The deal is happening
god (Westmeath) - Posts: 90 - 28/03/2014 15:22:30
KingdomBoy1
I do understand that people without Sky are going to miss out to an extent, particularly older people will lose out if Sky get a few games and that is a shame. But the thing is at the minute we don't know exactly what Sky are getting and I'll believe little till I actually see the deals confirmed. But it does certainly look like Sky are only going to get a small percentage of exclusive right for the time being, so while it's not free for all, it will still be free for most.
I certainly wouldn't worry about Sky getting the full Gaa championship package either, the only way I could see the Gaa going down that route is if Gaelic games on Sky turned out to be a landslide success. In which case Sky probably would and should get full exclusive rights but I genuinely think we're a long way off that yet, this is dipping the toes stuff for now. Also is it not a case that by law both AI finals have to be on free to air tele or is that just a myth?
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 28/03/2014 15:56:41
KingdomBoy1 County: Kerry Posts: 1833
1566260 Htaem I appreciate what you are saying as far as the GAA trying to progress it self abroad but not at the expense of the poor people that helped make it what it is today , I have 2 grand uncles who have put so much in to the local GAA over the years and trained allireland winners and never looked for a thing in return but they do look forward to the football and hurling championships on telly coz they can't manage to go to games anymore and they can't afford sky to be honest, it is always the poor that become cannon fodder for the rich, I don't think people understand how hard things are for outside the pale.
There will be championship games on terrestial every weekend, far more than there were 20, 10 or even 5 years ago.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 28/03/2014 16:01:40
hurlingdub County: Dublin Posts: 5869
1566199 Perhaps Sky will promote the games they have better. Tomorrow there is a repeat of the All Ireland final in Croke park but there is zero marketting being done. It will still attract a reasonable crowd but the Aviva will be packed for a pretty much meaningless Rabo game - the rugby equivalent of the O'Byrne Cup - between Leinster and Munster. The reason it will be full is because everyone in the country knows that it is on. There has been no advertising of the Dublin/mayo game.
yes but your confusing the types of marketing the rugby crowd have marketed the game as a means of people going to the games if sky sports market the game its to get you to stay at home and watch it on their channel it would actually decrease the amount of viewers at the dublin v mayo match not increase I agree the GAA needs a serious marketing overhaul I have said for a long time but bringing sky sports on board will not get more people to go to matches it will do the complete opposite
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/03/2014 16:18:05
The Bull - the GPA is - and always was - about extra money for their members. They have no concern for supporters. They will welcome a deal like this with open arms, as long as they get a cut of the profits.
The GAA is selling out it's people.
Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 646 - 28/03/2014 16:21:31
hill16no1man
the rugby crowd have marketed the game as a means of people going to the games if sky sports market the game its to get you to stay at home and watch it on their channel
In fairness hill, all tv stations want you to stay at home and watch their channel, that's what the television business is all about, Sky is no different in that regard. Besides it's not up to Sky or RTE or TV3 etc to promote attending games, that's the Gaa's job and it's an area where they fall dismally short.
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 28/03/2014 16:31:50
This is FANTASTIC!!!
Really hope this is true.
Excellent for the game to get it beamed world wide.
Great also to get more money once its pumped back into the infrastructure to allow our games to grow.
People will moan, Awh boo hoo but its against the ethos of the GAA, or, Boo hoo this will only lead to professionalism anyway.
b******s, sure the GAA (at inter county level anyway) is professional in all but name anyway
The training and sacrifices the players go through, You may aswell let it go professional, Heck sure the amount of committment and sacrifices they make, I certainly wouldnt object to them getting a few bob for ther troubles.
The only downside to this is that you might have to pay to watch some games, Is that abig deal ? I dont think so ...
deal would only mean there are LESS games available for "Free", It doesnt mean there will be no games available.
Providing the money the GAA recieve goes into the infrastructure and grassroots, Then excellent stuff. Keep er lit i say.
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 28/03/2014 16:43:51
Htaem County: Meath Posts: 4996
1566329 hill16no1man
the rugby crowd have marketed the game as a means of people going to the games if sky sports market the game its to get you to stay at home and watch it on their channel
In fairness hill, all tv stations want you to stay at home and watch their channel, that's what the television business is all about, Sky is no different in that regard. Besides it's not up to Sky or RTE or TV3 etc to promote attending games, that's the Gaa's job and it's an area where they fall dismally short.
exactly thats the point im making that if sky were shown this weekends dublin v mayo game croker would more then likely lose a couple of thousand supporters due to their tv marketing not gain any where as the rugby crowd have advertised their match to get people into the ground it wasnt a tv channel advertising for that match it was the rugby crowd themselves where as the gaa have done no advertising for the dublin v mayo game at all
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/03/2014 17:30:54
wayno
you really believe the money made will go striaght into grassroots haha come on thats a gull a bull statement
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/03/2014 17:32:06
jimbodub County: Dublin Posts: 12105
1566270 Games were free - now they wont be
Games were shown on Irish terrestrial television to eveyone - now we will have less than that
Yayyyyyeeee...
+1
white.n.blue (Monaghan) - Posts: 249 - 28/03/2014 17:36:51
On Tuesday they will announced this has all just been the biggest April fools joke in history. Has to be when you think about it, an amateur sport, that is debt free & insanely profitable has to sell its games to a foreign subscription channel to survive financially? I cant believe we actually fell for it.
white.n.blue (Monaghan) - Posts: 249 - 28/03/2014 17:41:43
Bring it on. Was hoping it was full package. Get rid of gaa on rte tv3 or god forbid tg4. Bring on the raz and more importantly proper cameras and coverage of our games. With real highlights programe. And we must be only organization that doesn't want what's best for our games. If paying sky to watch matches is that big of deal, get up off your lazy ass and go to matches All hail sky.
foreverroyal (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 28/03/2014 17:44:05
Grab All Association...greed is a terrible thing
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2419 - 28/03/2014 18:10:09
Bon
Grab All Association...greed is a terrible thing
You're damn right.....we should all get into the games for free!
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 28/03/2014 18:14:11
Bring it on. Was hoping it was full package. Get rid of gaa on rte tv3 or god forbid tg4. Bring on the raz and more importantly proper cameras and coverage of our games. With real highlights programe
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 28/03/2014 18:34:46
Htaem County: Meath Posts: 4997
"Besides it's not up to Sky or RTE or TV3 etc to promote attending games, that's the Gaa's job and it's an area where they fall dismally short."
That's true - the Championship does nothing to build a support base among followers - two chances and you're out for most county teams and most of the year's choice ties are played off in late winter in inclement weather (tomorrow's Dublin Vs. Mayo match may be a case in point), but the GAA have really let down the Irish public with this decision. I feel Tommy Walsh speaks for most of us in his recent comment. It just isn't good enough. The All-Ireland championships are unique and deserve special treatment as do the men and women who make up the GAA.
In short, we deserve better.
HighKing81 (Meath) - Posts: 129 - 28/03/2014 19:01:07
I love all the "foreign" stuff. Got news for ye lads... Toyota, Etihad, Allianz, Liberty Insurance, RBS (who own Ulster Bank), AIG, Vodafone, O2, Skoda and plenty others are not Irish companies. We're a country heavily dependent on foreign investment. Why all of a sudden are we drawing the line now?
You want to say it won't help promote the games, then fair enough. But unless you staunchly vote Sinn Fein, grow your own vegtables and generate your own electricity then let's not pretend we don't live in a highly globalised, international economy. We can't blame the GAA for living in the real world market!
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 28/03/2014 19:47:45
A lot of people seem to have a problem with the GAA getting a decent amount money from SKY. Maybe if they gave the TV rights for free to SKY, these people would be much happier.
source (Dublin) - Posts: 35 - 28/03/2014 20:01:16
doublehop County: Kildare I love all the "foreign" stuff. Got news for ye lads... Toyota, Etihad, Allianz, Liberty Insurance, RBS (who own Ulster Bank), AIG, Vodafone, O2, Skoda and plenty others are not Irish companies. We're a country heavily dependent on foreign investment. Why all of a sudden are we drawing the line now?
Absolutely no need to go there, that's not what people are worried about. The overwhelming majority of people on this thread are concerned about the availability of televised games in Ireland, and the fact that people will have to pay for a subscription to watch them. Its not nice to turn to turn it into something its not, you shouldn't have to do that to feel good about yourself.
Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 28/03/2014 20:32:35
source County: Dublin A lot of people seem to have a problem with the GAA getting a decent amount money from SKY. Maybe if they gave the TV rights for free to SKY, these people would be much happier.
Maybe, or maybe allowing the games to be shown on free to air channels in the Britain and the US might be more in keeping with the ethos and expectations of an organization like the GAA, especially considering it is unpaid players who are filling the stadiums and drawing TV interest.
Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 28/03/2014 20:36:39