Westmeath Football thread

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Minor final could easily end in a draw, results in minor football championship all year were very close and semi finals resulted in one point victories. Loman's possibly favourites on basis of having more 17 year olds starting, Tubberclair will be very fancied in next year's minor."
I watched lomans vs Moate and was a dower display, Moate put a lot of bodies behind the ball and very slow build up play. Lomans just had enough with a good centre forward.
Tubberclair won the league beating Moate in the final, they topped the group in the championship. They won an u15 div 1 last year and there team is filled with these players by the looks of it.
Lomans lads would have been in a final last year so they might have a bit more experience.
A lot of these players never played in cusack park and should make it more open as it's a bigger pitch.

One strange thing I noticed after looking back through team sheets Tubberclare hadn't one player on the county minor 26 match day squad for the first few rounds and had only one in the later stages. If they win I think it wouldn't paint the county minor set up in good light. Well actually it doesn't either way.

PowellJohn (Westmeath) - Posts: 95 - 05/10/2022 17:53:37    2442916

I wouldn't write off Bun in junior, I believe too many are banking on multy . I think senior will be a much tighter affair than the general punter expects, that downs team are due a big one looking at their previous underage successes, however, that doesn't automatically translate into adult success as we have seen all too often before.

I do believe however there is one certainty this weekend and that is in the intermediate final. Tubberclair impressed me last week and from what I've heard from both camps the 'big mo' is certainly with TC. I've looked back at a couple of TC matches online and I am blown away by the performances of James Madden. Tigerish in attack, tenacious in defence. Another element of the TC preparation I am astounded by is that of Cathal Tadhg centre back postponing his world travels. Pure dedication. Under the steady stewardship of McCabe and stalwart Connaughton on the line, Tubberclair are en route to the promised land.

Best wishes to all involved and not forgetting the minor final too. A huge day for those young lads. I've no idea who will triumph there.

TheShowbandYears (Westmeath) - Posts: 2 - 05/10/2022 18:49:34    2442924

The Downs lost the only final they played against The Blues in 1968 according to the local papers. The Downs record in finals versus local sides is not overly impressive.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1478 - 05/10/2022 21:25:16    2442928

SFC: St Lomans v The Downs
IFC: Shandonagh v Tubberclair
JFC: Multyfarnham v Bunbrosna

Prediction is a Draw in all 3 games. Ultimately, St Lomans, Shandonagh & Multyfarnham to win.

JoxerDaly (Westmeath) - Posts: 22 - 06/10/2022 09:27:38    2442937

Lomans, Tubberclaire and Multy are my three picks for the weekend.

mintyfresh (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 06/10/2022 13:23:30    2442991

Downs after extra-time
Tubberclaire after extra -time
Multy by at least 6 pts

Bruno@1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 163 - 06/10/2022 14:54:17    2443003

Is there extra time scheduled? Minor final gone to replay so hardly extra time in senior.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1478 - 06/10/2022 16:03:33    2443018

No extra time on Sunday, it was agreed that all adult championship finals would go to a replay. Sunday looking like a washout, do we think will the rain help or hinder either team?

stonemadbeany (USA) - Posts: 540 - 07/10/2022 11:04:24    2443085

No extra time or penalties for finals, straight to replays.

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1129 - 07/10/2022 12:30:02    2443094

Replying To stonemadbeany:  "No extra time on Sunday, it was agreed that all adult championship finals would go to a replay. Sunday looking like a washout, do we think will the rain help or hinder either team?"
I think the rain will help the downs keep there defence tighter & make it more difficult for lomans forwards. Sticking by my previous prediction of a downs win by 3-4 points.

Left Full (Westmeath) - Posts: 239 - 07/10/2022 14:11:58    2443115

I see our neighbours in Meath are running a regional competition for junior and intermediate clubs to put these players in the shop window for colm o rourke. Brilliant concept, probably not enough clubs in westmeath to run this.

Multy, bun, ballynacarrigy
CFCW, Paul's, Ballycomoyle delvin
Joes & ballinagore & Malachys & kilbeggan
Maryland & tubberclair
Ballymore & Castledaly
Milltown, shandonagh, loughnavalley

Bunbros11 (Westmeath) - Posts: 67 - 07/10/2022 14:49:49    2443124

Don't agree with this concept at all. We should be encouraging more players to play football, not being selective with who can play.

The intermediate and junior championships are already extremely competitive as it is. We are a small county, There is plenty of opportunity for county management to see footballers at all levels in the county.

ondeball (Westmeath) - Posts: 119 - 07/10/2022 21:22:04    2443159

Replying To ondeball:  "Don't agree with this concept at all. We should be encouraging more players to play football, not being selective with who can play.

The intermediate and junior championships are already extremely competitive as it is. We are a small county, There is plenty of opportunity for county management to see footballers at all levels in the county."
I guess in a bigger county it makes more sense as there are a lot more clubs, competitions and matches to be covered or scouted by management.

Pooling better players from smaller clubs down the divisions gives them a moment in the shop window. Still I'd agree that the number of extra could be a concern.

gedupoutofit (Westmeath) - Posts: 163 - 08/10/2022 18:08:00    2443201

Lomans second team failed to turn up for the minor division 4 sheild final today against milltownpass the county board said the game would not be postponed the ref let milltownpass go up and score a goal I'm the empty goals in front of a big crowd in attendance..will there be punishment for st Lomans for not turning up ..they said they wouldn't turn up for game because the first team in the minor A final tommarow,"should they be punished

Mooo (Westmeath) - Posts: 41 - 08/10/2022 19:27:51    2443214

Replying To Mooo:  "Lomans second team failed to turn up for the minor division 4 sheild final today against milltownpass the county board said the game would not be postponed the ref let milltownpass go up and score a goal I'm the empty goals in front of a big crowd in attendance..will there be punishment for st Lomans for not turning up ..they said they wouldn't turn up for game because the first team in the minor A final tommarow,"should they be punished"
They should as any team that does not turn should get a mandatory fine and suspension. But a a little bad planning also.

Captainfantastic (Westmeath) - Posts: 44 - 08/10/2022 20:00:05    2443222

Replying To ondeball:  "Don't agree with this concept at all. We should be encouraging more players to play football, not being selective with who can play.

The intermediate and junior championships are already extremely competitive as it is. We are a small county, There is plenty of opportunity for county management to see footballers at all levels in the county."
Would give best players in junior/inter clubs the chance to play against senior players/clubs

I think there is merit in it.

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 08/10/2022 20:22:19    2443224

Disappointing junior final yesterday, Multy deserved to win and that's their season's objective achieved. Ronan Wallace kicked a couple of long range frees and an excellent second half point. Bun hadn't the pace to stay with Multy, not surprisingly seeing as they had 4-5 players who are in their 20th year playing at adult level. Both sides were well supported. Intermediate final was hard to fathom, Shandonagh dominated first half playing excellent football, Tubberclair seemed to suffer from stage fright and trailed by 8 at one stage. Second half saw Shandonagh adopt a more defensive policy for some reason, they allowed Tubberclair on to them and Martin McCabe's side gained confidence. Tubberclair much more relieved side at final whistle as they came back twice.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1478 - 09/10/2022 10:31:12    2443247

I watched both finals yesterday, bun just simply had no legs in the second half but to be fair to them they gave it a decent crack. Multy just had younger stronger legs. They are definitely able to mix it at intermediate grade.
The intermediate final was a game of two halves, Tubberclair kicked an awful lot of wides in the first half and should have been ahead really. Then shandonagh took over and there runners from deep and inside forward line looked sharp. The Tubberclair goalie miss judged a high ball and some short kick outs went astray and this led to 1-02 or 1-03 this really cost Tubberclair where I felt it should have been closer to level. 1-09 to 5 in favour of shandonagh who were moving very well kavanagh and there no.13 showing really well inside. Gareth Carr scored 2 points in the first half and set up some good play also.
Second half was all Tubberclair closed back the gap and kicked more wides and bad wides, there half back line with Tighe and Madden and midfielders in McCabe and Claffey started to win more of the breaks and supply good ball going forward. Whittaker came into it in the second half and was a very good tussle with young scahill.
A draw probably a fair result, shandonagh kicking themselves to lead a big lead slip but Tubberclair with 15/16 wides will haunt them also.
I think extra time would have been great and it's a pity it goes to a replay.

PowellJohn (Westmeath) - Posts: 95 - 09/10/2022 11:25:19    2443251

A brutal county SFC final, weather conditions destroyed both games played in the park today, shame for the neutrals but the winners wont care one bit

KooCullen (Westmeath) - Posts: 82 - 09/10/2022 18:00:15    2443295

Fair play to The Downs they handled the game and the conditions far better than St.Lomans and deserved to be champions.All over the pitch they won their individuals-Loughlin and Mitchell will get huge praise but I thought Joe Moran was excellant.If you stiffle O'Toole and Macartan you stop Lomans and thats exactly what the Downs did.But fair play to both sides-they gave us a good game in not so good conditions.Well done also to Tubberclaire-well deserved minor champions.

Bruno@1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 163 - 09/10/2022 18:16:38    2443301