Kerry soccer pitch ploughed up by the GAA

What do you make of this http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=109512 about ploughing up a soccer pitch. If the GAA club owned the field, how come soccer has been played there for the last few decades? And then to plough it up at night - a bit sneaky is it not? Surely in thsi day and age the GAA should not be running under cover of darkness. Do any of the Kerry lads on here have a take on this

Roger (Meath) - Posts: 471 - 03/04/2009 13:00:40    247361

ploughing in the dark is harder to keep the line straight, they should have waited until daylight and then ploughed down all the soccer balls and goals as well along with all the white boots etc.

Kilanerinfooty (Wexford) - Posts: 200 - 03/04/2009 13:17:39    247380

No it was some rugger boys playing a match.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 03/04/2009 13:52:00    247416

Well they did'nt have to put fertiliser on it anyway !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 03/04/2009 13:57:36    247426

excellent.pity there wasnt more of them ploughed up!

the seal (Meath) - Posts: 583 - 03/04/2009 14:39:57    247473

local backing a soccer club against the GAA in kerry! What chance have the rest of us got? I was in Limerick city with a team from Glasgow last month and the local hurlers were moaning about a rugby club ruinging a pitch which was allocated to them by the council.

I think the time is right to start getting out the grindrers and chainsaws to cut all soccer and rugby goals down across Ireland.

realgaa (UK) - Posts: 128 - 03/04/2009 14:41:53    247476

Not just a soccer pitch, its a community field used for soccer, athletics, summer camps for the local youths and various other activities. There is also a gym and a hall on the site which have been built by the local community council, very handy for the GAA isnt it? This is being lost on people who dont know the details who thinks its a GAA versus soccer issue. Its not its a community issue with local people fighting for one of the only green areas left in the village. As a local GAA and soccer member im appalled at what is going on and I can tell you this will rumble on.

RedMist (Kerry) - Posts: 9 - 03/04/2009 15:04:12    247500

There have been reports of a GAA pitch dug up at least 4 times per year recently. Heard that some big large yokes called 'rugger guys' were behind it. I believe there were thousands of witnesses present but when questioned they claimed a right to slilence.Surely this has to be stopped as this pitch is used for GAA sports and other skilful ones like soccer. Heard that these Guys also were feted inthe streets of Dublin by 150,000 thousand people. Where are the Gardai when needed.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 03/04/2009 15:19:53    247518

Some local yoke training for the National Ploughing championships after hearing Tyrone have Entered a Massey Ferguson Heart600 Model.

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 03/04/2009 15:28:00    247528

RedMist

only joking. sounds like a massive can of worms is about to explode with this one. At least it takes the pressure of the Cork hurlers for a while.

realgaa (UK) - Posts: 128 - 03/04/2009 15:37:47    247546

I repeat the thread should read 'GAA pitch dug up by the GAA'

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 03/04/2009 15:43:09    247553

Rightly so,hope they took the goals down as well!

dubinlaois (Dublin) - Posts: 304 - 03/04/2009 16:16:28    247586

The GAA should be allowed to do as they like with their own property.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 03/04/2009 16:24:42    247594

If the GAA own the pitch then why did they plough it at night.

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 03/04/2009 16:56:05    247640

Could be just some drill training !!

Burnsey (Down) - Posts: 561 - 03/04/2009 17:20:47    247671

I'd say there is alot more to that story than meets the eye.
Sounds like the ground belongs to the GAA which gives them every right to do as they please with it.
It also sounds like they have been allowing other sports to use the grounds also as happens with our GAA grounds which is used for athletic, has a tennis and basket ball court. All supplied by the GAA I might add.
It also doesn't mention in the article that they are pulling down the gym or anything (now if they were to do that without looking to facilitate people it would be a bit slack).
Our local soccer teams have found their own grounds which are donated to use or keep by local farmers.
Also sounds like there was alot of conflict before it was ploughed so to be honest without knowing the whole story I wouldn't go judging the GAA.

ColinWex (Wexford) - Posts: 901 - 03/04/2009 18:08:50    247720

Dr.Shephard
County: Leitrim

If the GAA own the pitch then why did they plough it at night.

Dr. Shephard it is rumoured that the "Wild Colonial Boy" only works during the dead of night.
Wasn't his surname Dug...gan.

derrymore (Kerry) - Posts: 180 - 03/04/2009 19:46:21    247815

All right I am a member and a former coach in this great club Milltown Castlemaine.
So here are the facts.
Milltown Castlemaine own and have the deeds of the pitch. Crke Park have given us an ultimatium stop soccer been played or be thrown out of the GAA.
We as a club play in Milltown last 45 years, now we are putting in an all wather pitch for training and under age games. This will allow the Castlemaine contingent who have for years drove tthe 2 miles to Milltown a chance to train in Castlemaine and give something back to the community.
The Community Council (a minority of older people) who for some reason have said there will be no carnivals now in the village (I cannot remember a carnival in 20 years) have a meeting tonight and are claiming we are selling the field.
We have money for the ptch reconstruction. Yes there right we are giving some of the land away for construction. To the local play group (Playschool or montsoori not sure which one) free of charge and the local protestant primary school have asked to allow access to the GAA car park so kid s do not have to disembark by the road.
Funny thing is Castlemaine soccer club has majority of players from Milltown. There is a si nister side to this, there is a Novice club Keel who try to claim players from Milltown and they are stirring it.
End of the day it is a minority of the community carrying out a witch hunt. Milltown Casttlemaine opens its gates to all sports within the rules of the GAA and will do in the future.

milltownsupport (Kerry) - Posts: 85 - 03/04/2009 21:09:59    247874

Dr Sheppard, it was ploughes at 6.30 in the morning. This has been running for 3 years, and anything we have done in the field there was interference, old ladies stopping machinery so what we dne is correct. This is been coordinated from Tralee who are in daily dialogue with Croke Park. The gym and local community centre is on a 99 year lease so no fear. As said we are giving land for the school. Gym stays and we are providing a facility for the young people.
Fact: Castlemaine FC have played last 4 home games in Tralee as the pitch is in bits from them and they dont look after it.
Milltown Castlemaine will allow all sports play there with theception of those stated in GAA rule ( soccer rugby cricket horse racing).

milltownsupport (Kerry) - Posts: 85 - 03/04/2009 21:22:01    247884

It was ploughes at 6.30 in the morning. This has been running for 3 years, and anything we have done in the field there was interference, old ladies stopping machinery so what we dne is correct. This is been coordinated from Tralee who are in daily dialogue with Croke Park. The gym and local community centre is on a 99 year lease so no fear. As said we are giving land for the school. Gym stays and we are providing a facility for the young people.
Fact: Castlemaine FC have played last 4 home games in Tralee as the pitch is in bits from them and they dont look after it.
Milltown Castlemaine will allow all sports play there with theception of those stated in GAA rule ( soccer rugby cricket horse racing).

milltownsupport (Kerry) - Posts: 85 - 03/04/2009 21:29:33    247891