GAA announce SKY TV deal

doublehop

that would be fine if one of the main reasons for setting up the GAA wasnt for to keep irish culture and nationalism alive
its not about us at the end of the day its about what the GAA stands for and this my friend flys in the face of why the assocation
was set up

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/03/2014 21:06:48    1566432

source

A lot of people seem to have a problem with the GAA getting a decent amount money from SKY. Maybe if they gave the TV rights for free to SKY, these people would be much happier.

not really most people have a problem with
1 having to now pay for something they already had all their lives for free
2 selling rights of our national sport to a foreign brodcaster
3 the fact the gaa stated only last year it wouldnt be in a position to sell exclusive rights to a pay per view station
4 the fact that the gaa are using an excuse of saying this will promote the games
when really they are only concerned with the highest bidder as it doesnt take a genius to figure out
that less people will now be able to watch the 10-14 games sky sports get then over the last few years
when tv3 had these games by the simple fact that less houses have sky sports then tv3

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/03/2014 21:11:42    1566434

hill

Irish culture is alive and well, we've been an independent state for nearly 100 years now, time moves and unless you move with it then you're dead in the water. I would imagine that the people who set up the Gaa all those years ago would be very proud of where it is today and would not be against its expansion.

I've said it many times here, look back and enjoy history but by no means live in it.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 28/03/2014 21:27:58    1566447

the precedent was set 5 years ago surely with setanta showing games on a channel you had to pay for?..im all for it if they make money.after all 80% of all money earned by the gaa goes to the grassroots as verified every year by the annual accounts.an astonishingly high figure for any sports organisation.just look around the country at all the fantastic facilitys available for young and old.a credit to the gaa.

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 29/03/2014 09:15:52    1566471

exactly thats the point im making that if sky were shown this weekends dublin v mayo game croker would more
then likely lose a couple of thousand supporters due to their tv marketing not gain any
where as the rugby crowd have advertised their match to get people into the ground
it wasnt a tv channel advertising for that match it was the rugby crowd themselves
where as the gaa have done no advertising for the dublin v mayo game at all

I would disagree with this idea, I think if Sky sports were covering the Dublin Mayo game it would hugely increase the attendance. Sky sports in fairness to them can hype up anything to make it sound great. If you look at what the have done to other sports - soccer , the old division 1 games were half empty, rugby - Heineken Cup is massive now, T20 cricket, even smaller sports like darts are very well attended now. People want to go to big events and sky sports convinces them it is a big event, so they want go.
The GAA sold its soul a long time ago so there's no point in going on with that guff, going with sky sports will be a good move for them. They are in dangerous of being taken over by rugby in 20 years or so at the top level - not talking underage or clubs but at the top levels. It's actually probably already happened the GAA are the Nokia of the sports world and rested on their laurels for far too long. Seems they have finally woken up to that.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4653 - 29/03/2014 10:11:24    1566485

We all love Gaelic games but I think RTE and TV3 became too complacent.Jobs for the boys and all that. As mentioned previously, to see a big plug for a Super Sunday featuring say 2 big hurling games during the Championship would be a breath of fresh air. The GAA has always filled the gap in pubs during Premier League close season over here. Anything that promotes Gaelic games on an international stage has to be welcomed. Where was club rugby before Sky started showing it? I will go one step further and pray that we can stream the matches online over here. Never could understand why RTE/GAA kept everything within "the island of Ireland only". I honestly think GAA are moving with the times.All the Irish worldwide want is instant and live access to matches. Is is that bad that some lose out on a island of 6 million but 100s of millions worldwide gain.

CocknyTribesman (UK) - Posts: 194 - 29/03/2014 10:15:13    1566487

bad.monkey
County: USA

exactly thats the point im making that if sky were shown this weekends dublin v mayo game croker would more
then likely lose a couple of thousand supporters due to their tv marketing not gain any
where as the rugby crowd have advertised their match to get people into the ground
it wasnt a tv channel advertising for that match it was the rugby crowd themselves
where as the gaa have done no advertising for the dublin v mayo game at all

I would disagree with this idea, I think if Sky sports were covering the Dublin Mayo game it would hugely increase the attendance. Sky sports in fairness to them can hype up anything to make it sound great. If you look at what the have done to other sports - soccer , the old division 1 games were half empty, rugby - Heineken Cup is massive now, T20 cricket, even smaller sports like darts are very well attended now. People want to go to big events and sky sports convinces them it is a big event, so they want go.
The GAA sold its soul a long time ago so there's no point in going on with that guff, going with sky sports will be a good move for them. They are in dangerous of being taken over by rugby in 20 years or so at the top level - not talking underage or clubs but at the top levels. It's actually probably already happened the GAA are the Nokia of the sports world and rested on their laurels for far too long. Seems they have finally woken up to that.

all them sports you mentioned are either created in britain or predominantly played in britain
gaa is like an alien concept in britain
sky promoting the game would not be from an angle of getting people to go to croke park
as why would they want that when they have the match on tv they want you to stay at home and watch it on their station
the rugby crowd market the game themselves in order to get you to go to it
not the tv channels

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/03/2014 10:40:20    1566501

I find all this critism directed towards rte unbelievable. Michael Lyster is one of the finest broadcasters on any tv station. All the posts advocating Sky TV bid think the coverage will be far superior than rte. In fairness RTE have probably among the greatest GAA stars of the past involved in their programmes. Pat Spillane and Colm O'Rourke are among the best footballers of their generation as well as a super coach in Kevin McStay, you have liam sheedy, tomas mulchay and cyril farrell great hurling analysts and have proven track records in the game. What pundits better than RTE are sky going to get? Between RTE TV and Radio their coverage isn't bad. The only thing Sky will do better is have flasher ads and more beefed up music.
And for the record the subscription to sky sports is €60. You cannot get sky sports without the basic package and throw the sports onto that and it is €60+.

The_Bull (Cork) - Posts: 248 - 29/03/2014 10:42:02    1566503

Htaem

I coudnt agree that irish culture is well
we live in a country that constantly craves attention from britain
in the last 20 odd years I feel Ireland has become more british orientated then any period over the last 800 years
most things Irish are immendiatly compared to britain and rated poorer
its like an inferior complex attitude
even our own language you have so many people saying its a waste of time and wont watch something if its on tg4
indeeed plenty on here have complained of matches being shown in irish

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/03/2014 10:44:52    1566505

CocknyTribesman
County: UK

We all love Gaelic games but I think RTE and TV3 became too complacent.Jobs for the boys and all that. As mentioned previously, to see a big plug for a Super Sunday featuring say 2 big hurling games during the Championship would be a breath of fresh air. The GAA has always filled the gap in pubs during Premier League close season over here. Anything that promotes Gaelic games on an international stage has to be welcomed. Where was club rugby before Sky started showing it? I will go one step further and pray that we can stream the matches online over here. Never could understand why RTE/GAA kept everything within "the island of Ireland only". I honestly think GAA are moving with the times.All the Irish worldwide want is instant and live access to matches. Is is that bad that some lose out on a island of 6 million but 100s of millions worldwide gain.

yes it is bad that people who live in the country of our national sport are being forced to fork out for people who dont
these people volunteer,play and keep the countys running
they should be put ahead of the minority of irish people living abroad who are keen gaa people
dont see where 100 million worldwide have been all along supporting gaa?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/03/2014 10:48:34    1566507

It's a dual approach by sky hill16 man, they need the grounds to be full to be able to market them as big events to their tv audience. Where sports are marketed by them, attendances increase - I can't think of any that have not.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4653 - 29/03/2014 11:09:22    1566513

I think you're over thinking the whole Irish culture thing hill, I certainly don't feel inferior to British people nor do most Irish people I know, I thought them days were gone. Anyway try to enjoy Gaa on Skysports and approach it with an open mind, you never know this could benefit our great sports.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 29/03/2014 11:09:29    1566514

As for better pundits than Spillane and Brolly? inanimate carbon rod would do a better job

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4653 - 29/03/2014 11:18:42    1566518

CocknyTribesman
County: UK

You're kidding right? The popularity of provincial rugby was built when the Heineken Cup was on terrestrial TV. And proper club rugby is dying a death in Ireland. One of the most famous clubs- Blackrock- has seen a massive fall in membership and are having to rent out their grounds to Cuala GAA to cover their debts.

Sky and BT have also done some serious meddling in the way the tournament is structured. Control of the game has been wrested from the Unions and placed in the hands of wealthy club owners and TV broadcasters.

If Sky are only going to show 14 matches then fine. However let's say hypothetically they were to become the main broadcaster and a major investor. Think they'd be happy with the current championship structure? Think they'd be concerned about club players not playing for months on end and not being able to book holidays? Players- intercounty and club- first, please.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 29/03/2014 11:31:01    1566525

Hill16 + the bull
I agree with ye'r comments 100% , if something isn't broke why try and fix it? And can I say all ye pro sky sports fans when this all blows up and players from counties are striking and looking for their cut which in my opinion is the next logical step (and rightly so why shouldn't they get their share of the money )what good will sky sports be then to ye or the lads in England and America then. Liam o'neill well done you just ruined 130 years of great work with the stroke of your pen.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 29/03/2014 11:39:50    1566532

KingdomBoy1

Hill16 + the bull
I agree with ye'r comments 100% , if something isn't broke why try and fix it? And can I say all ye pro sky sports fans when this all blows up and players from counties are striking and looking for their cut which in my opinion is the next logical step (and rightly so why shouldn't they get their share of the money )what good will sky sports be then to ye or the lads in England and America then. Liam o'neill well done you just ruined 130 years of great work with the stroke of your pen.

What a load of oul bull.

Did the players strike when a deal was done with Setanta? No they didn't so why should this be any different. If the money was going into someone's back pocke then I would agree with you 100%, but it isn't. The biggest part of it will go to the grassroots like all revenue into the Association.

As for Liam O'Neill having ruined 130 years of great work, give me a break. That is the sort of overblown rubbish you get on Neighbours. When we see the details of any deal, then we can judge. Until then let's keep things in perspective.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 29/03/2014 11:48:35    1566534

Muckross.

You are the only one talking logical sense.

Fair play, Agre 1000%

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 29/03/2014 11:57:16    1566536

bad.monkey
County: USA

It's a dual approach by sky hill16 man, they need the grounds to be full to be able to market them as big events to their tv audience. Where sports are marketed by them, attendances increase - I can't think of any that have not.

in england yes but your forgetting this sport is not an english sport
therefore they will have nothing to do with filling grounds
only interest will be to get viewers for themselves and if the gaa go with sky sports ans as were lead to believe
its to grow the games to a foreign audience well then sky will have only one agenda to try and get british viewers
tht would be part of any deal you would have to imagine
and in that case they wont want british viewers flocking over to ireland as they wont make money from them watching sky

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/03/2014 11:59:29    1566539

KingdomBoy1

Haha jaysus you outdone yourself with that one lad, listen go out tonight (if you're free), have a few drinks and relax, this isn't the end of the world you know. If the Gaa selling 14 out of 45 games to Skysports is the worst thing that happens to you this year then you're doing pretty well!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 29/03/2014 11:59:40    1566540

Htaem

I think you're over thinking the whole Irish culture thing hill, I certainly don't feel inferior to British people nor do most Irish people I know, I thought them days were gone. Anyway try to enjoy Gaa on Skysports and approach it with an open mind, you never know this could benefit our great sports.

well for example television which sky sports is in the category of
x factor all the coverage v voice of ireland no coverage and put down
emmerdale,coronation street,eastenders all the coverage v fair city no coverage and put down
rte sport news english soccer all coverage v irish soccer no coverage and put down
then take a big example is horse racing next week we have the aintree grand national
how many thousands in this country come out once a year to back on it
where as the same people couldnt even tell you the day our grand national takes place (which is the same fixed day every year)
take programmes like father ted and mrs brownes boys
they were both rejected in this country for being irish made
then both were taken on by british stations and lone behold they became two of the best progrmames to be made in ireland

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/03/2014 12:06:03    1566545