Galway Football thread

Im sure pj will b ringing some of ye for advice before kerry game

Dunmore10 (Galway) - Posts: 120 - 20/03/2023 10:39:53    2465028

We have someone from Dunmore defending a man from Dunmore.....

Who would have seen that 1 coming eh

Dermot_Desmond_96 (Galway) - Posts: 36 - 20/03/2023 10:47:32    2465036

who would be the top 3 players from this league campaign?

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 282 - 20/03/2023 10:50:46    2465038

Replying To galwayman2:  "He was talking about McGeeney."
Ok sorry yes I thought he was replying to a previous poster! lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 20/03/2023 11:08:45    2465051

Replying To Dermot_Desmond_96:  "We have someone from Dunmore defending a man from Dunmore.....

Who would have seen that 1 coming eh"
Im a season ticket holder, go to all games, i was up in armagh, gleeson was at fault for goal but defender did nt cover themselves in glory either. Were u up there or were u watchin rugby and repeating rubbish u read some where?

Dunmore10 (Galway) - Posts: 120 - 20/03/2023 11:26:09    2465067

A lot of Gleeson's concessions are fouls and should be frees out imo, with either him being barged before the ball drops, or defenders positioned to shield him, are being barged back into him. The refs and officials seem to be enjoying our grief in this area though, so we won't be getting frees out for this anytime soon.

Galway's weakness in this area seems to stem from the fact that neither Gleeson nor his full back line protectors have enough physical authority or flair under what Micheal O'Hehir used to call 'the high lobbing dropping ball'. It's an all too familiar scene with Gleeson, 'man ball & all' over the goalline, once oppositions pitch the drop on the perfect spot. When was the last time an opposition player got injured when attacking a high ball in front of Gleeson? We have to start laying down the law under those balls, or the bleeding will continue.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 20/03/2023 11:39:43    2465083

Just watching the highlights last night Tomo first point shouldn't been a mark sweeney kicked it from inside 45. Find this is standard gough misses something clear and obvious under his nose but he's able to make decisions on things that are 50 60 yards away from him like the Hernon touching ball on the ground which was debatable if he did for me. Always tries to give off impression he's the smartest guy in the room

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1159 - 20/03/2023 12:08:28    2465101

Replying To Dunmore10:  "Im a season ticket holder, go to all games, i was up in armagh, gleeson was at fault for goal but defender did nt cover themselves in glory either. Were u up there or were u watchin rugby and repeating rubbish u read some where?"
It's not really rubbish though our goalkeeper is our major issue along with our lack of back up inside forwards. Conor is probably best available with flaherty Carroll unavailable but let not ignore he's our weak link at the minute

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1159 - 20/03/2023 12:11:32    2465103

Replying To Dunmore10:  "Im a season ticket holder, go to all games, i was up in armagh, gleeson was at fault for goal but defender did nt cover themselves in glory either. Were u up there or were u watchin rugby and repeating rubbish u read some where?"
Scan it doesn't matter where i was. I saw the same you and everyone else saw.

I could have watched Galway from the comfort of my couch on the moon this year and last year and i'd have still arrived at the same conclusion. Its not personal or emotional. Unfortunately its constructive.

He continues time and time again to make big errors which costs the team in games. Club and County. Are you denying this ?

Dermot_Desmond_96 (Galway) - Posts: 36 - 20/03/2023 12:17:09    2465110

Replying To candlewax:  "who would be the top 3 players from this league campaign?"
Sean Kelly
Paul Conroy
Matthew Tierney

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 361 - 20/03/2023 12:33:35    2465124

Lads seem to be one side or the other in the Gleeson debate.

From the weekend in his defense:
- he was definitely fouled
- he also got no cover from his defense. He should have been shielded much better

Case against him:
- even allowing for the foul he should have dominated that ball. he allowed a minor enough contact to put him on his backside. His footwork and starting position were poor and that was a big factor. If he was being dominant he would have fell forward after the foul. much too passive.
- It is up to him to organise his defense around a dropping ball. he needs to take charge

John Daly seems to be ok which is great news.

Any work on Comer, J Mcl & Mullkerins? Would like to see all 3 get some game time.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 20/03/2023 12:33:49    2465125

Replying To Dermot_Desmond_96:  "Scan it doesn't matter where i was. I saw the same you and everyone else saw.

I could have watched Galway from the comfort of my couch on the moon this year and last year and i'd have still arrived at the same conclusion. Its not personal or emotional. Unfortunately its constructive.

He continues time and time again to make big errors which costs the team in games. Club and County. Are you denying this ?"
He also caught a few great high balls the last day and was involved in blocking goal chance at end, you would nt have seen dat on highlights scan

Dunmore10 (Galway) - Posts: 120 - 20/03/2023 12:38:50    2465128

He wasn't fouled. There is no concerted campaign by referees to give frees against him either. We are better than those sort of conspiracy theories - leave that to the Northerners.

PierreBezuhov (UK) - Posts: 226 - 20/03/2023 12:45:00    2465133

Replying To PierreBezuhov:  "He wasn't fouled. There is no concerted campaign by referees to give frees against him either. We are better than those sort of conspiracy theories - leave that to the Northerners."
Absolutely 100% spot on. The chap is 6'4.

He should be taking man ball and child.

Dermot_Desmond_96 (Galway) - Posts: 36 - 20/03/2023 13:04:11    2465141

Just look at the difference between what mayo keeper did for the last high ball that went into his square v Donegal. He cleared the ball and left 4 players on the ground, hard to do much more than than.

I was being lambasted last week for being biased - after this week, was I wrong?

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 69 - 20/03/2023 13:05:32    2465143

Replying To smallfrank:  "Sean Kelly
Paul Conroy
Matthew Tierney"
John Daly and Dylan McHugh have been very consistent also and Heaney has upped his performances big time in the last couple of games. Sean Kelly is a very good footballer no doubt but is definitely not a fullback and is one of the reasons Gleeson (who is getting all the criticism) is having major issues under the high dropping ball into the square that is now becoming a regular tactic by most teams against Galway with a few of their forwards barging the Galway backs and goalie into the net. I think this would be a good tactic for Galway to use as well if no free outs are given for it which seems to be the case - for instance the likes of Comer, Conroy, Cooke and Tierney would be well able to barge the backs and goalie over the goal line in a scrum-like formation!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 20/03/2023 13:26:42    2465156

The reason Gleason getting criticism has nothing do with full back line he just not good enough makes big mistakes in most matches he always flat footed in goal , it's management fault for actually playing him they have decided no matter how bad he is he going to be goalie so the book stops with them and in my opinion Galway will not win all Ireland with him in goal ..

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 832 - 20/03/2023 13:46:50    2465169

Can't figure out why Gleeson is so bad under high balls. Not like he's a small fella. He's actually a big lump. He has no spring when he jumps at all though. Can't seem to get himself off the ground.

That said the defenders in front of him have to learn to block the opposition forwards from getting clear runs at him.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2208 - 20/03/2023 13:56:11    2465180

Replying To Dermot_Desmond_96:  "Absolutely 100% spot on. The chap is 6'4.

He should be taking man ball and child."
My understanding is u can't tackle/touch a keeper in the small square. Is that not the rule?

But I agree with u, it shouldn't have stopped him taking all before him. The contact was very minor.

Even if that hadn't happened I would be giving Power a run out on Sunday. No point throwing him in first time when we have no choice.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 20/03/2023 14:18:23    2465193

Replying To systematic:  "Just look at the difference between what mayo keeper did for the last high ball that went into his square v Donegal. He cleared the ball and left 4 players on the ground, hard to do much more than than.

I was being lambasted last week for being biased - after this week, was I wrong?"
Mr. Systematic, you are of course biased for whatever reason against our goalkeeper Conor Gleeson. He was clearly fouled for the goal. It was a home-town decision that the referee chickened out of. The ref ought to be ashamed of himself. This type of barging is against the rules of the game and should be penalised with a free out. This is far more important than spotting a dubious hand ball 50 yards away. Gleeson is a fine goalkeeper and getting better all the time with experience. Those biased against him such as Systematic should stop the nonsense about these other so-called better keepers such as the Roscommon keeper Carroll who is not available to us. He is from a Roscommon family who are died-in-the-wool Roscommon supporters and see have nailed their colours to the mast. But wait until he makes a few mistakes and see how long he'll last with the Rossies. Goalkeeper in gaelic football is the most onerous and responsible position to play in with him being expected to fulfill a multiplicity of roles. Let those who are knocking him show a small bit of encouragement and positivity instead. As the saying goes: if you have nothing good to say, don't say anything at all. We have a very mean defence that have I think conceded the lowest score in Division 1. This is a credit to the goalkeeper and the defensive unit. This knocking of Gleeson is quite unfair and tiresome and should stop. Give the man a break Systematic.

FatLadySinging (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 20/03/2023 14:28:25    2465202