Division One 2013

Dublinh16

Kerryrowz what has brought you to the conclusion that Either Cork or Donegal will win the league this year depending on results neither of them may not even make the Semi Finals and love to know what you have seen in either team this year so far to make such a bold statement both teams have already lost to either Dublin,Kildare or Tyrone.

I think he was referring to the 2013 All Ireland final, because the All Ireland semi final's will be Cork vs Dublin and Donegal vs Mayo if these four teams were all to win their respective Provincial championships again.

Donegal have Tyrone on May 26th in the opening round of Ulster, So I don't imagine they want to end up possibly facing Tyrone in the League semi final or League final a few weeks before it. They will be happy to avoid relegation, and will probably need one more win against either Cork, Mayo or Dublin to stay up.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3032 - 10/03/2013 21:27:47    1346665

Bluewave

Dublin just can't win, last year we had no hunger this year we are peaking too early what a load of bull. We are building a panel with the majority of our starting 15 so far in the league relatively inexperienced the bonus is we are winning while doing this. Momentum is building in these young Dubs lots of them are nailing down championship places, with us out of the U21s they can devote themselves totally on the quest for Sam.

Its a long time since we won the league it would not do us any harm at all, people talk about 'not showing your hand too early' bla bla bla its not poker we are playing. There's a new Jim in town last year is history, we will take some stopping that's not hype its reality.

Dublin haven't really stopped winning in the league this season. It's clear that they have ramped up their training earlier than most teams and look pumped.

Donegal have Tyrone, who are their biggest rivals in Ulster to play in the opening round of the Ulster championship on May 26th. For that reason alone, they will likely not want to risk facing them in the League SF or Final a few weeks before that vital championship game. That is why such references have been made about not showing your hand with regards Donegal and Tyrone.
Neither want to give too much away with such a big game hitting much sooner in the championship than normal.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3032 - 10/03/2013 22:02:27    1346700

Realdub my point is and always has been for the last year that Kildare while been the fittest team in Ireland do not have the natural footballers to compete at the very top level, it's simple really, this is what annoys so many Kildare posters,that i refuse to accept,that they can win a all ire on fitness alone, if you disagree with me by all means post the reasons that you feel they have as good as natural footballers as dubs,mayo,Donegal tyrones of this world, and fair enough I'll accept you weren't been personal, all I ask is that my footballing views are kept to football and not me personally, I have a lot of friends from Kildare and while the salt of earth people we have arguments about football all the time, same with Dublin and same within meath, and trust me my main hatred will always be reserved for Dublin, but just in footballing terms, not people,otherwise I wouldn't have married the love of my life

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/03/2013 22:02:50    1346701

Fair play to Cork yesterday for giving a masterclass in organisation, workrate, execution of a game plan and most importantly, taking your chances when you get them. They didn't hit too many wides over the 70+ minutes whereas Tyrone easily reached double figures along with blocked shots and ones falling short. Colm O'Neill in particular took some lovely scores, a fine footballer.

Without being spectacularly good, Cork were able to hold us off with relative ease. We played into their hands a lot by not moving the ball quickly enough and letting them set up their defensive wall which we usually ran straight into. Mind you, if Peter Harte had taken either of his first half goal chances it could've been a different story. But Tyrone deserved nothing from the game. No surprise our worst performance came with Sean Cavanagh's worst performance of the year so far. Plenty of Tyrone followers have over-reacted to our wins so far this year and no doubt some will over-react to this defeat as well. A good game up next to focus the minds after such a poor showing

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 11/03/2013 08:31:52    1346712

OK RD, we'll leave it at that so, like I said, nothing personal. My take is, that I'd be more worried about playing Kildare than Meath over the last few years, never said they were abound with natural footballers, I just like their team ethic, having said that, very few teams had/have a player like Johnny Doyle. Peace out!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 11/03/2013 08:32:07    1346713

Another great win yesterday honestly thought it would of been closer. 4 From 4 now...C,MON DA DUBS...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 11/03/2013 08:39:40    1346719

As my Derry friend stated i meant it will be a Cork v Dublin semi and Donegal v Mayo based on current form. As good as Dublin are, i feel that if you stop BB, you stop Dublin main scoring threat. Donegal are the best team in Ireland. Cork have the best fowards in Ireland, while the Dubs are strong in every line, i feel teams will target BB, who along with M Murphy are the best footy players in Ireland. I feel Donegal will take Sam again this year.
MY beloved Kerry have a lot to do, best we can hope for is to meet Mayo in the quarters as they are the weakest of the top 3 in Ireland, thats if we get this far.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 11/03/2013 10:11:23    1346777

I just like their team ethic, having said that, very few teams had/have a player like Johnny Doyle. Peace out!

Are you for real?

granted jonny was a decent forward 5 years ago but he is no where near the top now and is one of the main reasons for kildares rapid demise.
He needs to move aside and accept that younger players deserve a chance

I dont ever recall any team playiing a 36 year old forward in midfield?

RedCarrot (Laois) - Posts: 91 - 11/03/2013 10:24:09    1346790

Again apologies i miss read the Dublin score, i thought it was 2-7 to 2-10, Wow 2-20 what a score, Kerry got 3 points from play. I dont care if its the league, Dublin have a real shot this year, the Dubs Donegal or Cork, the rest are away behind.
Kerry now join Tyrone Galway Armagh and Meath in tier 2 of GAA.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 11/03/2013 10:25:28    1346794

If you stop any teams main scoring threat (Brogan, Murphy, Gooch etc) obviously scores are harder to come by. But anyone that things Dublin are a one man show with Brogan doesn't know their football. Kildare did a good job on brogan for the most part yesterday & the rest of the team stood up. 9 different players out scores on the board. I'm very happy with that!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 11/03/2013 10:30:37    1346802

Are you for real?

granted jonny was a decent forward 5 years ago but he is no where near the top now and is one of the main reasons for kildares rapid demise.
He needs to move aside and accept that younger players deserve a chance

What rapid demise is that then?
As for Johnny Doyle, I'll let his goal last week against Kerry speak for itself.

You are right about one thing though, he should not be playing midfield.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 11/03/2013 10:50:53    1346822

Dublin scored 2-20 yesterday and in truth that should probably have been 3-25/26 with the amount of spurned oppertunities in the first half. Don't think Kildare are half as bad as they showed in that second half yesterday, Dublin came out of the blocks at the start of the second half and caught Kildare on the hop and sure by the time the Kildare fellas had time to reset themselves it was game well and truely over. The score was a fair reflection on the gulf between the teams on the day but IF we meet in the summer you can be certain the gulf wouldnt be quite as big. Bad day at the office for Kildare and as for Dublin, Well its another win on the board, Nothing to get carried away about its only the 11th of March but none the less you have to be happy with our league record so far. Still have Alan Brogan , Eoghan O'Gara, James MCCarthy, Philly McMahon, Kevin Nolan and Michael Fitzsimons to come back aswell but we certainly look good for the semi finals now. Our only concern should be Tyrone next saturday now however. A game which i think we will win.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 11/03/2013 11:13:01    1346841

yep the first half between Dublin and Kildare is more of an indicator of where we're at. Kildare hopped on the bus at half time and were half way to Naas by the time Geezer realised what was going on... I suppose he'll have to figure that one out but make no mistake about it kildare are a serious div1 outfit

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 11/03/2013 11:25:54    1346857

No need to panic for Mayo just yet. I was at a wedding so can only go on what friends who were at it said etc. I have been saying for a long time that we are short a class forward or two (a la Brogan, Murphy, Cooper) and its no surprise Mayo struggled up front.

I feel we are always strong at home though so we can get positive results from the Kildare and Donegal games to avoid relegation.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11705 - 11/03/2013 11:34:46    1346871

10/03/2013 19:49:23
Dublinh16

Kerryrowz what has brought you to the conclusion that Either Cork or Donegal will win the league this year depending on results neither of them may not even make the Semi Finals and love to know what you have seen in either team this year so far to make such a bold statement both teams have already lost to either Dublin,Kildare or Tyrone.

It's all to do with trends. While both Donegal & Cork started slowly they are starting to get into their stride & are improving with each game. Donegal also have a few key players still to come back. For my own part I am not a believer in making declarations about who is going to win this competition or that competition, I leave that to the Mystic Megs of this world. Dublin are certainly the driving seat at the moment but a few teams are lining up nicely & without fanfare behind them, Cork & Donegal being two of them.

It's going to be an interesting summer!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5029 - 11/03/2013 11:40:29    1346876

loops

yep the first half between Dublin and Kildare is more of an indicator of where we're at. Kildare hopped on the bus at half time and were half way to Naas by the time Geezer realised what was going on... I suppose he'll have to figure that one out but make no mistake about it kildare are a serious div1 outfit

wouldnt agree.the first half was only tight because dublin were playing into a gale force wind and missed several chances and on top of that supple gave away a poor goal.it was always going to turn out like that for kildare when you play with that wind and try and defend instead of attacking.going in two points behind and having to play into that wind in the second half

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/03/2013 11:50:57    1346888

Dublin are well used to the fanfare muckross!:)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 11/03/2013 12:04:50    1346910

Yes redcarrot, I am for real, I said he was a top class player and he was, never mentioned anything about being played out of position. Name a better Laois player...

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 11/03/2013 12:07:22    1346913

Jackeen

Dublin are well used to the fanfare muckross!:)

But ye do it so well Jackeen, unlike us culchies for whom modesty is the favoured approach!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5029 - 11/03/2013 12:09:02    1346916

I am full sure you'll agree this Dublin team is modest to the core arguably unlike some of our previous dublin teams. Now if you're talking about the cursed media well then that's different gravy. Either way, life is more fun with fanfare :)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 11/03/2013 12:19:26    1346925