Seanie Johnston sitting on the Kildare bench

You really have issues sedico. Can't handle argument so try to throw insults. Not a meath kildare thing one bit. I didn't approve of it in 80s when kildare were on receiving end. Just so all counties know according to sedico if you don't win a div 2 title your opinnion does not matter. Grow up kid. Justify this or be quite.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/05/2012 16:00:47    1164780

I have my years a little mixed up there Breff I have to admit but I think you might find this interesting!

"See alsoDublin GAA
Dublin GAA Honours
Dublin Senior Football Championship
Vinnie Played Football in the Kingdom from 1996 to 1999 with the Strand Road side Kerins O'Rahillys, winning a Div 1 league in 1999, scoring 1-4 in the final. He was the top scorer in club football during his time there.He also played for Kerry in the Hurling C/ship V Cork scoring 1-3 in the defeat in 1998."

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 02/05/2012 16:04:28    1164783

Have meath ever poached a player? No. What has this got to do with meath. ??? Nothing yous are beginning to look very pathetic trying to divert this thread from the real problem hear sj was approached as was supple. Stick to the topic. Let meath deal with footballing matters. How can yous not try to justify this? If its so above board as you claim?? Stick to topic.
Ps I am so upset you won't support us anymore lilly I think ill call banty and ask him to call you to see can he change your mind. Your support will be missed

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/05/2012 16:08:42    1164788

Thanks for clearing that up jackeen. I always thought he was a Leitrim man.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 02/05/2012 16:08:59    1164790

royaldunne

What was in it for supple? Nothing. How would mcgeeney look if in the midst of sj saga he admitted approaching supple? On balance supple had nothing to gain for saying what he did but mcgeeney had.
Throw in sj. Is the guy really going to say yes I was approached?? When he is trying to convince people in hq and in beginning had no evidence to support that he was living in kildare?
a big leap of faith to say he was not approached. If it was a court of law I'd say a majority verdict would be clear. Yes he was.
Do you not think that's the reason this transfer has not gone through. The suspect he was poached.

I don't know what was in it for Supple to be honest. Never met the guy myself but know a few who have, meant to be a pretty quiet chap and very down to earth, does a fair bit of underage coaching in his club, fair play to him. Why he kept it quiet for a year before telling anybody about it is a strange one. Maybe he wanted to distract from himself leaving the Dublin panel, who knows except himself.

Why do you believe so strongly that he was approached to play in goal for us? Just because he made a comment about it himself? Yet you won't believe anybody who says something to the contrary?

If it was a court of law who knows what would happen. Seanie says he wasn't approached by Kildare, and that he approached them. Kildare say first contact was not made by them but by Seanie. Going on the word of the involved parties I would also expect a majority verdict. Though not the same verdict you'd be happy with.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 02/05/2012 16:09:43    1164791

Breff see also

Quote from Paidi O'Se article in Irish Independent

Ten years ago, the best full- forward operating on the Kerry club scene was one Vinny Murphy. But, while he was considered good enough to wear the green and gold in hurling, his football chance never came. I'm not one to break cabinet confidentiality, suffice to say it was a mistake. Certainly there was a view abroad that Kerry had been very conservative in not selecting Murphy. (Incidentally, his club Strand Road continues to make giant leaps forward and a lot of the young players have been coached by Vinny).

Read more: http://kerrygaa.proboards.com/index.cgi?board=classic&action=display&thread=2940&page=3#ixzz1tj1rXzal

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 02/05/2012 16:09:50    1164792

Well Liam I obviously didn't give the guy the credit he deserved but again I have my doubts about him being the top scorer in the Kerry Club Championship while a certain Maurice Fitzgerald was in his prime, although that stat is likely a technicality based on Kerrys confusing club championship setup.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 02/05/2012 16:12:34    1164796

You don't have any argument. It has been proven elsewhere that you are constantly contradicting yourself on other threads. You have no consistency in your posts.

Its getting under your skin that at this moment in time we have a better football side and that makes me smile...a lot.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 02/05/2012 16:14:44    1164800

gotmilk
County: Fermanagh

Thanks for clearing that up jackeen. I always thought he was a Leitrim man.

I don't think he knew what he was haha!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/05/2012 16:15:01    1164801

When I saw the photo in the paper the other day I figured Seanie and the Kildare management were trying to make a show of unity and maybe having a little dig at the powers that be as I'm sure both parties feel aggrieved by the transfer not going through. What's clear to me is that Seanie wants to go to Kildare, Kildare want Seanie, Cavan don't seem to want him anymore as he has burned too many bridges and if the transfer doesn't happen this year it will probably happen at some stage in the future. Seanie is a class act on his day and denying him or players like him the chance to play inter county football ultimately is harming our game as a spectacle. While the whole thing is a mess I just want to see an end to it but to be honest it wouldn't bother me if Seanie went to Kildare, Dublin, London or wherever else as top players need to be playing at the top level.

On a seperate issue I don't see why Shane Supple would say he was approached by the Kildare management set up if it wasn't the case but I suppose we will never know.

RoyalRumble (Meath) - Posts: 15 - 02/05/2012 16:16:22    1164802

It is a fact alright Breff
Paidi says it in his book also. While the V Man was in Kerry he was the top scorer in the Kerry Championship.
And this AFTER he lost his place to a 19 year old new comer called Jason something or other!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 02/05/2012 16:18:00    1164805

Liamwalkinstown

Any particular reason Shane Supple would make this up lads?

Not any reason that I can think of to be honest. Knowing a few people involved in different areas though I'd also think there's more to this story than a random phonecall to Shane, and an unamed individual on the other end of the line asking him to join Kildare. I'd also wonder is there any particular reason he waited a year before mentioning it to anybody. Somethings we may never find out.

On the Vinny Murphy side of things, my only standout memory of him was when he came on as a sub against Offaly in Croke Park years ago, made straight for his marker Karl Slattery and dumped him to the ground with ease, like swotting a fly with a shoulder tackle. Beast of a man that could poach a goal like nobody else. More battle hardened that Ollie Murphy but not as classy as Corkery (no offence). Would scare the sh*te out of most fullbacks around now.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 02/05/2012 16:20:00    1164808

If in doubt. Firstly fair play to keeping to topic in hand and not dismiss my points cause of county I from. I take your point about seannie. But as you and I know they main reason this has dragged on is firstly he had no prove of residency then he got it. conveniently. Now even his club are saying he does not reside in kildare. And at hq they are of beliefe he was approached and are making it as difficult as possible to complete it. He has trained with cavan gaels in recent months and according to reports has had talks to return to cavan set up, next thing he sitting on kildare bench? Surely he is been badly advised.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/05/2012 16:23:32    1164811

Sounds about right re Supple if-in-doubt

As for Vinny
they dont make em like him anymore alright :)
Legend

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 02/05/2012 16:24:26    1164812

no royal the real heart of your problem is your obsessed with anything got to do with kildare.and you will try your upmost to get a dig in at any opportunity did i miss your congratulations kildare post after sunday.
ill also make one or two phonecalls to mc geeney and SJ to ask them do they really give sh**t what other counties think?my bet is they dont!!
as i said i dont think shane supple was approached he made the claims a year after supposedly he was approached why didnt he mention it before then he comes out with the claims only when it was clear SJ submitted a transfer what i think happened was he was asked to give goalkeeping lessons in 2010 as supple does this reguarly and something else was told to newspapers in 2011 when it was clear that seanie was transfering to kildare.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 02/05/2012 16:25:17    1164814

So Tyrone, Meath & Dublin are all worried for the good and ethos of Kildare football.

What a joke. Yea their worried allright.

I advise Kildare folk to let them off and not to even answer their wumming posts.

I just hope we can put up a decent display in Portlaoise in June.

KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 02/05/2012 16:26:21    1164816

Kildare lads would you give it over Supple was asked by Mcgeeney to play for Kildare end of. This is a man who couldn't stand the big timers in English football so he came home to play the game he loves he is as honest as they come. Do Kildare people really think he woke up some morning and decided that he was going to say Kildare wanted him??? Seriously lads think about it.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/05/2012 16:29:10    1164823

Not at all getting under my skin cause as yet there is no way kildare are the giants you think they are maybe they will become that but not there yet by a long way. And if you think they are well that's what is making me laugh. Living in hope is not success. 5 years current manager and still no all ire or leinster? But in your world that makes you a super power. Hilarious.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/05/2012 16:30:23    1164826

I think it was a dumb move by the Kildare management to have SJ sitting in the subs bench. Nothing has been confirmed yet, and even if the transfer does go through, he wont be eligable to play for Kildare until he plays a championship game for them.

The fuss thats being made, youd swear the Gooch or Denis Glennon was trying to join us. I can see why we are getting awful stick from other counties over the whole affair. If something as contrived as this was happening to Dublin or Laois Id be in the mob shouting it down.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1171 - 02/05/2012 16:31:48    1164829

if dats rite london to get coouch brogans o sullivans its a disgrace

croaghilfinny (Limerick) - Posts: 42 - 02/05/2012 16:33:27    1164831