Division One 2013

Not surprised by any of the scorelines today. I had a feeling Cork would turn Tyrone over. I think Tyrone were probably due a poor performance, but have already secured their Division 1 status (6 points in generally enough). It's looking like it's shaping up to be a relegation battle between Kerry, Down and Mayo. Kerry v Down is a massive game at the bottom of the table next weekend. Whilst at the other end of the table the Dubs are looking the team to beat at the minute. Can anyone stop them? Does anyone from Tyrone think they stand a chance next weekend?

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 10/03/2013 18:52:17    1346461

Donegal played very well today in patches but really Kerry were very poor.

The most pleasing aspect of the performance was in defence where I saw real signs of last years level of performance & the fitness levels are getting there. We have a really tough game away to Cork next week which will tell us more.

However it has to be said, this is the worst Kerry team in years & it will take more than the return of the missing players to make them competitive at the end of the year.

Really impressive from both Dublin & Cork today, the cream is beginning to rise!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5029 - 10/03/2013 18:55:15    1346463

Dont believe Dublin are peaking early , we took league seriously two years ago and maintained standards for the year and won Sam , this year I believe we will have an even stronger panel which should help keeps us fresh , as opposed to last year when we actually never clicked and it was mentioned time again that we were saving ourselves for the championship .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 10/03/2013 19:05:25    1346478

Hands up. I gave Donegal no credit for their style, how wrong was I they look like a class side, Kerry look terrible. It looks like 87 again, hope we start rebuilding again. To me it looks like a Donegal Cork Final. M Murphy is a class player and I thought Donegal played some nice stuff today.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 10/03/2013 19:06:16    1346479

I think we should just run up the white flag now mournearmy because clearly we are on a hiding to nothing, just like Longford U21s did!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 10/03/2013 19:12:47    1346487

I've been saying it all along that you can't hope to keep winning games while losing midfield and that the opposition will kick away the game. We were found out today as expected. Picking Johnny Doyle and Padraig O'Neill in the middle was madness in my opinion. Why did McGeeney wait until the damage was done before bringing on Hugh Lynch? Anyway it's as well it happened now so that we might learn from the lesson we were given. Well done Dublin you've got some team.
It's bad enough suffering a defeat like that without coming back here and reading Royaldunne's nonsense. All I'll say is that he must be an embarrassment to the genuine Meath posters. All that hatred bubbling up in him can't be good for him!!

OntheWhiteSide (Kildare) - Posts: 452 - 10/03/2013 19:26:19    1346510

brendtheredhand

I think we should just run up the white flag now mournearmy because clearly we are on a hiding to nothing, just like Longford U21s did!

In all honesty Brend I'm glad it's Tyrone who are going to Croke Park & not us. With any luck they will be well qualified by the time they come to Ballybofey!!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5029 - 10/03/2013 19:31:18    1346517

Damothedub

Dont believe Dublin are peaking early , we took league seriously two years ago and maintained standards for the year and won Sam , this year I believe we will have an even stronger panel which should help keeps us fresh , as opposed to last year when we actually never clicked and it was mentioned time again that we were saving ourselves for the championship .

I'd pay no attention to the comments of peaking to early, there will be a lot of that coming over the next few games.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 10/03/2013 19:31:56    1346518

doublehop

yeah just to me i would have thaught with the gale force wind ye had in the first half that surely would have been attacking us instead of the other way around,
we got 11 points in the first half against that wind and a heavily packed defense but we could have actualy had alot more as kilkenny missed a few and andrews and brogan both missed a goal chance and a free from 14 yards out.it reminded me of that infamous donegal semi final as every kickout supple had an easy kick to a man on his own on either wing and the player was then allowed carry the ball as far as he wanted until he came to the kildare 45 yard line before being tackled and the funny thing is that it was actually the opposite idea that won the o byrne cup final for kildare as they targetted supple (who has a poor kickout it has to be said)kickouts and won most of them.yeah i thaught o mahony dominated centrefield and believe me i have never rated him at this level at all so i was surprised.also i felt mcgeeney was a bit cowardish in taking off the number 20 after 10 mins of the second half when clearly the ball had barely crossed the half way line in that time to take him off made no sense as what can a forward up the field do when the ball is not getting by centrefield?surely ye needed a change in that area.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/03/2013 19:39:25    1346527

MuckrossHead

brendtheredhand

In all honesty Brend I'm glad it's Tyrone who are going to Croke Park & not us. With any luck they will be well qualified by the time they come to Ballybofey!!!!

we are in the semi finals now after todays result i think.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/03/2013 19:41:22    1346530

Kerryrowz what has brought you to the conclusion that Either Cork or Donegal will win the league this year depending on results neither of them may not even make the Semi Finals and love to know what you have seen in either team this year so far to make such a bold statement both teams have already lost to either Dublin,Kildare or Tyrone.

Dublinh16 (Dublin) - Posts: 86 - 10/03/2013 19:49:23    1346540

RoyalClass

Fair play, RD's anti-Kildare tantrums are becoming tiresome, and good for you for clipping him/her. RD, you would do well to forget about the lilies for a couple of years, until Meath can produce something better than the butt-end of GAA jokes. No offence to non-delusional Royal fans.

Kildare and Wexford are the only teams we've had to fight to get past in the last few years, playing ye was like a training session, you can bang on about the 5 goals in '10 and all that but deep down you know that was a freak and will never happen again, more likely to happen to Meath.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 10/03/2013 19:49:41    1346541

RoyalClass

Fair play to you for clipping RD and his constant anti-Kildare tirades. Thankfully most Meath fans know who their real enemy is, US! Admin is obviously Meath based and wouldn't publish what I 'really' said, but put it this way, RD would want to forget about the lilies for a couple of years and just resign himself to some home truths, lilybashing ain't gonna help Meath football improve one tiny bit!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 10/03/2013 20:12:41    1346578

RD, do you not see that even your own county's fans are tired of your constant anti-Kildare tirades, pointless, not to mention embarrassing when you look a little closer to home, no?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 10/03/2013 20:23:50    1346591

Would agree with everything you said there hill16man. The only thing about taking off McNally was that at that point Johnny Doyle was moved out of midfield and into the forwards. You just couldn't tell because we never got the ball by midfield!

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 10/03/2013 20:32:43    1346607

Sorry about the triple post lads, each shorter than the other, I'm sure you can guess that I was editing the previous posts because I though admin weren't publishing them, apologies to all, even RD.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 10/03/2013 20:46:01    1346618

Embarrassing? No my opinion? Yes and ill keep posting my opinion regardless of what you think realdub, whiteside or RV says, that's the great thing about living in a free country everyone can have their opinions,
Btw all my comments were football based, not one personal attack on any player or more importantly poster, that shows that some of us have a little decorum,or breeding or respect not only for other posters but more importantly ourselves,
Pity others do not have same, read back for examples,.
Admin allow this reply,please

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/03/2013 20:50:32    1346622

Well said RD, RC your grovelling embarressed me more than anything RD posted, show some backbone , RDs views more in tune within meath than RC, well done RD keep it up, you even managed to annoy the dub, now that's top notch

meathforsam13 (Meath) - Posts: 8 - 10/03/2013 20:56:08    1346625

Dublin just can't win, last year we had no hunger this year we are peaking too early what a load of bull. We are building a panel with the majority of our starting 15 so far in the league relatively inexperienced the bonus is we are winning while doing this. Momentum is building in these young Dubs lots of them are nailing down championship places, with us out of the U21s they can devote themselves totally on the quest for Sam.

Its a long time since we won the league it would not do us any harm at all, people talk about 'not showing your hand too early' bla bla bla its not poker we are playing. There's a new Jim in town last year is history, we will take some stopping that's not hype its reality.

Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 10/03/2013 21:12:09    1346645

Just as I am entitled to share my opinion on your posts, not a personal attack, just an opinion that your anti-Kildare posts are confusing to me! In terms of 'football' hate, I reserve that honour for Meath, 'respect' award goes to Kerry!
Otherwise I love each and everyone you and want to have your children XXX

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 10/03/2013 21:17:28    1346652