Hurling all stars 2014

I mean Murphy from Kilkenny, obviously.

Hurling1Guru1 (Galway) - Posts: 244 - 07/09/2014 20:22:42    1649244

Hurling guru Id say you are very close. I really dont rate Gleeson as anything like the best keeper in Ireland. Id have Murphy (fav after today) Nolan Quaid and Nash well above Gleeson. For me Barrett Tipp is best No. 2 in Ireland and Id say along with Hickey and Murphy will make up full back line.After that Id rather have Jim Ryan (LK) before McGrath but I think ALL stars are picked mostly on final so Id say McGrath is in pole position.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 07/09/2014 21:00:36    1649275

So on the evening of one of best hurling AI finals in living memory, while people are still gathering their breath, and a replay to come. you have people (2?) from Galway and Limerick discussing who should be in the All Stars this year.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2478 - 07/09/2014 21:21:14    1649286

It would seem so, yes.

Hurling1Guru1 (Galway) - Posts: 244 - 08/09/2014 12:38:10    1649510

Christ even the corner backs are impossible to pick the 4 lads yesterday were awesome

The shoe ins are Richie Hogan, Seamus Callinan, Bonnar Maher, Colin Fennelly. After that I give up!!

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 08/09/2014 13:12:25    1649534

Actually now that I think about it, unless we have a one-sided replay, the corner backs will be one each to Tipp and KK, with Hickey accommodated at full-back. Couldn't call it at this stage. Stapleton was exceptional yesterday. But, if I was a betting man I would say Barrett and Murphy.

Hurling1Guru1 (Galway) - Posts: 244 - 08/09/2014 13:58:51    1649583

Cockney CAt even of it was someone from leitrim and Monaghan picking hurling all stars so what. This is a public forum if u dont like what goes on then find somewhere to post ur bias.

Not that it should matter but my own county beat tipp and ye have a deluge to thank for getting past us in the semis so less of the arrogance although having been in Croker yesterday I know how naturally it comes to ye.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 08/09/2014 20:11:07    1649831

disillusiondfan
County: Limerick

1649831 Cockney CAt even of it was someone from leitrim and Monaghan picking hurling all stars so what. This is a public forum if u dont like what goes on then find somewhere to post ur bias.

Not that it should matter but my own county beat tipp and ye have a deluge to thank for getting past us in the semis so less of the arrogance although having been in Croker yesterday I know how naturally it comes to ye.

Ouch!!!!

someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 08/09/2014 20:22:36    1649836

My prediction for All-Stars 2014:

1. Gleeson - Tipp
2. Murphy - KK
3. JJ - KK
4. Hickey - Limerick
5. B Maher - Tipp
6. P Maher - Tipp
7. Buckley - KK
8. Hogan - KK
9. McGrath - Tipp
10. Bubbles - Tipp
11. Bonner - Tipp
12. TJ - KK
13. Fennelly - KK
14. Callanan - Tipp
15. Dowling - Limerick

Player of the year: Richie Hogan. Nominated: Seamus Callanan and either TJ Reid or Seamus Hickey.
Young Player of the Year: Shane Dowling. Nominated: Cathal Barrett and Alan Cadogan.

The replay threw up more questions than answers.
Full-back line is impossible to call. Seamus Hickey has to get one, all three KK lads deserve one, Barrett deserves one. Richie McCarthy in contention also.
Has Richie Power played himself into contention despite only playing two and a half games? Personally I don't think he will get one, as I don't see any of the six forwards named being left off.

Hurling1Guru1 (Galway) - Posts: 244 - 28/09/2014 11:25:11    1657629

D Gleeson
S Hickey
JJ Delaney
P Murphy
P Walsh
P Maher
K Buckley
S McGrath
R Hogan
TJ Reid
P Maher
J O Dwyer
C Fennelly
S Callinan
R Power

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 28/09/2014 12:52:12    1657652

What do people think about the sunday games team of the year. they got it fairly spot on cathal barrett and richie mccarthy deserve it aswell but might just miss out with the tough competition

bulldog1 (Limerick) - Posts: 21 - 29/09/2014 14:22:33    1658110