Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "ye boys are so jammy ye must have been in the chapel all morning"
The only group that will likely contain 2 of last year's All Ireland semi-finalist.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 138 - 01/05/2024 00:41:09    2542125

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "My research is 60 years of following Monaghan football. Quite honestly you haven't a clue what you are talking about as many others on this forum have stated previously."
And my research is actually playing against many of these lads in reserves and watching the others in the flesh.

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 152 - 01/05/2024 08:59:06    2542143

Anyone that is good enough to play county ball traverses through reserve football pretty damn quickly, always did always will. I'm not sure they honed their county level skills too much while passing through. Reserve football does though have an important role in bringing young 'Club' level footballers through from minor level to the adult game.

StMarysPark (Armagh) - Posts: 2 - 01/05/2024 09:37:26    2542156

The group stages for us will be nip and tuck unless theres a massive improvement from everyone. The last time we played meath was in league 2020 and we only managed a draw despite them being a fairly poor team. think that was in clones too...meath and louth already met this year and it was nip and tuck....Only one team wont advance which takes a lot of craic out of the groups as well. The losers of the group could be the team that concedes most to Kerry and our defense has leaked like a sieve all year. wouldn't be surprised if our depressing year continues. Hope I'm wrong. The good news is I'm looking forward to a trip to the Kingdom.

Without overthinking the whole thing I'm guessing a win and a draw will be enough for us. Here's hoping!

MalsBalls (Monaghan) - Posts: 186 - 03/05/2024 12:20:06    2542619

Replying To MalsBalls:  "The group stages for us will be nip and tuck unless theres a massive improvement from everyone. The last time we played meath was in league 2020 and we only managed a draw despite them being a fairly poor team. think that was in clones too...meath and louth already met this year and it was nip and tuck....Only one team wont advance which takes a lot of craic out of the groups as well. The losers of the group could be the team that concedes most to Kerry and our defense has leaked like a sieve all year. wouldn't be surprised if our depressing year continues. Hope I'm wrong. The good news is I'm looking forward to a trip to the Kingdom.

Without overthinking the whole thing I'm guessing a win and a draw will be enough for us. Here's hoping!"
Fully agree, Meath and Louth will also be a preview of Division 2 type teams we play in the league next year. It will be a real test.

MrPBoylan (Monaghan) - Posts: 122 - 03/05/2024 13:13:52    2542644

Replying To MalsBalls:  "The group stages for us will be nip and tuck unless theres a massive improvement from everyone. The last time we played meath was in league 2020 and we only managed a draw despite them being a fairly poor team. think that was in clones too...meath and louth already met this year and it was nip and tuck....Only one team wont advance which takes a lot of craic out of the groups as well. The losers of the group could be the team that concedes most to Kerry and our defense has leaked like a sieve all year. wouldn't be surprised if our depressing year continues. Hope I'm wrong. The good news is I'm looking forward to a trip to the Kingdom.

Without overthinking the whole thing I'm guessing a win and a draw will be enough for us. Here's hoping!"
Think you could well be right. Louth ourselves and Meath may all take points off each other leaving margin of defeat to kerry crucial as all three sides could end up same number of points. Louth to be fair to them if they can put in a decent show to dublin have momentum and have kicked some big scores this year. Think all depends on who we have available. If we can get most of injured players back and fit we will be OK hopefully. If team through regardless of the players sticks to the slow lateral game they played for most part v Cavan with mcmanus and mccarron up front then we are goosed.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1805 - 03/05/2024 13:22:39    2542648

Replying To seanie08:  "Think you could well be right. Louth ourselves and Meath may all take points off each other leaving margin of defeat to kerry crucial as all three sides could end up same number of points. Louth to be fair to them if they can put in a decent show to dublin have momentum and have kicked some big scores this year. Think all depends on who we have available. If we can get most of injured players back and fit we will be OK hopefully. If team through regardless of the players sticks to the slow lateral game they played for most part v Cavan with mcmanus and mccarron up front then we are goosed."
Tend to agree here, it's a fascinating enough group and everyone will be confident they have a shot.

As a few people have pointed it, it kind of takes the competitive edge of it a bit the fact 3 are going through, would be a right dog fight to see who goes through with Kerry if only 2 advanced.

But the form for all 3 teams shows there's not much between them, Monaghan's experience and knowhow at the level might be telling though, but looking forward to seeing how it plays out.

hyperache (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 03/05/2024 13:53:00    2542657

Interesting article/interview with Darren Hughes in the Irish News.
He has a very nasty injury. Hopefully he'll make a full recovery.
https://www.irishnews.com/gaa/gaelic-football/youd-imagine-its-a-write-off-for-the-season-darren-hughes-unsure-what-farney-future-holds-after-injury-75LEIO2HRRH7RG5IAG4ZATCGF4/

PolicemanFox (Monaghan) - Posts: 159 - 04/05/2024 19:36:19    2542921

Blayney for junior ? It's looking very likely

Monaghan37 (Monaghan) - Posts: 6 - 04/05/2024 22:08:16    2542976

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "The only group that will likely contain 2 of last year's All Ireland semi-finalist."
only group with 3 division 2 teams in it

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 457 - 04/05/2024 23:27:19    2543005

Replying To Monaghan37:  "Blayney for junior ? It's looking very likely"
Go on sure, I'll bite... Long way to go in the league yet and even at that there are the relegation playoff's for the bottom 4. In my honest opinion, Blayney will be in the bottom 4 but won't get relegated.

MrPBoylan (Monaghan) - Posts: 122 - 07/05/2024 16:41:00    2543528

Replying To MrPBoylan:  "Go on sure, I'll bite... Long way to go in the league yet and even at that there are the relegation playoff's for the bottom 4. In my honest opinion, Blayney will be in the bottom 4 but won't get relegated."
With the new systems it's harder for the likes of Blayney to be relegated. Hard to beat the old system of bottom 2 down but then the whole club season has changed so no county players for majority of the league... Its unfair in a way as last year Scotstown finished bottom then bring back the big guns for the playoff.

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 405 - 08/05/2024 08:31:05    2543603

Blayney won't go down, but I cannot understand how they are not doing better at Intermiedate level. Any shed any light on why they have been so poor?

222 (UK) - Posts: 698 - 08/05/2024 13:12:42    2543660

Replying To 222:  "Blayney won't go down, but I cannot understand how they are not doing better at Intermiedate level. Any shed any light on why they have been so poor?"
Poor players and not a decent manager in years ?

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 405 - 08/05/2024 16:14:35    2543705

I see the masters team are back. Be great to see what lads are lining up. Potential for a super team there

updafaughs (Monaghan) - Posts: 54 - 10/05/2024 09:39:17    2543933

Replying To mick2007:  "Could anyone tell me the logic behind Rory Beggan playing tonight and again Sunday… and we wonder why we struggle to get a sub keeper to commit to holding tackle bags year in year out.."
This aged well… post about McKenna cup game in 2022. .. looks like Rory is away again…

MrPBoylan (Monaghan) - Posts: 122 - 10/05/2024 21:12:13    2544012

Replying To MrPBoylan:  "This aged well… post about McKenna cup game in 2022. .. looks like Rory is away again…"
Which manager will be blame for this? I think malachy must have played him in every friendly , mc Kenny's cup etc

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 405 - 11/05/2024 10:24:01    2544032

Replying To veterngaa:  "Poor players and not a decent manager in years ?"
Blackhill v Castleblayney Saturday 25th May is the next fixture, I would be fairly confident that they haven't meet at senior level in over 70 years . The Muckno parish derby, pity its on the same evening as other fixture, it would attract some crown as a stand alone fixture on the friday night.

latefortraining (Monaghan) - Posts: 100 - 13/05/2024 16:45:22    2544548

Replying To veterngaa:  "Which manager will be blame for this? I think malachy must have played him in every friendly , mc Kenny's cup etc"
The last 3 managers

MrPBoylan (Monaghan) - Posts: 122 - 13/05/2024 20:32:37    2544588

Low key build up for saturday, I suspect everyone thinks kerry are winning this in second gear and monaghan will be plucky but kerry will have to much

222 (UK) - Posts: 698 - 14/05/2024 10:15:10    2544636