Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "Dont agree with all this talking about stephen o neill and forward coaching he was there for the league and we probably scored the least number of goals of any team in all the divisions. We were the better team yesterday but there was not much in it the only reason we won was because when faulkner won that ball and beat his man he decided to go for goal where as for the past few years cavan players have been happy taking points from much better positions. This decision by faulkner and his brilliant goat won the game for cavan if he had taken the easy option and punched a point cavan would probably have lost this game."
The Faulker goal was key score. It was a poor match which only came alive with that goal. In truth Cavan should had another one directly after it. The monaghan defence was shocking. The second Cavan goal where they played the one two would never been allowed years back with us two up in injury time. There wasn't a glove laid on the lad going through. Was a great finish but again like the league div 4 defending. If and its a huge if we can shore up the defence think its 17 goals this year in league and championship then we might make it into a quarter final. The players will benefit from being totally written off and will know they are good enough to get there. Have to think yesterday was early April championship with too many injuries and lads not match fit so soon after relegation and come may and june things will be a lot different.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1800 - 08/04/2024 18:58:46    2536714

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "I've neglected to come swinging into your thread recently (but have been lurking) but have to say here. This right here is your problem. You boys are so league obsessed that you just can't see it. Who cares what league who was in recently? Some of your boys are too obsessed by this. Facts are we've had 3 relegations since 2019, yet we beat ye 3 times and won an Ulster in that time, but you keep going on about league. What good has clinging on and pitch invading last day of the league because you beat a dummy team to stay up actually done you? You think you're better than you are because you got a few league results and the media rub your belly, but you're actually not. Try and actually see where you are instead of the bloody league obsession and maybe you might actually do something as you have the talent to do it. Wake up here"
I'm one of the supporters who don't care about league I want championships. You mis took my post, the person said division 3 is coming, having a dig at monaghan downfall, I was pointing out that they went to division 4 and have regrouped. !!!!

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 71 - 08/04/2024 19:42:04    2536728

Replying To BrehonBlonde:  "It's actually incredible when you look at it that way. Because then there will be another 36 games to eliminate 4 teams. And then you have your preliminary quarter finals. They've made a flute of the whole thing."
The 36 games will crown 4 provincial championships and will eliminate more than just the 4 group 4th place teams.
They'll eliminate all but 12 teams from the Sam competition (so the 12 or so others who are left after those eliminated this past weekend)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 08/04/2024 19:57:17    2536732

Replying To cavanman47:  "The 36 games will crown 4 provincial championships and will eliminate more than just the 4 group 4th place teams.
They'll eliminate all but 12 teams from the Sam competition (so the 12 or so others who are left after those eliminated this past weekend)"
The games I'm talking about are the 36 in the Group Stages. Four groups of three, each play three games each, so each group playing nine games to eliminate one team. Mad stuff. This is why it won't be long before the Provincial Championships will be redundant, a warm up competition like the McKenna Cup used to be when it was played in April. That's why attendances are declining.

BrehonBlonde (Monaghan) - Posts: 31 - 09/04/2024 12:50:21    2536871

Replying To BrehonBlonde:  "The games I'm talking about are the 36 in the Group Stages. Four groups of three, each play three games each, so each group playing nine games to eliminate one team. Mad stuff. This is why it won't be long before the Provincial Championships will be redundant, a warm up competition like the McKenna Cup used to be when it was played in April. That's why attendances are declining."
I agree mostly. It is slightly more convoluted than that though. It weighting of the games. Finishing top means more as you go straight to quarters. So yes, on paper it looks like only 4 teams go out immediately, but it does reward finishing top and penalises finishing 2nd and 3rd (see Mayo last year), removes dead rubbers for the most part. So it's a little more nuanced than just 4 out - placing matters

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2386 - 09/04/2024 13:08:20    2536877

Replying To germac:  "i think thats a bit of a smart alec comment fella , theres no such thing as in your words laughing boys of Ulster, Monaghan have always carried themselves well and won a few hard earned Ulsters along the way , yes Derry are on the crest of a wave right now and that is great to see , but look have a bit of respect and manners to all of those teams who train just as hard as yourselves , good man mind yourself"
Correct, no need for that comment. Beggan is a fabulous athlete and any county would have him straight back in. Wishing Darren Hughes a speedy recovery, nice chap and a top GAA player.
Monaghan will reset, adjust and go again.

Shearer (Louth) - Posts: 829 - 09/04/2024 13:22:48    2536882

Replying To FoolsGold:  "He made a couple of great saves. Scored from playing and frees,45.

Lynch lopping him at the end had no difference to the result. The Derry keeper isn't an olympic sprinter either going back"
yes i agree harsh to blame beggan he had to push foward time was near up otherwise he had a good game ..our boys had the better tactics turnovers and faster ball movement when playing the wind

breffnibhoy (Cavan) - Posts: 21 - 09/04/2024 15:28:53    2536928

any word on Darren?

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 09/04/2024 18:52:51    2536977

Stupid comment being made by one poster. Beggan is, and has been the best keeper in the country over the last number of years. Ref gave a incorrect free for last goal even though it would have made no difference to the outcome.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 09/04/2024 21:23:39    2537005

Replying To browncows:  "Stupid comment being made by one poster. Beggan is, and has been the best keeper in the country over the last number of years. Ref gave a incorrect free for last goal even though it would have made no difference to the outcome."
dont know why more people arent talking about this...i hate complaining about the ref when we wer poor anyway but your really fighting a losing battle with poor refereeing decisions...even at the game when bannigan was deemed to foul the defender, i was surprised nobody in the crowd were giving out - i simply dont believe it was a foul and that would've given us a fighting chance of a dramatic finish

MalsBalls (Monaghan) - Posts: 181 - 10/04/2024 10:04:30    2537062

Replying To browncows:  "Stupid comment being made by one poster. Beggan is, and has been the best keeper in the country over the last number of years. Ref gave a incorrect free for last goal even though it would have made no difference to the outcome."
That was a free all day long. Look back at it. Bannigan got the ball, Ciaran Brady tried to tackle and Bannigan held Bradys hand between his arm and body in an attempt to buy a free in. You know this happens, we see it all the time. The ref saw it and did not buy it. He have the free for Cavan for holding the tacklers arm. Watch it back

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2386 - 10/04/2024 10:39:52    2537070

Replying To MalsBalls:  "dont know why more people arent talking about this...i hate complaining about the ref when we wer poor anyway but your really fighting a losing battle with poor refereeing decisions...even at the game when bannigan was deemed to foul the defender, i was surprised nobody in the crowd were giving out - i simply dont believe it was a foul and that would've given us a fighting chance of a dramatic finish"
He let a blatant push in the back from Darren Hughes go. Other than that, I didn't see any real howlers.

He gave soft frees all day, I'd agree with that, but he was consistent. Thats all you can ask.

Cavan's approached playing into the wind by carrying the ball and driving at the Monaghan defence.
Monaghan played outside the Cavan blanket and worked openings that way.

So Cavan drew more of those frees as they took on their man more. Monaghan didn't have the pace to do that with McCarron and McManus inside.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 10/04/2024 11:43:17    2537086

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "That was a free all day long. Look back at it. Bannigan got the ball, Ciaran Brady tried to tackle and Bannigan held Bradys hand between his arm and body in an attempt to buy a free in. You know this happens, we see it all the time. The ref saw it and did not buy it. He have the free for Cavan for holding the tacklers arm. Watch it back"
Just after watching it again and it's a definite free for Cavan you can see the Monaghan player pulling ciaran Brady's arm in and holding it. Good call by the referee.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 883 - 10/04/2024 12:10:35    2537098

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "That was a free all day long. Look back at it. Bannigan got the ball, Ciaran Brady tried to tackle and Bannigan held Bradys hand between his arm and body in an attempt to buy a free in. You know this happens, we see it all the time. The ref saw it and did not buy it. He have the free for Cavan for holding the tacklers arm. Watch it back"
Bannigan needs a tutorial from McManus on how to win frees that way :)

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 10/04/2024 12:21:27    2537100

Not a hope cavan player arm over the shoulder of monaghan lad and the ref was behind the two player should not hav giving a free to anybody because he couldn't c anything

Lad79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 53 - 10/04/2024 12:30:36    2537104

Replying To Lad79:  "Not a hope cavan player arm over the shoulder of monaghan lad and the ref was behind the two player should not hav giving a free to anybody because he couldn't c anything"
He went hand for the ball, and Bannigan pinned his arm. It's a free that ball carriers try to win and refs are now wise to it. You'll just have to suck it up, ref was right there and view in front of him and he clearly signalled what he gave the free for. You can't be this naive to think players don't try and win frees this way

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2386 - 10/04/2024 12:40:19    2537110

You are rite chap

Lad79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 53 - 10/04/2024 13:24:47    2537123

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "He went hand for the ball, and Bannigan pinned his arm. It's a free that ball carriers try to win and refs are now wise to it. You'll just have to suck it up, ref was right there and view in front of him and he clearly signalled what he gave the free for. You can't be this naive to think players don't try and win frees this way"
I was right in front of this, the Cavan man split him with a forearm into the stomach, From that first contact it should have been a free to Monaghan. Poor decision by the ref..

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 801 - 10/04/2024 13:27:55    2537125

Replying To Farney:  "I was right in front of this, the Cavan man split him with a forearm into the stomach, From that first contact it should have been a free to Monaghan. Poor decision by the ref.."
I was in front of it too. He went for the ball, Bannigan pinned his arm. Watch it back. Clear when you watch it

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2386 - 10/04/2024 13:54:04    2537133

yea i was reluctant to bring it up because ultimately we lost the game because we were *****...the ref gave a few soft frees and that was a debatable one for me but ultimately the ref didnt lose the game for us

MalsBalls (Monaghan) - Posts: 181 - 10/04/2024 14:16:26    2537139