Galway Football thread

Flat and tired looking performance in first 15/18 mins
Kicking 4 x 45s wide.
Not scoring from 4 goal chances.

That's what cost the game today not the referee or the Mayo keepers challenge... posters need to stop whinging constantly about officials ( Padraic still bringing up 1 decision in last year's final that he thinks cost us )

The conspiracy stuff is tiresome and once again deflects from Managements performance on the line

Black+Blue (Galway) - Posts: 126 - 02/04/2023 19:30:47    2468369

No complaints on result...better team won on the day.
We had an awful start, turning over possession nearly every attack and too passive in defence allowing Mayo 6 pts to 1 lead.
We had 3 decent opportunities to level game at different stages.
Just before Htime Walsh misses a 45 to level and Mayo score twice to go in 3 up.
40th min Comer blatantly fouled (Jersey pull) and then quickly shoots wide, thinking he has advantage.
Considering the way ref was blowing frees all game, that was a shocker.
49th min Tierney gets in, a point would level it but shoots weakly at keeper, bad decision .
Overall we can learn a lot from today and we will improve as year goes on.
Tackle on Heaney was really bad but not quite a red card.
We should have adjusted our tackling once we saw the ref was blowing lots of minor stuff.
Anyway, congrats Mayo and we will meet again later in year.

conordee (Galway) - Posts: 440 - 02/04/2023 19:31:09    2468370

Replying To togoutlads:  "Every shot was straight at Reape. Made him look unreal. Bad shooting is the fault. Simple. Kids are trained to shoot for the corners, preferably bottom corner, but we drill at chest height down the keepers throat. It's just pathetic shooting for goal. Let's face it, King Con or Clifford would have put 2 or 3 of them away. If we can't take a damn goal or two then championship will be over before it's started for us. Not good enough. No penetration. No pace. Back pedalling. Treacle-slow build up. Hugely frustrating for our supporters to be stuffed again by the auld enemy. McStay, Rochford and Co bossed the sideline battle. Are we soft or are we going to buck up for the championship? A bad day out for the family today, straight up. Effort to travel up not rewarded by our men in maroon's effort. We need more. Bring it. Now."
100%

Black+Blue (Galway) - Posts: 126 - 02/04/2023 19:35:13    2468373

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Go back and look over the decisions. Very few were not obvious frees. Galway constantly pulling hands back for a second then letting go. Also constantly pulling the hand that is about to give the handpass. They were rightly penalised for it. Even the defenders outraged at the last free against Conroy. Hands in pulling the whole time he is running. Imagine if Mayo fans were crying about the ref. We would never hear the end of it. Mayo played poor enough but still won. Only the league. Plenty of work for both."
Dont think anyone is crying about the ref Centurion.....merely stating that he was not balanced in his selections today. Your point is well noted, however its application was directed towards one team only. Had the ref applied parity to both teams, Mayo would probably still have won as they were the fresher outfit today, so congrats to Mayo. In relation to Tommy Conroys extra steps, take a quick peek at the action replay, get the fingers out and count. The extra step count is off the charts. Even worse than Killian Spillane in last years decider

Albara (Galway) - Posts: 30 - 02/04/2023 19:37:36    2468375

Replying To Albara:  "Dont think anyone is crying about the ref Centurion.....merely stating that he was not balanced in his selections today. Your point is well noted, however its application was directed towards one team only. Had the ref applied parity to both teams, Mayo would probably still have won as they were the fresher outfit today, so congrats to Mayo. In relation to Tommy Conroys extra steps, take a quick peek at the action replay, get the fingers out and count. The extra step count is off the charts. Even worse than Killian Spillane in last years decider"
I actually agree in one sense. The problem is 99 per cent of refs let a player continue if he is being slightly pulled even if he is overcarrying in the process.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7912 - 02/04/2023 20:24:33    2468392

Firstly the main reason Galway didn't win the game was they didn't take their chances. Had 4 decent goal chances and didn't take any of them. Kicked a couple of 45's wide. Comer hit the post twice including his hawkeye one. That's too many scores left behind.

However as a player I didn't care whether the ref gave a load of handy frees or you had to be killed for a free. As long as he was consistent at both ends. Today he wasn't. Mayo got handy frees but at the other end Galway weren't getting them. Case in point being mid way through the 2nd half, Comer was being pulled and dragged every direction but still tried to get a shot away. He was off balance because he was being fouled so the shot drifted wide. Ref staring straight at it and ignores it. Down the other end anyone laying a hand of O'Shea's shoulder was being blown for it. Conroy ran down a blind alley and got held up and got a handy free for it. It's this inconsistency that annoys people.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2225 - 02/04/2023 20:35:41    2468395

The GAA President when presenting the cup wished Galway the best of luck in Castlebar next Sunday, are you taking our place?

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3773 - 02/04/2023 20:41:50    2468398

My team for championship v Mayo / Ross
Power
McGrath. Kelly. Fitzgerald
Mchugh. Daly. Glynn
Maher Mcdaid
Tierney. Walsh. Cooke
Finnerty. Comer Heaney

Heaney to cover back instead of Sweeney
Conroy off bench has not the legs and no point chasing a game power kicouts quicker and Galway are on the attack from his kickouts really I'd like see Galway go after mayo kickouts can't be giving up kickouts at this level , pity McLaughlin not fit he be a great addition for kickouts

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 853 - 02/04/2023 20:42:03    2468399

Replying To Sportsfanatic90:  "Galway lost this game around the middle. Tierney anonymous conroy only doing bits on the ball, compare him to McCarthy Fenton DOC glass all these lads and he only does something now and then.
Goalie was running out to attack the ball harsh yellow imo, split second stuff, if Heaney was any good he'd have put it into the open goal"
So people are disagreeing over yellow or red but now you apparently think its heaneys own fault he was fouled

He's plenty good. Worry about your own team

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1679 - 02/04/2023 21:07:36    2468408

Replying To The_analyser:  "The GAA President when presenting the cup wished Galway the best of luck in Castlebar next Sunday, are you taking our place?"
The President mixed up his dates.Yesterday of course not today was April fool's day.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2185 - 02/04/2023 21:17:23    2468414

Replying To Sportsfanatic90:  "Galway lost this game around the middle. Tierney anonymous conroy only doing bits on the ball, compare him to McCarthy Fenton DOC glass all these lads and he only does something now and then.
Goalie was running out to attack the ball harsh yellow imo, split second stuff, if Heaney was any good he'd have put it into the open goal"
If any good, what type of a daft comment is that? Reape made contact with Heaney after the ball had gone it could have been leg breaker, Reape was lucky to avoid red. On kick outs Mayo won 21 and Galway 17 by my count with plenty of breaking ball won in the middle by Galway also. The game was lost in the opening 20 minutes 0-6 to 0-1 behind. 0-8 to 0-10 to Galway in scoring thereafter.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3362 - 02/04/2023 21:23:08    2468416

I'm cringing reading some of these posts.
Blaming the ref and excuses, sound like Mayo fans.
Shane missed frees with his left, Comer missed 1-1 in the space of a couple of minutes. A bit like the Clifford's last week in Salthill, these guys are not at championship pace but will be flying it in a couple of months…when it matters.
Most of those saves were poor finishes, def, Maher, Tierney and Comer efforts.
On the plus side I think that game will bring on the likes of McGrath and Fitzgerald a ton, they were under pressure at the start but battled away and I thought both were actually on top of their men at the end. I would think McDaid and Maher would be a good combo in the middle. Mayo the better team for me today and deserving winners. Looking forward to the championship.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 372 - 02/04/2023 21:45:37    2468424

Left ourselves far too much to do after the terrible start. Mayo hungrier and deserving of the win but the amount left behind is very frustrating.

Can only hope its something of a blessing in disguise as it will give the group a little humbling and a kick up the **** to avoid complacency going forward where it really matters.

No need to worry too much, a very good league campaign where we saw some good wins and new additions blooded.

Optimistic. Roll on the summer.

tribesman125 (Galway) - Posts: 173 - 03/04/2023 08:28:17    2468438

Replying To smallfrank:  "I'm cringing reading some of these posts.
Blaming the ref and excuses, sound like Mayo fans.
Shane missed frees with his left, Comer missed 1-1 in the space of a couple of minutes. A bit like the Clifford's last week in Salthill, these guys are not at championship pace but will be flying it in a couple of months…when it matters.
Most of those saves were poor finishes, def, Maher, Tierney and Comer efforts.
On the plus side I think that game will bring on the likes of McGrath and Fitzgerald a ton, they were under pressure at the start but battled away and I thought both were actually on top of their men at the end. I would think McDaid and Maher would be a good combo in the middle. Mayo the better team for me today and deserving winners. Looking forward to the championship."
Would agree on the midfield pairing. Conroy struggled yesterday to stop runners in the middle channel even when we had numbers behind the ball. Don't think he has the legs for defending in Croke Park. Maher was pretty good and caused them problems with his running. McDaid is obviously a nailed on starter at midfield.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 695 - 03/04/2023 08:28:58    2468439

Was at the game yesterday, we had more than enough goal chances to win it but just weren't clinical enough. Plenty of good stuff though and we'll be ready for whoever comes in 3 weeks. One thing I have to comment on though is the sickening booing and jeering of Shane as he was lining up to take the place kicks, and it's not the first fine it's happened against them either. The (albeit self proclaimed) "best fans in the country"? Disgraceful behaviour and has no place in the GAA. No wonder all the other counties can't stand the sight of them.

johnjoe21 (Galway) - Posts: 126 - 03/04/2023 08:43:43    2468442

it was a great win for mayo playing well within themselves with one eye on championship next sunday kept galway are arms length right through pushed on when they needed and deserved winners

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 03/04/2023 08:55:19    2468447

Freetaking is about conversion rate, and nothing else.

When freetaking becomes about showing off, artistic impression, or learning the exact same lesson in adversity for the umpteenth time, then your freetaker is a problem, and frankly it's not a good look for the management team either to be letting it go to pot, after such a clean performance in this specific area in 2022.

Freetaking is about conversation rate, and nothing else.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3491 - 03/04/2023 09:19:53    2468449

Forwards were very poor yesterday, no movement at all. Well done to our goalie yesterday who had a good game, 4 clean sheets out of 7 games

Dunmore10 (Galway) - Posts: 125 - 03/04/2023 09:42:17    2468461

That is very harsh on Heaney, he did unreal to get on to it at all at that speed and as usual showed immense bravery mini seconds before getting clattered. Thought a yellow was the right call, don't think the goalie meant harm but it was dangerous so yellow or black reasonably fair. I thought it was supposed to be penalty if you denied a goal scoring opportunity?? That would have changed the game.
Ref did give a lot of soft frees to Mayo but we were unusually a little lazy with some of our tackling, If you leave the hand in you give the ref a decision to make.
Overall we will have learnt a lot from yesterday. McGrath, FitzGerald, Hernon, Maher, Cooke(got better as it went on), Sweeney, Tomo (natural forward, only on a few minutes and created something) will all have come on a lot from that game and are all real options this year. E Kelly another lad who has established himself as an option since last year.
No McDaid, S Walsh not 100% match fit and Comer only 50% match fit are also factors for improvement.
We still need to find something different in our forward play, no major changes in that regard this year, at this stage we wont find any more new players(maybe McLaughlin but he is fairly similar to some of the lads we already have) so we might have something tactical or maybe try Conroy in the full forward line as he certainly knows where the goal is

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 375 - 03/04/2023 10:01:12    2468464

Some thoughts from yesterday.
Apart from losing to Mayo , which is never nice, I am well pleased with how the game went.
I cant accept the views of some that Mayo were in 4th gear - this was a full blown game with both teams giving it all, and in my opinion, although Mayo narrowly deserved the win , Galway illustrated to me that they are a better team.
Galway seem to have Mayo's number in terms of being able to curtail the scoring power that Mayo showed against other teams in the League.
Galway's low scoring rate yesterday was more down to silly mistakes but we still scored 3 points more from play than Mayo did.
Our marginal/breakthrough players are really starting to perform...Gleeson, Maher, Fitzgerald, McGrath.
Our star defenders ( Sean Kelly and John Daly) outstanding again.
Conroy, Tierney, Comer, Walsh, Cooke and Finnerty, all played below par but we know they have it in them.
We shouldn't whinge too much about the ref. All the frees that were given were technically fouls. Yes, on another day you would see some of these been let go and it was one of the days when we slightly got less of the marginal calls, but on other days we have got the benefit of these ...and thats just the nature of the sport.
But I would not knock Padraic Joyce for calling that out.... thats the politics of sport nowadays and you rarely see or expect to see a manager give a totally unbiased viewpoint after a game,
Hopefully Johnny Heaney is okay. He is a huge player for us... I am convinced that we would have won yesterday if he stayed on the pitch. I dont plame Mayo keeper for this , he had to go full blooded for it. A free and yellow card was just about right.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 846 - 03/04/2023 10:10:03    2468465