Hurling all stars 2014

Hurlingguru,i agree with most of your team selection,although depending on final,i think P Murphy could get one of the corner back positions.Id have him slightly ahead of J Tyrell at present.If Tipp win the final,eiher Woodlock or S McGrath,will more than likely get that second midfield slot.If KK win,either of Limericks 2 midfielders,Browne or Ryan,may get the nod.The forward 6 look like certainties already,unless someone like N McGrath or Eoin Larkin/R Power has a man of the match performance in the final.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 20/08/2014 14:14:35    1639348

Gleeson hardly deserves keeper before Alan Nolan. Idea of best puck out display is nonsense. Do it against kk n then maybe he an all star.

On full back if callinan is player of the year how can the only man to shackle him not be the best full back?

As for midfield Shane McGrath would prob be my fav after Dublin n cork games however opposition were poor.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 20/08/2014 14:32:08    1639368

I wouldnt rule out Richie Mac of Limerick but I feel Tipp / KK between them could have at least 4 positions. The AI final could open the door for him depending on who gets roasted in the final because either one of Tipp r KKs forward lines will fire and some back men who we think were in with a shout could be exposed.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 20/08/2014 15:00:25    1639398

Gleeson has let in a geansai load of goals, are yiz looking to give him an all-star just for that tripe that cusack came up with. I'd like to see Nolan get it, but I reckon it's unlikely. Quaid wasn't bad

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 20/08/2014 15:26:16    1639421

Fullback is a tricky one alrite.Richie Mc definately worth a shout.He did play well on Callinan.However if JJ Delaney holds Callinan in the final - a feat JJ has regularly has achieved - he may well get the nod.Normally the two finalists get a minimum of 10 All Stars,sometimes upto 12.Not sure Cork have anybody,bar Conor Lehane maybe,to win one.Limerick have decent shouts for McCarthy,Hickey,Hannon and Dowling.Doubt theyd get more than 2.The final will decide a lot.As it always does.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 20/08/2014 15:30:26    1639425

Hurling1Guru1

1639314 therealtmo - I can't argue with most of your selections. But Brian Hogan? not in a million years. It would take a colossal performance from him in the final to make it.

Have to agree with this, Id see this as a position that Tipp should target. Either having Bonner running at him or Bubbles or Noel McGrath picking a few points off him as I think he can be a bit loose.
Would be interested in what lads think of him especially the Kilkenny lads?

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 20/08/2014 16:05:08    1639449

1) Darren Gleeson
2) Shane O'Neill
3) Richie McCarthy
4) Seamus Hickey
5) Brendan Maher
6) Padraic Maher
7) Cillian Buckley
8) Daniel Kearney
9) James Woodlock
10) Richie Hogan
11) Declan Hannon
12) Colin Fennelly
13) John O'Dwyer
14) Seamus Callanan
15) Patrick Bonar Maher

crossfieldball (Galway) - Posts: 650 - 20/08/2014 16:21:16    1639464

How could anyone have Glesson, O Neill, Keraney or Hannon on all star team I just can't see how. Df I see your back calling Cork poor opposition yet they were your tip for all Ireland and beat Limerick by 6 points. Cork are never poor opposition.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 20/08/2014 17:42:01    1639535

Realtmo they were my tip AT START of year. My opinion was based on the addition of players to a team that nearly won last year.

I believe there are 4 players on this Cork team that wouldn't make any other top 4 or poss top 6 team. Also think apart from Sullie their brnch is weakest of top 6. I did say tipp would beat cork.

We all take a shot at start of year. U predicted Clare don't forget.

As for us losing to cork by 6. It was a bad day for us there are lots of factors that cost us that game. I doubt there are many now who would say cork are better than lk.

Agree with u that gleeson hannon Kearney or o neill shouldn't make all star team. Barrett mac n hickey best f back line by far.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 20/08/2014 19:28:11    1639594

Cork are still Munster champions and that can't be taking away from them. In regards to the fullback line the final will have a big say on it. For me Hickey is the only one that has it wrapped up, I would hate to see him loosing out if Barrett, JJ, Jackie and Murphy all have great game in final because it should not be like this.
The keeper seems to be up in the air at the moment, I think Nash, Nowlan and Nicky Q would be the possible options at the moment unless one of the keepers in the final have a display like PJ Ryan in 09

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 20/08/2014 20:01:18    1639620

Never ever tried to take anything away from corks Munster win realtmo. Still entitled to my opinion that they are an average team.

Think Munster c ship is devalued entity. We won it last year and for most of us last year was a bad year. Most cork fans feel the same this year.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 20/08/2014 20:31:56    1639639

Will the Kilkenny keeper not be in line for an All Star? Only one goal conceded although he only came during the replay V Galway.

222 (UK) - Posts: 695 - 20/08/2014 20:54:13    1639646

If Cork are a average team what does that make Limerick ? The Munster championship still means alot, I told you at start of year Limerick needed to win Munster again to make head way. If Limerick were Munster champions now and still beating in semi it would be a massive building block.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 20/08/2014 20:54:41    1639647

Realtmo if u wanna call limerick average then feel free to do so I won't disagree.

For me the fact cork beat us means we had a bad day at the office, we missed a lot of chances, we totally faded on last 10 minutes. It was a v bad at office. U will mock this I'm sure but we strutted out of Pairc Ui Caoimh cos we thought we would meet cork in AI final.

Personally I don't care about winning Munster cship n I couldn't disagree more with your comment about winning Munster n losing AI semi. It's an all Ireland we need. Losing semi last year in manner we did ruined out year n devalued Munster win hugely in my mind. I took my bookie for fair chunk last Sunday. No way could I see anything other than tipp win.

Now to cork they have 2 backs who wouldn't make any other top 6 team and 2 forwards in same boat. They have one forward who only played well against lk. There is no other top 4 team you can say that about. Also except for sullie they have poorest bench. In my mind gap between kk tipp lk and the rest is wide.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 20/08/2014 21:20:36    1639660

Df never said Limerick were average, I dont think any team are average to be honest. Df saying you just want Limerick to win the all Ireland is like the student saying I want 600points without the study. I toldyou every team builds up to winning the all Ireland and for me Limerick missed a huge step in not winning Munster this year. You need to stop with the excuses about Limerick V Clare last year, V Cork was bad day at office and V KK I see you blamed the weather. I think Limerick problem is simple ye lack two or three top forwards.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 20/08/2014 21:41:57    1639676

Realt Clare won AI last year n had nothing of note won at senior level. Senior is a huge step up from 21s so they effectively dismiss ur student analogy out of hand.
I cannot think of anyone who would agree with u that it would be better for lk to win Munster n then lose to tipp this year. Think that would set this side back a lot.

Now what u call my excuses I call analysis. Get loughnane said almost word for word what I said about Clare game on evening edition of Sunday game after kk match.
Because I'm from lk it is only natural that I know more about what happened in last years semi than you with regard to lk team n management. Because of this I could confidently predict Clare wouldn't be contenders this year.

My bookie found out last Sunday the validity of my excuse/ analysis of Munster final. No way could I see cork beating tipp so I piled in.

Now if u playing junior B u know that wet day suits older slower more experienced team. If it a wet lead up to AI I will back kk. If not I have a hankering for tipp. Only thing that makes me doubt is tipps soft side. I feel kk are on the wane n I think we missed a real good chance to take em.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 21/08/2014 08:21:09    1639701

Realtmo you are 100% correct. Limerick are a few forwards short of winning the All Ireland and also about 3 or 4 players short of having a strong enough bench to win an All Ireland. The Cork and Kilkenny matches proved that. When we needed a goal or to tack on a few points we had nobody to come off the bench that was going to do that. There are plenty of players are coming through but they are about 2 or 3 years away yet. Compare our bench to Kilkenny's. There are lads on the Kilkenny bench who would walk onto our team. Until we are in a place where that isn't the case I would suggest we will fall short.

Now in saying that on any given day we could beat anybody. The difference between us and the other top teams is that we are relying on about 17 players to do that and to expect them to do that 3 or 4 times in a row over a Summer is a bit much. We'll get there. It will just take a few yrs

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 21/08/2014 10:34:10    1639763

Tipp won the Munster Final in 2012. How many All Stars did Tipp get. Limerick won it last year and they got 1 All Star. There is no guarantee Cork will get that many All Stars

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4331 - 21/08/2014 21:45:41    1640248

I seriously think Nash will be the only Cork player and that's with a bit of luck. Limerick should have maybe two and the rest will be between Tipp and Cork. It should be based on season but everybody knows it comes down to the final

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 22/08/2014 12:54:48    1640434

The replay is bad news for anyone outside of Kilkenny or Tipperary in terms of getting an All Star. Seamus Hickey and Shane Dowling are the only outsiders likely to get one.

Most positions are pretty certain at this stage.

1. Gleeson/Murphy - depends on replay.
2. Murphy - Tipp
3. Hickey - Limerick
4. Tyrrell - KK
5. Brendan Maher - Tipp
6. Pádraic Maher - Tipp
7. Buckley - KK
8. Hogan - KK
9. McGrath - Tipp
10. Bubbles - Tipp
11. Bonner - Tipp
12. TJ - KK
13. Fennelly - KK
14. Callanan - Tipp
15. Dowling - Limerick

In my opinion the only players who may possibly miss out with a very bad performance in three weeks would be Tyrrell, Murphy, McGrath and Fennelly. Barrett, Stapelton, Power, and Noel McGrath likely replacements.

Hurling1Guru1 (Galway) - Posts: 244 - 07/09/2014 19:07:08    1649206