2023 Dublin NFL Div 2 thread

Replying To royaldunne:  "Honestly that was probably the worst Meath performance against Dublin that I can remember, not that we haven't been beat by more but that Dublin were a shadow of their former selves. We were shocking. And unfortunately we seem to be like the little alpine guy on the price is right when he use to go over the edge. We are in free fall. And where is the bottom? Good luck to Dublin going forward Meath probably now 5th in Leinster. Worrying times for such a football mad county."
I don't know

The 4 over Cluxton was pretty crap too

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/03/2023 21:44:51    2464616

Liked an awful lot of what i saw yesterday, especially very crisp transitions for this stage of the year.

Lee Gannon, turning into a mighty and influential footballer. I liked the look of O Gara down in Limerick and have been disappointed he hasn't seen more time since, he looked hungry for his chance and took it with both hands, well in young man, i like his hunger looks like he really, really wants to play for Dublin and means a lot to him - only a good thing.

O Hanolan is making a case for starting goalkeeper hes been great this league.

Man ive loved the league this year, Div 2 has been a breath of fresh air.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 19/03/2023 13:17:21    2464690

The intensity of Div 2 and 1 games is chalk and cheese. More bad habits are developed in Div 2 with a mediocre Leinster championship to play Dublin should be thankful they are getting a 2nd game against Derry.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 19/03/2023 13:26:29    2464696

Replying To waynoI:  "They were alright.

Still miles off the levels required to win an ireland which is what every Dublin team will be judged on in future after our recent success.

I never believed Dublin were as far out in front of the pack as the run of dominance would have suggested, but where you could debate that, there's no debating we are now back in among the pack and I feel it'll take something really out of the blue for us to be back on the steps of the hogan in July and don't let today's result fool you."
Not sure the pack is all that great to be honest pal.

Id find it very hard to call a winner this year, so i think we have as good a chance as any, i think something that will be on the minds of this group is that its probably the last dance for many, Jamsie, Fitzey etc - who knows what will happen with Mannion or Jack in the future but you wouldn't fall of your stool to see them walk away again. Is there an ember left in this era for one last tilt...........maybe.

Dont think id necessarily be overawed in the face of a game Vs Tyrone, Kerry, Mayo or Galway.

We have the players in my opinion.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 19/03/2023 13:35:22    2464703

Replying To Yondu:  "The intensity of Div 2 and 1 games is chalk and cheese. More bad habits are developed in Div 2 with a mediocre Leinster championship to play Dublin should be thankful they are getting a 2nd game against Derry."
Another game V Derry? Don't count them chickens just yet

Roll on Croke Park. Up the Wee County

DundalkGael (Louth) - Posts: 891 - 19/03/2023 14:56:40    2464729

With Kerry going for back to back it's not easy, and it's been seen before it could be a disadvantage. Kerry may not be up to it, anything happens to Clifford and they are in trouble imo.

An I right in saying that if the Dubs are good enough to reach a semifinal that it'll be Ulster this year

If I'm right that could see possibly Mayo/Galway playing Kerry..

So compared to the last few years I think it could be Dublin's best chance of maybe making a final.

Unless things change come the drier ground Ulster may not be as strong as previous years, where it's been formidable.. not sure there's an Ulster team under that heading at the moment

Listen, Imagine James McCarthy captains Dublin on the way to his ninth medal.. himself and Fitzsimons to stand alone at 9 medals

A Ballymun and Dalkey man haha.. I'd love that

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/03/2023 18:17:16    2464854

Replying To TheUsername:  "Liked an awful lot of what i saw yesterday, especially very crisp transitions for this stage of the year.

Lee Gannon, turning into a mighty and influential footballer. I liked the look of O Gara down in Limerick and have been disappointed he hasn't seen more time since, he looked hungry for his chance and took it with both hands, well in young man, i like his hunger looks like he really, really wants to play for Dublin and means a lot to him - only a good thing.

O Hanolan is making a case for starting goalkeeper hes been great this league.

Man ive loved the league this year, Div 2 has been a breath of fresh air."
Lee Gannon is set

Has the makings and is now ready to prove his class

O'Gara looks like a man that has worked bloody hard on himself, he demonstrated enough to show that he's a highly capable footballer, and no doubt pushing for a start now against a possible rematch against Derry

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/03/2023 19:21:29    2464875

Replying To jimbodub:  "With Kerry going for back to back it's not easy, and it's been seen before it could be a disadvantage. Kerry may not be up to it, anything happens to Clifford and they are in trouble imo.

An I right in saying that if the Dubs are good enough to reach a semifinal that it'll be Ulster this year

If I'm right that could see possibly Mayo/Galway playing Kerry..

So compared to the last few years I think it could be Dublin's best chance of maybe making a final.

Unless things change come the drier ground Ulster may not be as strong as previous years, where it's been formidable.. not sure there's an Ulster team under that heading at the moment

Listen, Imagine James McCarthy captains Dublin on the way to his ninth medal.. himself and Fitzsimons to stand alone at 9 medals

A Ballymun and Dalkey man haha.. I'd love that"
It's going to be interesting to see how the Ulster teams adapt to the new championship format. Whoever goes far in Ulster will have had a gruelling provincial route and then still a good number of matches left to try and get into an AI final. I'm very interested to see how Derry in particular will fare out. They have gone hell for leather at the league. The Glen lads got no break. Will it all take its toll by the latter end of the championship? Rory Gallagher no doubt has a plan.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 771 - 19/03/2023 20:42:09    2464919

Lads! Does anyone know the craic with Mannion and McCaffrey? I'm starting to get worried, Jack appears for one game and runs amok, then dissappears and still no mention of Mannion. You would think they'd need to be getting game time at this stage if they're to be part of the master plan for summer?

Onion_Sack (Dublin) - Posts: 203 - 20/03/2023 17:26:04    2465308

Replying To jimbodub:  "I don't know

The 4 over Cluxton was pretty crap too"
Nope you only got 5 in first half that day. But it will never be as good as 5 past cluxton. Surely now you must agree the most overrated keeper of all time

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/03/2023 17:37:48    2465312

Replying To Onion_Sack:  "Lads! Does anyone know the craic with Mannion and McCaffrey? I'm starting to get worried, Jack appears for one game and runs amok, then dissappears and still no mention of Mannion. You would think they'd need to be getting game time at this stage if they're to be part of the master plan for summer?"
Jack continues to have problems with hamstrings I thought Mannion was back for Derry game it's a concern with his injuries all right ps Paddy Small and Evan Comerford?

theduke66 (Dublin) - Posts: 334 - 20/03/2023 17:52:35    2465324

Replying To DundalkGael:  "Another game V Derry? Don't count them chickens just yet

Roll on Croke Park. Up the Wee County"
Full credit to Louth a great league campaig, 4 wins and only lost narrowly to Derry. Be interesting to see can such form can be brought into the championship if so it will be Leinster final place and at 2nd seeds in the All-Ireland group stage.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 20/03/2023 17:54:25    2465327

Replying To Onion_Sack:  "Lads! Does anyone know the craic with Mannion and McCaffrey? I'm starting to get worried, Jack appears for one game and runs amok, then dissappears and still no mention of Mannion. You would think they'd need to be getting game time at this stage if they're to be part of the master plan for summer?"
I said it before. I doubt much will be seen of Mannion. That injury has never cleared up and obviously came back at the end of the Glen match. At best I'd say, he be coming from the bench and they won't chance him if he's not 100%. They can't be depending these fellas coming back and saving them anyway. I would also see Jack as a potential springer from the bench, and in a more positive sense.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2521 - 20/03/2023 18:07:45    2465331

Replying To jimbodub:  "Lee Gannon is set

Has the makings and is now ready to prove his class

O'Gara looks like a man that has worked bloody hard on himself, he demonstrated enough to show that he's a highly capable footballer, and no doubt pushing for a start now against a possible rematch against Derry"
I don't think I would judge any forwards on their display after coming up against that Meath defence… We will see what O Gara is like when he comes up against a tight marking defence…. I think he will be struggling.

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1897 - 20/03/2023 18:16:04    2465336

We have them at the border. They'll be back Monday

ged (Louth) - Posts: 296 - 20/03/2023 18:36:01    2465342

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I said it before. I doubt much will be seen of Mannion. That injury has never cleared up and obviously came back at the end of the Glen match. At best I'd say, he be coming from the bench and they won't chance him if he's not 100%. They can't be depending these fellas coming back and saving them anyway. I would also see Jack as a potential springer from the bench, and in a more positive sense."
Mannion on bench today as is Paddy Small and wait for it, Cluxton!!!

SimonstownBack (Meath) - Posts: 143 - 26/03/2023 13:53:13    2466653

They're getting very frustrating to watch. Small is way too selfish, and he's not going to change at this stage. They should have had at least 3 goals, and if they don't start getting them, they won't beat any of the likely contenders.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2521 - 26/03/2023 15:42:48    2466705

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "They're getting very frustrating to watch. Small is way too selfish, and he's not going to change at this stage. They should have had at least 3 goals, and if they don't start getting them, they won't beat any of the likely contenders."
I wouldnt disagree with you there, I think upfront its not just Small who is selfish for Dublin its a negative trait which makes them at times a hard watch.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 26/03/2023 15:53:13    2466716

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "They're getting very frustrating to watch. Small is way too selfish, and he's not going to change at this stage. They should have had at least 3 goals, and if they don't start getting them, they won't beat any of the likely contenders."
To be fair Louth should of had about 4 goals, was a very very open game of football.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 714 - 26/03/2023 15:53:38    2466717

Replying To Past hurler:  "To be fair Louth should of had about 4 goals, was a very very open game of football."
It was in fairness and interesting to watch. I'd say Louth won't be broken hearted over not being promoted this time as another year in Division Two with a few games they be fancied to win, and a few similar tough ones like this year, they will come on even more.

They will also have to find a better balance between the defensive system they deploy - which made sense and was effective for much of match today - and their obvious ability to score goals. I'd fancy them to reach Leinster final so not be last time these two will meet.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2521 - 26/03/2023 16:15:04    2466731