Kildare V Mayo

Replying To Manstein:  "Good Lord! Definitely winner of 'Most Paranoid' for June 2018.

More of the usual 'Poor Mayo' stuff."
What's paranoid about it? And it's nothing at all to do with "poor Mayo either". Did you or did you not question Mayo's integrity and suggest that Mayo may have been involved in getting the game moved to Croke Park? Did those two Galway posters not come out with that stuff I said they came out with? It's all there in black and white on this thread. I don't think there is any agenda against Mayo, I'm just pointing out the ridiculous comments that three individuals have made about Mayo. If anything you're the one who could be characterised as being paranoid, considering you seem to think Mayo are in cahoots with HQ to screw over Kildare

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 26/06/2018 18:00:45    2115540

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Thats not true spurs were still allowed host games there butchose not too because of capacity was reduced by 8000 due to work on new stadium.there was nothing stopping them playing at home though. I just googled this too and confirmed it"
oh makes sense. never really looked into it just heard it wasn't fit for use.

NaomhNaille (Donegal) - Posts: 124 - 26/06/2018 18:10:08    2115544

Replying To ROYALOPTIMIST:  "But would we get in?

Shure the capacity is only 8,500!!!!!!

and can i use my season ticket????"
and would I be safe, shure the GAA are telling me there might be trouble with spectators?

And what about the Health and safety aspect?

And what about all the quare wans coming home from the Curragh races with drink taken, would i be safe from them?

And What would John Maughan say?

And would i be seen on Sky News? and would they send Kay Burley over to cover it?

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 26/06/2018 18:15:51    2115547

Another thread here that has just gone silly. Kildare are making a stand, fair play to them. Will they see it through to the end? I'm not sure. Will they try and go legal and we end up with a DRA sitting? Maybe.

Should Mayo do anything other than keep the head down and prepare for both eventualities? Absolutely not.

Had to laugh looking at some of the dimwits on Twitter wanting Mayo to make a bold move and talk to the GAA or even go to Newbridge on Saturday as a show of solidarity. This isn't an U-12 Feile game. Anyone who thinks Mayo should get involved is clueless.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7902 - 26/06/2018 18:19:47    2115548

From Ewen McKenna's excellent article in the Info today : 'The terms and conditions for season tickets clearly state that, "In the event that the number of season ticket holders exceeds stadium capacity the GAA offers no guarantee of the availability of seats or entry to that fixture"

So (like a lot of the other arguments claiming Kildare should just accept this) the season ticket argument is a Red Herring.

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 26/06/2018 18:23:15    2115550

Replying To CurraghBill:  "Surprised this hasn't been mentioned by some Kildare supporter already?, considering all the slagging they've been recieving on here over the state of St Conleths Park.
Back in 2006 Kildare County Board had an ambitious plan in place for a brand new stadium on the outskirts of Newbridge, see link below,

http://www.hoganstand.com/county/kildare/article/index/69668

Unfortunately for them the 2008 crash scuppered that, if they had done it a few year earlier the pitch in the middle of Newbridge would've sold for a small fortune for prime real estate development, the same happened to the Curragh racecourse, their plans were scuppered also and only last year have they started on the redevelopment, a scaled down one from the original, currently the Kildare CB are planning on a major refurbishment of ST. Conleths, planning permission been sought at the moment see link,

Thanks" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://kildaregaa.ie/st-conleths-park-re-development-project-kildare-2020-vision/"
Thanks for the extra info Bill... let's hope the game gets played before that redevelopment takes place! Might be a good time for Kildare to negotiate some assistance from the central kitty... the words 'barrel' and 'over' come to mind!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 26/06/2018 18:24:56    2115551

Sky Sports mightn't want to come to Newbridge but it might be worth their colleagues while in Sky News coming down to cover the anticipated crowd violence feared by a leading GAA official. I am sure the Gardai will call in the Garda riot squad & cancel all leave to deal with the expected crowd trouble. What are these two sets of supporters from Kildare & Mayo like that such fears of crowd unrest are publicly aired. Are we safe going to Gaelic games anymore, thankfully we have people in the Association to forewarn us of such situations........................................................

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 26/06/2018 18:43:38    2115555

Replying To the_walls:  "What's paranoid about it? And it's nothing at all to do with "poor Mayo either". Did you or did you not question Mayo's integrity and suggest that Mayo may have been involved in getting the game moved to Croke Park? Did those two Galway posters not come out with that stuff I said they came out with? It's all there in black and white on this thread. I don't think there is any agenda against Mayo, I'm just pointing out the ridiculous comments that three individuals have made about Mayo. If anything you're the one who could be characterised as being paranoid, considering you seem to think Mayo are in cahoots with HQ to screw over Kildare"
Here's one Galway man who gave you a thumbs up!

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 26/06/2018 18:55:25    2115556

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Another thread here that has just gone silly. Kildare are making a stand, fair play to them. Will they see it through to the end? I'm not sure. Will they try and go legal and we end up with a DRA sitting? Maybe.

Should Mayo do anything other than keep the head down and prepare for both eventualities? Absolutely not.

Had to laugh looking at some of the dimwits on Twitter wanting Mayo to make a bold move and talk to the GAA or even go to Newbridge on Saturday as a show of solidarity. This isn't an U-12 Feile game. Anyone who thinks Mayo should get involved is clueless."
Wrong. Because this bites Kildare now. But it bit laois before. And it might bite mayo the next time. It's time for solidarity against the GAA s arrogance.

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 766 - 26/06/2018 18:57:03    2115558

Replying To KildareKelly:  "From Ewen McKenna's excellent article in the Info today : 'The terms and conditions for season tickets clearly state that, "In the event that the number of season ticket holders exceeds stadium capacity the GAA offers no guarantee of the availability of seats or entry to that fixture"

So (like a lot of the other arguments claiming Kildare should just accept this) the season ticket argument is a Red Herring."
Right so we host it in a way below capacity ground (stadium would breach the trade description) and to hell with season ticket holders. 7 Counties trying to take the game somewhere else by calling it the Super 8's and one county trying to anchor it into a sort of parochial knockabout.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 26/06/2018 18:59:07    2115559

Lots of people getting very animated over this. IMO whether the ground can hold 60k, 6k or 600, it's their home venue so that's that. GAA hw has been doing this sort of horseshit for years and getting away with it. It should be all ticket through the clubs only, no online or anything else, 5k to Kildare, balance to mayo. Would make a great atmosphere as opposed to a half empty croker.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 26/06/2018 18:59:40    2115560

There's a great article by Ewan MacKenna in today's Independent about this cock-up.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/ewan-mackenna-we-needed-someone-to-say-enough-of-price-over-principles-of-money-over-morals-and-kildare-have-37050587.html

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2476 - 26/06/2018 19:08:48    2115563

To the various who dispute what I said........

My point was the rule was "flawed" and Kildare didn't read all the rules, and jumped the gun. This is the rule.

"...the Central Competitions Control Committee has overall responsibility for Competition Scheduling and Arrangements for and Control of Games under the jurisdiction of the Central Council. Under the GAA Official Guide r7.11(e)(3), there is no right of appeal against a decision of the Central Competitions Control Committee or a Provincial Competitions Control Committee with regard to arrangements for the date and venue of a Game.."

That doesn't equate with the rule of Round 3 where home team "shall" have home venue. They are contradictory. Kildare picked the one they liked /wanted - that's the point. We could be here all night saying which takes precedence - I pick this, you pick the other whatever. So can the GAA and Kildare.

Still hold with what I said (and apparently John Maughan too) - clumsy way to go about things.

Phone call to Croke Park - "Does specific clause about r3 supersede the rule about CCCC and fixtures?". "Ehmm No". "Ehmm We think Yes". "Ok we'll get back to you".

Could have negotiated their way to Newbridge, likelihood they might blunder their way to Croke Park/ Elimination.

That's all. Whatever the outcome - all this talk of boycotting championship etc is completely over the top,

Solo_Run (Leitrim) - Posts: 209 - 26/06/2018 19:14:16    2115564

Replying To arock:  "Right so we host it in a way below capacity ground (stadium would breach the trade description) and to hell with season ticket holders. 7 Counties trying to take the game somewhere else by calling it the Super 8's and one county trying to anchor it into a sort of parochial knockabout."
Jaysus, you responded to something - fantastic ! Shame it wasn't to answer any of the questions put to you ! It's clear the type of character you are.
Pathetic response.

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 26/06/2018 19:17:33    2115565

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Here's one Galway man who gave you a thumbs up!"
Fair play

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 26/06/2018 19:17:35    2115566

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "Im a hurlin man, this is probably the first time ive commented on a football issue. But I hope Kildare hold out. They have nothing to lose anyway as they will likely get bet in the game anyway. But they have the backing of 90% of the Gaa grassroots anyway.
As for Mayo, they should be ashamed of themselves saying nothing. They proved before and are proving again they are a heap of YesMen who bottle every all Ireland. If they had any bottle they would come out in support of playing in Newbridge."
I do think that mayo should come out in support of Kildare, and at least say, should game be rearranged to original fixture, they have no problem playing in Newbridge . They then show solidarity, and not open themselves up to too much grief from hq.
Surely mayo this is a acceptable compromise?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/06/2018 19:20:59    2115567

Replying To Malonemagic:  "Wrong. Because this bites Kildare now. But it bit laois before. And it might bite mayo the next time. It's time for solidarity against the GAA s arrogance."
Don't agree often. But you are 100 % right on this.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/06/2018 19:24:09    2115568

Kildare are absolutely 100% right!

Of course Mayo never complained when they along with Kerry (who actually would have preferred Croke Park too but that's completely ignored because it doesn't suit the narrative of victimhood by some Mayo supporters) were forced to play the All Ireland semi-final replay in 2014 down in Limerick.

In truth, i think the vast majority of fair-minded people support Kildare on this issue and rightfully so!

Kingdomson (Kerry) - Posts: 244 - 26/06/2018 19:36:11    2115570

GAA should be a bottom up, not top down organisation. Headquarters are getting above themselves, and Kildare should hold their ground, and see HQ in court if necessary. All county boards should support Kildare, and state they will take no further part in this year's championship if Kildare are thrown out. If the Co boards don't do so, players themselves should withdraw from the competition, with GPA backing.

tra (Tyrone) - Posts: 43 - 26/06/2018 19:38:32    2115571

Replying To Solo_Run:  "To the various who dispute what I said........

My point was the rule was "flawed" and Kildare didn't read all the rules, and jumped the gun. This is the rule.

"...the Central Competitions Control Committee has overall responsibility for Competition Scheduling and Arrangements for and Control of Games under the jurisdiction of the Central Council. Under the GAA Official Guide r7.11(e)(3), there is no right of appeal against a decision of the Central Competitions Control Committee or a Provincial Competitions Control Committee with regard to arrangements for the date and venue of a Game.."

That doesn't equate with the rule of Round 3 where home team "shall" have home venue. They are contradictory. Kildare picked the one they liked /wanted - that's the point. We could be here all night saying which takes precedence - I pick this, you pick the other whatever. So can the GAA and Kildare.

Still hold with what I said (and apparently John Maughan too) - clumsy way to go about things.

Phone call to Croke Park - "Does specific clause about r3 supersede the rule about CCCC and fixtures?". "Ehmm No". "Ehmm We think Yes". "Ok we'll get back to you".

Could have negotiated their way to Newbridge, likelihood they might blunder their way to Croke Park/ Elimination.

That's all. Whatever the outcome - all this talk of boycotting championship etc is completely over the top,"
The cancelled press conference was perhaps quite telling. Time to bring it behind closed doors.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 26/06/2018 19:39:49    2115572