Where to next for Meath?

As far as I know there's a meeting on 8th Aug of club delegates to decide what's next. MOD wants to stay another year and I don't see a queue of people with an interest in the position.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 23/07/2015 10:15:47    1757843

i have it on good authority that trevor giles resigned last night from the meath managment

grouser (Meath) - Posts: 11 - 23/07/2015 10:53:35    1757866

Well that more or less ensures at least another 12 months for MOD after the executive stated it's support for current set up. Unless the clubs flex their muscles on August 10th similar to the Eamon O'Brien situation we remain as we are. It beggars belief that we are content with this lot. They have called for fans to lower their expectations well they are going the right way about it.

Greenwood (Meath) - Posts: 210 - 23/07/2015 11:20:56    1757879

So the county board's management committee has unanimously voted to retain MOD, ok so he has plenty of backing from the county board but I'm just wondering what's the plan here, are we just trying to stick with the one man and completely disregard performances and results, both of which have been bitterly disappointing.

I'll grant them one thing, changing managers on a regular basis over the past decade is a proven failure, but sticking with a manager who can't even get his players to play beyond 50mins in many games after 3 seasons in charge? I'm struggling to see the obvious advantages here, we'll just have to wait and see what the clubs think.

Listen if MOD is retained, I genuinely hope he succeeds, I have no ill will towards him whatsoever, but if he is retained, he has to look back on the last 3 seasons and use them as a template of how NOT to manage his team, just start over, treat it as a new job.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 23/07/2015 11:21:45    1757880

Htaem

Deadright! My ambition was to make a Leinster Final(especially due to the draw) and make a Quarter Final place.That was very realistic..

Seems the county board are backing MOD...

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/07/2015 11:29:40    1757889

Htaem

It will be very depressing if MOD stays on,you said it all to be fair,I don't like making a lot of managerial changes(we have had too many since Boylan left),but are we in danger of keeping MOD for the sake of NOT changing manager? Eamonn Barry got one year,that was a disgrace,EOB went,that was a disgrace.But MOD has had 3 years and CLEARLY learnt nothing.How is him staying on going to improve anything? He is too nice,hence the team is too nice.

Having said all that,does it matter what the County Board think? The clubs will surely decide..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/07/2015 11:34:25    1757892

Fair play. good decision. whats the other option some sort of Bantyesque type that would bring the shambles that we had back then. ODowd has to learn a lot but he has learned a lot also and with such a young panel time is on his side

numberedjerseys (USA) - Posts: 348 - 23/07/2015 11:39:59    1757895

Does it matter what the county board think? Surely its up to the clubs..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/07/2015 11:40:23    1757896

At least they stood by their man and have made a statement in July and not like the last set up who would have messed about and waited till Christmas to make a call. Up to the Clubs now to make a call and I reckon it be a cake walk with plenty of sitting on hands as is normal

noelpconnon (Cavan) - Posts: 209 - 23/07/2015 11:45:07    1757901

ziggy32001

I don't like making a lot of managerial changes(we have had too many since Boylan left),but are we in danger of keeping MOD for the sake of NOT changing manager

This is what worries me as well ziggy, I get the feeling the county board are looking to continue ahead with O'Dowd just for the sake of not changing the manager, now this may sound harsh but it just looks to me like they're backing the wrong horse.

Ye, Eamon Barry and Eamon O'Brien in particular were treated very poorly, they may not have brought us on by leaps and bounds but O'Brien was ousted after only 2 seasons and in both seasons we made at least the last 8 (last 4 in 2009). MOD is seeking a 4th season without ever really threatening the last 8 so it would be a bit bizarre and inconsistent if the clubs chose to back him after getting rid of O'Brien.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 23/07/2015 12:04:44    1757912

Lets hope the club delegates vote against the motion this time, but for the right reasons.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 23/07/2015 12:06:15    1757915

numberedjerseys
County: USA

1757895 Fair play. good decision. whats the other option some sort of Bantyesque type that would bring the shambles that we had back then. ODowd has to learn a lot but he has learned a lot also and with such a young panel time is on his side

What has O'Dowd learned from his THREE YEAR's!!!!!!!!!!!!! He has not progressed at all and if anything is going backwards.

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 631 - 23/07/2015 12:30:36    1757935

What's worse lads, keeping a manger because there's no viable replacement or sacking the manger without any concrete evidence that a viable replacement is interested in taking the job?

I'd personally think the later is worse based on previous experience with EOB and Banty.

-------

Look lads lets face it this year was a disaster nobody can deny that! There are a lot of positives to take from MOD time in charge though, he saw a major overhaul of the entire team from when he first got it. Brought in a lot of young players some with serious potential, I heard the average age of the meath team vs Wicklow was 23 and that was with S. Bray! So a heap of those players can/will only improve.He ousted a lot of deadwood that other managers may not have had the balls to do.

Whether the delegates decide to extend his time in charge or not I'd like to thank MOD, I can't fault him for effort. The last thing I'd say is if anybody knows how badly this years results are it's him and I'm sure he's man enough to admit when he's messed up. MOD has said he wants to stay on, that tells me that he must feel he still has a plan to progress this team otherwise he'd surely have to admit he got it wrong and stand down. Thoughts?

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 23/07/2015 12:44:24    1757942

Unbelievable decision by the committee, this is a case of been too cowardly to change management, if as has been said Trevor has also departed scene then what next? 2 more years of regression before they say ok lets change.
Unbelievable

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/07/2015 12:51:59    1757949

Fester

I agree with your first point,I fully supported him in this,but its hard to ignore that the team run out of steam after 50mins in most games.Thats surely not good enough after 3 years in charge? A lot of those player have serious potential,but some are wasted by playing out of position.He seems very slow to cop-on on the tactical front,and makes far too many excuses for me.Surely there is someone else who can move these guys on?
If MOD does stay on,there will be serious pressure on him and the team next year,can they handle that?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/07/2015 12:53:46    1757952

Uncle_Fester

I'd echo your sentiments and genuinely like to thank MOD for all the effort, I'm certainly not questioning his commitment to the cause and he has introduced a lot of young players which is nice to see.

But then you get him coming out with incredible excuses like this one after the Westmeath game = "When we were 9 or 10 points up, if you had more maturity around the team I think we would have killed that game"..........hmmmmmm who picks the team MOD, who's responsible for the lack of maturity, those sort of excuses drive me mad!

I admire the fact that MOD wants to stay on, he obviously wants to leave us in a better state than when he took over, the problem is we've been going back every year since he took over and that doesn't look good in year 3 of a 5 year plan! Also where is this 5 year plan intended to take us anyway, please don't tell me he initially set out with ambitions for us to take 5 bloody years to make the AI Quarters, Coyle and O'Brien achieved that in less than a year!

The most damning thing of all though is the fade outs, why oh why are we still fading out of games and why has this not been addressed after 3 seasons, is it the players? is it the manager? is it both? what's going on here.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 23/07/2015 13:10:27    1757961

I'm pretty sure Kelly had a strong involvement in training the team so it's important that we get the right replacement for him. Aside from having a good football head and instructing players on the field during the games, I'm not sure what Giles' primary role actually was. Implementing the way we setup maybe?

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 498 - 23/07/2015 13:16:31    1757966

Nay worries lads, we can send John Evans yer way. His fairly good with Division two teams, but as for the championship well!!!!!!

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1082 - 23/07/2015 13:27:17    1757973

moros

Ya reckon Evans will stay on?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/07/2015 13:58:59    1758010

Please send Evans. I just cant get over how anyone can say mod has done a good job, facts first EVER defeats ti Tyrone twice, Armagh, and worse of them all Westmeath, worst ever defeat to Dublin. And wait for it people are saying his best thing is that he got rid of older players ? Ok then why whinge that the reason we got beat by Westmeath was we haven't got the maturity? The most laughable excuse ever. Add that to no regrets about failing to get out of easiest div 2 in years , bitegate etc.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/07/2015 14:19:24    1758029