Wicklow Forum

Popular Posts from Micklow

Wicklow in 2017 - 1 Like(s)
I have said it before, there is too much talent falling between the cracks in Wicklow that would be held onto in other counties. Bray and Greystones are dominating everything up to the age of Under 16. That's where the county board need to be focusing their energy. What are the main reasons that so many of these young lads are discontinuing their involvement with these clubs from this age on? Like Bray and Greystones, most Dublin schools were mainly soccer and rugby up until 10 years ago. How in a 10 year time-frame have Dublin managed to produce a third team that can now beat the rest of Leinster. Who are we sending into these schools and are we giving them any targets to meet ? If lads are being lost to rugby or soccer, what is being done to change this ? Most will stop playing soccer or rugby after college, so what plan is in place to entice them back to GAA ? Someone told me there is 8 Tinahely lads on the minor panel this year, which speaks volumes for the club and the work that's being going on in the background. But it's a sure sign of the desperate state of affairs in our county when a club with such a tiny catchment area is producing more than 2 towns with a population of nearly 50,000 people. Until that knowledge and passion is transferred to the big towns , we will remain the laughing stock of the country.

Micklow (Wicklow) - 13/02/2017 19:59:10

Wicklow in 2017 - 1 Like(s)
Couple of points from match yesterday . 1. Chester is our best man-marker . Not only is he wasted in the half forward line ,he looks absolutely lost there. 2. There is no point in playing a sweeper, if the sweeper doesn't know what he is meant to be doing. Sweeper was changed 3 times yesterday . Each time, Not close enough to the full forwards to cut out supply and not close enough to half forwards to put pressure on runners coming through . Just sat in no mans land all game . We were essentially playing with 14 lads from the start. 3. Fitness levels were well below Leitim's. Big lad came on wing back , a position where you have to get up and down , and he looked ready to burst after 5 minutes of coming on. 4. Discipline poor all game - same culprits everytime . 5. Fair play to Magee for bringing in a sponsor. A sure sign of how incompetent the county board is, but he raised the white flag before a ball was kicked in anger this year and he's well short of the county level. Need someone who cares enough about the county to go knocking on fellas doors and plead with them to return . If not, We will get bet by every team this year, including London.

Micklow (Wicklow) - 06/02/2017 16:19:14

Manager Ratification - 1 Like(s)
The question is what do people think a new man will achieve, if we decide to change the manager again. Whoever comes in, is on a hiding to nothing. The numbers don't lie - last year, Wicklow spent only 277,000 Euro on all the county panels . Even Carlow spent nearly 200,000 more than that. Management in minor and 21's has improved but there is only so much these men can do without adequate under-age championships within the county. I would put my house on it that the majority of 16 year old footballers in the county have played less than a handful of competitive, tight games this year. This is where we are failing them and Jim Galvin wouldn't even stand a hope in our current predicament.

Micklow (Wicklow) - 26/07/2016 22:50:53

€25 into Croker for Paddy's Day - 1 Like(s)
I use to live near Arsenal's stadium in London. They knew attendance would be low at some League cup games and so, they would sell tickets for a tenner. Word got round and instead of playing in a less than half-empty stadium, the stadium would be at capacity. People that never went there before, had the chance to experience it. We are trying to promote our games domestically and Internationally. With so many visitor's to the capital, tomorrow would have been an ideal platform to do this. But again, it seems the people at the top of our organisation neither have the clout nor business acumen to do this. Big group of my friends are going into Dublin tomorrow and wouldn't mind watching the football but not for €25. The stadium will be empty, like every Paddy's day.

Micklow (National) - 16/03/2017 11:16:17

Intermediate Championship - 1 Like(s)
Don't worry Liamy, we are nearly dun-laughin . Quality pun

Micklow (Wicklow) - 11/09/2016 18:52:42