Weekend Predictions NFL

i have no problem with giving guys their chance at this level
and i was very much behind giving carthy, o conghaile, small, brady, rock all their starting berths as they earned it.
but the problem being that while you have an inexperienced team lining out from the start
when the game was their to be won he then took off the guys who had the bit of experiance at a crucial period
and put in newcomers to this level for the finish off the game.
again fenton,deegan,mchugh and so on all are good players in their own right
but we have seven league games, thats plenty of time to give these guys their chance
there was no need to have them all on the pitch at the same time
as it leaves you with a completly disjointed side of lads just put together
instead of giving them their chance along side players who willbe in the team in the championship
as they will learn more about the way they will have to play and work with them.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/02/2015 10:10:21    1689049

Hill16man do you realise how bad that post was? Your like a spoilt rich kid who didn't get all the presents he wanted for Christmas. Jim Gavin has won us two national league titles only losing one game each year he's also won two Leinster titles hammering our biggest rival in both finals and he has also won us Sam beating Cork Kerry and Mayo on the way and only last week we won the O Byrne Cup after extra time with roughly the same squad that played yesterday so with 15 minutes to go he brings on Subs some our starters would obviously get tired especially Bastick who is 34 years old and he brought on what was available to him which was Fenton who I rate very highly and Mchugh who was u21 poty and is an outstanding talent yet your willing to boycott games cause Gavin didn't do what you wanted in a first round league game? Do you realise how fickle you are being? I'm Sure posters from so called weaker counties are shaking there head at your post in disbelief. You need to back the manager and not turn your back on him after a first round league game away to Cork. In Jim Gavin I trust......

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/02/2015 10:11:50    1689051

All the indications are pointing to discontent within the normally tight Tyrone camp, partly borne out by the insipid performance in Omagh on Saturday evening, taking nothing away from Monaghan who thoroughly deserved their win clearly because they wanted it more and they can look forward to a good season ahead. To use a soccer term, Mickey could well have lost the dressing room! I don't think I've been in dread of a season ahead as much as this one and with Donegal to come in the Ulster prelim my mood is not likely to lighten any time soon.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 02/02/2015 10:17:06    1689061

Jaysus Cork showed up the Dubs yesterday for what they are, they must be the most 'average' team to ever win an All Ireland way back in 2013, wouldn't you agree Clondalkin? ;)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/02/2015 10:33:10    1689071

thehermit

We'rent you hammered on your home patch by Mayo yesterday?

All Ireland Champs already shown up this year... get used to it ;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/02/2015 10:40:47    1689078

Any word on Evan Regan? That was shocking to see I hope he's ok.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/02/2015 10:46:29    1689084

Hill16man do you realise how bad that post was? Your like a spoilt rich kid who didn't get all the presents he wanted for Christmas. Jim Gavin has won us two national league titles only losing one game each year he's also won two Leinster titles hammering our biggest rival in both finals and he has also won us Sam beating Cork Kerry and Mayo on the way and only last week we won the O Byrne Cup after extra time with roughly the same squad that played yesterday so with 15 minutes to go he brings on Subs some our starters would obviously get tired especially Bastick who is 34 years old and he brought on what was available to him which was Fenton who I rate very highly and Mchugh who was u21 poty and is an outstanding talent yet your willing to boycott games cause Gavin didn't do what you wanted in a first round league game? Do you realise how fickle you are being? I'm Sure posters from so called weaker counties are shaking there head at your post in disbelief. You need to back the manager and not turn your back on him after a first round league game away to Cork. In Jim Gavin I trust......

hold your horses there pal!
i fail to see how being a spoilt kid is wanting to end a 25 year gap without a win in cork
or wanting to see your team win a match when your two points up with 15 minutes to go
or wanting to see your team have an appetite for a national competition instead of basically
withdrawing some of your best and most experianced performers in a game.
did you travel down to cork yeterday?
anybody who did and the cork posters like bennybunny are in full agreement of what i said
they seen the game the exact same way.
maybe because jim gavin is a club member of yours you are reluctant to criticise him
just like last week you felt mccauley was too good to be criticised or dropped.
I have given gavin all the credit he deserves when he won them competitions and for the way he apporched them games
and the style of football he sent dublin out to play which i also said pat gilroy should have been doing in 2012
if you do remember. but if he messes up and basically dismisses the importance of a game he does deserve to be criticised
like any player who does the same.
the issue was taking off players who were our better players on the day and at a critical period of the game
carthy and bastick were on top at midfield we had gone two points up and then he takens off three of the more experianced guys
in bastick, cooper and costello. to ask a lot of mchugh,fenton,reddin,deegan and lowndes to come in and show experaince they
have not got at this stage of their development.
we have seven league games, thats plenty of time to introduce younger players to this level
having them all on the pitch at the one time isnt going to help them develop
as what good is it going forward for them,surely it would make more sense to integrate them alongside
players who will be in the team for the championship as they will learn a lot more about the way we will be playing.
there is only two national titles to play for
apparently gavin told most of the first team guys to stay home and play with their clubs yesterday
that shows a lack of respect for cork if anything and for people who support the national league
nobody is turning their back on anybody or their team here
just experessing an opinion that has plenty of merit

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/02/2015 10:53:15    1689089

Yerra Kerry are notoriously slow starters in the League Jimbo. Why I even recall almost crashing the car on February day back in 2004 when news came in over the radio that Longford had beaten Kerry in Jack O'Connor's first game in charge. Things seemed to work out pretty well over the next few years tough!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/02/2015 11:20:39    1689098

only 5 players from the starting 15 from final last year
2 of ye look like 2 very worried patients

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 02/02/2015 11:35:48    1689103

Re hill16no1man

"donegal may have been bluffing a bit with regards to not training much or whatever"

It's a big county! ;-)

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9868 - 02/02/2015 11:45:19    1689104

They defo wernt training as a group, whether they were doing their own thing, thats a different story. we looked pretty fit in the second half.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3853 - 02/02/2015 11:50:11    1689106

It's easy with hindsight to say what your saying , Bastick is 34 and was tiring after last weeks game Cooper was average and Costello is not playing well right now, Lowdnes has played loads of league games with Dublin so has Reddin, Deegan came on with 2 minutes to go and kicked a point , your giving out about Mccauley (who was playing against us in a friendly yesterday) so he's trying others like Fenton yet your still not happy about that , and I for one was very excited to see Mchugh come on I think he's savage. Like surely this is when we throw them in in a first round league game when it's on the line? Let's see what there made of weve 7 games to turn it around but your thinking of not travelling g anymore cause Gavin didn't do what you wanted, how can you even question the man after what he's already achieved with this team? And please don't give me the "did I go to the game bs" I go to nearly 90% of games I just couldn't make yearerdays game, fair play for travelling but it's sport were not entitled to win every game.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/02/2015 11:54:13    1689108

kerryluck

only 5 players from the starting 15 from final last year
2 of ye look like 2 very worried patients

Kop on man...

It was your own county man that started this rubbish

Not very many first team Dubs started either and we blooded more than few debutantes yesterday and still gave a strong Cork side a decent game away from home

So less of the rubbish boyos :)

At least we didn't get hammered at home as AI Champs... wha!!!!

Anyway I'm well aware of the fact that it's only the first round of the league and all that stuff

So less of it from the hermit... not our fault he's got a thick head on himself just because he saw his own county well beaten by a far superior Mayo side

Lick the wounds thehermit and don't be venting your disappointment on others ;)

Your going to have a lot more disappointment this year... so better get used to it. ;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/02/2015 11:56:30    1689111

"There were several dubious decisions including a penalty award, the red card shown to Robbie Kiely and the fact that additional injury-time was played when the referee had been informed time was up."

Peter Creedon was less than complimentary about the performance of referee David Coldrick in the Athletic Grounds.

Very strange comment from a manager.I always believed that the ref decides when time is up. Who was the person who informed him and what was there official capacity?

evano11 (Cavan) - Posts: 265 - 02/02/2015 11:59:00    1689113

certainly looked a lot fitter than any year under mcguinness for a first league outing

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/02/2015 11:59:17    1689115

Think the team is going to Dubai during the NFL break so maybe they had no choice other than to up the fitness work earlier than normal this year.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9868 - 02/02/2015 12:32:02    1689143

what are you talking about man?
hindsight it was obvious at the time to a blind man that with 15 minutes to go and your getting on top
you dont go taking off your experianced players and throw in lads just out of nappys.
it was always going to disjoint the whole team.
bastick and carthy were well on top at midfield and then throws in fenton and reddin
fenton first game and reddin hasnt played midfield for us before and hardly an experienced head at seeing out a game.
I gave out about mccauley almost costing us the match against kildare, what about that is wrong?
its a fact he got himself sent off and a free awarded for kildare to have a chance of winning.
I said that carthy and bastick deserved to start ahead of him on the form they had all shown so far.
where as you were quite clearly stating that mccauley should be played to get his form back
now your all for giving kids his place, make up your mind.
not saying mchugh isnt a good player but it was a big ask for so many of them at the one time
and they didnt look confident in themselves as they made silly mistakes when on the ball.
maybe we are from differant schools of thought
i would be of the opinion that winning a game breeds confidence for young guys,
so i would rather 5 or 6 experiance that
then 9 or 10 of them conspire to lose a game and possibly a blow to their confidence
judging by some of the handling and decision making them new guys made when under that pressure.
like we have seven games in the league whats the rush to throw them all in at the same time?
i said i would be put off travelling long distances when the manager shows no interest in the winning or loosing of the game.
nobody said we are entitled to win any game so cannot see what your making out there
but what i do expect is that the management do their best to win the match
is that too much to ask for after taking the time and money to travel down?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/02/2015 12:42:51    1689154

where? show where started?
you have learned nothing from last few years?

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 02/02/2015 12:54:13    1689159

TheHermit

Jaysus Cork showed up the Dubs yesterday for what they are, they must be the most 'average' team to ever win an All Ireland way back in 2013, wouldn't you agree Clondalkin? ;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/02/2015 13:04:47    1689163

Lads its a pity we cudnt end that losing streak Leeside,but hill i think your going a bit overboard on this(to be fair you did travel so i can understand your frustration).Making those changes,in hindsight,looks like poor decision making,but those 15 minutes may well stand to some of them young lads like McHugh who came on.It is good to see Jim trying out lads in the heat of battle.Being the canny operator he is,hell have learned a few things about some of them.Im sure it is good for the moral of all these young lads who got a run out.They know their not just training to make up the numbers.
Have to say i was never a fan of Bastick(although forever grateful for setting up Brogans 2nd goal v Mayo).Decent engine but very limited in the skills department.I wouldnt fancy him v Aidan O Shea or David Moran.They would clean him out.We need a better man to go with McCauley.I have full faith in Jim Gavin.Yesterday was but a blip in the greater scheme of things.I would fully expect us to beat Donegal and qualify for league semi.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 02/02/2015 13:05:55    1689166