Galway Football thread

Replying To PressureKick:  "Grand buddy. Galway have zero injuries and zero excuses. We'll pass over 3 of their 5 all stars not starting along with a host of others. Shur isn't it the best lineup possible and they'll be going gung ho like it's an all Ireland

How are Roscommon prepping for next Sunday?"
Don't heed him. He spouts plenty of it over on our forum as well. I don't think he ever agrees with another post or point of view.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2154 - 01/04/2023 17:44:16    2468163

Replying To SixtiesKid:  "Two thirds of the starting team are from the city or west of it.
What has happened the the powerhouse of North Galway that once ruled ?"
To be fair two starting players from the north are currently unavailable (Silke & Molloy).

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2208 - 01/04/2023 18:54:58    2468173

Replying To endgame:  "Don't heed him. He spouts plenty of it over on our forum as well. I don't think he ever agrees with another post or point of view."
Yourself and PressureKick are odd posters. Upset if any of your views are corrected or challenged maybe this place isn't the best place for ye lads?

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 01/04/2023 19:59:12    2468186

Very slow start for Galway but getting into it now. I hope Heaney is ok.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 02/04/2023 16:37:42    2468288

Kickouts not going well. Haven't played a lick of football in the first half. Only for Mayo missing chances we would be seven or eight down. No cohesion in the forward line either.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 672 - 02/04/2023 16:43:43    2468291

My god that first half was torture to be galway football fan aos is winning the match on his own

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 223 - 02/04/2023 16:50:20    2468295

What an animal that lad Reape is how he didnt get a straight red.

PancakeWard (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 02/04/2023 16:51:26    2468297

Replying To PancakeWard:  "What an animal that lad Reape is how he didnt get a straight red."
Sean Og and the panel on TG4 didn't think it was a red

Black+Blue (Galway) - Posts: 122 - 02/04/2023 16:57:29    2468300

Replying To PancakeWard:  "What an animal that lad Reape is how he didnt get a straight red."
He should be off the field. That was a dangerous challenge.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 02/04/2023 17:05:04    2468303

This ref, of Christ sake he's giving some awful soft frees. Infuriating to watch

bigpoppapump (Galway) - Posts: 62 - 02/04/2023 17:16:38    2468305

Congratulations Mayo. Galway had their chances but it just wasn't to be I suppose. Sigh.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 02/04/2023 17:40:28    2468308

At least we know where the changes need to be made for Championship. I know the frees were soft but the defence should not be fouling Aidan O Shea multiple times when he everyone knows he can't shoot when he has the ball.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 672 - 02/04/2023 17:44:08    2468310

Brendan Cawley was terrible but that is not Mayo's fault. Congrats Mayo.
Johnny Heaney got a raw deal, hope he is ok. Reape should have seen red.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 02/04/2023 17:44:47    2468311

Thought the ref gave Galway nothing but Mayo the better team. The hard stuff starts now.

SimonstownBack (Meath) - Posts: 143 - 02/04/2023 17:47:53    2468313

Winning of that game was there for Galway, Reape man of the match tells its own tale. Wait goes for a Div 1 league title.

Wishing Heaney a speedy recovery one of Galways most important players and very underrated by some.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 02/04/2023 17:49:08    2468314

Tis done and dusted and Mayo have their All Ireland. Plenty to work on for Galway but more than capable of taking Mayo if they beat Roscommon.

PancakeWard (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 02/04/2023 17:55:09    2468318

Replying To Yondu:  "Winning of that game was there for Galway, Reape man of the match tells its own tale. Wait goes for a Div 1 league title.

Wishing Heaney a speedy recovery one of Galways most important players and very underrated by some."
We are the new mayo 3 finals in croke Park in a year division 2 all Ireland and to day all thrown away

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 223 - 02/04/2023 17:56:13    2468319

Disgusted with Reape, hope he enjoys his medal.
Best to Johnny Heaney, he could have been crippled altogether.
Ref disaster. Galway did make too many unforced errors however.
Congrats Mayo

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 02/04/2023 17:57:23    2468320

Replying To Yondu:  "Winning of that game was there for Galway, Reape man of the match tells its own tale. Wait goes for a Div 1 league title.

Wishing Heaney a speedy recovery one of Galways most important players and very underrated by some."
Every shot was straight at Reape. Made him look unreal. Bad shooting is the fault. Simple. Kids are trained to shoot for the corners, preferably bottom corner, but we drill at chest height down the keepers throat. It's just pathetic shooting for goal. Let's face it, King Con or Clifford would have put 2 or 3 of them away. If we can't take a damn goal or two then championship will be over before it's started for us. Not good enough. No penetration. No pace. Back pedalling. Treacle-slow build up. Hugely frustrating for our supporters to be stuffed again by the auld enemy. McStay, Rochford and Co bossed the sideline battle. Are we soft or are we going to buck up for the championship? A bad day out for the family today, straight up. Effort to travel up not rewarded by our men in maroon's effort. We need more. Bring it. Now.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 898 - 02/04/2023 18:00:15    2468321

We had enough chances with or without the referee to win that one. Frustrating watch. Well done to Mayo

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1568 - 02/04/2023 18:05:14    2468323