Division One 2013

Jackeen

If you stop any teams main scoring threat (Brogan, Murphy, Gooch etc) obviously scores are harder to come by. But anyone that things Dublin are a one man show with Brogan doesn't know their football. Kildare did a good job on brogan for the most part yesterday & the rest of the team stood up. 9 different players out scores on the board. I'm very happy with that!

You're bang on there Jackeen. That myth well and truly shattered.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1734 - 11/03/2013 12:53:08    1346971

Jackeen

I am full sure you'll agree this Dublin team is modest to the core arguably unlike some of our previous dublin teams. Now if you're talking about the cursed media well then that's different gravy. Either way, life is more fun with fanfare :)

They do seem like a likeable bunch, probably down to their culchie parents & grandparents!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5029 - 11/03/2013 12:53:22    1346972

Oh for sure muckross. That's it!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 11/03/2013 12:58:39    1346984

11/03/2013 12:53:22
MuckrossHead

Jackeen

I am full sure you'll agree this Dublin team is modest to the core arguably unlike some of our previous dublin teams. Now if you're talking about the cursed media well then that's different gravy. Either way, life is more fun with fanfare :)

They do seem like a likeable bunch, probably down to their culchie parents & grandparents!!

Course it is!

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 11/03/2013 13:17:18    1346999

I actually think anyone who thinks Dublin arent a bit too reliant on Bernard Brogan need to wake up .. he has scored 2-28 (34 points) out of our 6-63 (81 points) so far in our four games, Thats more than 40% of Dublins scores in the league so far..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 11/03/2013 13:19:00    1347003

Good win yesterday. 2 Points closer to a semi-final place - if we're not already in one...

Very encouraging to see some of the young lads playing so well...

But hey early days yet and we've a lot to improve on but hopefully we can go on and win the league

Although there's a few teams in there that could take that away from Dublin very quickly indeed...

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 11/03/2013 13:36:10    1347029

Wayno

Theres a big difference between being a bit too reliant as you put it and a one man team!! We are as reliant on BB as donegal are on Murphy etc. There is more to both teams than either Brogan or Murphy. The sum of ALL parts etc!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 11/03/2013 13:37:06    1347030

any team that has a player like Bernard Brogan or Michael Murphy will be less of a threat without them, thats just common sense!! Both are great players and it would have been like taking Canavan from the Tyrone team in 2003. would they have won the AI? Would Donegal have in 2012 or Dublin in 2011 without their main men. The one thing I'd say is that both Donegal and Dublin are still decent teams even without BB or Murphy BUT Dublin would be better armed with replacements than Donegal in that position. Personally I'd love to see a fully fit Donegal against a fully fit Dublin at some stage in this years championship!!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 11/03/2013 13:42:52    1347038

Great result for us away to Tyrone. Did not see that coming. Big match now next saturday against the AI champions.

Rebel.Og (Cork) - Posts: 519 - 11/03/2013 13:46:10    1347045

Jackeen

Wayno

Theres a big difference between being a bit too reliant as you put it and a one man team!! We are as reliant on BB as donegal are on Murphy etc. There is more to both teams than either Brogan or Murphy. The sum of ALL parts etc!

Agreed. This "one man team nonsense" is disrespectful to the many other fine players on both sides. Nobody ever said that Kerry were a one man team even though Gooch is a marvellous player.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5029 - 11/03/2013 13:47:46    1347048

______

Ah no Jaysus jackeen i know what your saying, im not suggesting we are a one man team, But if you do stifle top players like Murphy, Brogan and Gooch, You could win the game.. But there is no doubt top teams like Dublin, Donegal and Kerry (despite their poor record in the league so far) have the quality to win sam, Likewise Cork, I'm just pointing out a fact that Bernard has scored over 40% of Dublins 6-63 so far.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 11/03/2013 14:13:49    1347086

i dont know why people think we are reliant on bernard yes he gets most the socres but thats becuase he is the guy at the end of most of the moves thats the position he is playing in,if bernard didnt play connolly would proabaly go in there or kilkenny and they would get the same amount of chances as bernard as thats the gameplan

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/03/2013 14:25:22    1347102

waynoI

Ah no Jaysus jackeen i know what your saying, im not suggesting we are a one man team, But if you do stifle top players like Murphy, Brogan and Gooch, You could win the game.. But there is no doubt top teams like Dublin, Donegal and Kerry (despite their poor record in the league so far) have the quality to win sam, Likewise Cork, I'm just pointing out a fact that Bernard has scored over 40% of Dublins 6-63 so far.

We may as well call it as is. Kerry won't win Sam.

On their day they could still beat anyone but to win Sam they'd realistically have to beat 2/3 teams that are better than them. They aren't capable of that anymore imo.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 11/03/2013 14:35:13    1347121

Mes Amis, Not sure i fully agree. Still think it would be wrong to write them off completely

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 11/03/2013 14:44:51    1347139

People also sometimes see what they want to see.

Last week in Omagh, Donegal scored 0-4 in the first half when Murphy was on. They scored 0-8 in the second half when he was off the field & yet we had comments here, from people who were allegdly at the game, saying that Donegal had struggled without him!!

It's like the old saying. "If you get a name for rising early, you can stay in bed till mid day".

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5029 - 11/03/2013 14:50:13    1347144

wayno
I would have been thinking the same before seeing them in the flesh yesterday. I think you will see that they are a pale shadow of the team yous beat in 2011 when you do meet them.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 11/03/2013 16:16:11    1347273

Tir Conaill , We already did , Beat them by ten points just like yous did down in killarney and i watched them in the flesh there too ..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 11/03/2013 16:23:49    1347285

While it may appear from the scoring stats that Dublin are relying on Bernard Brogan if you take away the scores from easy frees the stats don't look quite as bad. Anyway yesterday proved that Dublin have plenty of alternatives to BB.

OntheWhiteSide (Kildare) - Posts: 452 - 11/03/2013 16:35:56    1347310

Enola Gay

Fair play to Cork yesterday for giving a masterclass in organisation, workrate, execution of a game plan and most importantly, taking your chances when you get them. They didn't hit too many wides over the 70+ minutes whereas Tyrone easily reached double figures along with blocked shots and ones falling short. Colm O'Neill in particular took some lovely scores, a fine footballer.

Without being spectacularly good, Cork were able to hold us off with relative ease. We played into their hands a lot by not moving the ball quickly enough and letting them set up their defensive wall which we usually ran straight into. Mind you, if Peter Harte had taken either of his first half goal chances it could've been a different story. But Tyrone deserved nothing from the game. No surprise our worst performance came with Sean Cavanagh's worst performance of the year so far. Plenty of Tyrone followers have over-reacted to our wins so far this year and no doubt some will over-react to this defeat as well. A good game up next to focus the minds after such a poor showing

Thanks for your honest assessment. I listened to the game on radio and bar a purple patch after about 15 minutes it did seem that we were well in control. But you are right, I don't think there is any need to panic. The league allows you the opportunity to regroup fairly quickly and you have an ideal opportunity next weekend. The game possibly was more important to us, given that we needed to pick up points badly. Mayo losing and Kildare heavy loss also helped Tyrone I guess in that you remain in second place with strong liklihood of getting a semi-final spot...

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 11/03/2013 17:25:16    1347369

Cork v Donegal: Cork
Dublin v Tyrone: Dublin
Kerry v Down: Down
Mayo v Kildare: Mayo

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 15/03/2013 12:24:03    1349917