Weekend Predictions NFL

Scrappy game? I thought Colm O' Neill, Brian Hurley and Eoin Cadogan were excellent. Cork are a match for any team in the country.
Dublin boast that they could field 2 teams of equal capability.
Bennybunny,,,support your county. You would never see a Donegal man berating his county like you do.
I have supported Cork for decades.....loyal to the hurlers even in the 1960's when they were beaten out the gate by Tipp in 1964 and 1965. They came back in 1966 to win.
Cork have tremendous pride...great tradition....don't forget that.
I would have more respect for Brian Hurley; Colm O'Neill; Shields et al than somebody who kicks when the team is down.
Up the Rebels

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 01/02/2015 17:45:17    1688763

Interesting to note that of the 11 Leinster counties in action today, just 2 won. The Westmeath Laois game had to produce a Leinster winner or draw, and the only Leinster team to beat an outside county was Offaly who went abroad.

You can make up stats to suit any argument, there will be weekends where other provinces don't fare too well, but it is interesting at a time where Leinster counties are struggling, apart from the Dubs. Three Munster v Leinster matches and three wins for Munster, people talk about predictability of Munster championship but I think leinster has more problems.

pj_mcmanus (Limerick) - Posts: 431 - 01/02/2015 18:07:48    1688778

How impressive was that Clare win against Wexford. I thought. It would be close but to win by that margin was a shock to us neutrals. I think ClRe are definitely a team on the up. It would be lovely to see them promoted to the Second tier. And well done to our near neighbours Monagan and Fermanagh on 2 great victories. Not forgetting my own county of course who managed to hold their heads and get a deserved Draw in Kiltoom.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 01/02/2015 18:10:42    1688781

s goldrick

I'm totally taken aback by that result. Fair play to Clare.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3798 - 01/02/2015 18:24:17    1688795

Rockies

Scrappy game? I thought Colm O' Neill, Brian Hurley and Eoin Cadogan were excellent. Cork are a match for any team in the country.
Dublin boast that they could field 2 teams of equal capability.
Bennybunny,,,support your county. You would never see a Donegal man berating his county like you do.
I have supported Cork for decades.....loyal to the hurlers even in the 1960's when they were beaten out the gate by Tipp in 1964 and 1965. They came back in 1966 to win.
Cork have tremendous pride...great tradition....don't forget that.
I would have more respect for Brian Hurley; Colm O'Neill; Shields et al than somebody who kicks when the team is down.
Up the Rebels

I do support them and I am not berating them. As I said, last year I genuinely thought we had a very good chance of winning the All-Ireland as we have a lot of talented players. However, a poor thirty minutes against Dublin in a league semi-final killed our year. It drained the confidence right out of them- it got even more embarrassing in the Munster final. The league semi final defeat should have been a moment of reflection. We were doing well. we changed our system. However, after that game there was no system. We were completely disjointed in every game we played. I think you need to wait for a few months to see if we have recovered.

I have no faith in the management team and the county board that appointed them. I have lots of faith in the players.

You know as well that there are quite a few players that feel the same way and the public opinion of the Cork footballers is at an all time low (and you also know if you have you have been following them for decades that when we say low we mean low).

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 01/02/2015 18:26:22    1688797

Clare are going places alright. Gave us a right battle in qualifiers last year, we were lucky to get out of Ennis with the win.Promotion on the cards.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1730 - 01/02/2015 18:30:07    1688800

Encouraging enough from that particular Dublin line up, against a good strong Cork side, never like to lose but happy enough considering.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8808 - 01/02/2015 18:55:20    1688819

Some of the easier predictions today I got wrong, but two of the more difficult
predictions ie Antrim v Carlow, I was spot on with the draw, I almost had it
spot on with the Armagh v Tipperary game, but Tipp. left it behind, such is life.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 3203 - 01/02/2015 19:03:59    1688830

Kerry posters get annoyed when I called last years team average but come on that's shocking today from Kerry with more or less there team from last year, still scratching my head to how they won Sam with such an average team. Keith Higgins what a player Mayo will have a big say this year again after they were robbed last year in the semi final.

How many of that team started the final last year? ANSWER 5,
Have you learned nothing from the last few years?

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 01/02/2015 19:07:32    1688832

Bennybunny

The strike is over.

Frank Murphy is still at the helm. I will always support Cork, and yes I back JBM and will give Cuthbert his chance.

Am disappointed that great hurlers like Sean Og and Donal Og still have a problem

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 01/02/2015 19:07:35    1688833

Great win for Monaghan last night. Problem areas like midfield and half forward line were excellent. Physically very strong and great scoring especially with no mc manus. Tyrone are in trouble

room2 (Monaghan) - Posts: 96 - 01/02/2015 19:14:15    1688841

Clondalkin... Go on lad I'll take the bait...
Kerry were missing, Kelly, OMahony,OSe,Crowley,Maher,Walsh,Donoghue Donaghty, what's that nearly 50% of the team? Not to mention Cooper.
Ohh and ofcouse they are just back from SA two weeks ago.
But we know how a good GAA man like yourself knows you're stuff regarding Kerry Football.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 01/02/2015 19:22:31    1688854

Leaderboard from Page 1 of predictions-
MonaghanGlory 11/16 - 69%
TirConnailAbu 10/16 - 62.5%
downredhand 10/16 - 62.5%
Mesamis 10/16 - 62.5%
cuederocket 10/16 - 62.5%
Richieq 9/16 - 56%
tirawleybaron 8/16 - 50%
lilywhite 7/16 - 44%
bennybunny 7/16 - 44%
aidan64 7/16 - 44%
dr.phil 7/16 -44%
wildpundit 5/16 - 31%
yewtree 5/16 - 31%

If i got any of ye lads wrong please do correct.Percentages rounded up to nearest nums in some cases.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 01/02/2015 19:26:44    1688856

Leaderboard from Page 1 of predictions-
MonaghanGlory 11/16 - 69%
TirConnailAbu 10/16 - 62.5%
downredhand 10/16 - 62.5%
Mesamis 10/16 - 62.5%
cuederocket 10/16 - 62.5%
Richieq 9/16 - 56%
tirawleybaron 8/16 - 50%
lilywhite 7/16 - 44%
bennybunny 7/16 - 44%
aidan64 7/16 - 44%
dr.phil 7/16 -44%
wildpundit 5/16 - 31%
yewtree 5/16 - 31%

If i got any of ye lads wrong please do correct.Percentages rounded up to nearest nums in some cases.

Fair play Sir, you've been busy.....I've got my predictions in early for next weekend a page or two back

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3750 - 01/02/2015 19:37:48    1688865

Rockies,give it a rest.Ive no doubt benny is as proud and loyal a Corkman as you.Whats the big deal that he fancied Dublin to win?Ye were humiliated by Waterford only a couple of weeks back.He got it wrong this time in a close fought game.Predictions are a perilous game.Especially early on in year.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 01/02/2015 19:37:52    1688866

I said on an earlier thread that i feared Wexfords good form of recent years might be under threat.Todays hammering is a bad omen for the year ahead.Limerick were missing about 8 of their main men today and yet Sligo cudnt get the 2 points on offer.Disappointing performance.Armagh scraped by in the end but Tipp can count themselves unlucky to play most of 2nd half with 14 men and still just lose it at the death.Armagh are well off the pace of the top teams for me.Roscommon will be disappointed not to get their league campaign off to a winning start.Good resolve shown by Cavan.Is this the year their undoubted young talent will prosper?Interesting weekends action.Great to have the GAA season back in full swing.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 01/02/2015 19:49:55    1688873

Hammered on your own patch again , I thought yous were the kings of football? Looks like it's going to be negative tactics again for kerry this season after that spanking.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/02/2015 19:56:50    1688882

sickened by that finish in Newbridge today, it could be a costly defeat at the end of the day, for once we have a team with scoring forwards but are prone to lapses at the back, Down as always had small pacy skilfull forwards who caused problems all through, there was nothing between the teams in fairness, and was a good game, Think Down will be in the hunt for promotion, Both kildare and Meath now need to win in Navan next Saturday, should be lively!

NorthKildare (Kildare) - Posts: 197 - 01/02/2015 19:57:39    1688883

have to say im very dissapointed in jim gavin.
after making the long journey like thousands of other dubs
we had pretty much the same line up as the o byrne cup
that was fine, but while the game wasnt a very good game,
cork had a full strength team almost out and this dublin line up was competing very well
and with 15 minutes to go looked in a brilliant position to go on and win the game
they had got on top and went two points clear and gavin basically declares he doesnt care about the outcome
as he takes off bastick, cooper and costello
and brings in fenton for his first game at this level
mchugh for his first game at this level
and reddin into midfield where he hasnt played before and
somehow leaves o gara on the pitch in all this madness when he is falling over himself out there.
cork bring in kerrigan and hayes to go and win the game
and we take off three of our better players when the game is there to be won.
it would put me off travelling to away league matches if this is the attitude of the management towards the league this year.
they would do well to remember that since we have giving the league the respect it deserves in 2010
its no coincidence that we have enjoyed success in the championship in them years.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/02/2015 19:59:38    1688884

Clondalkin,i have grainy images in my head of you sticking pins in a green & gold voodoo doll of Mick O Dwyer in the attic of your home(:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 01/02/2015 20:01:14    1688886