Replying To Afinestick: "Haven't seen any town end tickets on sale for some reason. Maybe they want to sell a large amount of tickets for the Clonard end before releasing those?" I got tickets for uncovered seating and the only other tickets available were for the pineridge terrace so no idea what's going on. Loads of people giving out about issues buying tickets online for other games
HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 554 - 12/04/2022 11:17:54
Replying To beano: "The team I would go with on Saturday (assuming Chin isn't fit enough to start):
Fanning O'Hanlon Ryan Devitt Flood P.Foley D.Reck Dee Dunbar O.Foley McGovern McGuckin R.O'Connor McDonald Dwyer
Team I expect to see:
Fanning O'Hanlon Ryan DONOHOE Flood P.Foley D.Reck Dee K.FOLEY O.Foley DWYER JACKO MCGOVERN Mac ROC
If I see K.Foley starting centre-back again and Flood benched, I'll begin to question the management.
Maybe I am being a little ambitious starting with no stand-out ball winner in the half-forward line, but my reckoning is why accentuate Galway's known strength there by lumping ball on top of that line? I would much rather have runners hopefully dragging them out of position, especially McInerney who wouldn't be the paciest CB around. My theory would then bring on the likes of Jacko and Chin when the game opens up a bit and go a bit more direct. Kevin Foley a good fella to bring in to shore up the middle if required too.
Puck-outs will be imperative, and I would take a leaf out of the football restarts. Bunch the middle third, with runners darting out in every direction as the ball is played into space, as opposed to long balls on top of bigger Galway lads. In fairness to Fanning, he is probably only second to Quaid in terms of overall game amongst all the keepers at the minute.
My starting of Devitt is borne out of the belief that MOH will man-mark one of the danger-men inside, and Ryan will pick up the other, meaning that Devitt might have license to join the attack. I fear Daithí Burke could maul Mac inside, but if it means ROC finds space, I will take it." It's key we get our match ups right . Jippo will have to be on top form to keep tabs on Conor Whelan. I expect Hanlon to pick up Conor Cooney . Will be interesting to see where Galway play Cathal Mannion. He could play anywhere from corner forward , wing forward or midfield . It's very important we keep him quiet . Think I'd like to see Damian Reck on him
Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 12/04/2022 11:25:31
I'm starting to think we should throw Galway a curveball on Saturday and start Jack o Connor in full forward with his role being to tie up Daithi Burke and break ball down high ball for Mac and Rory.
Half forwards then Oisin Foley Liam Og and Chin
Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 12/04/2022 11:44:55
Replying To Afinestick: "It's key we get our match ups right . Jippo will have to be on top form to keep tabs on Conor Whelan. I expect Hanlon to pick up Conor Cooney . Will be interesting to see where Galway play Cathal Mannion. He could play anywhere from corner forward , wing forward or midfield . It's very important we keep him quiet . Think I'd like to see Damian Reck on him" Is Whelan the threat he was? He doesnt get the quality ball in he needs and hasnt been too involved in games for the past two seasons in my opinion. If Mannion can find his form he could be a big scoring threat from anywhere
tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 12/04/2022 12:10:33
Replying To beano: "The team I would go with on Saturday (assuming Chin isn't fit enough to start):
Fanning O'Hanlon Ryan Devitt Flood P.Foley D.Reck Dee Dunbar O.Foley McGovern McGuckin R.O'Connor McDonald Dwyer
Team I expect to see:
Fanning O'Hanlon Ryan DONOHOE Flood P.Foley D.Reck Dee K.FOLEY O.Foley DWYER JACKO MCGOVERN Mac ROC
If I see K.Foley starting centre-back again and Flood benched, I'll begin to question the management.
Maybe I am being a little ambitious starting with no stand-out ball winner in the half-forward line, but my reckoning is why accentuate Galway's known strength there by lumping ball on top of that line? I would much rather have runners hopefully dragging them out of position, especially McInerney who wouldn't be the paciest CB around. My theory would then bring on the likes of Jacko and Chin when the game opens up a bit and go a bit more direct. Kevin Foley a good fella to bring in to shore up the middle if required too.
Puck-outs will be imperative, and I would take a leaf out of the football restarts. Bunch the middle third, with runners darting out in every direction as the ball is played into space, as opposed to long balls on top of bigger Galway lads. In fairness to Fanning, he is probably only second to Quaid in terms of overall game amongst all the keepers at the minute.
My starting of Devitt is borne out of the belief that MOH will man-mark one of the danger-men inside, and Ryan will pick up the other, meaning that Devitt might have license to join the attack. I fear Daithí Burke could maul Mac inside, but if it means ROC finds space, I will take it." Well thought out post. Would rather K Foley started midfield and Dunbar wing forward. Keep Jacko for an impact sub.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16685 - 12/04/2022 12:12:03
Replying To Yellow: "I'm starting to think we should throw Galway a curveball on Saturday and start Jack o Connor in full forward with his role being to tie up Daithi Burke and break ball down high ball for Mac and Rory.
Half forwards then Oisin Foley Liam Og and Chin" Yeah if I was starting Jacko, it would be there. But my reckoning is, especially with doubts over Chin's full fitness, that he would be the best impact sub we have. He generally looks better off the bench anyway. Should we go full hog and start Jacko along with Chin, our options off the bench suddenly don't look as strong. I would be against throwing in one of the under-20s until their campaign is over.
beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1502 - 12/04/2022 12:24:01
Replying To beano: "Yeah if I was starting Jacko, it would be there. But my reckoning is, especially with doubts over Chin's full fitness, that he would be the best impact sub we have. He generally looks better off the bench anyway. Should we go full hog and start Jacko along with Chin, our options off the bench suddenly don't look as strong. I would be against throwing in one of the under-20s until their campaign is over." I'd agree with you about leaving the u20's off the team/panel. They're for the future and I don't think any of them now are physically ready for senior inter county hurling . The one area I think we can exploit is the lack of pace in the Galway team. If we can get good ball into Rory I think he could wreak havoc. Likewise we have to stop the supply lines into Conor whelan.
HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 554 - 12/04/2022 13:30:55
Replying To Yellow: "I'm starting to think we should throw Galway a curveball on Saturday and start Jack o Connor in full forward with his role being to tie up Daithi Burke and break ball down high ball for Mac and Rory.
Half forwards then Oisin Foley Liam Og and Chin" Would Burke not relish that battle? Burke has been caught out when turned towards his own goal. The last thing I'd be doing would be putting in any high ball near him. Wexford have plenty of pace - for me putting in one high ball would be a mistake! I think there'll be a serious atmosphere and Wexford will come out on top. The pressure is on for the losers. Draws across a few Leinster and Munster fixtures are also very much possible!
tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 12/04/2022 13:41:47
I still believe we are wrong to not be playing Jack centre back. He is a good long range score taker for me and plays there more often than not for the Martins. I do not think he will start there and I think he will start centre forward and try tie McInerney down a bit. McGuckin is another who might tie Padraig Mannion down and if our half forward line give the sort of ball to the Galway half back line that we did to the Waterford one then our backs will be in similar trouble. We blame our backs for the defeat to Waterford but there is only so long you can bail water for.
My team for the weekend would be
Fanning D.Reck Ryan Donohoe O'Hanlon P.Foley Flood O'Keefe Kevin Foley O Foley Jack O'Connor McGovern Dwyer Mac Rory O'Connor
Big worries ahead of the weekend are 1. Frees 2. Fouling of McDonald/Rory O'Connor. McDonald in particular is manhandled every day he is out and cannot buy a free. 3. Confidence after Waterford beating. All the excuses in the world will not matter on Saturday evening but have been in that position before and it is hard to bounce back. 4. Fitness of Chin and Shane Reck, a huge loss.
StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1908 - 12/04/2022 15:15:54
Would be worth a chance of McGovern or o Connor on daithi Burke and get him away from the front of goals..ye can bypass mcinerney,play ball either side or over him..don't hit high ball in to Burke as he,ll love it.at the other end ye need to keep e,mannion and whelan very quite..this game will put huge pressure on the loser..best of luck to ye..
CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2576 - 12/04/2022 15:28:02
Replying To StoreysTash: "I still believe we are wrong to not be playing Jack centre back. He is a good long range score taker for me and plays there more often than not for the Martins. I do not think he will start there and I think he will start centre forward and try tie McInerney down a bit. McGuckin is another who might tie Padraig Mannion down and if our half forward line give the sort of ball to the Galway half back line that we did to the Waterford one then our backs will be in similar trouble. We blame our backs for the defeat to Waterford but there is only so long you can bail water for.
Fanning D.Reck Ryan Donohoe O'Hanlon P.Foley Flood O'Keefe Kevin Foley O Foley Jack O'Connor McGovern Dwyer Mac Rory O'Connor
Big worries ahead of the weekend are 1. Frees 2. Fouling of McDonald/Rory O'Connor. McDonald in particular is manhandled every day he is out and cannot buy a free. 3. Confidence after Waterford beating. All the excuses in the world will not matter on Saturday evening but have been in that position before and it is hard to bounce back. 4. Fitness of Chin and Shane Reck, a huge loss." D. Reck needs to be in the half back line. Mac needs to stop fighting with the full back under the high ball, stand back so he can't tie you up. We need to create space for Rory, need a couple of long range shooters so Galway has to come out, Reck and Foley. Agree S. Reck a huge loss, he was the man for Whelan.
WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 546 - 12/04/2022 21:46:05
Half forwards then Oisin Foley Liam Og and Chin" Posted my team for the Galway game here a couple of weeks back and had Jacko in the full forward line.
Also had K. Foley corner back.
https://hoganstand.com/Forum/FindPost?MessageID=2408234
WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 546 - 12/04/2022 21:54:44
Kevin Foley corner back? Kevin has to be midfield for me . The experiment of playing him in the backs hasn't worked .
Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 13/04/2022 10:00:54
Replying To WEX98: "D. Reck needs to be in the half back line. Mac needs to stop fighting with the full back under the high ball, stand back so he can't tie you up. We need to create space for Rory, need a couple of long range shooters so Galway has to come out, Reck and Foley. Agree S. Reck a huge loss, he was the man for Whelan." We need Damien's man-marking ability in the full back line in my view. Agree Mac needs to be able to make space better than he currently is, standing in beside the full back and hanging out of one another will suit Daithi Burke down to the ground. It is a game from Tony Doran's era according to my father.
StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1908 - 13/04/2022 10:34:49
Replying To Afinestick: "Kevin Foley corner back? Kevin has to be midfield for me . The experiment of playing him in the backs hasn't worked ." Played all his hurling in the backs for Davy.
WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 546 - 13/04/2022 10:48:03
Replying To StoreysTash: "I still believe we are wrong to not be playing Jack centre back. He is a good long range score taker for me and plays there more often than not for the Martins. I do not think he will start there and I think he will start centre forward and try tie McInerney down a bit. McGuckin is another who might tie Padraig Mannion down and if our half forward line give the sort of ball to the Galway half back line that we did to the Waterford one then our backs will be in similar trouble. We blame our backs for the defeat to Waterford but there is only so long you can bail water for.
Big worries ahead of the weekend are 1. Frees 2. Fouling of McDonald/Rory O'Connor. McDonald in particular is manhandled every day he is out and cannot buy a free. 3. Confidence after Waterford beating. All the excuses in the world will not matter on Saturday evening but have been in that position before and it is hard to bounce back. 4. Fitness of Chin and Shane Reck, a huge loss." I hate to say it but if Chin is not playing I cannot see us doing well. He is so important to the team. In the forwards he would take a lot of the heat off ROC, without Chin they know they can box ROC in. Mac is dangerous with ball in hand around the square but he will stay there and so is dependent on the quality of the ball coming in. Lads will say Mac can't buy a free but ever since I was playing the full forward was doing as much fowling on incoming balls as the full back and if you want to stay on the edge of the square its trench warfare and impossible at times to know who started it. Look back on the team that lost to Tipp - same team you have bar Murphy and Morris, as yourself what would have happened that day without Chin and then you will see how much we will miss him.
zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 2028 - 13/04/2022 11:33:26
Replying To WEX98: "Played all his hurling in the backs for Davy." That was as sweeper . Never marking any player. Didn't look comfortable at all in the half back line against Waterford . For me Devitt and Flood should come into the backs but think Egan will go with Donohoe. Flood has to start though lads he probably was our most consistent player in the league aside from Rory
Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 13/04/2022 11:59:21
Replying To StoreysTash: "We need Damien's man-marking ability in the full back line in my view. Agree Mac needs to be able to make space better than he currently is, standing in beside the full back and hanging out of one another will suit Daithi Burke down to the ground. It is a game from Tony Doran's era according to my father." I'd agree if Mannion is corner forward id like to see Reck pick up him and Matt to pick up Conor Cooney in the half forward line
Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 13/04/2022 12:05:35
Replying To Afinestick: "That was as sweeper . Never marking any player. Didn't look comfortable at all in the half back line against Waterford . For me Devitt and Flood should come into the backs but think Egan will go with Donohoe. Flood has to start though lads he probably was our most consistent player in the league aside from Rory" I'd have to agree, of all the things Kev Foley is good at, marking a man isn't one of them.
To be fair to Donohoe he is a solid enough championship player. Tried and tested at this stage.
Someone has to lose out in the backs though.
They will more than likely put Jack Grealish on Rory O'Connor because he is very quick also, so it will be an interesting battle.
Past hurler (None) - Posts: 970 - 13/04/2022 12:23:37
It really is a closed camp in the lead-up to the championship, no harm I suppose.
But Egan's continued stand-off with the local press isn't a great look considering the amount of coverage and support it has provided over the years, and will continue to do after Egan's tenure. Even run-of-the-mill rent a quotes where nothing only cliches are said would be better than complete silence.
I see too that Eoin Doyle and Sean Keane Carroll have been added to the panel, while Aodhan Doyle has dropped out. Always felt Keane Carroll could offer something as he has always stood out with Shels.
beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1502 - 13/04/2022 13:57:01