaelic Football and a very bad advert for our game. Atha Cliath Abu........reprsent all thats good and positive about the game and excellent example for young kids in terms of skill and how the game should be played....

Michael Darragh quoted in the media recently, saying that talent doesn't matter, and that he doesn't see himself as a naturally gifted footballer.
I agree with him to an extent and feel it tells some part of the story about Dublin's rise.
MDMcC alludes to attitude and hard work winning over natural ability, all very true and required, but i also feel the whole 'resources' thing has a huge part to play.
I don't subscribe to people's opinion that Dublin have always had the same level of backing and resources, and that it's just the fact that coaching etc.. has brought them on to their current level.
Things have obviously moved up a few notches in terms of their financial clout and available resources.
Over the past 30 years Dublin have not had the most naturally gifted footballers, or resources, and this combination meant they struggled badly in that time period - only 3 All Ireland's in 30 years for the largest county in the Country with the most clubs, Donegal have 2 in that period, Tyrone 3, Meath a few more and Kerry many more.
Now that their methods/resources have far outstripped the competition, they are seeing the benefit, but the rest will catch up, and you'll see the gap lessen.
Dublin will not rule for as long as people think.

fire_in_belly (Donegal) - Posts: 59 - 28/08/2014 14:47:30    1643533

Ulsterman : I'd agree with that. Mayo are the only side capable of beating Dublin .

Dublin will beat us with , I also feel they would beat Kerry with relative ease ...

Wayno1 : Donegal beating Dublin 2014 would be a much bigger shock than 92 ; sadly it won't happen . I really hope I am wrong :(

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 28/08/2014 15:00:44    1643541

RE: DUBJOHN

Ah come now John, surely you'll allow us Donegal folk to dream from time to time. Please don't be robbing us of that minuscule of hope we dearly do cling to.

DL17 (Donegal) - Posts: 86 - 28/08/2014 15:11:07    1643549

Very strange question.

Any one who thinks that the current All-Ireland Champions being beaten by the previous All-Ireland Champions is a shock result doesn't know anything about anything imo.

Foolish question.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 28/08/2014 15:29:02    1643560

Good post Gary Mc... Don't want to be splitting hairs but Donegal played Dublin in the League Final in '93, the year after the All Ireland Final. In '92, the two teams played in the League Quarter Final in Breffni Park where Donegal played Dublin off the park and were 4/5 points up with two minutes left to play and conceded two late goals to give Dublin victory!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 28/08/2014 15:33:07    1643565

I certainly hope Donegal do themselves justice in this match. Although it was nice to beat them well last year, I took no joy in what it turned into. That is still on their backs to a degree and I'd like to see them roll back the clock at the weekend and maybe erase that memory from view. I think they can get a draw.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/08/2014 15:43:42    1643578

Master

If they can get a draw then they can obviously get a win!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 28/08/2014 15:58:58    1643595

Master - that is my biggest fear ; last year was tough alright . We have got some drubbings down the years ; it was just abnormal under JMG !

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 28/08/2014 16:00:45    1643597

Picture the scene. Big Neil wins the ball from the throw-in and quickly off loads to Karl Lacey running off his shoulder. Lacey drives into the Dublin half and sends in a high angled ball towards the Dublin goal. Murphy rises above the ROC to collect and smashes a rocket past Cluxton to give Donegal an early goal lead. Donegal's tails are up and set up to defend their lead and counter attack as if their lives depend on it.

Wishful thinking or maybe, just maybe....

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 28/08/2014 16:07:58    1643603

The biggest shock of all time is what it would be
And any dub saying otherwise is just playing cute hoor. Its not going to happen. It would be like Westmeath beating kk at their height. Dublin are far superior to any other county this year and 12 has nothing to do with it. Donegal would have to not only be at 12 level but probably quadruple that to. Even have a chance with Dublin playing well below par. 1/10 is actually buying money a gurranteed 100 for a 1000.
No disrespect to Donegal a fine team in their own right. But this Dublin outfit are basically professional against armature. They have set the bar so high the rest of us much catch up.
If Donegal were to win it'd be a miracle.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/08/2014 16:09:54    1643604

Royaldunne

To compare Dub/Don with Kil/Wes is ludicrous.
No comparison whatsoever. I'd imagine our north western friends will be offended by that!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 28/08/2014 16:37:10    1643619

Mayo, Kerry, it s 50, 50, i feel Kerry, this time, but the Donegal, Dublin, winner s, will win Sam, no disrespect, if Donegal was not there i would like Mayo,every1 would, cant see it, Dublin are the team to beat, and it would be Donegal s most famous victory if they beat the Mighty Dub s, here s 1 though, ok it was a different time, Cavan beating Kerry in the Polo ground s, which is history, so on the day anything can happen.

mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 28/08/2014 16:55:30    1643628

The 1947 'final' was never really accepted as an AI title in the proper sense, a Kerry man told me that :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 28/08/2014 17:02:49    1643631

If Donegal beat Dublin..

Then fair play to them.

Why would an excellent team beating another team be a shock?

3 Ulsters and 1 AI already in the bag for what is the greatest Donegal team of all time...

Yeah... It'll be a massive shock... sure

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 28/08/2014 17:02:54    1643632

If Donegal beat Dublin it would be like 300 Spartans beating a million Persians at the pass.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 28/08/2014 17:05:00    1643635

We will not lose it's impossible for us to lose we will win comfortably in the end after an edgy start.

It's impossible for us to lose he says...................

Nothing is impossible and this statement smacks of arrogance, you may well win the match but to state it's impossible to lose well that's a statement and a half....

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 28/08/2014 17:33:57    1643652

We really haven't much chance. The bookies have called it 1/10 for a reason. The bookies aren't dumb. Dublin have attacking prowess to a level I've never seen before in Gaelic football. Watching that in full flight is a sight to behold. I know out lads will be brave and give it a real go, but quite frankly it's almost like Ireland taking on the USA in a military conflict. We would like to think we can prevail but Dublin have all the heavy artillery.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 28/08/2014 17:42:22    1643655

Ive been told we were 4/1 in 92, were 6/1 on sunday....

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 218 - 28/08/2014 18:15:34    1643669