Advertisement

All Ireland u21 football 2014

@ Tipp11

Regarding your second post, I guess the problem for Tipp football is that ye are stuck in Division 4. Tipp's priority must be getting up the divisions. There is undoubted talent at underage level (as you have rightly said, you beat us at underage level the last 3 years - minor). At minor level, there is no real reason why the standard is going to be different in Tipp or Cork. However, our good minor players get a chance to play trials against players that are regularly playing the best players in the country. Tipp minor players do not get the same opportunity to play at the same standard. I believe players migrate to the standard that they play it. Tipp, with the talent at their disposal, should be good enough to get out of the Division 4 which should see an improvement. Essentially, at underage Tipp are every bit as good as Cork/Kerry but the gap at senior level is still very wide as we play better teams more often and get better as a result.

Going to Miltown Malbay will be tough. Clare teams are hard to beat in that part of the country. I think you will pull through but it will be tougher than last night I imagine.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 13/03/2014 13:52:31    1559212

Galway have 11 from last years side available, and they won the Connacht Minor Championship in 2011, so they would probaly be the favs. The Connacht U21 final is also in Galway so another thing in their favour. Thats assuming Ros and Galway reach the final...

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2950 - 13/03/2014 14:14:50    1559225

thought roscommon won that minor final in 2011

mat (Mayo) - Posts: 184 - 13/03/2014 15:00:29    1559251

thought roscommon won that minor final in 2011

They did.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2569 - 13/03/2014 15:19:27    1559260

Roscommon won Connaught minor in 2011, Tipp then bet them in semi.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 13/03/2014 15:29:40    1559267

Ah they did is right. Galway with 11 of this years team beat roscommon last year in the connacht final after et, big number to call on again. I think 5 of last years forwards eligible this year

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2950 - 13/03/2014 16:02:32    1559278

Delighted with the win last night, great to beat Kerry for a 4th year in a row at U21 grade. This continued success will hopefully install a winning mentality to our players when they move up to the senior grade against the old enemy.

Still think Tipp will win Munster though, they have a very impressive team this year.

Rebel.Og (Cork) - Posts: 519 - 13/03/2014 16:42:43    1559304

yew_tree Murtagh wasn't injured though he's a little overplayed at this stage. Sligo U21s bet Galway in 2010 it would be foolish for anyone to write them off. Their minors only lost by a few points against us last summer with 14 men and the year before they were unlucky not to beat Mayo. Galway will stroll past Leitrim will be another few years before Leitrim have a decent U21 team. If its a Galway v Ros final it will only be a 50/50 game if we have some of injured players back for a start or bench wasn't strong enough last night.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4470 - 13/03/2014 18:25:10    1559358

FoolsGold

Galway have 11 from last years side available, and they won the Connacht Minor Championship in 2011, so they would probaly be the favs. The Connacht U21 final is also in Galway so another thing in their favour. Thats assuming Ros and Galway reach the final...

I think the reason why Cavan minors played Galway in 2011 was that We won Ulster and Galway were runners up in Connaught. its always the winner of one province versus the runner up of another in the quarter final. I think so anyway.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 13/03/2014 21:41:54    1559447

Galway last won Connacht and A.I. minor in 07 (Mulholland)

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1819 - 14/03/2014 09:25:26    1559480

s goldrick it was ros who won connaught in 11 i be tough betwwen ros and sligo tipp and cork will go for munster cavan should win ulster and dublin will win lenister dublin/ros for all ireland

antoman (Mayo) - Posts: 140 - 14/03/2014 10:15:48    1559505

Rebel.Og

Delighted with the win last night, great to beat Kerry for a 4th year in a row at U21 grade. This continued success will hopefully install a winning mentality to our players when they move up to the senior grade against the old enemy.

Still think Tipp will win Munster though, they have a very impressive team this year.

The Kerry U21 set-up is odd. We've only won 2 or 3 of the last 15 or so Munster Championships, while we've won 8 or 9 in the same period in Minors. Something wrong when they step up to U21. Our schools have had the upper hand over ye for the last few years. Talent is there but as we saw the other night, physically we're well behind.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 14/03/2014 11:36:24    1559560

Cute_Kerry_Hoor

The Kerry U21 set-up is odd. We've only won 2 or 3 of the last 15 or so Munster Championships, while we've won 8 or 9 in the same period in Minors. Something wrong when they step up to U21. Our schools have had the upper hand over ye for the last few years. Talent is there but as we saw the other night, physically we're well behind.

You have hit the nail on the head with physicality I'd say. A big thing also is the progression after minor - the standard that fellas are playing at. At the moment the UCC and CIT are very good at the Sigerson level and now are backed by mostly Cork players (obviously there are some Kerry players and Tipp players). If you contrast that with 10 years ago when UCC were effectively called 'UCK' and IT Tralee were at the top of the 3rd level game. While obviously not all of those players went on and played with Kerry, it did give an indication of the quality and depth of resources that were available to Kerry. Kerry went on to win 4 All-Irelands in the 00s. One does not cause the other but it may be an indicator.

UCC, CIT and ITT are full of good footballers - full of intercounty minor players and fellas that were good at 2nd level. However, only the best and toughest fellas will be playing Sigerson - and only the toughest again will be winning or competing at the end.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 14/03/2014 14:34:53    1559665

under 21 grade is hard to figure out
take my own county galway
since 2000 we won one minor all Ireland
yet we won 4 under 21 all Irelands since 2000

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1489 - 14/03/2014 15:39:53    1559696

Physically Tipp cannot compete with Cork so IMO Cork should win the U.21 in Munster.

Limerick might have something to say about that doh and Clare too.

As already mentioned U.21 is a funny grade alright and Kerry kind of prove that.

I thought I would never see the day Waterford & Tipp win an U.21 title against them. Such low scoring too those 2 finals.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 14/03/2014 15:53:22    1559702

Tipperary county and divisional boards are trying their hardest to run these players into the groound, the schedule for some of the players recently has been clare 9th march (tipp seniors), waterford 12th (under 21), club under 21 15th (included extra time), Antrim 16th (tipp seniors, Clare 19th (under 21) and south final under 21 due to be played 21st with divisional semi final the 23rd. Player welfare is non existent when it comes to our footballers.

tipp11 (Tipperary) - Posts: 353 - 17/03/2014 08:31:27    1560662

Big night tomorrow in Breffni park, Cavan v Tyrone. Cavan are up and going with a good win last week, I expect Tyrone will be strong as they always seem to be at this level. Hopefully the win over Derry and home advantage will give us that wee bit extra on the night.

facer4home (Cavan) - Posts: 164 - 18/03/2014 16:58:54    1561664

Plenty of U21 action tonight. Meath look up against it without our two best forwards Wallace and O'Sullivan. Also too many players being played out of position eg. Padraic Harnan at right half forward. Offaly beat the holders Kildare last time out and probably should've won by more.

Toney (Meath) - Posts: 298 - 19/03/2014 14:17:55    1562064

Clare v Tipperary
Cork v Limerick
Dublin v Longford
Offaly v Meath
Armagh v Antrim
Cavan v Tyrone
Donegal v Fermanagh
Monaghan v Down

Some interesting games i think the odd shock is possible.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4470 - 19/03/2014 17:41:47    1562155

Fair comment Tipp 11 I always remember 12 r so years ago been U.21 and the club championship was always ran off by Easter. Some things never change.

Clare will be tough to beat tonight down in the back of beyond ( West Clare ) & I feel they may have our number tonight. Just from a couple of lads I know from Clare they have some of their Senior Hurlers still playing U.21 football so those guys will be tough to knock.

Its a young Tipp team and we could be there for the taking.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 19/03/2014 17:50:14    1562161