Advertisement

Predictions for winner of NFL Division 1?

Ulsterman

Tyrone are absolutely dreadful; they have gone back years over these past 2 games. Kerry are very average but they are running Tyrone ragged all over the pitch. The so called Tyrone revival is now officially a myth.

So that's it then; the voice of Ulster has spoken!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 09/03/2014 16:38:45    1557051

Very disappointing performance from Tyrone today;
the writing was on the wall last week and some
serious questions need to be asked, bu they will
not play that badly again this year!
Better it happens now than in the summer!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 09/03/2014 16:40:16    1557054

According to the Ulsterman Tyrone need a new management, and a complete clear out of players since we are not up to this level? Ok so we will hold you to this brave statement, even though its a very blunt, crude and quick assumption of the Tyrone's current set up. So last year we reached the Semi's of the All Ireland Championship and ended up runners up in the league to the eventual all Ireland champs. Not up to this level I hear you say? Have you based this wild announcement on two winter league games? LOL

Game2Halves (Tyrone) - Posts: 265 - 09/03/2014 16:52:44    1557070

Big Big loss to Dublin

We've lost two valuable players so far in 2014 and it's only March!

The back to back is looking more and more difficult...

I guess someone else is going to have to step up... we have cover but are they as good as Ciaran?

Alan linked up very well in the 2nd half last night... clever use of the ball and was involved in a number of scores

Unlucky to have not scored himself

I think Paddy Andrews can play that Kilkenny roll

Anyway... all the very best to the young man... a big loss to Dublin GAA

Puts a whole dark cloud over what was a great weekend for the footballers

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 09/03/2014 16:58:10    1557076

Ah now ulsterman surely you don't mean getting rid of mickey Harte ! Today was a bad result for Tyrone no doubt, but any team can have a bad day and in fairness Tyrone will still be in the league semi IMO , mickey is still the man no doubt. Tyrone lads don't feel too bad about only scoring 1 point in the seccond half today, we went an entire half without scoring in a league game last year, the league is just for trying out new players and trying players in different posisitions. Also I'd like to say fair play to all the traveling Tyrone fans today and there was a lot of ye.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/03/2014 17:30:24    1557114

I got my 4 predictions right this week , why didn't I put a few quid on it :-/

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/03/2014 19:42:07    1557227

I still fancy Tyrone for the league and for Sam this year. As you know you don't win or lose anything this time of the year. Kerry did what they did today because they probably would have been destined for Div 2 otherwise. Tyrone have a serious squad this year as the young lads are pushing the old lads out of the squad so this only improves the whole thing. Today was just a bad day at the office.

muckla (UK) - Posts: 373 - 09/03/2014 20:27:52    1557289

Disagree totally muckra. Tyrone have big problems at the back and you could drive a horse and coaches through the middle of them at times. They ship scores very easy and sometimes they can be hit with 4 or 5 scores in minutes which happened today and they dropped the head too quick. Furthermore they are carrying some passengers in that team who are just not up to top level county football but the management won't drop them for some reason. They won't come anywhere near the League title or SAM this year; their defence is too porous.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9841 - 09/03/2014 20:39:21    1557304

Dublin much too strong for a second rate Kildare team. Dubs by 8pts
Cork are a serious team and will easily overcome Derry by 8pts
Kerry with home advantage will pip Tyrone by 1pt.
Mayo to win by a distance against Westmeath who are way out of their league. Mayo by 10pts

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 09/03/2014 20:41:46    1557307

Bit over the top there from ulsterman, I think what we seen today was that kerry do have some talent at their disposal, that and that james o'donoghue is a superb footballer.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 09/03/2014 21:01:02    1557333

Yes, the Kerry/Cork game in the summer could be a belter, I'd have to fancy Cork at this juncture but Kerry are going to be a lot better than maybe a lot of us originally thought since the loss of senior players and then the Gooch!

Kerry will be happy to survive Div 1, just as I am happy enough with our own Div 1 status cemented!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 09/03/2014 21:12:21    1557343

So, Tyrone get schooled by Kerry in Killarney in March and the doom mongers are out in force telling us not to bother turning up for the rest of the year, good stuff. Judging by MH's reaction to that defeat, that second half performance will NOT happen again. Well played Kerry, I hope you retain your Div 1 status and I look forward to seeing more of James O'Donoghue over the summer months.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 10/03/2014 08:51:35    1557424

5 point win for us but allowed Westmeath back into it and they managed to do a 10 point swing and lead us by a point at half time. Comfortable in the second all be it for a generous Westmeath defense. Sterner tests lie ahead with Cork in Castlebar next Sunday. Our own defence remains a worry.
Great to see a huge Mayo support outnumber the home supporters 3/1.

P.S: Welcome back Cillian, great to have you back.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12259 - 10/03/2014 09:29:26    1557443

brendtheredhand

So, Tyrone get schooled by Kerry in Killarney in March and the doom mongers are out in force telling us not to bother turning up for the rest of the year, good stuff. Judging by MH's reaction to that defeat, that second half performance will NOT happen again. Well played Kerry, I hope you retain your Div 1 status and I look forward to seeing more of James O'Donoghue over the summer months.

Has mickey said anything since the defeat brend?

You're right it is very early days but we do have serious problems in defense maybe with joe mc and connor gormley to come back in we can tighten up there a bit, i'm just as worried with our lack of a ball winner at midfield be that primary posession or winning the breaking ball, next game against westmeath is a must win or we are in big trouble.

duke_raul (Tyrone) - Posts: 993 - 10/03/2014 09:42:33    1557454

brendtheredhand

Has mickey said anything since the defeat brend?

You're right it is very early days but we do have serious problems in defense maybe with joe mc and connor gormley to come back in we can tighten up there a bit, i'm just as worried with our lack of a ball winner at midfield be that primary posession or winning the breaking ball, next game against westmeath is a must win or we are in big trouble.

duke_raul (Tyrone) - Posts: 993 - 10/03/2014 09:42:34    1557455

Hard luck to Derry yesterday. I thought we were going to run away with it at the start but gave away two goals before half time and ended up hanging on at the end. A draw might have been a fairer result but we'll take the win. The initial target of staying Division 1 has been achieved. Now that we are top, we must look to drive on and try to win it.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 10/03/2014 10:09:02    1557482

You're right Duke and Colm Cavanagh is not the answer in midfield for all his endeavour. It was never going to be a straight forward transition from the sweeper system anyway so lets not be writing any obituaries just yet.

Heres the article Duke.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 10/03/2014 10:16:05    1557487

Pure complacency, that's all. Kerry had to win. Wouldn't get hung up on this result at all. Actually think Kerry are very ordinary. Tyrone haven't had an experienced defensive stopper since Mjckey Magee. Somebody needed to haul O'Donoghue down, black card or no. He has pace and always goes for goal. Needed somebody to stop him, period, in the good old Kerry style of old. If Tyrone had had such a single minded forward, he would have been put on a stretcher. Tyrone just didn't want it enough. It's up to Harte to keep them positive and bring some of the old guard back. Wouldn't worry too much about Kerry, they have their own problems. Kildare might just condemn them to relegation yet.

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 10/03/2014 10:17:34    1557491

brendtheredhand
So, Tyrone get schooled by Kerry in Killarney in March and the doom mongers are out in force telling us not to bother turning up for the rest of the year, good stuff.

I have to say, I admire this attitude (Although the 'doom monger' is in fact ulsterman who is probably just trying to be the cute antrim hoor anyway). When tyrone are poor and get criticised, the seige mentality comes out. They dont doubt themselves. For some reason my own county is quite different. In mayo, if we had just got a hiding off kerry, the fans would be turning on everyone. They start doubting at the hint of a poor performance, then when mayo put in the type of performance that is being asked of them (i.e. almost perfect) it is 'mayo for sam', or in other words, more pressure. We could learn a lot from the approach of the tyrone fans.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 10/03/2014 10:41:48    1557521

gaelantrim

Pure complacency, that's all. Kerry had to win. Wouldn't get hung up on this result at all. Actually think Kerry are very ordinary. Tyrone haven't had an experienced defensive stopper since Mjckey Magee. Somebody needed to haul O'Donoghue down, black card or no. He has pace and always goes for goal. Needed somebody to stop him, period, in the good old Kerry style of old. If Tyrone had had such a single minded forward, he would have been put on a stretcher. Tyrone just didn't want it enough. It's up to Harte to keep them positive and bring some of the old guard back. Wouldn't worry too much about Kerry, they have their own problems. Kildare might just condemn them to relegation yet.

There's a misconceived conception out there that Kerry have nothing coming up ... that's not true. We have always produced and will continue to produce fine footballers, no matter what happens at underage level. Kerry could quite possibly be sitting on 6 or 8 points right now instead of just the 2. Maybe you should heed your own advice and not worry about Kerry.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 10/03/2014 10:52:09    1557533