Seanie Johnston sitting on the Kildare bench

Cavan dropped Johnston from their county panel and now they want what they cant have. You made your decision on Johnston last year. Why would he go back? Get over it. He's ours

Possom (Kildare) - Posts: 322 - 02/05/2012 16:35:40    1164834

Assuming Sean Johnston approached Kildare/McGeeney, it then begs the question of why he chose Kildare over Dublin (where he went to college) or any other county he has no connection with and might have a better chance of winning an All-Ireland.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12133 - 02/05/2012 16:45:23    1164843

I can assure Kildare posters my opinion has nothing to do with Kildare. Some posters may be using it as a stick to beat you with but not I. I'm sure many of the Kildare posters defending the move would be up in arms if it was happening in another county. if the chap wants to play let him play. Let's just do it the right way so the Brogans don't go off down to the Kingdom on us!!! And moomoo you can save your smart comment cos I'm sure you think you have one.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/05/2012 16:47:24    1164844

Breffni39

Assuming Sean Johnston approached Kildare/McGeeney, it then begs the question of why he chose Kildare over Dublin (where he went to college) or any other county he has no connection with and might have a better chance of winning an All-Ireland.

That's a good observation, why not select an ulster team? Why Kildare? Maybe he fancied his chances? Regardless on the proof of Sunday i think Kildare have better options thought smith would be the make way I think.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 02/05/2012 16:50:09    1164845

Yous must have a serious inferiority complex if you think this has anything to do with kildare baiting or indeed the whole ethos of kildare football. Not one bit we are more concerned with the precedent this sets. When a player can be even informally asked , you know what your not getting on with a,b or c, make a request and you can join us. That is wrong on so many levels. What I want to know is where did sj home come from when in beginning he had none in kildare? This stinks to high heaven. And there is no justification for it. Jaysus its cavan to kildare hardly mizen to mallan now is it

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/05/2012 16:54:00    1164852

Oh by way lilly I did congratulate kildare on there victory same as I did wicklow, longford, and cork. Don't know how you missed that one

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/05/2012 16:59:08    1164856

royaldunne

If in doubt. Firstly fair play to keeping to topic in hand and not dismiss my points cause of county I from. I take your point about seannie. But as you and I know they main reason this has dragged on is firstly he had no prove of residency then he got it. conveniently. Now even his club are saying he does not reside in kildare. And at hq they are of beliefe he was approached and are making it as difficult as possible to complete it. He has trained with cavan gaels in recent months and according to reports has had talks to return to cavan set up, next thing he sitting on kildare bench? Surely he is been badly advised.

Well for the first hearing of this case he had proof of an address in Straffan, and his club in Cavan had already agreed to his transfer. The problem now is that since Val Andrews left the Cavan senior team, Cavan Gaels have decided to reject his transfer request. Maybe they thought that with Andrews gone he'd be back playing for them and for Cavan.

He's already thrown his lot in with St. Kevins and Kildare, I doubt if his transfer is rejected that he'd try and go back playing for either Cavan Gaels or Cavan, I think he's too far down the road with Kildare for that. The DRA and the CCC just want to keep passing the buck on this one. He has already handed over whatever documents he has been asked for, and more than the usual when a player is transferring clubs between two counties. Neither of them are willing to get their hands dirty and grant the transfer despite having all the documents they have asked for. Now with Cavan Gaels digging their heels in it just gets more messy.

He's being messed around because people are afraid to make the call and grant the move. One rule for everybody else who wants an intercounty transfer, another rule for Seanie Johnston when he wants an intercounty transfer. They way he has been treated by the organisation he has put so much effort in for is a disgrace, I'd love him to get the transfer just to annoy some of the dinosaurs running the game.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 02/05/2012 17:01:19    1164857

if_in_doubt

royaldunne

If in doubt. Firstly fair play to keeping to topic in hand and not dismiss my points cause of county I from. I take your point about seannie. But as you and I know they main reason this has dragged on is firstly he had no prove of residency then he got it. conveniently. Now even his club are saying he does not reside in kildare. And at hq they are of beliefe he was approached and are making it as difficult as possible to complete it. He has trained with cavan gaels in recent months and according to reports has had talks to return to cavan set up, next thing he sitting on kildare bench? Surely he is been badly advised.

Well for the first hearing of this case he had proof of an address in Straffan, and his club in Cavan had already agreed to his transfer. The problem now is that since Val Andrews left the Cavan senior team, Cavan Gaels have decided to reject his transfer request. Maybe they thought that with Andrews gone he'd be back playing for them and for Cavan.

He's already thrown his lot in with St. Kevins and Kildare, I doubt if his transfer is rejected that he'd try and go back playing for either Cavan Gaels or Cavan, I think he's too far down the road with Kildare for that. The DRA and the CCC .

So he does live in Kildare?! Why all the drama then?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/05/2012 17:09:42    1164864

Just throwing it out there but 'the great' Larry Stanley captained Kildare to an All Ireland in 1919 and won one for Dublin in 1924!!!

redsash (Kildare) - Posts: 31 - 02/05/2012 17:10:36    1164865

My main issue with the whole thing is that its specifically Kildare actually. A Cavan man aspiring to play for Kildare is as bad as a Kildare man aspiring to play for Cavan. I wouldn't mind so much if it was Dublin or Kerry or Cork or Galway, you could almost understand it. It would only be worse if it was Meath or another Ulster county, purely cos they're rivals, but Kildare?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12133 - 02/05/2012 17:12:11    1164869

Kildare lads would you give it over Supple was asked by Mcgeeney to play for Kildare end of. This is a man who couldn't stand the big timers in English football so he came home to play the game he loves he is as honest as they come. Do Kildare people really think he woke up some morning and decided that he was going to say Kildare wanted him??? Seriously lads think about it.

Have to say I love the way you repeatedly use "end of" as the basis for backing up your arguments.

Of course I don't believe he just woke up one morning and decided to tell a reporter Kildare wanted him, especially a year later than the actual phonecall was made. Although I do belive there's more to this story than him being asked to play for Kildare. Do you not find the timing of that announcement in any way a little strange? Taking a year to decide to mention it, and then doing so just days after he left the Dublin senior panel?

If he gave the name of the person, or their position within the Kildare setup then yeah I might start to believe him about being asked to play for us. However going on what I've heard about the coaching situation, then I reckon somebody got their wires croseed somewhere along the way, and it was just a coaching role he was being considered for not a playing one like he said.

Then again maybe we really were looking to poach Niall McNamee and Brendan Murphy. Who knows who might be next rumoured to be offered a teaching role in a north Kildare school which could start a five month transfer saga.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 02/05/2012 17:14:10    1164873

Breffni39

My main issue with the whole thing is that its specifically Kildare actually. A Cavan man aspiring to play for Kildare is as bad as a Kildare man aspiring to play for Cavan. I wouldn't mind so much if it was Dublin or Kerry or Cork or Galway, you could almost understand it. It would only be worse if it was Meath or another Ulster county, purely cos they're rivals, but Kildare?

How about an amalgamation?

We can reword this little number to be our anthem...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qTn7xtVsE6U&

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 02/05/2012 17:19:58    1164880

Jackeen

So he does live in Kildare?! Why all the drama then?

He has provided proof of an address, and bills addressed to him for a house in Kildare. If it was your average club player looking for a transfer it would have gone through long ago given the documents they been presented with.

The drama is because he's a high profile player who was dropped by his county, and now is looking to play for a different county.

Nobody wants to grant the transfer because they fear the GAA as we know it will collapse, and four horsemen will come riding through the corridors of power in Croke Park.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 02/05/2012 17:24:00    1164883

Haha! Ah those horsemen rearing their heads again.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/05/2012 17:33:59    1164896

Yeah but a basic application of common sense would say who in their right minds would live in Kildare and commute every day to your hometown miles away. Lets not forget he originally intended to stay with Cavan Gaels as well. I think a lot of Kildare folk are in denial about this. Of course ye could be right, but its hugely far-fetched, so don't be slagging people for putting 2 and 2 together and getting 4.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12133 - 02/05/2012 17:37:43    1164901

PS ifindoubt, youtube is blocked here, I'll have a look at that later :)

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12133 - 02/05/2012 17:38:31    1164902

Many Kildare people, including myself, are diametrically opposed to this transfer. I have nothing against SJ. I would not like to see him picked ahead of any of our own lads. Lots of rubbish been written on here as usual by the usual suspects.

Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 02/05/2012 17:44:58    1164905

Breffni39

Yeah but a basic application of common sense would say who in their right minds would live in Kildare and commute every day to your hometown miles away. Lets not forget he originally intended to stay with Cavan Gaels as well. I think a lot of Kildare folk are in denial about this. Of course ye could be right, but its hugely far-fetched, so don't be slagging people for putting 2 and 2 together and getting 4.

Cavan is about an hour and a half from Straffan, I'm sure there's plenty of people out there who are commuting further / longer than that each day for work reasons.

From my own point of view this isn't just about one player joining one county from another. It's as much about the GAA / DRA / CCC moving the goalposts every time a player is asked to provide proof of residence, something that very rarely happens in the dozens of other transfers that get approved every week.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 02/05/2012 17:50:13    1164909

if_in_doubt

Cavan is about an hour and a half from Straffan, I'm sure there's plenty of people out there who are commuting further / longer than that each day for work reasons.

I doubt many of them have the option of living 2 minutes away though.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12133 - 02/05/2012 17:53:48    1164913

if he does make the switch i can't see him getting his place on the kildare starting 15..............was he starting for cavan ?..........something tells me he was starting on the subs bench up their in cavan.

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 02/05/2012 19:24:40    1164975