Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Dream draw would be Dublin, Louth, Cavan

Draw from Hell would be Kerry, Mayo, Cork"
Well we can't get either of those draws.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 138 - 29/04/2024 23:28:31    2541659

Replying To Jjoniel79:  "When Clontibret were at their peak they won the C and B championships 2 years in a row before their first senior championships- and went on to win all three each year for a few years after.

My point is that they were giving the young fellas heaps and heaps of ball instead of mindless training drills and they were better for it.

Gary Mohan and Conor McManus are two lads that spring to mind - weren't fantastic minors and were given a few years in reserve football to get up to speed.

There's been a major decline in the standards of football across the board with young fellas coming into senior football in Monaghan and it's badly affecting the county senior squad. In my view it's a symptom of a problem somewhere and just from going to hapes of games and actually getting a look around me at other clubs, the problem I can see is just how poor and stagnant reserve football has become. It only takes two injuries for a clubs senior team to need a few of the b's to step up and at the moment they're getting a poor standard of football to get them ready.

Scotstown knew how important good reserve football was - that's why they put their 2nd team players into junior football, to get competitive games against better opposition. If lads think reserve football should be for keeping the beer belly off oul fellas then I don't know what to say - yous may take up road bowls and hope Monaghan win an all Ireland at that..

Unless you can come up with a better reason for the obvious decline in the club scene - and why we haven't had another top class footballer come onto the county since the Hughes/McManus/O'Connell batch of lads I'm going to believe it has to do with the logical line of progression from minors to seniors being badly damaged by rules changes and general mistreatment by the county board."
McManus was Captain of the division 1 minor champions his last year minor, so that's one myth busted

Founder76 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1 - 29/04/2024 23:30:00    2541661

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "Well we can't get either of those draws."
wrong.. both draws ARE possible, espeically drawing Dublin (Pot 1), Louth (Pot 2) and Cavan (Pot 4) as Dublin will most likely beat Louth in Leinster final.

For Kerry, Mayo and Cork, it would take Galway to beat Mayo (which is 50:50) for that to be possible as Kerry will certainly beat Clare and Cork are in Pot 4 laready.

All will become clear at 3pm today.

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 104 - 30/04/2024 08:48:34    2541681

monaghanmad was half right.

His dream draw can't happen, other one can.

StMarysPark (Armagh) - Posts: 2 - 30/04/2024 12:03:08    2541749

Assuming Mayo, DL, Kerry and Dublin get the job done in finals

Best draw
Dublin
Clare
Monaghan
Meath

Worst Draw
Kerry
Armagh
Monaghan
Cork

Hoping for
Mayo
Louth
Monaghan
Cavan

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1066 - 30/04/2024 12:24:53    2541756

Replying To StMarysPark:  "monaghanmad was half right.

His dream draw can't happen, other one can."
ah yes.. you are right, apologies. Dublin and Louth can't be drawn in same group as they are meeting in Leinster final. I missed that.

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 104 - 30/04/2024 12:32:18    2541762

Replying To SouthMonMan:  "wrong.. both draws ARE possible, espeically drawing Dublin (Pot 1), Louth (Pot 2) and Cavan (Pot 4) as Dublin will most likely beat Louth in Leinster final.

For Kerry, Mayo and Cork, it would take Galway to beat Mayo (which is 50:50) for that to be possible as Kerry will certainly beat Clare and Cork are in Pot 4 laready.

All will become clear at 3pm today."
Still wrong. All WILL become clear for you later.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 138 - 30/04/2024 13:10:14    2541781

Group 1: Connacht winner, Ulster runner-up, Derry, Westmeath.

Group 2: Leinster champions and the Connacht runner-up, Roscommon, Cavan.

Group 3: Ulster champs and the Munster runner-up, Tyrone, Cork.

Group 4: Munster winners, Leinster runner-up, Monaghan and Meath.

MrPBoylan (Monaghan) - Posts: 122 - 30/04/2024 15:22:06    2541848

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "Still wrong. All WILL become clear for you later."
Handy enough - Louth and Meath . Another chance to beat Kerry for the first time in championship. We should finish second

Bernardo (Monaghan) - Posts: 597 - 30/04/2024 15:31:13    2541867

Kerry
Louth
Monaghan
Meath

Although I would have liked to avoid Kerry or Dublin, its still a very decent draw.
We should hope to beat both our Division 2 neighbours and qualify for a premlinary quarter final.
Getting Kerry in our first game up is not a bad thing either.

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 104 - 30/04/2024 15:35:55    2541872

Replying To SouthMonMan:  "Kerry
Louth
Monaghan
Meath

Although I would have liked to avoid Kerry or Dublin, its still a very decent draw.
We should hope to beat both our Division 2 neighbours and qualify for a premlinary quarter final.
Getting Kerry in our first game up is not a bad thing either."
It's the best draw I think … Kerry game is a shot in the dark then focus on Louth and Meath. Good as well because if Kerry beat us we would be going into the prelim quarter with hopefully 2 wins and momentum.
Would have been worse to have Kerry last game and get a hiding

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 405 - 30/04/2024 16:13:53    2541932

Be happy enough with the draw. If we aren't good enough to beat either louth in clones or meath at a neutral venue then we'd have no business talking about quarter finals. Looking across the groups you really wouldn't want to be travelling away to teams finishing second in any of them so need to come second. Have a feeling monaghan v cavan in clones for a place in quarter final.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1805 - 30/04/2024 16:46:11    2541972

When is first game?

Blackcardnot (USA) - Posts: 11 - 30/04/2024 17:06:18    2541986

When is first game?

Blackcardnot (USA) - Posts: 11 - 30/04/2024 17:10:03    2541990

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "Well the fact is almost none of the players you named ever played Reserve football. You were probably in the GPO in Easter 1916 also."
Do your research before making statements like that, I did mine - and every single one played more than one year of reserves.

I'm seeing plenty of geniuses coming with criticisms but none with answers - arguing with idiots just makes you one I suppose.

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 152 - 30/04/2024 18:22:49    2542032

If we play anyway from the cavan game and our league form, we won't be beating louth or meath.
Three division 2 teams, louth are improving fast and won't fear us. Both meath and louth have dangerous forward and out defense is in free fall. It will be hard enough in those games, i wouldn't be talking QF just yet.

222 (UK) - Posts: 698 - 30/04/2024 19:09:36    2542051

Others have said it already, this is not the worst draw.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 358 - 30/04/2024 19:38:19    2542060

Replying To 222:  "If we play anyway from the cavan game and our league form, we won't be beating louth or meath.
Three division 2 teams, louth are improving fast and won't fear us. Both meath and louth have dangerous forward and out defense is in free fall. It will be hard enough in those games, i wouldn't be talking QF just yet."
Thats the point through. If we cant beat them we have no business talking about Q/Fs. Its a good draw for us and for Meath/Louth also as theyll fancy their chances. For what its worth id exoect us to improve a lot from cavan game and beat both. No other ulster teams in it also so we will enjoy the change there. A fair test for us to get our season going. If wed got Cork and losers in ulster or connaught wed been in worse spot.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1805 - 30/04/2024 22:10:07    2542096

ye boys are so jammy ye must have been in the chapel all morning

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 457 - 30/04/2024 22:14:27    2542101

Replying To Jjoniel79:  "Do your research before making statements like that, I did mine - and every single one played more than one year of reserves.

I'm seeing plenty of geniuses coming with criticisms but none with answers - arguing with idiots just makes you one I suppose."
My research is 60 years of following Monaghan football. Quite honestly you haven't a clue what you are talking about as many others on this forum have stated previously.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 138 - 30/04/2024 22:26:22    2542104