Advertisement

What will you be the doing during the Visits?

Have the rules changed in respect of the use of GAA facilities for political reasons since 2009?

Following recent reports of events at Galbally GAA Club, County Tyrone, the Central Council of the GAA have asked the Ulster Council GAA to establish the facts of the occurrences and the involvement of the Association in these events, if any.

"This process, the Council have already set in train and will issue a full statement of our findings in due course. The Ulster Council have had no direct or indirect involvement in this affair to date.

"The GAA is a non party political organisation that is protective of its Rules and Constitution. The Association at County, Provincial and Central level were not aware of the events at Galbally GAA Club until after the events had taken place. The Ulster Council GAA are working to establish the exact circumstances surrounding these events that took place at Cappagh, Co. Tyrone on Sunday 16th August.

"The GAA has clear policies in relation to the use of its property for non-sporting events detailed in our Rules which outlines the role of Central Council in respect to the control of property owned or controlled by a constituent unit of the GAA.

"The Association is a non party political and anti sectarian organisation whose position has been determined democratically by GAA Congress.
The GAA will issue no further comment or statement until the conclusion of this process

I do recall certain posters on this board being absolutely outraged at this time when GAA facilities were allegedly being used for a political purpose, do they feel the same now?

Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 19/05/2011 09:38:04    934357

It's complete and utter hypocrisy goodfella. I feel like walking away from the Association today as it seems determined to cut ALL links with it's Irish, Nationalist history and insults the Northern Catholic community at every turn. British royalty, Loyalists, the Orange Order, fundamental Unionists seem to get a far warmer welcome in the South than genuine Irish people from Ulster. It's called moral cowardice, the South is more preoccupied with not annoying this crowd than anything else. An embarrassing lickspittle of a place now.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9841 - 19/05/2011 15:04:59    934691

Ulsterman

'I feel like walking away from the Association today'.

Off with you then! The Gaa will be a better without your archaic points of view!

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 19/05/2011 15:43:48    934734

Ulsterman

'I feel like walking away from the Association today'.

Off with you then! The Gaa will be a better without your archaic points of view!

I would not like to see any Gael walking away from our association. I feel that the whole thing is part of a greater plan for the country as a whole !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 19/05/2011 16:02:45    934748

Ulsterman

Are you going to walk away from your job in her Majesty's civil service as well? as usual the hypocrisy is astounding. You havent the slightest bit of interest in the GAA as a sporting organisation, its just a badge to wear or a box to tick in keeping with being a "Nationalist"in northern Ireland.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 19/05/2011 16:07:00    934753

Careful Ulsterman whilst I agree with some of your sentiment I think you're in danger of becoming the most partitionist poster on this forum with your anti-southern rants!

Whilst many in the South do fawn at the Royal family etc I think you're generalising and over hyping it a bit, dont be mis-led by a biased media and have faith in your fellow countrymen!!

Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 19/05/2011 16:41:31    934805

Ulsterman

934691 It's complete and utter hypocrisy goodfella. I feel like walking away from the Association today as it seems determined to cut ALL links with it's Irish, Nationalist history and insults the Northern Catholic community at every turn. British royalty, Loyalists, the Orange Order, fundamental Unionists seem to get a far warmer welcome in the South than genuine Irish people from Ulster. It's called moral cowardice, the South is more preoccupied with not annoying this crowd than anything else. An embarrassing lickspittle of a place now

---------------

your post suggest a few things 1) that the gaa is a political organisation when it 100% is not, 2) that the gaa is for catholics only- which it 100% is not, 3) that republicans deserve preferential treatment - when they 100% do not. And to cap it off you think that by not pandering to the idocy of a few we are cowards- that is the funniest thing i have ever heard. The best thing about this visit is that finally you may just fully realise that the people of ireland couldnt care less about this bland hatred and you are just going to have to get used to it, because spouting nonsense like your hate filled post above isnt going to find you any supporters! You are never going to be happy in life you remind me of one of those washed up nobodies in the bronx in new york harping on about republicanism and noone is listening. i really hope you finally got a wake up call to mend your ways, and if you leave the association do you honestly think you will be missed? Not a chance. this visit truly confirmed that IRELAND SAY NO TO THE STUPIDITY OF THE PAST - even the queen herself has moved on and made a terrific speech- but alas when nothing is ever good enough for you, you will never be happy- you are strating to remind me of a certain german man with a tash in your views! We are all equal we are all european - and its certainly not my fault you are suffering an identity crisis- for the first time in absolute years i was actually proud of the flag as it for one represented the exact opposite of what it has being hijacked to represent.

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 19/05/2011 17:37:22    934867

Goodfella, Tir

Careful Ulsterman whilst I agree with some of your sentiment I think you're in danger of becoming the most partitionist poster on this forum with your anti-southern rants!

He spends his whole time trying to create a divide between north and south on HS! Its boring now! His hypocrisy is nauseating!!

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 19/05/2011 18:02:41    934894

Ulsterman

. British royalty, Loyalists, the Orange Order, fundamental Unionists seem to get a far warmer welcome in the South than genuine Irish people from Ulster. It's called moral cowardice, the South is more preoccupied with not annoying this crowd than anything else.

Ulsterman, seriously, think for a moment.

For hundreds of years everything was blamed on the Brits. After partition a few smart people realised that the "problem" in creating say a united Ireland was no longer the Brits, but one and a half million unionists who live here.

Hence Britain, and the QUEEN, trying to promote a United Ireland.

But....what do we do with the Unionists? Ethnic cleanse them?

Or do we try to win them over by showing that Croke Park is open to English rugby and the......QUEEN?

What do you think?

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 19/05/2011 19:24:26    934994

Ulserman - When you're making liathroidboy sound sane things are bad!

abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 19/05/2011 20:09:04    935029

Ah here lads, I consider myself a Nationalist, not a Republican and I take it as a great occasion when we can invite the Queen to Ireland as a visitor. However I do not think it is fair for Southern posters to tell those fron the North how to feel about it as that shows a lack of historical as well as political knowledge.If the shoe was on the other foot and Cavan was included in the North then I am not naive to think I would not feel different. Also it is not going to advance Irish unity as David Cameron is the decision maker in Britain and will fight tooth and nail to not only keep Northern Ireland in the United Kingdom but also Scotland. He has being quoted many times on this. The royal family also was not responsible for the troubles or Famine problems as Britain has a Government that makes political decisions. Sure lets blame Mary McAleese for the financial crisis then. The Queen is a figure head and England is not the only country that has a monarchy. It is only a symbolic position much like the post of President in Ireland. The cost of security is one massive issue I do have and lets be honest it is way over the top. The guards must be rubbing their hands in glee with all the overtime they are getting which is not needed. And disruptions to business also.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 19/05/2011 20:45:33    935071

doratheexplorer

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 19/05/2011 21:44:05    935134

Indeed this current event Is making myself and my fellows feel terribly insignificant. Everyone seems so chuffed about it all and here am I wondering how am I supposed to feel. Perhaps I should just " lie down" again

derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 19/05/2011 22:00:20    935159

Need to do a double take when I find my self agreeing with BB and Patrique
But what we have seen over the last few days is

The Queen of England - Head of state of "The Union" and Head of the Church of England and therefore the ultimate symbol of the culture to which unionists or Loyalists wish to cling to :

1. Speaking Irish in Dublin
2. Going to Croke Park - not for a concert or a rugby match but as a guest of CLG
3. Watching Riverdance
4. Putting a wreath on a symbol of Irelands fight for freedom

All of which 20 years ago would have been considered almost a form of satanic ritual in certain parts of the North. I cannot possibly see how this cannot be viewed as anything other than a huge positive progressive step for people in the 32 Counties Nationalists, Republican, Unionist, Loyalist - Athiest whatever.

To be honest anyone that continues to be offended by this or who looks for the negative will never be satisfied in any case unless we end up with some sort of Ultra nationalist 32 county ethnically cleansed dicatatorship.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 20/05/2011 09:46:28    935201

Here is some info Brend. http://enwikipedia.org/wiki/Reform_Movement_(Ireland) More for the case why Norris is not fit to be president of the Republic.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 20/05/2011 09:50:16    935204

I have heard a lot about maturity in the past week. I think we must acknowledge that the British at last have become mature enough to accept us as a state and recognise that our dead are as important to us a nation. Lets accept now that they have moved on.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 20/05/2011 09:58:10    935214

I haven,t paid a lot of attention to the queens visit as I'm very busy in work at the moment,but I will say what I have watched on the news has made me warm to the royals for once,I will say however that during the speeches the other night I was really impressed with the Irish preident,in her you have a gem.She is a great anbassador for Ireland and you should be proud to have her as your head of state.

jackieblue (Antrim) - Posts: 521 - 20/05/2011 10:40:55    935249

I must admit at this point that I am not as "offended" by the whole thing as I hoped,I mean thought,I would be:) If we can have Peter Robinson and Jackie Mc Donald standing for "The Soldiers Song" in Dublin then I think anything is possible and from a pragmatic republican viewpoint the whole exercise will make the idea of a united Ireland less unappealing to some unionists,and as they are the people we want to convince,then it will have served a positive purpose in this regard if none other.To her credit, in her speech she adoted a sensitive,apologetic and conciliatory tone.I see it as another chapter in the story of "The End Game".

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 20/05/2011 11:00:54    935270

She is a great ambassador for Belfast and Antrim also Jackie. You can be just as proud of her as anybody else on here as she represents you too,if you want her to:)

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 20/05/2011 11:05:54    935276

Jackie Blue you're right WE have a gem,and we have a gem of a country and the world has seen that this week.It all makes me proud to be Irish.

DABLACKSPOT (Westmeath) - Posts: 551 - 20/05/2011 11:09:03    935284