All Ireland u21 football 2014

Message for floops. Can you explain your post regarding cavan posters. I see one post final that could be construed as in bad taste from DD10. That's it. Also i'll think you will find there were only a small number of individual cavan posters who were out of order after the semi. GallantJOHNjoe was 100% right to take you to task.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 03/05/2014 20:10:34    1583818

It's getting like the 70's all over again. There were poor crowds back then too, unless it was an AI Final. It's hard to argue that it would not become boring if one team dominated, it happened with Kilkenny and Kerry to an extent. But what are ya gonna do? The only answer is to scrap the provincials and go group/knockout or just plain 32 county knockout, with the first team drawn getting the home venue, will people be happy then?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 03/05/2014 20:23:57    1583827

What happened was that some of the Dublin supporters gave Cavan little credit for nullifying their attacking threat and holding them to a single point. Even Dessie Farrell stated that Dublin were lucky to get through the semi-final. Some of the Dub posters tried to play down Cavan's performance by saying that Dublin had an off-day.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 03/05/2014 20:37:08    1583835

It seems that all the rubbish about taking Dublin out of Croke Park had no impact on their performance. O' Connor Park is just another pitch and if you are good enough you win. What's the next foolish suggestion going to be?

GreenMan (Offaly) - Posts: 38 - 03/05/2014 20:45:27    1583841

Great credit to a fine Dublin side ye were outstanding hats off.We were so naive and innocent it was untrue and tactically inept.We are not that bad of a team so disappointed for the boys.We are on the right road some fine players.

PS. Why are Cavan posters still here?We are ahead off ye at Senior whats the problem.?

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 03/05/2014 21:11:48    1583853

Really Disappoiinted but the dubs were a better team, end of. line needs a serious look at Itself.Too late for putting plan b Into action at half time. Hope the young lad from dub can get encouragement from. His outstanding teammates. Will surely help him. Well done to the great ros support too.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 520 - 03/05/2014 21:27:29    1583870

Great to see the Dubs show ther full potential yesterday.
At one stage we were 1-17 to 0-01 up and despite taking our eyes off the ball for a 5 minute spell, we were magnificent.

No shame in the Rossies being beaten by such a talented group of Dunlin players, even without our 2 star players from the senior ranks - Ciaran Kilkenny and Shane Carthy.

All the best to the Rossies - I am sure some of these will play senior for their county this year.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 04/05/2014 08:34:37    1583891

Great to see the Dubs show ther full potential yesterday.
At one stage we were 1-17 to 0-01 up and despite taking our eyes off the ball for a 5 minute spell, we were magnificent.

No shame in the Rossies being beaten by such a talented group of Dublin players, even without our 2 star players from the senior ranks - Ciaran Kilkenny and Shane Carthy.

All the best to the Rossies - I am sure some of these will play senior for their county this year.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 04/05/2014 08:36:46    1583892

salvador
County: Roscommon

PS. Why are Cavan posters still here?We are ahead off ye at Senior whats the problem.?

Very cringey stuff....hope dey brought the cup to your school this week.

.tribute (Cavan) - Posts: 360 - 04/05/2014 11:12:00    1583936

have to say I was very disappointed with the lack of respect and plaudits we received after the semi. cavan have no right competing with Dublin. we don't have a tenth of your population. and yet all that separated us was a dodgy 13 metre free.
yea we might have been a bit cagey but I recall us kicking some brilliant scores that day only for the stiff breeze who knows what could have been. were not stupid we would not have beaten the dubs in a shootout look at what happened ross yesterday. bit of recognition would have been nice. and at least we can say that we were the only team in the country to have given the dubs a game this year.

blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 194 - 04/05/2014 12:45:41    1583973

Full credit to Dublin on a great performance from a very talented team.

But Roscommon, come on, how can an obviously good U21 team collapse in a heap like that & not even turn up on the day?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 04/05/2014 12:59:08    1583979

s goldrick I don't think i have to explain myself.

The fact we're having this conversation tells all :)

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 04/05/2014 14:15:54    1583996

First off congrats to the Dubs a fine team and deservedly All Ireland winners and will be the U-21 team to beat again next year.

They say you leave your best performance for last Dublin certainly did yesterday but we without a doubt produced our worst display for years at this grade. Management naive tactics cost us yesterday and the Dubs exploited that weakness to the max.

Anyway i'll like to give thanks to our lads 2014 has been a successful year Hasting,Connacht titles won and another All Ireland appearance we just need to keep this consistency going at underage level now and then bring through a many players to senior level as we can.

P.S in reply to the Cavan supporter that claimed we were on the softer side of the draw remind me who beat Cavan in semi final last year and who we had to beat in this years semi final?

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3766 - 04/05/2014 16:35:53    1584035

Great day out

Worth getting wet and being stuck in traffic for 2hrs before even starting the drive home

Firstly.. Hard luck Roscommon... you are far better than that

That was Dublin's best under 21 performance since 2012

The first half was passage after passage of sublime football... the highest possible standard of attacking football

And they took their opportunities... McHugh, Scully, Costello, Mannion... all superb... not fair to point out a few players when the foundation was built on a solid team performance

I was critical of Dessie before the game and I think he's say the same himself... Dublin have been outing in poor performances sine the loss to Longford

But you couldn't fault his team on Saturday...well done to you Dessie...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 04/05/2014 16:57:43    1584048

Dublin were just unbelievable in that first half yesterday, they played at a speed rarely seen at underage level, the best u21 performance I have seen, its easy to blame Rossies tactics after the fact but they thought they could win a shootout and it was not to be. Having said that Ros had no luck in that first half and any breaks going went to Dublin, but then they say you make your own luck, the kickout ststs tell it all, Dubs won 88% of their own kickouts and 65% of ours, that tells its own story,I said in a previous post that we would get 6 senior players from that squad and I still think we will, that defeat will do them damage but I feel they are strong enough to overcome that setback. What does not kill you makes you stronger etc.
As for those posters who are taking pleasure in our defeat well good luck to ye, we will support our own team and worry about no other.
The only thing that will stop the current Dublin jugernaught is the weight of all-Ireland medals in their pockets, once that happens lack of ambition will set in but we may have to wait a while for that yet, good luck to Dublin, its up to the other counties to try and be as good as them. PROUD TO BE A ROSSIE

giveballaghback (Roscommon) - Posts: 296 - 04/05/2014 18:12:31    1584083

What age is Conor McHugh? Exceptional talent

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 04/05/2014 18:18:08    1584086

04/05/2014 18:18:08
GallantJohnJoe

1584086 What age is Conor McHugh? Exceptional talent

20.is eligible for 21s again next year

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 04/05/2014 18:24:09    1584088

http://www.hoganstand.com/Football/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=215686

Apparently from speaking to a few Rossie fans, the Rossie bus cost over 200k

Now if the Dubs travelled in that there would be some uproar.

The difference in the 2 team buses was startling to say the least.

Poor country cousins my ***

Ands a new Centre of Excellence on the way for them also....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 07/05/2014 10:26:34    1584909

Fionn,

Why would Dublin need a bus, sure they can usually walk to their games from their house!! Croke Park is only down the road!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 07/05/2014 10:33:58    1584914

To be fair, doesn't the bus have six different sponsors? I'd say that'd pay a nice chunk of the €200k cost. Also, I think it looks great and adds a bit of colour to the day. I can see SKY having a few shots of the team bus arriving during the championship to add to the build up to the match. Fair play to Roscommon - who doesn't need transport and there's nothing wrong with arriving in style. I'd like to see Dublin (and others) do something similar (if it makes economic sense, of course) to add to the match day occasion (I don't think the championship is near well enough marketed, but that's a separate debate).

(Disclaimer: I am not from Roscommon, my folks aren't from Roscommon, I have no relations in Roscommon, my partner's not from Roscommon, I have no affiliation with any of the Roscommon teams or county board and I have no affiliation with BNP Paribas Real Estate, Ballymore Group, Dermot Hughes Toyota, Westward Scania Ireland, Seamus Carthy REA Auctioneers and O'Neill's sportswear - I just like the look of the bus :-))

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 07/05/2014 11:04:35    1584921