Galway Football thread

Replying To Marooned:  "I think pretty much all of that is spot on and fair."
It certainly is not fair, to openly castigate an individual player, on an online forum, especially one who is investing up to 30 hours a week of their own time, to an amateur team sport. The sacrifices the players are making, are huge. So ease up on the criticism, as it is in no way constructive.

Albara (Galway) - Posts: 30 - 21/03/2023 09:57:52    2465411

Replying To Albara:  "It certainly is not fair, to openly castigate an individual player, on an online forum, especially one who is investing up to 30 hours a week of their own time, to an amateur team sport. The sacrifices the players are making, are huge. So ease up on the criticism, as it is in no way constructive."
A big Hoganstand welcome to the Gleeson family member.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 721 - 21/03/2023 11:31:00    2465437

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "You're a 'north board man' with those picks, a KW fan too we recall."
Would that not be a "West Board Man" if Geography serves me correct?!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 21/03/2023 14:25:47    2465498

Replying To Albara:  "It certainly is not fair, to openly castigate an individual player, on an online forum, especially one who is investing up to 30 hours a week of their own time, to an amateur team sport. The sacrifices the players are making, are huge. So ease up on the criticism, as it is in no way constructive."
Ah here. This is a discussion forum about the Galway football team.
So is highlighting two major weaknesses in our goalkeepers game "openly castigating" him?
So we can't talk about problems we have then is it?
I completely agree the sacrifices players make are huge.
But in a discussion forum about our team it is surely just as valid to highlight the issues we have - along with the positives we have (of which there are also many).

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1241 - 21/03/2023 14:56:31    2465514

Seen as we are all being open, ian burke has been poor since he came back. I think the young players are the way forward

Dunmore10 (Galway) - Posts: 120 - 21/03/2023 15:57:21    2465532

Replying To Dunmore10:  "Seen as we are all being open, ian burke has been poor since he came back. I think the young players are the way forward"
He was poor before he went away as well, cant believe the media coverage claiming he is a big addition to the squad.

MaroonedinDublin (Galway) - Posts: 28 - 21/03/2023 16:08:57    2465538

Replying To tommy k:  "Would that not be a "West Board Man" if Geography serves me correct?!"
My attempt at sarcasm. Our friend from Killannin (I think) didn't stray too far from home with those 'MVP awards' from the league. Big KW fan too, iirc. Home is where the heart is, look at these Dunmore posters, and singing fat ladies, to circle wagons!!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 21/03/2023 16:13:24    2465541

Replying To Dunmore10:  "Seen as we are all being open, ian burke has been poor since he came back. I think the young players are the way forward"
You're now making the argument to drop Conor, Burke with Dessie were poor and they got dropped. Conor Gleeson has been making mistakes all year, perhaps we need to look at another option.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 721 - 21/03/2023 17:13:47    2465573

Id like to see tadhg o malley get the start against kerry

Dunmore10 (Galway) - Posts: 120 - 21/03/2023 17:37:34    2465581

He's barely played much due to injury but I do think he's a good bit down the forward pecking order now. Probably even behind Tomo at this stage.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2215 - 21/03/2023 18:45:40    2465603

think a few changes for the kerry game would be a good idea..
ive nothing against gleeson just think power needs a game at this stage..
also just wondering does anyone no how john daly is as he is crucial to us and also
any update on the injuries.,would like to see mulcahy again looked a fine player plus a few more
get a run like tomo.,heron again very good the last day., maher maybe at midfield .

team i would go with if the lads are still injured and maybe give one or two a break
would be.

1.power
2.eoghan kelly if fit
3.sean fitzgerald
4.johnny mccrath
5.heron
6.billy mannion
7.sweeney
8.maher
9.cooke
10.p kelly
11.patrick kelly
12.heaney
13.tomo
14.walsh
15.dessie

still quiet a strong team with alot of good players there and its the ideal game for them v kerry to
see how they go..perfect prep for championship.

i no this team will deffo not start but its a team that i would like to see start and give a few lads a break.
maybe introduce ian burke comer mcdaid mulcahy sean kelly and mulcahy if fit.

whatever happens a good performance is a priority and till be nice too see a big crowd there as its
our last league game..

gbay (Galway) - Posts: 246 - 21/03/2023 19:56:03    2465620

Replying To tommy k:  "Yes Cathal Sweeney is a fine footballer but I think he needs to work on his S&C as well as composure on the ball as he is too easily dispossessed at times and can panic when under pressure. For instance "Soupy" Campbell of Armagh got the first point of the game when Sweeney was too easily turned over when he really should have held onto the pass."
Christ Darragh Maloney couldn't get enough of saying Soupy. Is the GAA the only sports where commentators regularly use nicknames instead of names? Or is it just rte?

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 134 - 21/03/2023 20:15:22    2465622

Replying To MaroonedinDublin:  "He was poor before he went away as well, cant believe the media coverage claiming he is a big addition to the squad."
It's purely down to pundits and journalists being spread thin across God knows how many matches each week. Burke has indeed been poor. He's up front on his own and when he gets a ball in acres of space he keeps his back to goal, that's his style, to lay it off to someone else. He's only of benefit if he has someone close by. That's when he can open up chances even in a 2 on 2.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 134 - 21/03/2023 20:21:26    2465625

I don't know if my thoughts on full back play are right here, but I'd have thought that if a high ball is lumped in, a good full back or anyone in front of goals should be nudging and ****** his man to delay his arrival into the small square and give his goalie time to move out to get momentum and get rid of the ball.
Kelly might be just about big enough to do this compared to a lot of the All Star full backs of recent years.
But Maher didn't help the other night, his man got in between himself and Gleeson, and I think Maher bumped his man into Gleeson who was already on his line.
Maybe Gleeson needs to start bossing his backs more and effing them outta the square. Is he vocal at matches?
Can't recall seeing him shouting and pointing myself.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 134 - 21/03/2023 20:27:19    2465626

Looking ahead to game with Kerry, it's one that's definitely winnable. It took Ros a while to settle in Tralee, and when they did they performed quite well.

D. Clifford scored 1-2, and I know it may sound contradictory, but Ros. managed the twin threat of Clifford x 2 very well. Those two boys are the heartbeat of the team.

We are building serious momentum and confidence, so imo, it's important we perform well on Sun. I'm going for a Galway win by 4 points..

Really (Galway) - Posts: 588 - 21/03/2023 21:18:47    2465640

Replying To GDL:  "A big Hoganstand welcome to the Gleeson family member."
The criticism of Gleeson here on this forum isn't fair, all too easy to lambast a player who is trying to do his best, at the end of the day none of us on this forum are seeing how the other keepers are performing in training in order to judge who is best to wear the number one jersey.

devrandom (Galway) - Posts: 75 - 21/03/2023 21:33:59    2465644

In light of recent posts re criticism of players in general , and one player in particular, I have been trying to figure out in my head what is acceptable and what is not.
Firstly, I would say that I would hope that neither players nor management read the Hogan Stand fora, or if they do that they pay little or no credence to them.
These forums are a bit of fun for lads like me to have a bit of friendly ( and sometimes not too friendly ) debate in a similar manner to pub conversations.
Having said that the sentiments seen here are probably representative of feelings in general and probably manifest themselves in other ways to get feedback, be it positive or negative, to the subject personnel.
So what is an acceptable level of criticism?
The players are amateur players and put in huge commitment. But the county players do get certain privileges/perks . They also incur a fair amount of praise. So in accepting praise , I do think that part of the package is a level of constructive criticism when its due. Obviously the constructive criticism should come from management. But we all know that many managers use the criticism levelled in media as a motivational tool , so I think its no harm to level some criticism in these type of outlets.
I agree with the Dunmore posters that some of the recent criticism is of a destructive nature and over the top .
I agree with other posters who say that we are entitled to make a level of critical comment.
Where the boundary lies between these 2 statements is a bit subjective and every scenario is different , as well as everyone having an opinion on what is acceptable in each scenario.
But I think by any standard some of the recent comments have gone too far.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 22/03/2023 08:50:39    2465656

I believe 9 of our all ireland winning u20 squad from 2020 saw game time in the Athletic grounds last Saturday. That must be some record.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 22/03/2023 09:07:00    2465657

Replying To jam83:  "It's purely down to pundits and journalists being spread thin across God knows how many matches each week. Burke has indeed been poor. He's up front on his own and when he gets a ball in acres of space he keeps his back to goal, that's his style, to lay it off to someone else. He's only of benefit if he has someone close by. That's when he can open up chances even in a 2 on 2."
Ian Burke wasn't always just a backs to the goal, give the quick pass to a player running off the shoulder kind of player though. I remember when Galway won the U21 AI in 2013 he kicked 3 or 4 excellent points from play and in 2018 when he won the all-star he scored some great points from play also so he has it in him to score himself.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 22/03/2023 09:54:43    2465665

Replying To anotheralias:  "In light of recent posts re criticism of players in general , and one player in particular, I have been trying to figure out in my head what is acceptable and what is not.
Firstly, I would say that I would hope that neither players nor management read the Hogan Stand fora, or if they do that they pay little or no credence to them.
These forums are a bit of fun for lads like me to have a bit of friendly ( and sometimes not too friendly ) debate in a similar manner to pub conversations.
Having said that the sentiments seen here are probably representative of feelings in general and probably manifest themselves in other ways to get feedback, be it positive or negative, to the subject personnel.
So what is an acceptable level of criticism?
The players are amateur players and put in huge commitment. But the county players do get certain privileges/perks . They also incur a fair amount of praise. So in accepting praise , I do think that part of the package is a level of constructive criticism when its due. Obviously the constructive criticism should come from management. But we all know that many managers use the criticism levelled in media as a motivational tool , so I think its no harm to level some criticism in these type of outlets.
I agree with the Dunmore posters that some of the recent criticism is of a destructive nature and over the top .
I agree with other posters who say that we are entitled to make a level of critical comment.
Where the boundary lies between these 2 statements is a bit subjective and every scenario is different , as well as everyone having an opinion on what is acceptable in each scenario.
But I think by any standard some of the recent comments have gone too far."
I think some of the comments about individual players is not of any benefit to the team or players, it is unfair to criticise
lads who make themselves available for selection just because the coaching team decide to select them. Anybody who thinks a player or players are not suitable for selection should aim their displeasure at overall standards or management whichever the blame falls on.

backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 69 - 22/03/2023 10:21:45    2465671