David Gough To Referee The Final

Replying To CarlowRising44:  "Ridiculous that such an uproar was made about this in the first place. However now that there has been so much controversy i have a feeling this could end up having a negative affect on Dublin. The ref may now be concentrating so hard on not giving a bad decision against Kerry that he may subconsciously award a crucial decision unfairly against Dublin to show he is not bias."
I hope Gough is above that but yes that was clearly the mission of Eamo and Aido. It's a win win situation for them.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 15/08/2019 17:24:45    2226104

Replying To Joxer:  "Was there a protest in Parnell Park and a public character assassination on social media at the time?"
Nah many of ye weren't that bothered back in 2007 so doubt ye mobilised to PP & activity on social media wrt GAA was probably quite low I would guess, as social media was still in relative infancy in Ireland.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 15/08/2019 17:31:32    2226106

Laughing at the lad posting on here and then quoting his replies with his multis. :D

But please dont stop, #KERRYSECRETAGENT. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 15/08/2019 17:32:37    2226107

Surprised we haven't heard from the GAA president on this one. He's keeping the head down lately

Thelonesomegoose (Leitrim) - Posts: 204 - 15/08/2019 17:36:19    2226109

Fair play to Tim Murphy and the Kerry County Board to come out today and support the appointment of David Gough. Seems like a difference opinion between some fan and the board still on this, but i suppose not even will agree on everything even within the one county with the same goal.

The Classy thing to do though, well done.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 15/08/2019 17:42:11    2226110

Replying To Joxer:  "Was there a protest in Parnell Park and a public character assassination on social media at the time?"
There wasn't any need for uproar or a protest as the GAA removed the man without a seconds thought .

Ye weren't too worried about his reputation or character were ye joxer?

Anyway our chairman has come out and said that neither he nor our management or football team have a problem with the appointment of Dave so time to get back to the drive for five.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/08/2019 17:43:30    2226113

Job done from a Kerry perspective...All they were looking to do was sow a seed of doubt in Goughs mind..Rate him above that ...The mask has slipped on Fitzmaurice we can't beat the dubs on the pitch let's see what we can do of it to influence the result..should recall Brendan O Sullivan he brought plenty of advantages the last time Fitzmaurice had him around.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 15/08/2019 17:43:57    2226114

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "And you of course pretend to be not be saying something that you obviously are. As I said, once you questioned his appointment, you questioned his integrity.
You can try to deflect from that all you like but that's what you are doing and make no mistake about it.
If you had any common decency you would condemn these idiots looking to arrange a protest and distance yourself from what is absolutely ridiculous buffoonery.
It's all about the injustice and the drama with these clowns and you'd think they would know better."
The protest is ridiculous and is one or two clowns making a show of themselves. It's nothing to do with the CB and the general fan

I know David Gough will do a fine job in the final, Ive no objection to him at all on a personal level

My point for the third time is that referees should not be doing competitive games involving the county where they live / work. They just shouldn't. There is a concerted effort on the part of some posters here to personalise it and not understand that basic point

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 15/08/2019 17:50:30    2226115

A Meath man helping Dublin out?? Jaysus you Kerry boys are something else.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 15/08/2019 18:12:43    2226120

Replying To westkerry:  "This conversation is over now.
Dublin are loving this distraction.
Back to the 5 in a row T-shirts lads."
It's not over there's plenty more in it.
Keep up the good work.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 15/08/2019 18:15:49    2226122

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "The protest is ridiculous and is one or two clowns making a show of themselves. It's nothing to do with the CB and the general fan

I know David Gough will do a fine job in the final, Ive no objection to him at all on a personal level

My point for the third time is that referees should not be doing competitive games involving the county where they live / work. They just shouldn't. There is a concerted effort on the part of some posters here to personalise it and not understand that basic point"
Jesus above. What's with the for the third time when you don't have an issue with him then.
Either you're happy with him or your not.
Less of this talking out of both sides of your mouth.
If he is a fine ref and you're sure he will do a good job then what issue have you got exactly because you cannot seem to actually point to why there would be a problem. Isn't that what you want ? A fine ref , that will do a good job.
By the way , it's more than just one or two of these clowns that are involved and if you don't agree with it then fair enough.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 15/08/2019 18:23:39    2226128

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "The protest is ridiculous and is one or two clowns making a show of themselves. It's nothing to do with the CB and the general fan

My point for the third time is that referees should not be doing competitive games involving the county where they live / work. They just shouldn't. There is a concerted effort on the part of some posters here to personalise it and not understand that basic point"
You having a laugh this was pre-meditated move..there is no way Fitzmaurice would have done what he did without the approval of the current setup.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 15/08/2019 18:25:08    2226129

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "There wasn't any need for uproar or a protest as the GAA removed the man without a seconds thought .

Ye weren't too worried about his reputation or character were ye joxer?

Anyway our chairman has come out and said that neither he nor our management or football team have a problem with the appointment of Dave so time to get back to the drive for five."
Sure Kerry were moaning even before Gough was appointed. A Meath man with four other Meath men doing umpires. Sure what more could Kerry hope for, green jerseys on them I suppose!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 15/08/2019 18:25:59    2226130

Replying To greysoil:  "Nah many of ye weren't that bothered back in 2007 so doubt ye mobilised to PP & activity on social media wrt GAA was probably quite low I would guess, as social media was still in relative infancy in Ireland."
This was 2007 when the Dubs were bringing 76,000 to LSFC games and paying for your flashy clubhouse right?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 15/08/2019 18:27:54    2226131

I wonder is David any relation to Jack? Both are from Meath.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 15/08/2019 18:40:03    2226133

Replying To TheUsername:  "Laughing at the lad posting on here and then quoting his replies with his multis. :D

But please dont stop, #KERRYSECRETAGENT. ;)"
A bit like the "Kildare" poster with a blue tint on everything who follows a similar vein to one Dublin poster !

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 15/08/2019 18:42:48    2226135

Replying To jacktheDub:  "You having a laugh this was pre-meditated move..there is no way Fitzmaurice would have done what he did without the approval of the current setup."
Fairly serious allegation, you are saying that the current Kerry m'ment team gave approval to Fitzmaurice to speak out on this, wow.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 15/08/2019 18:49:08    2226137

Fair play to Kerry CB. A good statement after the fact but I guess they can't control lesser sorts.

It was absolutely the right thing to do and distance themselves from such an obvious character assassination on an acting match official.

Although they might have a revolution on their hands.. Hong Kong protests part 2 gathering at Fitzgerald stadium

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 15/08/2019 19:05:37    2226141

Replying To midlands:  "Good point, Curlew, but I'm afraid the Kerry county board have already allowed this to drag on for too long. Gough was appointed on Monday last and they could have nipped all the controversial rubbish in the bud by making an early statement in support of the appointment - unless. of course, they are quite happy to let the controversy rumble on."
Think his appointment was announced on Wednesday afternoon. Kerry chairman,Tim Murphy supported Gough this morning (Thursday) on Radio Kerry. His comments are being mentioned on independent radio stations and sports forums, nothing yet on RTE ... maybe later.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 505 - 15/08/2019 19:05:42    2226142

Replying To jacktheDub:  "You having a laugh this was pre-meditated move..there is no way Fitzmaurice would have done what he did without the approval of the current setup."
I was referring to a few loonies that are supposedly going protesting at Fitzgerald stadium during the open day on Saturday

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 15/08/2019 19:05:58    2226143