Weekend Predictions NFL

Liliwhite1, put on network 2 now and u'll see Tyrone losing at home to Monaghan.

hutto (Monaghan) - Posts: 171 - 01/02/2015 20:07:16    1688896

Eamon will base his tactics on the opposition if that s defensive so be it.

Will you boys stick to the Under 8s tactics ? sure let's all go forward ... I haven't scored yet!

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 01/02/2015 20:08:01    1688898

Verry happy with our lads last night. I think that there are some more good days ahead for us following Donegal. Could have been the best thing for donegal's long term footballing prospects to lose the final last september. We looked well over it, and we played great attacking football in the second half.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3853 - 01/02/2015 20:21:27    1688912

Fair play hill and all the other Dubs who travelled to Cork.Gavin blooding a few lads in the heat of battle i see.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 01/02/2015 20:25:05    1688916

Give me Under 8 tactics over puke defensive football any day of the week, great to see a Mayo win today playing football the way it's suppose to be played. I'd actually love to see Mayo win Sam this year great team that were robbed last year.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/02/2015 20:41:48    1688933

I combined the results from page 2 & 3 with cuederockets from page1, full leaderboard as follows, again double check your own in case i got something wrong

Monaghanglory 11/16 69%
Tirconnailabu 10/16 63%
Downredhand 10/16 63%
Mesamis 10/16 63%
Cuederocket 10/16 63%
Proevo 9/16 56%
Jackthedub 9/16 56%
Richieq 9/16 56%
Jack_sparrow 8/16 50%
NorthKildare 8/16 50%
Tirawleybaron 8/6 50%
Lilywhite 7/16 44%
Bennybunny 7/16 44%
aidan64 7/16 44%
Dr.Phil 7/16 44%
Supersub15 6/16 38%
OgraAnDun 6/16 38%
Bdbuddah 5/16 31%
Wildpundit 5/16 31%
Yewtree 5/16 31%

NorthKildare (Kildare) - Posts: 197 - 01/02/2015 20:48:45    1688941

doubt kerry are too pushed in fairness..they generally just do what they have to do to stay up and blood a few players..cork i presume people remember were very dominant in the league and won the round robin stage of the league last year while also being up comfortably against dublin before they do what they often do and messed everything up so i wouldnt read too much into it

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 01/02/2015 20:49:50    1688943

Cuederocket
Fair play to you. I had the same intention but you beat me to it. It'll be interesting to see who comes out on top at the end of the league. Very congested at the top but I'm happy enough with my 10/16!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 01/02/2015 20:52:20    1688948

On the whole, Not a great performance from The Dubs, Well deserved victory for the rebels... Still, it's only the league wha!! ;)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 01/02/2015 21:03:04    1688958

hill16no1man

have to say im very dissapointed in jim gavin.
after making the long journey like thousands of other dubs
we had pretty much the same line up as the o byrne cup
that was fine, but while the game wasnt a very good game,
cork had a full strength team almost out and this dublin line up was competing very well
and with 15 minutes to go looked in a brilliant position to go on and win the game
they had got on top and went two points clear and gavin basically declares he doesnt care about the outcome
as he takes off bastick, cooper and costello
and brings in fenton for his first game at this level
mchugh for his first game at this level
and reddin into midfield where he hasnt played before and
somehow leaves o gara on the pitch in all this madness when he is falling over himself out there.
cork bring in kerrigan and hayes to go and win the game
and we take off three of our better players when the game is there to be won.
it would put me off travelling to away league matches if this is the attitude of the management towards the league this year.
they would do well to remember that since we have giving the league the respect it deserves in 2010
its no coincidence that we have enjoyed success in the championship in them years.

Very good post. I would be annoyed if I were you. It was baffling what Jim Gavin did. The game was poor for the three quarters of the game. When it got exciting toward the end, Dublin took off their most experienced players. Donegal will come to Croke Park next week and if Jim Gavin shows a similar blase attitude, I think Donegal will win. They are taking the league more seriously with the team they put out. Last night guys like Paddy McBrearty, Martin O'Reilly, Neil Gallgher, Chrsty Toye really looked up for it.

You are right in what you say about Dublin improving in the league and winning the All-Ireland. It is very rare that you can have a bad league and then turn around in the summer and hit top form. Obviously Dublin still have the best panel and it would be no surprise if they win all six remaining group games. They will need to treat Mayo, Donegal and Kerry with more respect than they showed Cork though.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 01/02/2015 21:05:58    1688961

fair Play NorthKildare

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 01/02/2015 21:26:18    1688977

There is neither league nor all ireland won in the first week of feb. Kerry are barely back training if at all. Mayo are flying, and are setting down a marker, but does it mean anything re august? We will see a fuller dublin team out next weekend more than likely. I would be afraid if I were a Derry or Tyrone supporter, but it is still early days I suppose.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3853 - 01/02/2015 21:36:30    1688980

Early league matches mean little or nothing come September. Hard to know who is putting it in or not. Wouldn't take anything from Mayo beating Kerry in the league that's six out of seven won now and no wins in championship in the same timeframe.

Its obvious which teams are taking the league seriously and which are not. I'd ignore div 1 as 3 wins has been good enough for the semis the last few years. You can afford a fair bit of experimentation and still make a semi.
Based on the weekend I predict the following

Mayo, Dublin, Donegal and Monaghan for div 1 semis, with Tyrone and Derry to struggle
Galway and Down for promotion with Laois certainties for relegation and Westmeath/Meath to join them
Armagh/Tipp/Clare for promotion and Wexford and Louth heading for div 4
Div 4 could be anyones

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1488 - 02/02/2015 08:47:47    1689013

Tired this morning but a great weekend in Killarney all the same. Pleased with the 2 points down there. I thought be overall looking quicker than Kerry and looked a few weeks ahead in the training stakes so in the grand scheme of things its a league win and not revenge for last year but better to have the two points then looking for them. A win this Sunday against Tyrone and the job of staying safe will be a long way down the road.

Glad to see Kevin Keane back and he played very well, as did Conroy, Durkan, Doherty, Keith Higgins. Real shame about Even Regan who will now be ot for at least 2 months. I wish him well in his recovery.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11679 - 02/02/2015 09:12:30    1689019

Still think Dublin, Mayo , Donegal and Kerry are the best four in Ireland. Id have Cork and Monaghan after that.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 02/02/2015 09:36:17    1689027

Very early to be making predictions on how bad/good teams are. I seen all the games in full bar the Tyrone/Monaghan game and I don't think any teams were at full strength. Kerry and Dublin certainly weren't and paid the price but you would expect them to still make the semi's. Donegal have 5/6 to come back, Monaghan have a few to come back and Mayo started a few new faces who all seem to have played well. I'd worry for Derry as they just completely folded when Donegal put the pressure on them and this doesn't bode well in their hopes of staying in division 1. From the highlights it also looks like Tyrone didn't look right and from what I hear seemed to get very ragged when Monaghan put the pressure on.
After the break you will see teams starting to come out with more strengthened teams and it will give a better indicator. Sure didn't Kerry lose their first 4 games I think a few years ago and still were able to stay up!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 02/02/2015 09:37:25    1689029

Rockies

Cork are a match for any team in the country.
Dublin boast that they could field 2 teams of equal capability.
Bennybunny,,,support your county. You would never see a Donegal man berating his county like you do.

Dublin cant field two teams of equal capability , but for what its worth yesterday was a very experimental team, B team players and C team players were tried with a few starters. ,we looked comfortable in second half and like we were going on to win game and then Gavin whipped off 3 of the lads who were causing trouble and put on fringe players to see how they would go and thats when ye got on top. But well done on your victory and Cork are a good team that can beat anyone on their day.
But for a lot of Dubs travelling and staying over night its disappointing to see the team weakend so much in second half by substitutions that ruined the game as a spectacle from our point of view.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 02/02/2015 09:38:36    1689030

Dubs did well for large parts

But Cork finished the stronger team and deserved the victory

Hill... that's a good post - I didn't travel to the game so I can imagine that you'd be a little peeved alright

Interesting to read BennyBunnys input on the subject too

Listen I have full faith in Jim Gavin - he felt that the players he brought on would have done the job

Trust me - Jim Gavin does not like losing but you have to give players the opportunity at this level

It was always going to be a very tough game and I'm pleased that we were right in the game to the very end, considering that the most valuable core of the team wasn't present - against a strong Cork outfit playing at home, there's plenty of encouragement to take from the game

Although completely understand the traveling fans disappointment.Hats off to everyone that traveled

Well done to Cork - your mighty home record against Dublin continues - a valuable 2 points was deserved.

The only way is up for us... important now that we try and take maximum points from the next game

Up the Dubs

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/02/2015 09:43:19    1689033

I was in Ballybofey on Saturday night and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. After a sluggish first half we really upped the intensity in the second half and beat Derry relatively easily in the end. I was surprised at that, given that Derry have been training a lot longer than us. Donegal really got a grip of the game around the middle. Neil Gallagher, Christy Toye and Martin McElhinney were well on top and that gave us the platform to feed good ball into McBrearty, Murphy and O'Reilly inside.

Paddy had his best ever game in a Donegal jersey. I'm expecting big things from him this year and would nearly go so far as to say Colm McFadden's role might be that of an impact sub in 2015.

Early days yet of course but the signs are good!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9868 - 02/02/2015 09:47:00    1689034

bennybunny
Very good post. I would be annoyed if I were you. It was baffling what Jim Gavin did. The game was poor for the three quarters of the game. When it got exciting toward the end, Dublin took off their most experienced players. Donegal will come to Croke Park next week and if Jim Gavin shows a similar blase attitude, I think Donegal will win. They are taking the league more seriously with the team they put out. Last night guys like Paddy McBrearty, Martin O'Reilly, Neil Gallgher, Chrsty Toye really looked up for it.
You are right in what you say about Dublin improving in the league and winning the All-Ireland. It is very rare that you can have a bad league and then turn around in the summer and hit top form. Obviously Dublin still have the best panel and it would be no surprise if they win all six remaining group games. They will need to treat Mayo, Donegal and Kerry with more respect than they showed Cork though.

i agree totally, gavin all but robbed the people who turned out of an exciting climax to the game
by bringing on debutants at this level for experianced players.
also agree donegal may have been bluffing a bit with regards to not training much or whatever
as they certainly looked a lot fitter on saturday in the second half for this time of the year than under mcguinness.
apparently gavin told most of our first team players to stay at home and play with their clubs this weekend
he should surely have had two or three guys like cork did with kerrigan and hayes to come in and when the game was their to be
won went after it. i dont have a problem with giving guys a chance its down to how you use them
you have 7 league games, there was no need to have them all on the pitch at the one time
he could easily filter them in over the 7 games.
it would appear from yesterdays attitude that gavin will be content at just making the top4 in the league and if we do
then he will change his attitude and go for it. that can be dangerous way to go about things
as lose against donegal and thats leaving you fighting for survival more than a semi spot.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/02/2015 10:01:32    1689044