Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To McGuirk1985@:  "Weren't yous in division 4 not long ago? Take your bitterness elsewhere"
I've neglected to come swinging into your thread recently (but have been lurking) but have to say here. This right here is your problem. You boys are so league obsessed that you just can't see it. Who cares what league who was in recently? Some of your boys are too obsessed by this. Facts are we've had 3 relegations since 2019, yet we beat ye 3 times and won an Ulster in that time, but you keep going on about league. What good has clinging on and pitch invading last day of the league because you beat a dummy team to stay up actually done you? You think you're better than you are because you got a few league results and the media rub your belly, but you're actually not. Try and actually see where you are instead of the bloody league obsession and maybe you might actually do something as you have the talent to do it. Wake up here

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2386 - 08/04/2024 00:55:48    2536428

Can we please return to the old format when teams were given a break between the National league and the Championship, this new system is diabolical. Playing the first game of the Championship on the 7th of April and the grounds half empty, that game would have been a sell out under the old system.
No matter what sort of performance you had in the league, teams were given the chance to recharge and regroup and come out chomping at the bit for Championship football. How does the GAA expect footballers to maintain a passion for the game under the present playing conditions/calender
Hopefully falling ticket sales will eventually make them see sense and we'll return to Summer Championship football again

Blackcardnot (USA) - Posts: 9 - 08/04/2024 02:12:24    2536431

Replying To FoolsGold:  "He made a couple of great saves. Scored from playing and frees,45.

Lynch lopping him at the end had no difference to the result. The Derry keeper isn't an olympic sprinter either going back"
Osin Brady should have made him pay as well but he was off target… he is very slow and cumbersome when out the field… I love it when it goes wrong for keepers who go wandering…good enough for them

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1933 - 08/04/2024 05:57:02    2536435

Lack of forwards is a huge problem for us at the movement. Are we that short in quality young forwards that are tearing it up at club scene? Few that spring to mind is Pauric McMahon from Magheracloone been the Mitchell's key forward this number of years now but hasn't been called in for some reason? He should be minimum in the squad at least.

Bantysbabes123 (Monaghan) - Posts: 21 - 08/04/2024 07:47:04    2536439

Replying To border Gael:  "I think Monaghan need a good forwards coach. Stephen O Neill is Cavans forwards coach. Theyre a different animal now. Imagine a club in North Monaghan thought he wasn't fit to be their manager. We desperately need someone of his calibre to get the best out of our forwards and get more people with confidence to have a shot rather than back and cross pass"
You're right, I think Stevie O Neill yesterday on the Cavan setup could have been the difference. Bigger teams than club teams didn't think him good enough, Tyrone could do with him now that they have top forwards to play with. A wins a win in Ulster but group stages are coming.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 08/04/2024 08:13:26    2536443

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "I've neglected to come swinging into your thread recently (but have been lurking) but have to say here. This right here is your problem. You boys are so league obsessed that you just can't see it. Who cares what league who was in recently? Some of your boys are too obsessed by this. Facts are we've had 3 relegations since 2019, yet we beat ye 3 times and won an Ulster in that time, but you keep going on about league. What good has clinging on and pitch invading last day of the league because you beat a dummy team to stay up actually done you? You think you're better than you are because you got a few league results and the media rub your belly, but you're actually not. Try and actually see where you are instead of the bloody league obsession and maybe you might actually do something as you have the talent to do it. Wake up here"
jezz.. that is a very bitter post, even in victory :) you'd think you'd come onto our forum talking about Cavan's chances in Ulster now, rather than still appearing bitter because Monaghan have reached two All Ireland semi finals in the past 6 years, whereas Cavan almost won a Tailteann Cup.
You will find out in Cavan in time that for smaller counties like Monaghan (and Cavan), league position is very important and I would much rather return to Division 1 next year and be playing the top teams week in, week out rather move between Div 2 and Div 3 every ohter year and celebrate a first round Ulster championship win instead and do nothing else for the year. Its being in Division one, playing the likes of Dublin and Kerry, that makes younger lads in the county want to play football and dream of playing and winning in Corke Park (against top opposition) when they get older, its builds confidence!
For me, I think we will struggle for a few years now as we rebuild, but we will return, as we have had good underage success since 2018 and good structures within the county, and we must bring some of those players through now. Have Cavan even a center of excellence ?
I hope Darren Hughes injury is not too bad, he still has a lot to offer Monaghan and I would hate for that to be his last appearence in a Monaghan jersey.
Cavan need to push on now and try and beat Tyrone, which is very possible as Tyrone are not great at the moment. However, Derry and Armagh are miles ahead of Cavan at the moment so an Ulster title is out of reach this year I'd say. We will see how Cavan perform in the group stages of the All Ireland series as Monaghan didn't really look interested yesterday, which was disappointing. It would be great to meet again later in the championship.
Very small crowd at the game yesterday, I'd say Monaghan outnumbered Cavan 3:1, why are Cavan supporters not interested ? is it because of lingering in the lower diviisons for years, there is no fait in the team ?
Oh and please don't embarrass yourself by referring to your Ulster Championship in 2020, we all know it was a kind of a pretend championship during Covid times. I don't think you'll have too many Tipperary suupporters referring to their provincial championship win in 2020 after Waterford beating them yesterday.

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 101 - 08/04/2024 08:54:57    2536449

Monaghan were at their best last year moving it at pace with players like o connell Mccarthy bannigan o hanlon mcemespie. Three of them missing yesterday. We have no pace in the inside line so teams can exploit that. Didnt think we would see Jack and mansy starting together again after Derry match last year. Karl Gallagher is a big loss also as he was a presence inside last year and option on kick outs. To the poster asking why younger players have not come through I'd say too much emphasis on staying in div 1 and playing older lads to do that in games.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1800 - 08/04/2024 09:07:16    2536453

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "I've neglected to come swinging into your thread recently (but have been lurking) but have to say here. This right here is your problem. You boys are so league obsessed that you just can't see it. Who cares what league who was in recently? Some of your boys are too obsessed by this. Facts are we've had 3 relegations since 2019, yet we beat ye 3 times and won an Ulster in that time, but you keep going on about league. What good has clinging on and pitch invading last day of the league because you beat a dummy team to stay up actually done you? You think you're better than you are because you got a few league results and the media rub your belly, but you're actually not. Try and actually see where you are instead of the bloody league obsession and maybe you might actually do something as you have the talent to do it. Wake up here"
While I agree a few here are obsessed with the league and being division 1, I also think league shows where a team's level is at. League has always been a true measure of the teams quality and championship where teams can win one off games and make a semi or final.

Unfortunately championship has become a glorified league now with groups etc. I'd like to go back to straight knockout like we had in 2020. In theory you could play two rounds of the league (home and away) as a result.

MrPBoylan (Monaghan) - Posts: 114 - 08/04/2024 09:16:46    2536457

Replying To Blackcardnot:  "Can we please return to the old format when teams were given a break between the National league and the Championship, this new system is diabolical. Playing the first game of the Championship on the 7th of April and the grounds half empty, that game would have been a sell out under the old system.
No matter what sort of performance you had in the league, teams were given the chance to recharge and regroup and come out chomping at the bit for Championship football. How does the GAA expect footballers to maintain a passion for the game under the present playing conditions/calender
Hopefully falling ticket sales will eventually make them see sense and we'll return to Summer Championship football again"
Agree with this there wasnt much of a championship feel about the ground or clones yesterday. Usually have to park a good bit out from the ground and walk for ages. Yesterday felt like a league match. If it were old format youd have double the crowd there at least . The standard of football for the most part was v average also. Good luck to Cavan by the way. Paddy Lynch is some free taker you always have a chance with a player like that in the side.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1800 - 08/04/2024 10:01:06    2536471

Very very poor. Conceding three goals again.. Maybe everyone gunning for McDonnells head this last number of weeks can re-access their opinions now. Not saying Beggan shouldn't of started but McDonnell wasn't as bad as a lot made out here throughout the league playing a lot better teams than Cavan.

We have a lot more problems than a goalkeeper. We cannot forget the amount of quality we were missing yesterday D Ward, O Hanlon, Bannigan, McAnespie and then D Hughes for the second half we may say, That is a back bone of a young team. Cavan were good and beat us fair and square- no denying that but after scoring the goal to go ahead that was our chance to hold on to it.

So many be grudgers on here, one week they are backing the management and the next they are driving knives into their backs. Lets be a little more supportive of the whole thing.

countymonaghan (Monaghan) - Posts: 273 - 08/04/2024 10:02:56    2536473

Replying To SouthMonMan:  "jezz.. that is a very bitter post, even in victory :) you'd think you'd come onto our forum talking about Cavan's chances in Ulster now, rather than still appearing bitter because Monaghan have reached two All Ireland semi finals in the past 6 years, whereas Cavan almost won a Tailteann Cup.
You will find out in Cavan in time that for smaller counties like Monaghan (and Cavan), league position is very important and I would much rather return to Division 1 next year and be playing the top teams week in, week out rather move between Div 2 and Div 3 every ohter year and celebrate a first round Ulster championship win instead and do nothing else for the year. Its being in Division one, playing the likes of Dublin and Kerry, that makes younger lads in the county want to play football and dream of playing and winning in Corke Park (against top opposition) when they get older, its builds confidence!
For me, I think we will struggle for a few years now as we rebuild, but we will return, as we have had good underage success since 2018 and good structures within the county, and we must bring some of those players through now. Have Cavan even a center of excellence ?
I hope Darren Hughes injury is not too bad, he still has a lot to offer Monaghan and I would hate for that to be his last appearence in a Monaghan jersey.
Cavan need to push on now and try and beat Tyrone, which is very possible as Tyrone are not great at the moment. However, Derry and Armagh are miles ahead of Cavan at the moment so an Ulster title is out of reach this year I'd say. We will see how Cavan perform in the group stages of the All Ireland series as Monaghan didn't really look interested yesterday, which was disappointing. It would be great to meet again later in the championship.
Very small crowd at the game yesterday, I'd say Monaghan outnumbered Cavan 3:1, why are Cavan supporters not interested ? is it because of lingering in the lower diviisons for years, there is no fait in the team ?
Oh and please don't embarrass yourself by referring to your Ulster Championship in 2020, we all know it was a kind of a pretend championship during Covid times. I don't think you'll have too many Tipperary suupporters referring to their provincial championship win in 2020 after Waterford beating them yesterday."
I'm not bitter at all, and the fact you can't see that and fail to see the valid criticism is telling. I enjoyed the victory yesterday immensely. I didn't come here gloating or such, I commented on the League fixation which I see here regularly. And why would I come in here talking of Cavans chances in Ulster? It is the Monaghan thread, no need for when other threads are for that. I kept the topic to Monaghan. I just expect better off yourselves. Why don't you?

Why would I be embarrassed by 2020? It was a great win and we beat good sides to win that. It's funny you say this while one of your fellows below said that 2020 was a better style Championship. Tipperary are a very different animal in that they only needed to win one game really that Championship (that being a flighty Cork team). Hardly the same as Cavan winning Ulster from preliminary round and beating the likes of yourselves and Donegal (who were put up as 2nd favourites to challenge Dublin that year). Don't be bitter yourself as you haven't won it in 10 years despite being a Division 1 mainstay in that time. That Ulster win was a great one, not a pretend one

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2386 - 08/04/2024 10:13:53    2536480

Replying To SouthMonMan:  "jezz.. that is a very bitter post, even in victory :) you'd think you'd come onto our forum talking about Cavan's chances in Ulster now, rather than still appearing bitter because Monaghan have reached two All Ireland semi finals in the past 6 years, whereas Cavan almost won a Tailteann Cup.
Oh and please don't embarrass yourself by referring to your Ulster Championship in 2020, we all know it was a kind of a pretend championship during Covid times. I don't think you'll have too many Tipperary suupporters referring to their provincial championship win in 2020 after Waterford beating them yesterday."
If Monaghan weren't interested yesterday then why did they bring Rory Beggan back in? And why did they ask McManus to go 80mins?

They were interested. They weren't good enough.

The home team outnumbering the away team 3:1 is nothing unusual and was probably more even than any other game played yesterday (apart from Mayo v NY).

As for your pretend championship comment. You must see the irony there. . .Monaghan have spent a decade winning "crunch" games against teams who threw the fringe lads out for the last round of the league (and super 8s in 2018).
All to keep yourself happy in the delusion that you're somehow better than the team who have now beat you 3 times in succession in the championship with yesterday's winning margin being the biggest seen in this fixture in over 50 years.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 08/04/2024 10:18:04    2536481

Well that was a bitterly disappoint result and performance. I think Cahair O'Kane had a article last week about the game and where it would be won and lost. He got it right about how Cavan would play. Lynch scored on average 1pt from play per game during the NFL, but was averaging 6 to 7 from frees. Cavan would funnel play down the left hand side as that's Lynch's zone. They don't really have a reliable right hand side free taker. Monaghan needed to be disciplined and try funnel Cavan down the right hand side, especially in winding conditions. And that is how it panned out yesterday. Monaghan's repeated fouling in Lynch's scoring zone kept Cavan in touching distance in the 1st half. Monaghan mgmt and players can't exactly say how Cavan were going to play was a surprise. Monaghan with that wind should have had a bigger half time lead. There are numerous reasons that they didn't. Collective focus, selection decisions, tactical play and individual errors.

Some players yesterday were not switched on. For example, Irwin's focus was shot and had to be subbed off at half time. Shortly before he had a foul for over carrying in the 1st half I seen him remonstrating with the mgmt team as he was running past them. McCarron didn't have a good day. His athleticism was never his strong point but his passing was off yesterday. You'd think Jones is now a more viable option to start.

Am I the only one who was shocked to see Loughran starting? Of all the options for a defender, he's the least comfortable defender on the ball and lacks pace for inter county level. Sadly both those deficiencies were shown up. The half forward line really lacked line breakers with pace. Young Hamill made a big difference and he should have started.

Defensively the team is in dire need of new blood. Div 2 next year will be so important to essentially build a new team. Young players will need to be trusted next year. I hope that D Hughes injury isn't a Monaghan career ending one, but it really looked a bad one.

sleater (Monaghan) - Posts: 152 - 08/04/2024 10:20:37    2536483

Replying To MrPBoylan:  "While I agree a few here are obsessed with the league and being division 1, I also think league shows where a team's level is at. League has always been a true measure of the teams quality and championship where teams can win one off games and make a semi or final.

Unfortunately championship has become a glorified league now with groups etc. I'd like to go back to straight knockout like we had in 2020. In theory you could play two rounds of the league (home and away) as a result."
I get that to a point, and usually and mostly I'd agree. However for many years of yourselves being in Div1, your Championships haven't reflected that for the most part and you routinely lose to lower League ranked teams in Championship since 2016. There's a balance is all. Have a good Spring, sure, but be ready for Championship rather than emptying yourselves those years to stay up. I dunno, maybe I'm being hard here (and I know we can hardly crow - but this isn't about Cavan, I can talk about them on other threads) but from just yourselves looking at yourselves, should you not have better expectations? Jeez, like I expect better from yous based on how you did compete with top teams regularly in League

Yeah I'd like that too. A great idea. Play League home and away and go straight knockout and make Championship be what it is actually about.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2386 - 08/04/2024 10:22:54    2536485

Lol, this is beautiful. Gold in practically every sentence

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 08/04/2024 10:23:20    2536486

is Vinny Corey just another teacher in management following a curriculum?

The old zonal marking system seems to be a thing of the past and we now have a game where you are tracking runners. i dont fully understand the ins and outs of it but i guess now the general plan is, if you get turned over in attack, you retreat back, while slowing the game down for the opposition...Our problem seems to be we dont slow the game down for the opposition. Then the counter happens too quickly for us to compete.

I noticed yesterday at one point that mohan was our sole man in defence, obviously tracking somebody back. I like Gary Mohan but he's not our best defender. When cavanagh scored that goal against us the two lads closest to him were mcnulty and bannigan - tracking back...On the flip side, most of the time im watching otoole he is up in the opposition 45. Jack Mccarron is probably one of the most accurate players in the country. He's scored very few points so far this year as he seems to be "pulling strings" in the middle of the field.

WHY CANT WE JUST PLAY TO OUR STRENGTHS? and have our best attackers in attacking roles and best defenders in defensive roles. can we not re-write the script and play our own game?

For me the only positions that should be 100% interchangeable are the half backs and the half forwards. Everyone else should be on the pitch to do a specific job - either attack or defend. That doesn't mean that they shouldn't do the other role but the main focus is one thing. that's just my opinion. This current system is not working

BTW - i thought all Monaghan players played pretty good yesterday - we were just beaten by better tactics.

Wishing Darren a speedy recovery. Hopefully see him again before the end of the year - Maybe our best player yesterday.

MalsBalls (Monaghan) - Posts: 181 - 08/04/2024 10:51:50    2536501

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "I get that to a point, and usually and mostly I'd agree. However for many years of yourselves being in Div1, your Championships haven't reflected that for the most part and you routinely lose to lower League ranked teams in Championship since 2016. There's a balance is all. Have a good Spring, sure, but be ready for Championship rather than emptying yourselves those years to stay up. I dunno, maybe I'm being hard here (and I know we can hardly crow - but this isn't about Cavan, I can talk about them on other threads) but from just yourselves looking at yourselves, should you not have better expectations? Jeez, like I expect better from yous based on how you did compete with top teams regularly in League

Yeah I'd like that too. A great idea. Play League home and away and go straight knockout and make Championship be what it is actually about."
Yes we have better expectations like getting back to an all Ireland semi final like last year....

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 379 - 08/04/2024 10:57:23    2536504

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Yes we have better expectations like getting back to an all Ireland semi final like last year...."
Yes we have better expectations like getting back to an all Ireland semi final like last year....
monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 08/04/2024 10:57:23 2

The best of luck with that you will need it all on the back of 7 straight defeats.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 848 - 08/04/2024 11:15:47    2536513

Replying To Saynothing:  "You're right, I think Stevie O Neill yesterday on the Cavan setup could have been the difference. Bigger teams than club teams didn't think him good enough, Tyrone could do with him now that they have top forwards to play with. A wins a win in Ulster but group stages are coming."
The same club that turned him down is now paying a journeyman manager to take their minor team just to spite some of their own clubmen.

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 150 - 08/04/2024 11:36:54    2536522

Replying To MrPBoylan:  "While I agree a few here are obsessed with the league and being division 1, I also think league shows where a team's level is at. League has always been a true measure of the teams quality and championship where teams can win one off games and make a semi or final.

Unfortunately championship has become a glorified league now with groups etc. I'd like to go back to straight knockout like we had in 2020. In theory you could play two rounds of the league (home and away) as a result."
I keep repeating this but, I'd like All Ireland championships to begin with Div 3and 4 teams playing in an open draw, winners join Div 2 teams in open draw and winners play to a finish with Div 1 teams in open draw.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 08/04/2024 11:36:54    2536523