Kilkenny Football

What is happening with football in Kilkenny? It would be great to see a decent enough team emerge from Kilkenny. Kerry are the opposite to ye. Great football team and a poor hurling team. To be honest there are only approx 15 hurling clubs in Kerry and they are all North Kerry teams.

Is it just that hurling is the only game that people within the county have (just like football in Kerry) or is there an interest but no one willing or able to take over the county teams?

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 01/06/2012 15:49:29    1185326

Aidan I think your getting your answer from non existent feedback on this matter. Also you say Kerry have a great football team. They have a very good football team don't get carried away by thinking they are great. I'll fight you for 30 euro

MorrisMorrissey (Limerick) - Posts: 265 - 12/06/2012 15:30:28    1192777

It's well worth remembering that Kilkenny was the very first County to win a Leinster senior football title, and since then they have won two more, they have two more than some Counties and three more than another.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2908 - 24/06/2012 21:43:30    1201350

yes KK won 3 LS titles over a hundred years ago Three - 1888, 1900, '11 LOL

brennomartin (Dublin) - Posts: 65 - 25/08/2012 09:05:59    1251540

It is hard to keep both codes going, no surprise that the two teams in hurling final could be considered to have the two worst football teams. Look at us, we are still trying to be running after P Joyce who is heading for the forty years of age, and he is still the only player in our County with a bit of class. And Salthill who is in Club Semi Final are depending on two Ex hurling players, who are too old to play hurling anymore. Cork are really the only County ever that could boast about keeping both codes going at the same time over the years.

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 29/08/2012 13:40:15    1254816

yea over 100yr ago we won them
and its over 100yr ago we decided football was not for us,
we love a good challenge things that get the blood flowing,that thing was hurling.
its a more challenging game with a small ball it takes skill and endurance to make it happen when its needed
football fans try not take that as sarcastic but football does not miss or need us so why does this topic
keep rearing its head...the true facts are we are a small county who have little interest in football
in the perfect world all countys would supply both.
so please guys we rarely post but if we where would certainly not be about Kilkenny football this close to an All Ireland final

thedaddy (Kilkenny) - Posts: 63 - 29/08/2012 17:08:25    1255125

Well said thedaddy! Thank God for hurling!

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 29/08/2012 17:25:40    1255144

Sammy you are some character. We have a wonderful football tradition and statements like P Joyce is the only footballer with class in the county is a bit naive. I recall some Galway people saying that JC was the only decent hurler in the county exactly one year ago after Waterford put us to the sword. Bottom line we have loads of talent in both codes but talent is only one ingredient for a successful team. I do agree with you that Cork are the best dual county at getting most out of their resources but their population and set up lends to that with hurling the dominant game in most of Cork but enough football territory to be a force. Galway is very split and i would go as far as saying quite divisve in terms of strutures etc.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 07/09/2012 16:17:31    1261734

A disgrace what ye have done to yer footballers always admired ye as a county but not no more my county might not be much better but we make some effort at both codes complete lack of respect to one of our TWO national games cop on lads

Acountyman (Limerick) - Posts: 235 - 11/10/2012 20:24:33    1281903

Acountyman..

Sounds like ya got all the answers ????
I am just curious have you been to any of the Kilkenny football games??
Have you ever even been to Kilkenny??
How do you suggest we generate revenue to keep a team going that cant beat the weakest teams out there
in a game we care very little about
its not going to come from gate receipts..is it ???

I think you may need to go over to Kilkenny spend a few weeks there go to clubs and see how much interest is actually there for football.
very little and its not from the lack of trying...to be honest we don't even have a soccer team now that's got to tell you something..
I am looking forward to hearing all the answers from you...
But remember as i said before football is no worse off without us so try looking how you can be a benefit to you team and we will worry about ours

thedaddy (Kilkenny) - Posts: 63 - 18/10/2012 14:44:53    1284992

A little effort with the football is all that's required. Supoose Laois hurlers decided that thy would pull out of the Leinster SHC and League would they be allowed?, I don't think so.

I can't believe that there are no people interested in football on Noreside.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1747 - 18/10/2012 17:38:18    1285140

I still can't figure out our determination in destabilising from gaelic football. I am only a blow in looking on that has come from a football background moreso but I am dissapointed by the attitude shown to football by the county board especially. Even the youngsters are discouraged from persisting in football over hurling why is this the case when there will only be a select few that will be good enough and get on an all ireland hurling team. Is it historical, the culture, unskilled in football or that ye just don't like the look of the big ball. Anyone?

kilkenny4sam (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3 - 27/11/2012 17:45:56    1303547

Hello all the good people of KK. Just a few small observations from Leitrim. Not exactly a stronghold in either football or hurling. But we keep going in both codes. With never a chance of any major titles. I was involved with an u14 football team that we brought down to Cork in 2011 for Feile, We had high hopes for this bunch of lads as they were unbeaten at all ages and still are. However we met O'Loughlin Gaels in the semi-final and bang, we were beaten. As fine a bunch of young footballers as we had seen. I do know that fatigue and a lack of Feile knowledge ( Yee had won the hurling Feile a week or so beforehand ) all counted but the better team won. I would love if we could organise a rematch at u16 level this year to see what would happen. However from what i seen and from talking to a few KK people at that time they said that football would be quite strong in KK if the county board pushed it. The best footballers are all playing hurling.

On a separate issue and also about football, two or three years ago at a NFL Div 4 game in Carrick i saw the KK subs sitting down with their own hoodies, Man Utd, Arsenal and Liverpool tracksuit tops etc on them. And yet they were wearing the Avonmore jersies !! Something badly wrong there.

It was sad and yet i was delighted to see that young McGarry lad making the papers again this week. As a man who has lost a sibling in a RTA im sure his mum was his first thought at the final whistle.

Cheers folks.

badsilage (Leitrim) - Posts: 149 - 12/02/2013 09:43:15    1332468

Yet again here I read about kk football. Kilkenny are the only county in ireland that focus 100 per cent on hurling. What about the likes of Tyrone Cavan Monaghan Donegal who all neglect hurling? Their county boards do absolutely nothing to improve our national game in these counties

upandwin (Down) - Posts: 112 - 17/02/2013 19:42:24    1335310

upandwin
Great Point. 15 or so counties do absolutely nothing for hurling and only have a team because of a few very dedicated volunteers. Yet their counties get no stick for it. Kilkenny created the best hurling team in living memory. It will obviously have an impact on football. Cork are going well in the football and you see hurlers switching. Counties find it hard to be good at both. But at least these counties try. Limerick have a competitive team in both codes. Not a great team in any but because they are competitive they are able to appease supporters of both. Before ppl from weak hurling counties look at kilkenny have a look at your hurling set up and you might see ye do the exact same thing

Fishermantom (Limerick) - Posts: 569 - 14/03/2013 10:45:59    1349245

Everyone will admit Kilkenny are the modern team in hurling - end of - some great players, examples of sportsmen, great manager etc.

However in all the rightful praise they receive in the media, it is never mentioned that this success comes at the expense of football. My own neighbouring county of Carlow - while considered to be a laughing stock in GAA quarters - actually attempts to seriously promote both codes from a much, much smaller population base, poor club structure, little or no track record of success and is at best mediocre in both. Maybe there is a lesson to be learned there, but what say if Offaly, Wexford, Waterford, Limerick, Tipp all chucked in the football it would be hard to argue that their hurling sides would improve immeasurably. There is a clear strategy at play in KK concentrate on the one code - some can argue well done - it brings success etc, but is this the entire story?

I say the counties that keep both codes going, probably at the price of any realistic chance of success in either do not get the credit they deserve. Remember too it is easier to promote the football than the hurling, as the skill level required is far higher for the latter.

Bainisteoir (National) - Posts: 540 - 14/03/2013 13:32:41    1349403

UpandWin:

Not quite true - these posts are from the Cavan pages. there appears to be a hurling revolution happening in Cavan at underage with new club/teams being formed.

Ulster Hurling Final - Cavan versus Monaghan
04 April 2013
SUPPORT YOUR COUNTY - MINOR HURLERS REACH ULSTER FINAL

Best off luck to our minor team who play in the Ulster minor hurling final tomo night in breffni park at 7pm. Make sure to come down to Breffni Park and Support the team

Cavan Hurling Coaching Workshop
09 April 2013

We are holding a coaching workshop this Saturday with two guest coaches please make an effort to attend and spread the message. The venue will be Kingspan Breffni Park (3G) and is free of charge to attend.

The sessions will be of most benefit to coaches who coach the ages between 6-12 and 13-18 for both hurling and camoige. Please email me back to confirm your interest in attending.

It is vitally important Cavan clubs especially send coaches and potential younger coaches.

ExiledCuCu (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 13/04/2013 13:52:51    1366940

Fishermantom
I take a slight issue with your argument regarding those counties that do not encourage hurling. Those counties, for the most part never played hurling at any high level, whereas KK were once a relatively strong football county. In 1911 they had three Leinster Senior Football titles won, the only county outside of Dublin in Leinster to have achieved this at that time. So there seems to have been a conscious decision made not to encourage football as opposed to having no tradition for playing the game in the black and amber county

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4342 - 05/05/2013 08:38:08    1378890

bla bla bla get over it lads

thedaddy (Kilkenny) - Posts: 63 - 07/05/2013 16:06:07    1380050

Well whoever made this topic, your wasting your time. The county of Kilkenny devotes everything to hurling so theres no time for gaelic football so thats why Kilkenny will not experience any Gaelic football success for a very long time.

Murlo111 (Dublin) - Posts: 192 - 07/05/2013 18:58:57    1380175