Common knowledge to anyone who knows what's happening in senior football circles, you need to get yourself a hobby , grasping at straws isn't working
Thechick (Westmeath) - Posts: 268 - 15/06/2023 14:30:45 2486682 Link 0 |
Nonsense Chick, at least admit where your loyalties lie. In depth knowledge of the Loman's squad. You a blow in to the Blues or homegrown?! I'd say blow in seeing you defend the outsiders so regularly Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2151 - 15/06/2023 15:49:21 2486709 Link 1 |
Sam is certainly a massive loss given his performance in Armagh. Jack Smith went off injured in Galway game and Kevin Maguire hurt his back in game but should be fit. Lets get behind Dessie and team. I believe well win but might need to be by 4 points plus??
A_Chairde (Westmeath) - Posts: 294 - 15/06/2023 15:55:16 2486712 Link 0 |
its almost time for the club championship . good luck to all teams in all grades . the county will be finished their season on sunday in breffni park
mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1898 - 16/06/2023 08:54:54 2486769 Link 0 |
Hopefully we pull off an upset on Sunday but should we not, is there an indication of when the club champ will start? Isn't there a min 7 day rule to allow county players back to the clubs? thus leaving the first weekend of july the likely start date. anyone know any different? trooper (Westmeath) - Posts: 58 - 16/06/2023 10:09:38 2486784 Link 0 |
Fixtures for 1st round down for next weekend (24th/25th) the champ will start next weekend that's one thing for sure because god forbid we'd give lads training and playing since November, to represent this county, and 2 week break to settle, recover and integrate back into the club set up! It's a no brainer to push the fixtures back a week but I'd bet you any money they won't.
Edman78 (Westmeath) - Posts: 100 - 16/06/2023 10:57:59 2486793 Link 1 |
This is known for some time now... If WH dont advance to prelim qtr, the club champ starts 24th/25th and all weekends for club games are known ...which was option 4... i think. This was released in spring time (around March?) to all clubs. As mentioned above, what is a little unfair IMO, is that we dont know the exact day of the club game until sunday night. So students working in shops, players working Saturday's, management organising their training week have to decide all of that on Monday... WH Fixtures are v busy and fair play to them... but it wouldn't be an insult to WH team/mgt to provisionally release clubs dates/venue/time so clubs and players can get their affairs in order! Good luck to WH... i hope you cause an upset and we get to look fwd to a Prelim Qtr final. Laker1500 (Westmeath) - Posts: 20 - 16/06/2023 11:19:14 2486803 Link 0 |
... it is very unfair on county players to expect to come back 6 days later. Their collective heads will be melted id say!. They need a week off, then a week with the club.... Fixtures cant be moved on now. The master schedule has been ratified back earlier in the year by club delegates. So in the event WH dont make Prelim Qtr final the club starts on the 24/25 and all other weekends are already agreed right out to county finals. As i said earlier... what is a shame that exact dates and draws are not done. (Plus... again, agreed... v unfair on county players.) If anyone took time to look at the master plan and options which is signed off...we are all going to be on giving out about the Fleadh and fixtures BTW ... thats going to be another touchy one! Laker1500 (Westmeath) - Posts: 20 - 16/06/2023 11:29:45 2486811 Link 1 |
Option 4: Laker1500 (Westmeath) - Posts: 20 - 16/06/2023 11:31:23 2486812 Link 0 |
The county player is penalised ,last year there was alot of giving out last year about lads going straight from the Tailteann Cup into championship without a break and having played 4/5 weeks in a row. It was being talked about in the local papers and at meetings about it being unfair. So what happens this year as a result ..the same thing Thechick (Westmeath) - Posts: 268 - 16/06/2023 12:32:29 2486837 Link 0 |
U19 football championship fixed for next Thursday in the middle of the Leaving Cert and potentially the night before clubs are out in the first round of senior/intermediate championship! Wmeath2 (Westmeath) - Posts: 182 - 17/06/2023 10:55:28 2487035 Link 0 |
Proud Westmeath man Yesterday! Temple56 (Westmeath) - Posts: 547 - 19/06/2023 10:05:08 2487096 Link 0 |
Who are the players retiring? Agreed plenty on that panel have given huge service. Very unlucky yesterday better team for large portions of the game.
Dazzler30 (Westmeath) - Posts: 46 - 19/06/2023 11:01:33 2487165 Link 0 |
Excellant performance from Westmeath yesterday-great to see them competing right up to the final whistle-we were the better team throughout the gane and were 1 kick away from qualifying.Very tough and close group which came diwn to the last 60 seconds-if John Heslin and Shane Walsh(Galway) both score with the last kicks the whole group changes.well done to Dessie /management and squad. Bruno@1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 257 - 19/06/2023 11:21:47 2487189 Link 0 |
Fantastic performance from Westmeath yesterday and throughout the round robin AI series. Very unlucky not to win at least 1 game. Well done to the management team and players especially given the tough group. Hopefully we can build on this for next year and hit some realistic targets. londoner (UK) - Posts: 110 - 19/06/2023 11:39:28 2487210 Link 1 |
Brilliant performance from Westmeath this season had an uphill task of playing three div 1 teams, and put it up to two of them and should have been three only for that red card against galway armaghfan02 (Armagh) - Posts: 39 - 19/06/2023 11:50:26 2487223 Link 1 |
What a performance yesterday. So close and yet so far. As Dessie said it's fine margins. Gutted for the players and management and especially John Heslin. So proud to be a Westmeath man. Thank you to our players for that Mountlin (Westmeath) - Posts: 59 - 19/06/2023 12:12:32 2487246 Link 0 |
Regarding u19 championship: Have to agree with you. Junior B fixed for Tuesday, U19 Fixed for Thursday, Junior fixed for Friday and Senior fixed for the Weekend. Add the leaving cert into this. Majority of these players haven't trained the last few weeks as they prepare for their exams and some lads don't finish exams until next week. Hope these games get delayed for the benefit of the players. I'd say some senior managers will not be letting u19 players play at their own grade on Thursday because they might have an important game 2 days later. Temple56 (Westmeath) - Posts: 547 - 19/06/2023 12:42:13 2487269 Link 0 |
i would hope that none of the team retires . the priority will be to get to division 2 . lets hope the club championship produces a few players for management to look at
mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1898 - 19/06/2023 13:56:52 2487340 Link 2 |
Absolutely proud of the players for another wholehearted performance against a Division 1 team. We have shown in this All Ireland series that we can mix it with the best of them. Clear progress has been made on the back of winning the Tailteann so well done to all involved . Stength conditioning coach Joe Nagle deserves a lot of credit also. Promotion from Division 3 is paramount next year if we are to keep building. John Heslin will bounce back like all great players do. A_Chairde (Westmeath) - Posts: 294 - 19/06/2023 14:24:40 2487355 Link 1 |