Non-Gaa Forum

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  ""Amazing"…. it had 1 try and a multitude of TMO reviews that destroyed the game… along with a red card that never should have been.. SA did the very same and no red… A rubbish sport and thank goodness it's over…"
hahahahahahahaha
just 1 try doesnt mean a game isnt very good or the game is destroyed.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3588 - 02/11/2023 10:37:24    2511259

Don't ever change spurs ;) That game was as mad as a box of frogs.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11333 - 06/11/2023 22:17:43    2511835

Has anyone seen the latest TV ad encouraging us to check the electoral register?

It mildly amuses me to say the least.

bruffgael (Limerick) - Posts: 176 - 15/11/2023 16:55:36    2513214

Well what did we make of events in Dublin yesterday? Shocking stuff.
Hopefully the victims of the stabbing incident will make a full recovery. The physical scars may heal quicker than the pschological ones though I fear.

What happened afterwards was a disgrace and an embarrassment. It has been coming though, stabbing incident or not. I'd say a combination of things, easily led young people with limited opportunities being drip fed poisonous tripe about immigrants being the root cause of their problems. It is a tried and tested method for bigoted & hateful people to stoke tension for decades, only worse in this day and age with social media.

The Guards hands are tied too. They have to be so careful these days. Anything they say or do is likely going to be recorded. I would say that morale is quite low in the force. Dealing with scumbags like what we saw last night is like trying to keep the tide out. What's the deterrent? Social welfare cuts indefinitely for those charged?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9359 - 24/11/2023 09:28:00    2514388

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Well what did we make of events in Dublin yesterday? Shocking stuff.
Hopefully the victims of the stabbing incident will make a full recovery. The physical scars may heal quicker than the pschological ones though I fear.

What happened afterwards was a disgrace and an embarrassment. It has been coming though, stabbing incident or not. I'd say a combination of things, easily led young people with limited opportunities being drip fed poisonous tripe about immigrants being the root cause of their problems. It is a tried and tested method for bigoted & hateful people to stoke tension for decades, only worse in this day and age with social media.

The Guards hands are tied too. They have to be so careful these days. Anything they say or do is likely going to be recorded. I would say that morale is quite low in the force. Dealing with scumbags like what we saw last night is like trying to keep the tide out. What's the deterrent? Social welfare cuts indefinitely for those charged?"
Under 18s don't get any social welfare. 18-25year olds only get 100 odd euro. Cutting it would hardly be a deterrent.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 24/11/2023 10:13:14    2514392

Helen McIntee saying a couple of months ago that the streets of Dublin were a safe place to walk down day or night was an embarrassing comment and just shows how detached from reality this government are… Varadker of course endorsed her comments.. Time for government to grow a pair and throw the book at these trouble makers before we loose our tourism industry along with everything else…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2341 - 24/11/2023 10:13:18    2514393

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Well what did we make of events in Dublin yesterday? Shocking stuff.

The Guards hands are tied too. They have to be so careful these days. Anything they say or do is likely going to be recorded. I would say that morale is quite low in the force. Dealing with scumbags like what we saw last night is like trying to keep the tide out. What's the deterrent? Social welfare cuts indefinitely for those charged?"
They have plenty of opportunities. Don't fall for the narrative that they're disadvantaged. They have everything handed to them. They're s**m. They want to live like this. Generations of them. The bleeding hearts will blame everyone else but the reality is that they're just s**mbags. Always have been. Always will.
Far right s**m know that these thugs are itching for a chance to cause mayhem and they light the fuse. Loads of fine people from the north inner city there of course but there's a high proportion of scrotes. Again, that's their choice.

ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 123 - 24/11/2023 10:23:08    2514397

It's awful what the city has come to. I was in O'Connell St this morning on the way to work, and the shops destroyed on what should be their busiest days of the year is so sad to see.

There was videos of people robbing the charity boxes from McDonalds that were going to Crumlin's hospital, how sick do you have to be? Those people don't care about the city, just s**mbags looking for an excuse to act up.

My best wishes to those that were attacked. Absolutely horrendous that children and women can't walk in our capital city at 2:30 in the afternoon in fear.

A very very dark day for the country.

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 157 - 24/11/2023 10:34:42    2514400

The exact same type of crowd the day of the riots for the proposed Ulster march back in the day. Any excuse to cause havoc. No fear of the guards either unfortunately.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7972 - 24/11/2023 10:41:20    2514405

Awful images of our capital city being shown around the world, I think the Gardai who put themselves in harms way to protect life and property are not getting the resources they need, we need more Guards on the streets in general. They can make all the laws they want in the Dail but if there is no enforcement it means nothing,
That's all we hear from politicians, if there is a spate of deaths on the roads then say we need new laws to reduce speed limits etc, they don't say that the roads aren't being maintained and there are hardly any Garda checkpoints anymore.
I hope the little children and their teacher that were attacked make a full recovery but the trauma they have all been through will not be easy to overcome.
Fair play to the Brazilian delivery guy who stepped in and stopped the attacker, that took some amount of courage and he deserves to be recognised for it.
The rioting that followed later was mostly from gurriers who just took the opportunity to rob and riot when they knew they had the run of the streets, which they are used to now in the city centre.
there is a lot of genuine concern in the country with the way unvetted asylum seekers are foisted upon small communities with no prior consultation of the local people though and that has to be addressed too.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2897 - 24/11/2023 11:36:36    2514428

Replying To TheFlaker:  "The exact same type of crowd the day of the riots for the proposed Ulster march back in the day. Any excuse to cause havoc. No fear of the guards either unfortunately."
This is it. Back in the day the Guards had a certain amount of leeway when it came to disorder. Now I'm not saying they should be given carte blanche to deal with incidents like last night. But when the good men and women on the beat are put in a situation where they're neither feared nor respected then it becomes a problem.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9359 - 24/11/2023 11:36:44    2514429

Replying To Viking66:  "Under 18s don't get any social welfare. 18-25year olds only get 100 odd euro. Cutting it would hardly be a deterrent."
Hmm maybe not the best deterrent so. Is a more heavy-handed approach needed? But the way things are, there would be a pushback on that as well. I saw someone tweeting coverage of the infamous night in Lansdowne Road in 1995. The guards didn't spare the batons that night.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9359 - 24/11/2023 11:39:47    2514431

An awful day. I was out and about during the evening and the absolute madness and thuggery that enveloped the area was incredible. I'd have a strong connection to the school in question and just hope that everyone is alright.

Something like this has, unfortunately, been coming. There are a cohort of far right anti-immigrant racist thugs stirring up hatred both online and in communities across the country. They are known to the Gardaí but there has been nothing done about them. They have attacked and burned out buildings already and nothing was done about them. They were outside the Dáil harassing TDs and still nothing was done, we just had the media making out that there was no difference between them and other protest groups! Maybe the Gardaí, media and politicians will take the threat that the far right pose in Ireland seriously.

The wanton criminality cannot solely be blamed on the far right though, but they have been the ones who have exploited it here in this case.

It should not be forgotten that it was an immigrant that intervened to protect the children on Parnell Sq yesterday afternoon and that it was mainly Irish born thugs who wrecked the city last night. The were doctors and nurses heading into the Mater and Rotunda in groups as they are afraid to travel individually.

The North Inner City gets a worse reputation than it usually deserves in my opinion, and of course as long term posters know I am biased, last night doesn't change that for me but it certainly makes the argument much more difficult to make to some people.

It's all so sad and I'm an extremely angry man this morning.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13770 - 24/11/2023 11:47:33    2514434

Replying To MesAmis:  "An awful day. I was out and about during the evening and the absolute madness and thuggery that enveloped the area was incredible. I'd have a strong connection to the school in question and just hope that everyone is alright.

Something like this has, unfortunately, been coming. There are a cohort of far right anti-immigrant racist thugs stirring up hatred both online and in communities across the country. They are known to the Gardaí but there has been nothing done about them. They have attacked and burned out buildings already and nothing was done about them. They were outside the Dáil harassing TDs and still nothing was done, we just had the media making out that there was no difference between them and other protest groups! Maybe the Gardaí, media and politicians will take the threat that the far right pose in Ireland seriously.

The wanton criminality cannot solely be blamed on the far right though, but they have been the ones who have exploited it here in this case.

It should not be forgotten that it was an immigrant that intervened to protect the children on Parnell Sq yesterday afternoon and that it was mainly Irish born thugs who wrecked the city last night. The were doctors and nurses heading into the Mater and Rotunda in groups as they are afraid to travel individually.

The North Inner City gets a worse reputation than it usually deserves in my opinion, and of course as long term posters know I am biased, last night doesn't change that for me but it certainly makes the argument much more difficult to make to some people.

It's all so sad and I'm an extremely angry man this morning."
The ordinary decent folk of the North Inner City are as genuine a people as you could meet mo chara.

There is no doubt that there is a sinister right-wing element festering away, not just in Ireland. They have a big problem with it in the UK, and unfortunately in other EU countries rightwing parties have made grounds in Italy, Holland and Slovakia.

But it's not just that. As you say last night's events can't solely be blamed on the far right though. A good proportion of them would also appear to adhere to the ideology of just being a ****.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9359 - 24/11/2023 12:24:40    2514444

Replying To Lockjaw:  "This is it. Back in the day the Guards had a certain amount of leeway when it came to disorder. Now I'm not saying they should be given carte blanche to deal with incidents like last night. But when the good men and women on the beat are put in a situation where they're neither feared nor respected then it becomes a problem."
They can't get recruits for the Gardaí in 2023. 150 gonna leave the force this year. Not an appealing job as it used to be.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7529 - 24/11/2023 12:32:46    2514447

Replying To GreenandRed:  "They can't get recruits for the Gardaí in 2023. 150 gonna leave the force this year. Not an appealing job as it used to be."
Hard blame them, can't imagine why anyone would put themselves through it

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 157 - 24/11/2023 12:44:25    2514451

Replying To MesAmis:  "An awful day. I was out and about during the evening and the absolute madness and thuggery that enveloped the area was incredible. I'd have a strong connection to the school in question and just hope that everyone is alright.

I'd take a bunch of unvetted immigrants a lot quicker than a bunch of thugs from that area. No interest in anything other than crime. Time for the bleeding hearts to pull their necks in. Giving scrotes everything they want and expecting them to become functioning members of society doesn't work. They have every opportunity they want.

ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 123 - 24/11/2023 12:49:42    2514453

"Our capital city"???.. Dublin has never been my capital city. Galway is. And, sadly, something similar will happen there soon too. It's just the way things are going....

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 500 - 24/11/2023 13:29:59    2514460

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Hmm maybe not the best deterrent so. Is a more heavy-handed approach needed? But the way things are, there would be a pushback on that as well. I saw someone tweeting coverage of the infamous night in Lansdowne Road in 1995. The guards didn't spare the batons that night."
Half those lads or more are unemployable. They are raised up not knowing how to work. Their "education " consists of whatever nonsense they read on social media. They are ripe to be exploited by more sinister elements.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 24/11/2023 13:35:14    2514461

Not just Dublin though, happens all over the world. Some people seize the opportunity of a riot to go looting and you can be sure it wasn't just the Irish looting . Criminal gangs are creating a lot of this . Christmas coming and shops and businesses have to worry about thugs, it's not on.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2097 - 24/11/2023 13:39:17    2514462