Rossies v Meath

Micko complaining about the ref today,is he right or looking desperate?

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 22/03/2015 21:51:47    1705428

very disappointing result, but apart from giving away 2 soft goals i thought we dealt with them well. we didnt play well & still could have won. makes me laugh looking at some posters saying we lost promotion today & could get into relegation battle now.today wasnt a cup final for a div1 place we still would have 2 games left to play & would need something out of both. we were unlucky today. ask urself 1 question if that kickout had gone to its intended target & we had won the game what way would u have assessed it afterwards ? didnt play fantastic but still won happy days ?its not all doom & gloom lads we're good enough to beat down away & cavan home. plus there is another few twists & turns left in this division yet

royal69er (Meath) - Posts: 96 - 22/03/2015 21:52:51    1705429

Well most Roscommon fans seem to think it was their worst display so far,yet they still beat us

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 22/03/2015 21:58:57    1705431

I can't believe some people. I actually wonder if they went to the match today, or simply are making up opinions on the back of others comments and the radio. I was at the match and can say we had enough chances to win the match. Micky Newman kicked three terrible frees wide and short, but still scored 7 points in total, and unfortunately Paddy O'Rourke made a criminal error in kicking short to Senan Kilbride. The first goal was picked off the ground in build up by Senan Kilbride, but finished very well by Cathal Cregg. Defensively the 2 goals were very poor. Bryan Menton was clearly carrying the leg from last week and probably should have been taken off earlier, where Conor Gillespie made a big difference when introduced. Davy Dalton was clearly struggling fitness wise also and was rightly substituted at half time. I would agree with some opinions that David Bray was very poor, and should have been taken off sooner than he was. Shane O'Rouke's introduction was welcome and the comments that he doesn't fit into the team are dumbfounding. It's his first inter county appearance in how long, and I felt he did reasonably okay, considering the fact he was double and treble marked.

On the plus side, it was welcome returns for Kevin Reilly, Gillespie and Shane O'Rourke. I thought young Conor McGill, Brian Power, Adam Flanagan and Graham Reilly played very well. Also, the comments against Mick O'Dowd and co are unjust in terms of this match, bar the fact that they shouldn't have left Shane O'Rourke isolated on the edge of the square for the last 10-12 minutes. I felt they acted accordingly to the match and it's happenings.

I don't normally comment on the officials, but the were extremely poor and biased in many incidents. The black card of Donnacha Tobin, the lead up the first goal, and the 45 that wasn't in the first half to name just a few. That said, we had enough chances to get something from the match.

On another note, just because Micky Burke was wearing number 4 doesn't mean in played corner back, and anyone at the match today will realise that. We lined out with Donnacha Tobin and Davy Dalton in the corners and Burke and Brian Power on the wings. In fact, when Roscommon dropped the wing forward back to wing back and the number 7 to sit on front of Shane O'Rourke, Micky Burke was the free man and actually got forward.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 22/03/2015 22:02:37    1705433

If O Dowd is moaning about the ref he seems to be a man under pressure.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 23/03/2015 08:26:53    1705437

David i was at the match and id agree with that assessment, i do think mod left David bray on for too long and the same could be said for Dalton, i said at half time that the ref was shocking, a clear 45 that wasn't the black card , but id take that if he was consistently bad all round, but the fact that Roscommon got a 45 that wasn't and no one got black carded for taking out biggy would lead to one conclusion,
But that all been said we had enough possession and chances to win plus the por error and you can see it was a game left behind. Lets hope that all is not lost, but its looking that we won't get the promotion that is deserved.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/03/2015 08:41:36    1705441

Ollie

I tend to agree,especially when he is moaning about a possible 45..

Now I was not at the game yesterday,but I have been to many games,very hard to see at times what the actual plan is for the team.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 23/03/2015 08:45:50    1705444

MOD is very cool and professional in interviews. For him to comment on officials As happened yesterday it was really bad before he had to speak on behalf of what his players have to put up with.

Did a Louth man REALLY come on here and criticise people for moaning about a Ref. I thought that was their speciality.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 23/03/2015 10:13:42    1705493

Ashriles. Ollie is a sound fella, and often gives a clear picture about things, i like to see his input, and he is certainly not a wum, one of the top posters on hs is Ollie.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/03/2015 10:34:15    1705507

There was also a high tackle on a Meath player around the Roscommon box in the first half and no free awarded, before they launched a counter attack. The ref had a shocker in the first half particularly. Meath player adjudged to have slapped the ball over the end-line at one end for a 45 and that a Roscommon player didn't punch/fist the ball likewise at the other; along with an incorrect sideline for them on the stand side. Moving a few frees in closer for us on a few occasions in the second half doesn't put things right. Anyway, not to worry. We have arguably our two toughest matches to come - I think we are safe (though not mathematically certain - it would take some bizarre results elsewhere to get relegated). The rest of the league should be about finishing the campaign in a positive manner ahead of the championship.

Down and Roscommon have one hand each on both promotion spots. In their own hands now - they can only throw them away. If Roscommon beat Galway next week and Laois (the form team) beat Kildare, Kildare vs. Galway might decide which of those go down, although with Westmeath likely to finish on 4 points as well; all three would have 4 points if Kildare win and so it would go to points difference. The flourbags might escape yet, but probably not.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 23/03/2015 10:52:32    1705512

Agreed royaldunne that we had plenty of opportunities to win the match. We kicked 10 wides over the 70 odd minutes plus dropped a couple short, most noteably Micky Newman's free in the closing stages of first half. However, I would argue that Mick O'Dowd had every point in his ire with Anthony Nolan. He was poor and clearly biased. But and I stress, I would not use it as an excuse. We kicked 10 wides and numerous shots short (as stated) compared to Roscommon's 7 wides. Add to that the 2 mistakes for the goals (both taken very well), and you can see where we left 2 valuable points behind. In my opinion, we left 3 points behind us in the space of 8 days. Hopefully, all involved will learn from this. I wouldn't be down heartened.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 23/03/2015 10:55:36    1705519

Even though I wasn't at the match it seems to common for the MOD to make changes late, it was the same against Laois. Anyone know whats wrong with S.Bray? Don't see us beating Down, then hopefully we can beat Cavan.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 23/03/2015 13:27:24    1705596

Mick O'Dowd is not an intercounty manager. I have huge respect for the effort and time he puts in but let's be honest if our county board cannot identify a coach within Meath who is ambitious and smart enough to take this bunch of footballers to the standard they should be at (which is definitely not relegation candidates within Div.2) then they should simply resign.

Why do we place so much emphasis on the Boylan era? Eamonn O'Brien and Mick O'Dowd were involved with Sean Boylan, so what? Maybe there are men involved with clubs who have no intercounty experience but they may have great football brains. Get them involved. We don't necessarily need a big name, just someone with guile and ambition.

HighKing81 (Meath) - Posts: 129 - 23/03/2015 13:55:28    1705605

Good man Ashrules I often pop my head in here now and again to say hello to the neighbours from across the Boyne. Can you point out please where I was giving out people who critcise the ref?

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 23/03/2015 14:01:22    1705609

Very clear on this forum that few people know what is going on in the meath camp.Nobody had any idea that o rourke or k reily would play yesterday .Some people quoted last week that o rourke was not on panel and reily would not be back till june.That is why if for example people saying o Sullivan might not play again etc -If you don't know stop making up stories .We need people on here who care and are behind the team moving forward.Personally I quoted a few weeks back that o rourke was on a strength ,conditioning, and flexibility training to get right before he came back.Looking at yesterday and league in general I really believe we are moving in right direction.When we have full team available and strong bench then we will see that mickos hard work and plan will be more appreciated and most of all make sense.
I believe we beat down and cavan and rossies lose to galway next week and we go up on points difference
Last thing I will say that a person who is very good friends with sbray recently told me that from brays mouth that the set-up and work that is been put in by everyone is first class and improving in every aspect month to month-That to me is what I want to hear
Lots of new talent has emerged over last 2-3 years-FLANAGAN,MCGILL,pwer,ROONEY,MCMAKON,WALLACE,TORMEY,NEWMAN,OSULLIVANS,JUDGE,HARNAN,DALTON-It takes time to develop and injuries have not helped either-LETS BE POSITIVE

tampa (Meath) - Posts: 54 - 23/03/2015 14:10:57    1705613

I have repeatably said it Newman needs a break we also need someone to kick left footed frees

Reilly at 12 for the game James McEntee a corner back its a bit of a joke but it's not its serious.
McGill again did well Gillispie did well and Reilly if played in the right posisition are a plus. Biggie again absent when needed

Oh yeah Meath men don't wringe.... Time micko wrote that down.... Ref was poor but for both and he did not beat us

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1108 - 23/03/2015 14:16:52    1705618

we had plenty of chances to win that game yesterday if we had of won there would not be a word about the ref i dont like giving out about the ref cause it usually evens itself out in the course of the year i really think micko should not have given out about ref meath managers down through the years rarely blame the ref i think he was wrong to come out giving out. again if we had won would micko have said anything i dont think so we could have and maybe should have won even with the ref not on our side so stop whinging and get on with it

thecraw1 (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 23/03/2015 15:28:10    1705660

Glenny , i know your a bit of a joker and enjoy the craic referring to yourself as the great etc, but were you at the match yesterday?? . I was and i can tell you biggy was not absent he was best player in first half, second half had 3/4 around him many times and still got to deliver balls even if one looked to be thrown, and he was then sweeping up in the backs. To say he was absent is wholly inaccurate.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/03/2015 17:10:51    1705707

I dont see issue with MOD complaining about the ref.. yes Meath men dont whinge and all that!! but that line came from a time where you would need to be killed to win a free and time and effort put into the game was train twice a weeks and game and a few pints at the weekend.

Now young men are literally putting every spare minute of the day into inter co sport and for the most part refs are deciding the outcome which is totally unaceptable.

Last year Kerry would have lost the replayed semi final if our man Reilly should have give kerry corner back a black card after he already had a yellow which meant he could not be replaced.. Kerry down to 14 would never have recovered. 10 seconds later Enright is replaced with Marc O'Se!!

As a result of this Mayo would be all-ireland champions..

Managers need to highlight these obvious mistakes so they are corrected, I have yet to come across a ref who has played at any decent level, eg our top intercounty refs.

Re Roscommon game, was not at it but tbh it's a toss of a coin between all the teams in div2. I find inter co football very despressing and for all the time spent training i see no increase in skill/entertainment.. yes u have fast big strong athletes and agree with earlier poster who slated the contributors on this site, from reading various sports sites and comments, Meath comments on here have to be the most deluded.

Hate to hear the rubbish if we were all-ireland contenders!!

Northmeathman (Meath) - Posts: 284 - 23/03/2015 17:22:02    1705712

Referee was shocking but the incidents that lost us the game were Paddy's shocking kickout (which happens far too often) and our lack of a decent free taker. Good to see O'Rourke, Reilly and Gillespie back.

Just a note on the organisation at Hyde Park yesterday. Leaving after the game, the main gates were locked shut meaning everyone had to go through the turnstiles to get out (at least one of which was also locked). Absolutely crazy.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 23/03/2015 17:23:45    1705714