Division One 2013

Hi lads,

Tactical analysis of Dublin's win over Kildare up here http://action81.com/blog/?p=6884

Emmet

emmetryan (Dublin) - Posts: 154 - 10/03/2013 16:10:52    1346318

Can anyone stop the Dubs this year, amazing performance today!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 10/03/2013 16:14:17    1346322

Great week for Cork football. Two long journey's to Down and Tyrone and two wins. Not out of danger yet but things looking a lot better for us. Crucial game v Donegal at home next weekend. A win there and we should be safe from relegation and who knows, an outside chance of getting to league semi-finals..

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 10/03/2013 16:22:17    1346327

Just home now trying to warm up... it was FREEZING!

The danger signs were there that midfield was going to be an issue since Chalky left but wasn't expecting it to be pulled apart as badly as that even with such a lightweight midfield pairing of Doyle and O'Neill. The wind was huge towards the canal goals and Dublin recognised this and pushed right up on Kildare's kickouts in the second half. We just could not get out of our half and getting the likes of Lynch, Callaghan and (Daniel) Flynn on who are all either very rusty or overplayed meant an instant impact was very hard. Definitely a huge wake-up call but in a way that's the good thing about being in Division 1. The result is more beneficial than threading water in Division 2.

Still... Dublin's panel and strength in depth is huge. They are definitely the real deal and are flying along while using a large number of players. Congratulations to them. I'd say we won't be the last team to take a hiding like that from them this year.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 10/03/2013 16:31:50    1346331

Solid performance from the Dubs today.

I doubt that when we meet in the summer that there'll be that big a difference between the two teams.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 10/03/2013 16:35:36    1346335

great win today for dublin,mccafrey was outstanding and a special mention must go to a guy i have never rated declan o mahony i thaught he lorded centrefield,
himself and paul flynn must have caught nearly every kick out kildare had,i say kildare kickouts because there was no need for supple to kick to centre field with the way mccgeeney had kildare set up.i have to say if i was kildare supporter i would be irate with him.they played a similiar formation to donegal in 2011 against us.
this a side with full points after beating donegal,cork and kerry and were playing with the aide of a gale force wind in the first half and he plays a damage limitation strategy.every kickout dublin had a man in acres of space on his own on either wing to carry as far as half way before a kildare player would even try tackle.
only for supple in goal we would have been out of sight by half time against that gale wind.very strange to see that from kildare and just played into dublins hands in the second half as we already were in front and then had the gale wind with us.
also his first substitution of the second half was to take off a corner forward haha when they hadnt crossed the halfway line how can you blame a corner forward?
thaught our pace was outstanding mccafrey and butsy(darren daly) attacked all day and both got scores something that our wing backs were not allowed do last year.
rory o carroll had his best game this year for me as o connor threatens to be a handfull in matches but he got nothing off o carroll today.
i think jonny cooper is another guy who has nailed down the corner back spot.ciaran kilkenny started off having a nightmare he couldnt find a man with the ball and missed several chances but was impressed at how he stuck at it and ended the game with 3 or 4 points.
connolly and bernard and andrews again seem to be taking the scores and paul flynn done alot of hard work,mdma seems to be struggling for form though at the moment.have to pleased with the form we are showing and i think we are now guarenteed a semi final spot.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/03/2013 16:46:11    1346346

Most pleasing aspect is how effortless guys coming into the team seem to adjust , at the moment just when Brogan is flying it must be very difficult for opposing team with such accomplished teammates playing with such flair , kilkenny started slowly gave the away possession early , I remarked to my son he needed a point to get into the game true enough thats what happened , Connolly what can you say he just cant be given an inch , I could go through the team but wont ,
Im not a huge believer in coincidences , so we have a question are we as good as we look ?or have Cork Kerry and Kildare all failed to show up ? Have to say todays result while confident we could win , I did not see scoreline or demolition on the cards ,
Well done to the hurlers never n easy place to go to , looking forward to double header .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 10/03/2013 16:53:13    1346353

Jack McCaffrey looks to be some find. Where's Kevin Nolan, is he injured?

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 790 - 10/03/2013 16:57:05    1346363

Think its fair to say Kildare have been flattered by their results so far and this hammering while not predicted was in hindsight not surprising, Kildare just do not have the natural footballers that dublin have, there fitness is all they seem to have and that will get results until you meet a team with both fitness and talented players, Kildare should have been beat by kerry and we know how bad they are at moment,Donegal had hardly trained when they lost to them, same for cork,
It unfortunately looks like another cake walk for the dubs in Leinster unless Meath do a lazarus on it,but that's unlikely

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/03/2013 17:29:15    1346387

Kildare just do not have the natural footballers that dublin have, there fitness is all they seem to have

YAWN!

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 10/03/2013 17:35:34    1346392

bennybunny

1346327 Great week for Cork football. Two long journey's to Down and Tyrone and two wins. Not out of danger yet but things looking a lot better for us. Crucial game v Donegal at home next weekend. A win there and we should be safe from relegation and who knows, an outside chance of getting to league semi-finals..

Just back from the game or should I say the reality check. Was a joy to watch Cork, was men against boys. Lovely football from Cork, Tyrone looked terrible up against a great footballing county. A real lesson for Tyrone, back down to earth and a true reflection of were we are really at!! Worried about croke park next weekend, might stay at home for that one. But as the Donegal boys say, ach sure its only the league!

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 10/03/2013 17:35:44    1346393

Will be very interesting to see what happens when Brogan, Nolan, McCarthy, McMahon and Fitzsimons come back. Huge competition on this current panel.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 10/03/2013 17:38:56    1346397

Great win,

Jack mc caffrey was outstanding, johnny cooper is playing great stuff also We could of had more goals,
thought kildare set out very negative and had no planb, it was a case of let dublin have the ball and see if they can break us down.
bastick made a huge difference and once we started to dominate midfield it was game over,though we could have been further in front at half time, the lads we have run with the ball and always try and go forward , not much going sideways or trying to stop teams from playing ,its a case of playing to our strenghts, which is a credit to Gavin.
Though come championship things will probably different.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 10/03/2013 17:50:08    1346405

That was one of the worst disheartening Tyrone perfomances I've seen.
Right from the get go it was clear we weren't even up for it.
What is it with the midfield?Can they not catch a ball anymore? Instead they choose to put an unaimed fist up for it. I'd say we were lucky to win 20% of OUR own kickouts. Some people might argue we never won midfield-at least then we had players all around that could execute a proper pass. Admittedly the wind made a difference conditions wise, but some of the passes, wides and missed goal chances were attrocious. Cork managed a good few decent scores in those same conditions.
Not one positive to take away from today. We still don't have a consistent free taker.
Based on todays performance I've a very bad feeling about our trip to Croke Park.

Gael01 (Tyrone) - Posts: 74 - 10/03/2013 17:54:50    1346408

doublehop

what did you think of kildares gameplan today?
the decision to play a donegal style set up,to me was very strange considering ye had the gale force wind advantage.
it almost felt like mcgeeney was looking for damage limitation instead of trying to win the game.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/03/2013 18:05:12    1346416

royaldunne

Think its fair to say Kildare have been flattered by their results so far and this hammering while not predicted was in hindsight not surprising, Kildare just do not have the natural footballers that dublin have, there fitness is all they seem to have and that will get results until you meet a team with both fitness and talented players, Kildare should have been beat by kerry and we know how bad they are at moment,Donegal had hardly trained when they lost to them, same for cork,
It unfortunately looks like another cake walk for the dubs in Leinster unless Meath do a lazarus on it,but that's unlikely

Seriously man, I am sick to death with the petty digs at Kildare. I'm no big fan of Kildare but you make your dislike of Kildare so blatant in your posts that its embarrassing. Nothing personal but I'm just being honest because I've seen you do it time and time again and it's just irritating at this stage. I respect your opinions or whatever but can you please change the record.

I'm not too sure what happened to Kildare because it was tit for tat in the first half but I don't think there's too many teams that could handle that Dublin attack today. Dublin are head and shoulders above the rest in the country right now. Whether they can sustain that for the summer is the biggest question.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 790 - 10/03/2013 18:10:18    1346423

Dublin just unstoppable at the moment. Blew us away in the second half.have to say though,despite the beating our guys still battled on.think geezer will learn more than Jim gavin:-)

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1734 - 10/03/2013 18:15:23    1346426

I can't understand why Kildare decided to play with a 13 man defence while playing with a gale force breeze. Bizarre. Thought Rory O'Carroll had a great game on O'Connor who has been causing havoc in recent games. Brogan used the ball well, although found it difficult to score himself. He continuously brought other forwards into the game and they took their scores well. However, its only March and a lot of work still to be done.

Drummerboy (Dublin) - Posts: 85 - 10/03/2013 18:19:51    1346429

hill16no1man

what did you think of kildares gameplan today?
the decision to play a donegal style set up,to me was very strange considering ye had the gale force wind advantage.
it almost felt like mcgeeney was looking for damage limitation instead of trying to win the game.

Well playing that counter-attacking style and running game suits us I think, we'd done well out of it so far in the league. But yeah, as you said the gameplan just didn't seem to take into account the conditions at all. Mayo showed us last year what's possible if you push up on Dublin's quick kick-outs but we didn't do it at all and didn't seem to go for it in the first half when getting bodies forward and scores on the board had to be the priority with the breeze behind us. Would also have big issues with picking Doyle and O'Neill in midfield together. You can play one or the other with a fielding player but not both together. The second half we just got blitzed. Four points in the first two and a half minutes was it? Just never got back into it after that!

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 10/03/2013 18:30:19    1346437

Dublin are flying they will win the league handy but AI are not won at this time of year
its possible Dublin are peaking too early i would think the AI winners will be Cork or Donegal
you saw`it here first

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 10/03/2013 18:34:19    1346442