2022 Wexford Intercounty Hurling

Replying To Dheen:  "Good win for ye, 13 of our players are eligible for u20 for the next 2 years so we were relatively happy with some of the performance. Having no free taker or a decent keeper our main issues.
Best of luck going forward."
Yes Wexford had 5 injured for tonight, probably didn't want to risk them before the Laois game.

A good run out all the same.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 970 - 09/04/2022 20:52:42    2410413

Replying To Yellow:  "Wexford minors were good today

Kilkenny minors were far more skilful and level headed and clinical and cool under pressure. Our first touch and ability to win primary possession needs to be worked on over and over again in training

We ran into traffic a lot and took the wrong option after winning possession and turned it over. This is an epidemic in the Wexford game. We panic under pressure and let the ball off too quickly and lose it - and also we can't apply pressure without giving away a free.

The referee was awful and Mick Jacob was sent off for protesting. However we need cool heads on the line and the pitch moving forward and hopefully we will get another crack at them in the final."
Isn't that always the way though. I dunno why that is. Wexford I believe have as good an underage structure at the minute as Kilkenny do but in the last few years at underage were just a few points short of them. We should have beaten them at minor last year. Call me biased but I thought we were a better team on the day then them but they still pulled it out. Reading the report we seemed to give away a lot of frees in the last two games. Kept Dublin in it and helped Kilkenny stretch away. The seniors also are guilty of it. Frustrating as a fan to watch it!

Anyway, great win for the U20's. I do wonder how many of the panel they will loose to the seniors though. They'd have a great chance of winning something I believe but might be hampered by this ridiculous new U20 rule.

Finchfurlong996 (Wexford) - Posts: 255 - 10/04/2022 18:13:41    2410457

Well lad, how are we shaping up on the week of our biggest game of the year and the biggest in Egan tenure?

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1150 - 11/04/2022 10:30:12    2410494

Replying To hunting:  "Well lad, how are we shaping up on the week of our biggest game of the year and the biggest in Egan tenure?"
I think the lads were away on Saturday night. Hopefully had a good training weekend with a fully fit squad bar Shane Reck who is out.

I agree with you this is a huge game for us. A win would really provide a springboard for Egan's tenure.

A win would put us in poll position to at least reach the top 3 and give us a great chance of a Leinster final .
A loss and we are up against it to get out of the group and face a do or die game with Dublin next week .

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 11/04/2022 10:59:20    2410499

Replying To hunting:  "Well lad, how are we shaping up on the week of our biggest game of the year and the biggest in Egan tenure?"
Pretty tight ship at the moment.

Chin will not start but we'll see him from the bench.

Haven't heard anything on mac.

Shane reck is out long term.

Clean bill of health otherwise.

It's a 50/50 game.

If we perform to our best we'll win this game.

Anything substandard or any repeat of the other week and we won't be good enough.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3849 - 11/04/2022 11:11:58    2410503

From all the reports I heard plenty of confidence in the camp that we can produce a big performance Saturday evening all went very well last two weeks.So let's get behind the lads and cheer them over the line which sets us up nicely for rest of year.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 410 - 11/04/2022 11:16:17    2410504

Replying To Finchfurlong996:  "Isn't that always the way though. I dunno why that is. Wexford I believe have as good an underage structure at the minute as Kilkenny do but in the last few years at underage were just a few points short of them. We should have beaten them at minor last year. Call me biased but I thought we were a better team on the day then them but they still pulled it out. Reading the report we seemed to give away a lot of frees in the last two games. Kept Dublin in it and helped Kilkenny stretch away. The seniors also are guilty of it. Frustrating as a fan to watch it!

Anyway, great win for the U20's. I do wonder how many of the panel they will loose to the seniors though. They'd have a great chance of winning something I believe but might be hampered by this ridiculous new U20 rule."
That's an interesting question you pose about Kilkenny at minor level just being able to sneak out the win over Wexford in the last few years.
I would agree that I think the Wexford underage structure is producing good minor teams year on year and that is a great thing. I think we were behind the curve 10-15 years ago but have now caught up.
In some of these games, I thought the Wexford minors were as good or better than Kilkenny. By all accounts the current u-17s are well capable of beating their opponents if they get a crack at them again in the Leinster final.

So there's a lot right in Wexford.
However, there's always room for improvement.
I don't have the answer but you ask an interesting question.
Is it a case, that there will be years where you have an exceptional bunch or a good decent bunch or an average bunch?

Punter72007 (Wexford) - Posts: 319 - 11/04/2022 11:45:14    2410509

Replying To Punter72007:  "That's an interesting question you pose about Kilkenny at minor level just being able to sneak out the win over Wexford in the last few years.
I would agree that I think the Wexford underage structure is producing good minor teams year on year and that is a great thing. I think we were behind the curve 10-15 years ago but have now caught up.
In some of these games, I thought the Wexford minors were as good or better than Kilkenny. By all accounts the current u-17s are well capable of beating their opponents if they get a crack at them again in the Leinster final.

Is it a case, that there will be years where you have an exceptional bunch or a good decent bunch or an average bunch?"
We should have bet kk last year not sure we are as good as them this year looking at last Saturdays match once kk got going thought they looked a better outfit to be fair.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 410 - 11/04/2022 16:03:26    2410555

Replying To Tiger1:  "We should have bet kk last year not sure we are as good as them this year looking at last Saturdays match once kk got going thought they looked a better outfit to be fair."
I watched the game last year and we only really looked well on top for 1 quarter. While I dont think there was much between the teams its stretching it a bit to say we were better than them.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16685 - 11/04/2022 16:33:57    2410562

A huge week for us. We simply have to win on Saturday and Saturday week. No other results will do. In my view, only winning Leinster will make up for the humiliation of that league final.
Our big test will be to stop Conor Whelan from hurling, Liam Ryan has always struggled on him and hasn't regained his 2019 form since.
If we can get enough ball to Rory in space we can win it but we need other forwards (esp. Conor Mc) to stand up and deliver. If we do this, then we can win both games and maybe go to KK with 4 wins and a Leinster final place in the bag. Lose either of these, and we are on the back foot straight away.
I don't know whether to be nervous or hopeful but I am definitely not confident after the Waterford annihilation. I will be watching from sunnier weather than Wexford Park but I will be 100% behind them anyway.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1908 - 11/04/2022 17:00:06    2410567

Replying To Tiger1:  "We should have bet kk last year not sure we are as good as them this year looking at last Saturdays match once kk got going thought they looked a better outfit to be fair."
It has to be said though that while we compare ourselves to Kilkenny, the bar in underage hurling is being set in Munster and Kilkenny haven't been winning All-Irelands like they used to.
It is worrying if we only compare ourselves to them.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1908 - 11/04/2022 17:06:32    2410568

I think the club hurling in Kilkenny is stronger as underage and its a lot stronger at adult level.

This can make a big difference in closing out matches as players are used to making decisions under pressure that bit faster.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 970 - 11/04/2022 17:12:18    2410570

Replying To Punter72007:  "That's an interesting question you pose about Kilkenny at minor level just being able to sneak out the win over Wexford in the last few years.

Is it a case, that there will be years where you have an exceptional bunch or a good decent bunch or an average bunch?"
I've said before here, is what my father told me the major difference is, Wexford hope they'll win while Kilkenny know they'll win. Years of success breeds belief into them and any perspective Kilkenny hurler will think they will win an all Ireland while our lads are probably thinking we could win a Leinster one day. Mindset is a big thing in Wexford. Griffin in 96 made it his mission almost to make those lads believe they were the best in the country even though they probably were realistically in terms of talent, behind Clare and Limerick. If you start winning at underage that's where you can get your confidence to win tight games or when things are going against ya to turn it around. In 19 we lost in the round robin at minor to Kilkenny and I heard a lot of the same stuff, that Kilkenny were sharper and better hurlers and all that. We turned it around and won that Leinster. Can happen again. However who got to the 19 all Ireland final. Kilkenny. Typical!

Finchfurlong996 (Wexford) - Posts: 255 - 11/04/2022 18:55:46    2410579

Replying To Viking66:  "I watched the game last year and we only really looked well on top for 1 quarter. While I dont think there was much between the teams its stretching it a bit to say we were better than them."
Just my opinion viking that's the way I saw it we were the better team last year think there the better team this year might not be right though.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 410 - 11/04/2022 19:16:27    2410581

Replying To Tiger1:  "Just my opinion viking that's the way I saw it we were the better team last year think there the better team this year might not be right though."
I think at minor momentum makes a big difference. We got a good start and made it a great 1. Then they started clawing it back. Little steps started turning into bigger 1s. When they got in front they had the momentum and drove on to win it. If we get to play them again in a final hopefully we can reverse the result. I dont think they are necessarily better than us this year.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16685 - 11/04/2022 21:46:02    2410598

I see there is only Clonard terrace tickets left online. We are heading for a big crowd on Saturday

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 12/04/2022 07:56:00    2410604

Replying To Afinestick:  "I see there is only Clonard terrace tickets left online. We are heading for a big crowd on Saturday"
Does that mean the town end is sold out too?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16685 - 12/04/2022 09:46:45    2410615

The team I would go with on Saturday (assuming Chin isn't fit enough to start):

Fanning
O'Hanlon Ryan Devitt
Flood P.Foley D.Reck
Dee Dunbar
O.Foley McGovern McGuckin
R.O'Connor McDonald Dwyer

Team I expect to see:

Fanning
O'Hanlon Ryan DONOHOE
Flood P.Foley D.Reck
Dee K.FOLEY
O.Foley DWYER JACKO
MCGOVERN Mac ROC

If I see K.Foley starting centre-back again and Flood benched, I'll begin to question the management.

Maybe I am being a little ambitious starting with no stand-out ball winner in the half-forward line, but my reckoning is why accentuate Galway's known strength there by lumping ball on top of that line? I would much rather have runners hopefully dragging them out of position, especially McInerney who wouldn't be the paciest CB around. My theory would then bring on the likes of Jacko and Chin when the game opens up a bit and go a bit more direct. Kevin Foley a good fella to bring in to shore up the middle if required too.

Puck-outs will be imperative, and I would take a leaf out of the football restarts. Bunch the middle third, with runners darting out in every direction as the ball is played into space, as opposed to long balls on top of bigger Galway lads. In fairness to Fanning, he is probably only second to Quaid in terms of overall game amongst all the keepers at the minute.

My starting of Devitt is borne out of the belief that MOH will man-mark one of the danger-men inside, and Ryan will pick up the other, meaning that Devitt might have license to join the attack. I fear Daithí Burke could maul Mac inside, but if it means ROC finds space, I will take it.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1502 - 12/04/2022 10:23:08    2410626

Haven't seen any town end tickets on sale for some reason. Maybe they want to sell a large amount of tickets for the Clonard end before releasing those?

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 12/04/2022 10:55:02    2410629

Replying To Afinestick:  "I see there is only Clonard terrace tickets left online. We are heading for a big crowd on Saturday"
Ticket master have uncovered stand this morning

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3849 - 12/04/2022 11:06:15    2410633