Monaghan GAA thread

I think that's the time he got the idea that coming out the field and running around a bit was a lot more fun that being stuck between the posts, only he manages to solo or hop it a bit more now than in 2013!

BreffniGael (Cavan) - Posts: 46 - 12/04/2024 15:56:48    2537551

Replying To veterngaa:  "Yous have a lot to be at if you are sour over that…"
I don't know why they're engaging in a to and fro with you, to be honest. This whole conversation is pointless. Monaghan were beaten by the better team. A team you havent beaten in ages. We would have won by more if Beggan hadn't kept the shot from lynch out in the first half. Take your beating and move on.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 87 - 12/04/2024 16:16:34    2537557

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "I don't know why they're engaging in a to and fro with you, to be honest. This whole conversation is pointless. Monaghan were beaten by the better team. A team you havent beaten in ages. We would have won by more if Beggan hadn't kept the shot from lynch out in the first half. Take your beating and move on."
Move on to where? This is the Monaghan forum. Are you lost?

I suppose beating Monaghan is a big thing for Cavam these days and it's good to see 1950s style football getting an outing occasionally,

Enjoy the win while you can, I think you'll find out that beating a team missing at least 5 Divison 1 calibre players and no pace in the full forward line is as good as it's going to get this year. Although Tyrone are no great shakes so maybe you've one more shot left in you. But Cavan's first game is generally their best and it tends to be downhill after that.

PolicemanFox (Monaghan) - Posts: 158 - 12/04/2024 22:40:34    2537588

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "I don't know why they're engaging in a to and fro with you, to be honest. This whole conversation is pointless. Monaghan were beaten by the better team. A team you havent beaten in ages. We would have won by more if Beggan hadn't kept the shot from lynch out in the first half. Take your beating and move on."
Aye maybe you'd move on to. Cavan will win nothing so it'll mean nothing.

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 71 - 12/04/2024 23:39:50    2537595

Replying To BreffniGael:  "Agree on both of those, potentially a 2 point swing there. Anyway we are still owed from Beggan's 13 steps in 2013 when we should have had a 21 yard tap over to draw level in the last minute!"
And don't mention the blatant penalty. A tap in.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 122 - 13/04/2024 02:59:01    2537603

Replying To McGuirk1985@:  "Aye maybe you'd move on to. Cavan will win nothing so it'll mean nothing."
Monaghan haven't won much lately either. We've more chance of winning than you this year anyway.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 87 - 13/04/2024 08:13:05    2537608

Replying To PolicemanFox:  "Move on to where? This is the Monaghan forum. Are you lost?

I suppose beating Monaghan is a big thing for Cavam these days and it's good to see 1950s style football getting an outing occasionally,

Enjoy the win while you can, I think you'll find out that beating a team missing at least 5 Divison 1 calibre players and no pace in the full forward line is as good as it's going to get this year. Although Tyrone are no great shakes so maybe you've one more shot left in you. But Cavan's first game is generally their best and it tends to be downhill after that."
Beating Monaghan isn't that big a deal actually. We've developed a good habit of doing that lately. As for enjoying the win while we can. No. We'll enjoy the win long after the season ends for us, whether that's a long or short time in the future. We'll remind you about it too. On the missing player thing. None of the missing players were any better than McVeety and Mcgloughlin, or more experienced than Killian Clarke for that matter. We were missing more important players than you were. Our first game is generally our best? Ah here. Look at your own league run.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 87 - 13/04/2024 08:20:03    2537609

Brandon McCague a shout for a long term beggan replacement?

he has shown good commitment to the blayney jersey and a real willingness to work!

monaghan12 (Monaghan) - Posts: 12 - 13/04/2024 09:43:37    2537615

We didn't show up yet again against cavan. They won the Derby fair and sqaure, and best of luck to them. No point making silly arguments on league standings as some monaghan posters have been doing. We seem to making every excuse under the sun, injuries, ref but cavan deserved it. We blew a winning position in injury time, poor game management again. Becoming a habit.

222 (UK) - Posts: 694 - 13/04/2024 11:56:44    2537626

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "Monaghan haven't won much lately either. We've more chance of winning than you this year anyway."
You'll win nothing that was cavan at their best. And monaghan unfortunately are now at their worst. Anyway it is what is

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 71 - 13/04/2024 12:04:30    2537627

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "Beating Monaghan isn't that big a deal actually. We've developed a good habit of doing that lately. As for enjoying the win while we can. No. We'll enjoy the win long after the season ends for us, whether that's a long or short time in the future. We'll remind you about it too. On the missing player thing. None of the missing players were any better than McVeety and Mcgloughlin, or more experienced than Killian Clarke for that matter. We were missing more important players than you were. Our first game is generally our best? Ah here. Look at your own league run."
It must be a big deal cause cavan people haven't shut up all week. At least when we had a good team we won ulster's and got to semi finals and beat all the big teams in division 1 home and away. Anytime cavan came up to division 1 they swiftly went back down . Our time is over unfortunately but we'll re group and go again. Cavan highlights these days is winning an odd game here and there.

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 71 - 13/04/2024 12:14:12    2537629

Replying To McGuirk1985@:  "It must be a big deal cause cavan people haven't shut up all week. At least when we had a good team we won ulster's and got to semi finals and beat all the big teams in division 1 home and away. Anytime cavan came up to division 1 they swiftly went back down . Our time is over unfortunately but we'll re group and go again. Cavan highlights these days is winning an odd game here and there."
It must be a big deal cause cavan people haven't shut up all week. At least when we had a good team we won ulster's and got to semi finals and beat all the big teams in division 1 home and away. Anytime cavan came up to division 1 they swiftly went back down . Our time is over unfortunately but we'll re group and go again. Cavan highlights these days is winning an odd game here and there.
McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 66 - 13/04/2024 12:14:12

Jeez you are taking it bad. Chin up!

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 848 - 13/04/2024 14:21:37    2537640

Replying To McGuirk1985@:  "It must be a big deal cause cavan people haven't shut up all week. At least when we had a good team we won ulster's and got to semi finals and beat all the big teams in division 1 home and away. Anytime cavan came up to division 1 they swiftly went back down . Our time is over unfortunately but we'll re group and go again. Cavan highlights these days is winning an odd game here and there."
We won an Ulster 4 years ago. You haven't won one since 2015. Winning the odd game here and there! Ah here. We've made a habit of beating you all the same. Best of luck in the All Ireland series, like ourselves, you'll need it.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 87 - 13/04/2024 17:36:40    2537680

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "We won an Ulster 4 years ago. You haven't won one since 2015. Winning the odd game here and there! Ah here. We've made a habit of beating you all the same. Best of luck in the All Ireland series, like ourselves, you'll need it."
Aye well done yas are great

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 71 - 13/04/2024 18:16:38    2537685

Replying To BreffniGael:  "Agree on both of those, potentially a 2 point swing there. Anyway we are still owed from Beggan's 13 steps in 2013 when we should have had a 21 yard tap over to draw level in the last minute!"
Same game when tv reported that ball clearly over Cavan goal line and then handled on the ground to clear it. But who care now lol

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 351 - 13/04/2024 20:22:34    2537695

Cavan have won their Ulster final & a rightly celebrating. But that's it lads & you know it. Monaghan will go further this year ....no worries !

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 351 - 13/04/2024 20:28:03    2537697

Replying To Shelbourne1:  "Cavan have won their Ulster final & a rightly celebrating. But that's it lads & you know it. Monaghan will go further this year ....no worries !"
Wise up would you.. you're gloating even though the county and the club team are in bad shape.

Cavan won fair and square, Tyrone will likely see them off but if they don't Derry will - and that's not a dig at Cavan either. Monaghan, Cavan, Armagh and Donegal all need to look at the work Derry have done and then look in the mirror.

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 150 - 14/04/2024 10:58:24    2537729

Replying To Jjoniel79:  "Wise up would you.. you're gloating even though the county and the club team are in bad shape.

Cavan won fair and square, Tyrone will likely see them off but if they don't Derry will - and that's not a dig at Cavan either. Monaghan, Cavan, Armagh and Donegal all need to look at the work Derry have done and then look in the mirror."
I think it you that needs to wise up. 2023 All Ireland semi-finalist and All Ireland Minor finalist. Think we are doing just OK.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 122 - 15/04/2024 00:19:30    2537875

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "We won an Ulster 4 years ago. You haven't won one since 2015. Winning the odd game here and there! Ah here. We've made a habit of beating you all the same. Best of luck in the All Ireland series, like ourselves, you'll need it."
Would Cavan folk stop referring to the Covid Ulster title in 2020.. it was a complete fluke.. same as Tipperary's munster championship the same year.. its not like you were building up to it or did anything after it, Cavan were actually relegated to Div 3 the same year. Monaghan's Ulster win of 2013 was a surprise to many, as we defeated the regining All-Ireland champions but we backed it up the following year by reaching the Ulster final again and winning it again in 2015. We have stayed in the top tier since. We really should have had an All Ireland final appearence in the last 10 years (2018 was our best chance) We'll judge Monaghan's year this year after the group stages.

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 101 - 15/04/2024 09:17:38    2537902

Replying To SouthMonMan:  "Would Cavan folk stop referring to the Covid Ulster title in 2020.. it was a complete fluke.. same as Tipperary's munster championship the same year.. its not like you were building up to it or did anything after it, Cavan were actually relegated to Div 3 the same year. Monaghan's Ulster win of 2013 was a surprise to many, as we defeated the regining All-Ireland champions but we backed it up the following year by reaching the Ulster final again and winning it again in 2015. We have stayed in the top tier since. We really should have had an All Ireland final appearence in the last 10 years (2018 was our best chance) We'll judge Monaghan's year this year after the group stages."
Would Cavan folk stop referring to the Covid Ulster title in 2020.. it was a complete fluke.. same as Tipperary's munster championship the same year.. its not like you were building up to it or did anything after it, Cavan were actually relegated to Div 3 the same year. Monaghan's Ulster win of 2013 was a surprise to many, as we defeated the regining All-Ireland champions but we backed it up the following year by reaching the Ulster final again and winning it again in 2015. We have stayed in the top tier since. We really should have had an All Ireland final appearence in the last 10 years (2018 was our best chance) We'll judge Monaghan's year this year after the group stages.
SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 90 - 15/04/2024 09:17:38 2

Another lad taking the defeat badly.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 848 - 15/04/2024 10:12:41    2537935